F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > N20, N26, B46, B48 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > p12A9 Fault Code (Boost Pressure too High)
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-08-2019, 08:42 AM   #1
s3ri3s1
Second Lieutenant
s3ri3s1's Avatar
158
Rep
214
Posts

Drives: alpine white 328
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Nashville

iTrader: (1)

p12A9 Fault Code (Boost Pressure too High)

2015 328i

I got this code recently, so I thought my boost pressure sensor was bad. I replaced it but the code didn't go away. Even after resetting and driving for a few hundred miles. I do have the Dinan Sport Tuner and Dinan intercooler on it, but I can't seem to think of what else could be wrong.

Anyone else have this issue?
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2019, 02:31 PM   #2
RMachuca3d
Lieutenant
RMachuca3d's Avatar
238
Rep
476
Posts

Drives: F30 328i Msport
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: WA

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Stock intake?

Its happened to a few people using the dinantronics sport tuner + cai intake.
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2019, 06:01 PM   #3
s3ri3s1
Second Lieutenant
s3ri3s1's Avatar
158
Rep
214
Posts

Drives: alpine white 328
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Nashville

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMachuca3d View Post
Stock intake?

Its happened to a few people using the dinantronics sport tuner + cai intake.

Yup stock intake. Car runs/pulls just fine
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2019, 05:29 PM   #4
qdogg
New Member
3
Rep
10
Posts

Drives: 2014 428xi M Sport Estoril Blu
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Mount Airy, MD

iTrader: (0)

Same happens to me occasionally. Dinantronics Sport. Everything else stock.
Take Dinan out and code clears by itself after a day or so.
__________________
-2014 428xi M-Sport Estoril Blue w/ Black Dakota Leather, Premium/Technology/Cold Weather, Dinan Sport, M pedals, M rear diffuser, 435 dual exhaust, debadged, 20% 3m tint, carbon fiber wrapped interior trim, KUDA phone mount
Appreciate 1
s3ri3s1157.50

      09-11-2019, 07:28 AM   #5
s3ri3s1
Second Lieutenant
s3ri3s1's Avatar
158
Rep
214
Posts

Drives: alpine white 328
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Nashville

iTrader: (1)

Ya I replaced it with a bm3 tune and all is well! It is weird that it didnt throw a code for months but then just started one day.
Appreciate 1
DLag3044.50

      10-06-2019, 11:05 PM   #6
DLag30
siraniko
United_States
45
Rep
179
Posts

Drives: F80M3 & X1sdrive28i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: 94080

iTrader: (1)

I just ran into the same problem. No fault codes for months running Dinan sport, then one day I get the fault code when pulling into the highway..
Appreciate 1
s3ri3s1157.50

      10-07-2019, 08:15 PM   #7
Gen13 F36
Lieutenant Colonel
Gen13 F36's Avatar
United_States
620
Rep
1,759
Posts

Drives: 428i Gran Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (1)

No pun intended....

Boost to high... so how much HP you getting😅
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2019, 12:24 PM   #8
Z K
Brigadier General
Z K's Avatar
United_States
1393
Rep
4,823
Posts

Drives: E90 M3, F30 328i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (3)

I've had the same issue on my car. I had it for 3-4 months with no problem then I started getting P12a9 with my Dinan Sport. The code doesn't come up while driving, it comes up for me on start up. I can clear it but it will appear again at next start up.

I contacted Dinan and they asked me to put the unit into bypass mode. I still pop the code in bypass mode. Removing the unit clears the codes and I never get P12A9 without Dinan Sport.

I sent it back to Dinan and they sent me a new unit under warranty. No problems so far.
__________________
Auto Detailing Enthusiast!
Appreciate 1
s3ri3s1157.50

      10-10-2019, 06:00 PM   #9
s3ri3s1
Second Lieutenant
s3ri3s1's Avatar
158
Rep
214
Posts

Drives: alpine white 328
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Nashville

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z K View Post
I've had the same issue on my car. I had it for 3-4 months with no problem then I started getting P12a9 with my Dinan Sport. The code doesn't come up while driving, it comes up for me on start up. I can clear it but it will appear again at next start up.

I contacted Dinan and they asked me to put the unit into bypass mode. I still pop the code in bypass mode. Removing the unit clears the codes and I never get P12A9 without Dinan Sport.

I sent it back to Dinan and they sent me a new unit under warranty. No problems so far.
I wonder if it will come back even with the new unit :/

I will admit that since I went with bm3, the car seems to idle a lot more smooth than the Dinan Sport. I do miss the ability to switch to Valet mode. That is a great feature.
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2019, 01:56 PM   #10
Z K
Brigadier General
Z K's Avatar
United_States
1393
Rep
4,823
Posts

Drives: E90 M3, F30 328i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by s3ri3s1 View Post
I wonder if it will come back even with the new unit :/

I will admit that since I went with bm3, the car seems to idle a lot more smooth than the Dinan Sport. I do miss the ability to switch to Valet mode. That is a great feature.
BM3 sounds good but I have 2 years worth of BMW warranty left on my car so I don't want to lose that.
__________________
Auto Detailing Enthusiast!
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST