F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Bimmercode app iOS/Android
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-27-2017, 04:14 PM   #23
jpsimon
Team Zissou
jpsimon's Avatar
United_States
500
Rep
9,375
Posts

Drives: 2016 M3 (AW, 6MT)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (7)

Using bimmercode, I did these changes:

- disabled the disclaimers on the screen when starting car etc.
- fold/unfold mirrors with comfort access lock/unlock
- angel eyes ON 100% with the low-beams on
- switched to the rolls royce alert sound (it is pretty damn pleasant)
- turn off radio when opening doors

I'm sure i did some other stuff that I can't remember. Anyways, it worked like a charm and was insanely easy to use. Follow their instructions and get the iCar2 plug (not the iCar3).

/edit/ oh i also enabled Video In Motion, although i haven't tried it yet
__________________
2016 M3 (AW, 6MT)

www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

Last edited by jpsimon; 06-28-2017 at 09:43 AM..
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2017, 03:28 AM   #24
joec1101
BMW Fanaddict
55
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: '18 F87 ///M2
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: So Cal

iTrader: (0)

I went with the iCar2 (the recommended one by BC) and it works perfectly. They have a link on their website for the adapter that takes you right to the item on Amazon.
Appreciate 0
      06-30-2017, 06:19 AM   #25
pizzam
New Member
2
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: F31 328i
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Nh

iTrader: (0)

Here is a huge thread on Bimmercode. A lot more info there.

f87.bimmerpost.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1338157
Appreciate 1
Bestia56.00

      07-04-2017, 02:26 AM   #26
RagingGoat
Private
6
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: looking
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: oc

iTrader: (2)

I just got the app and adapter, changed a couple items to my liking and everyrhing work great except now I have a CEL on, anyway way to clear it? Thank you.
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2017, 09:45 AM   #27
etinifni
Captain
etinifni's Avatar
United_States
171
Rep
956
Posts

Drives: 2012 328i Modern Line
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: NC

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Does anyone know if the iCar2 vgate adapter works with the Torque app?
__________________
:wave:
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2017, 11:05 AM   #28
jpsimon
Team Zissou
jpsimon's Avatar
United_States
500
Rep
9,375
Posts

Drives: 2016 M3 (AW, 6MT)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by etinifni View Post
Does anyone know if the iCar2 vgate adapter works with the Torque app?
https://torque-bhp.com/wiki/Bluetoot...ad-hoc_mode.29

the original one is listed here, i'd bet the icar2 works... but maybe email them to confirm
__________________
2016 M3 (AW, 6MT)

www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing
Appreciate 1
etinifni171.00

      07-07-2017, 01:13 PM   #29
elistan
First Lieutenant
United_States
30
Rep
387
Posts

Drives: F30 328i, AP1 S2000
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Longmont, CO

iTrader: (0)

I used BimmerCode yesterday to do my first-ever BMW coding on my '13 328i. I used the recommended Vgate iCar2.

I turned on PSI/temp display for tires, enabled digital speedo, set ASS off by default, and disabled the startup legal disclaimer. No issues. (Well, except that enabling the digital speedo wiped out all trip meters and mpg/mph averages.)
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2017, 01:33 PM   #30
Soulassassin
New Member
4
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: BMW 335GT mineral grey
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Uk Newcastle

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by etinifni View Post
Does anyone know if the iCar2 vgate adapter works with the Torque app?
Yes it works fine, you have to change the settings to WiFi from Bluetooth though.
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2017, 02:27 PM   #31
Bestia
Private First Class
56
Rep
123
Posts

Drives: F32 435i, (sold) e70, e39 M5
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Houston

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pizzam View Post
Here is a huge thread on Bimmercode. A lot more info there.

f87.bimmerpost.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1338157
Thanks for posting the f87 link. Spent my lunch hour reading 37 pages of useful info.
Appreciate 0
      07-09-2017, 07:21 PM   #32
flwbyu
Private
flwbyu's Avatar
United_States
17
Rep
60
Posts

Drives: 2014 BMW 335i M Sport 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (0)

I just installed the 'F30 LCI M Performance (Black Line) Tail Lights' on my 2014 335i. I am pre-LCI and now have LCI tail lights. So, I am trying to figure out if I can do this without having to code (see below) manually in Bimmercode?

