F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Bimmercode app iOS/Android
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-19-2017, 05:42 PM   #89
etinifni
Captain
etinifni's Avatar
United_States
171
Rep
956
Posts

Drives: 2012 328i Modern Line
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: NC

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Every time I?ve coded my car I?ve had the engine running.
__________________
:wave:
Appreciate 0
      08-19-2017, 08:00 PM   #90
ishowerinjager
Second Lieutenant
ishowerinjager's Avatar
Canada
97
Rep
207
Posts

Drives: 2017 340i M Performance Editio
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Edmonton

iTrader: (0)

I don't think there is any argument whether it CAN be done with the engine running ..... the point we are trying to make is that you are probably better off not having it running.

Do it any way you like.
__________________
2017 340i M Performance Edition: Fashion Grey, MPPSK, M performance front splitter, rear diffuser, side sills, black grille, CF spoiler, 405M 20s, 8AT, full Marino interior and dash, adaptive suspension
Appreciate 0
      08-27-2017, 08:17 PM   #91
M-Sport Wagon Funnnnnnnnn
Private First Class
M-Sport Wagon Funnnnnnnnn's Avatar
United_States
48
Rep
135
Posts

Drives: '17 328d M-Sport Touring
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Springfield, VA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
So I've had success with most things but it seems as if when my wife drives the car, some of the coded things don't work on her profile. Does this seem odd or has anyone tried to load their other profile and see if it is all the same?
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2017, 12:24 PM   #92
Das440i
New Member
Das440i's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
10
Posts

Drives: 2017 440i
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: CA.

iTrader: (0)

Won't code

Went through the process of identifying vehicle, verifying coded items, changed a few and when I went to code, I received the following message in the attachment. What am I missing?
__________________
2017-440i, Mineral Grey, Black Leather, 6 M/T, 21C/ZCW/ZDA/ZDB/ZTP/ZTR/ZMP/Apple Car Play/Clear bra/Tint/black M kidneys/RW Carbon rear diffuser/black chrome exhaust tips/ PS4s wrapped on 763 rep wheels

Last edited by Das440i; 04-02-2019 at 07:26 PM..
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2017, 02:03 PM   #93
Tux
Private First Class
United Kingdom
20
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Das440i View Post
Went through the process of identifying vehicle, verifying coded items, changed a few and when I went to code, I received the following message in the attachment. What am I missing?
Have you purchased bimmercode? You can go to the settings in the app to check / purchase
Appreciate 1
      08-28-2017, 03:13 PM   #94
Das440i
New Member
Das440i's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
10
Posts

Drives: 2017 440i
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: CA.

iTrader: (0)

I thought that I did but I checked and that did it! Thanks
__________________
2017-440i, Mineral Grey, Black Leather, 6 M/T, 21C/ZCW/ZDA/ZDB/ZTP/ZTR/ZMP/Apple Car Play/Clear bra/Tint/black M kidneys/RW Carbon rear diffuser/black chrome exhaust tips/ PS4s wrapped on 763 rep wheels
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2017, 07:39 PM   #95
440GCSTL
Private First Class
United_States
50
Rep
156
Posts

Drives: 2018 440 Gran Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: St. Louis

iTrader: (1)

How do you code easy access in Bimmercode?
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2017, 06:54 AM   #96
jmciver
Captain
jmciver's Avatar
United_States
363
Rep
830
Posts

Drives: '17 M3 ZCP - STM, '05 M3 - IR
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: DMV

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 BMW M3  [0.00]
2005 BMW M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 440GCSTL View Post
How do you code easy access in Bimmercode?
I just got this app yesterday and began playing with it.... You need to go into "Expert Mode" to code this particular feature. But if you are not familiar with how to change the parameters available in Expert Mode, I would recommend you stay away from that as you can seriously mess up your car (but if you do, it is usually reversible - but not worth the headache IMO). If you go to the coding section of the forum you can learn more about how coding works and what the parameters mean in Expert Mode to code some of the options that the developer has not already put into the app.

Bimmercode will "automatically" code several of the common features/options that people want. These are the ones that are available on the app and many of these features require parameter changes to multiple modules/ECUs in the car. If an option is not available, like easy access, you will need to use Expert Mode to change the individual parameters to get that function working. I coded easy access on my car using E-sys and my laptop some time ago. What I like about this app so far is that Expert Mode appears to give you access to the same parameters as using a laptop. Except using the app on my phone is less cumbersome than using a laptop, but you still need to understand what the parameters mean before you change them.

If you are curious, this thread here provides additional info on the parameters that must be adjusted to get this feature to work, including how to take measurements so the seat moves back/forward to where you want - this is what I did to get it working in my car. I have not personally verified yet, but all of the parameters mentioned in that thread should be accessible in Expert Mode so in theory, you could use the Bimmercode app to get the easy entry feature working. But I still recommend you read up on the basics of coding before messing around in Expert Mode - it will make using the Expert Mode feature much easier (and safer).

I am sure that as time goes on, the developer will add more options to the app, such as easy access, so a user does not need to use Expert Mode to add this capability.
__________________
2017 Smoked Topaz Metallic ZCP F80 M3 - The Daily Street Monster
2005 Imola Red E46 M3 - TTFS Tuned, VF Engineering Supercharged, 560HP Track Prepped Monster, Yet Still Very Streetable

Last edited by jmciver; 08-29-2017 at 07:11 AM..
Appreciate 1
scostu1105.00

      08-29