In the 'Facelift lights retrofitting' instructions from BMW it states that after installing the lights, 'the retrofit system requires programming/coding'. It goes on to further say that -
Connect the car to the ISTA work shop system
Call up the ISTA/P car programming facility
If using ISTA/P, please note the instructions provided in the ISTA/P application documentation
Select the "LCI tail lights" retro fit via the Conversions path and work through the created action plan
If necessary, carry out a car test using the ISTA system and note or work through any entered error memory
Conduct a function test
I know I could go and enter the code manually in expert mode though I have never done this personally. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance. ;-)

http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...54&postcount=1

[CODING]

The coding of new fires is not required, since there is no error on the idrive but against there will flicker flashing at each startup

If like me you do not want flickering lights here is the mod has to do with the E-sys software
Flashing Rear:

REM 3061 FRA_H_L_KALTUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM 3061 FRA_H_L_WARMUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM 3061 FRA_H_L_IS_LED /aktiv
REM 3061 FRA_H_R_KALTUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM 3061 FRA_H_R_WARMUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM 3061 FRA_H_R_IS_LED /aktiv

Reverse lights:

REM 3061 RFS_L_KALTUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM 3061 RFS_L_WARMUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM 3061 RFS_L_IS_LED /aktiv
REM 3061 RFS_R_KALTUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM 3061 RFS_R_WARMUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM 3061 RFS_R_IS_LED /aktiv

Brake lights outside:

REM / 3061 / BL_L_KALTUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM / 3061 / BL_L_WARMUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM / 3061 / BL_L_IS_LED /aktiv
REM / 3061 / BL_R_KALTUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM / 3061 / BL_R_WARMUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM / 3061 / BL_R_IS_LED /aktiv


Interior Brake lights:

REM / 3061 / BFD_L_KALTUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM / 3061 / BFD_L_WARMUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM / 3061 / BFD_L_IS_LED /aktiv
REM / 3061 / BFD_R_KALTUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM / 3061 / BFD_R_WARMUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM / 3061 / BFD_R_IS_LED /aktiv


Rear fog lights

REM / 3061 / NSL_L_KALTUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM / 3061 / NSL_L_WARMUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM / 3061 / NSL_L_IS_LED /aktiv
REM / 3061 / NSL_R_KALTUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM / 3061 / NSL_R_WARMUEBERWACHUNG /nicht_aktiv
REM / 3061 / NSL_R_IS_LED /aktiv
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2017, 01:53 AM   #33
RagingGoat
Private
6
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: looking
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: oc

iTrader: (2)

Using the app, I was able to have the mirrors open/closed whenever I unlock/lock car with no delay which is what I want. However the front windows move down a bit whoever I unlock the car. I'm guessing the windows and mirror are link. Anyway to unlink them so that the windows don't move? Thank you.
Appreciate 0
      07-22-2017, 05:16 PM   #34
Tux
Private First Class
United Kingdom
20
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RagingGoat View Post
Using the app, I was able to have the mirrors open/closed whenever I unlock/lock car with no delay which is what I want. However the front windows move down a bit whoever I unlock the car. I'm guessing the windows and mirror are link. Anyway to unlink them so that the windows don't move? Thank you.
Mine was active but it was set to 2.5s delay. I changed it to no delay and I didn't see the windows dropping on unlock.

I've just used BimmerCode as well and it works fairly well. I did get some errors flash up like light bulb but disappeared after it flashed up. I will check this tomorrow. Things I've done so far and confirmed working:
* Mirror fold (comfort closing delay) no delay
* M (sport) Start animation
* Temperature and pressure tire pressure
* Start logo M performance
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2017, 07:49 AM   #35
rogersmj
Private
24
Rep
68
Posts

Drives: 2016 340i M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Indianapolis, IN

iTrader: (0)

I just bought the Bimmercode app last night and tried coding my mirrors to automatically fold/unfold when I lock the car with Comfort Access, but it's not working. The app said the coding completed successfully, but when I lock the car the mirrors don't fold.

Any ideas?
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2017, 07:58 AM   #36
Tux
Private First Class
United Kingdom
20
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogersmj View Post
I just bought the Bimmercode app last night and tried coding my mirrors to automatically fold/unfold when I lock the car with Comfort Access, but it's not working. The app said the coding completed successfully, but when I lock the car the mirrors don't fold.

Any ideas?
What did you change?
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2017, 09:42 AM   #37
rogersmj
Private
24
Rep
68
Posts

Drives: 2016 340i M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Indianapolis, IN

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tux View Post
What did you change?
I enabled the mirrors to fold automatically when I lock the car with Comfort Access, and unfold when I unlock it. That part didn't seem to work -- the mirrors do not fold when I lock the car by touching the top of the door handle.

I also changed the lane-change signal to 4 blinks instead of 3; that does appear to have worked.
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2017, 01:31 PM   #38
rogersmj
Private
24
Rep
68
Posts

Drives: 2016 340i M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Indianapolis, IN

iTrader: (0)

Never mind, I figured it out. I have to hold my finger on the door lock detents for about 1.5 seconds before the mirrors fold. Just tapping it to lock won't work.
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2017, 02:09 PM   #39
ishowerinjager
Second Lieutenant
ishowerinjager's Avatar
Canada
97
Rep
207
Posts

Drives: 2017 340i M Performance Editio
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Edmonton

iTrader: (0)

I got the app and wifi dongle a while back. Works great! Wouldn't pay someone to do the job ever again.

And you can recode for free after service.

Definitely recommend the app
__________________
2017 340i M Performance Edition: Fashion Grey, MPPSK, M performance front splitter, rear diffuser, side sills, black grille, CF spoiler, 405M 20s, 8AT, full Marino interior and dash, adaptive suspension
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2017, 06:16 PM   #40
LMK5
Lieutenant
131
Rep
441
Posts

Drives: 2017 330i Imperial Bloo
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (0)

I read the Carly and Bimmercode web site info., and I didn't see any info. on coding the following:

1) Unlock doors when put in Park
2) Turn on R/L fog light when R/L turn signal is active

Does anyone know if these functions can be coded with either app.

Also, forgive my ignorance, but where is the location of the car's connector that the adapter gets plugged in to?
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2017, 10:15 PM   #41
elistan
First Lieutenant
United_States
30
Rep
387
Posts

Drives: F30 328i, AP1 S2000
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Longmont, CO

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LMK5 View Post
I read the Carly and Bimmercode web site info., and I didn't see any info. on coding the following:

1) Unlock doors when put in Park
2) Turn on R/L fog light when R/L turn signal is active

Does anyone know if these functions can be coded with either app.

Also, forgive my ignorance, but where is the location of the car's connector that the adapter gets plugged in to?
Just above your left shin when you're in the driver's seat.
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2017, 01:01 AM   #42
ishowerinjager
Second Lieutenant
ishowerinjager's Avatar
Canada
97
Rep
207
Posts

Drives: 2017 340i M Performance Editio
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Edmonton

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RagingGoat View Post
Using the app, I was able to have the mirrors open/closed whenever I unlock/lock car with no delay which is what I want. However the front windows move down a bit whoever I unlock the car. I'm guessing the windows and mirror are link. Anyway to unlink them so that the windows don't move? Thank you.
Code the mirrors to have no delay on comfort close on locking but leave the delay on opening. This will solve your problem. Mirrors will fold with a single click of the lock and unfold with a single click of the unlock.

Comfort opening involves rolling down all the windows to cool the car and if you remove the delay they will begin to roll down the second you unlock. If you leave the delay of 2.5 on, the mirrors will unfold but the windows won't move.
__________________
2017 340i M Performance Edition: Fashion Grey, MPPSK, M performance front splitter, rear diffuser, side sills, black grille, CF spoiler, 405M 20s, 8AT, full Marino interior and dash, adaptive suspension
Appreciate 1
scostu1105.00

      08-09-2017, 09:42 AM   #43
LMK5
Lieutenant
131
Rep
441
Posts

Drives: 2017 330i Imperial Bloo
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elistan View Post
Just above your left shin when you're in the driver's seat.
OK thanks. And the coding parameters? Are they possible with either of the apps?
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2017, 10:14 AM   #44
elistan
First Lieutenant
United_States
30
Rep
387
Posts

Drives: F30 328i, AP1 S2000
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Longmont, CO

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LMK5 View Post
OK thanks. And the coding parameters? Are they possible with either of the apps?
I don't know, sorry - those aren't things I've ever looked in to. (From what I understand, anything that can be coded can be coded by this app, you just have to be in advanced (expert?) mode and know the parameter's raw name.)
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST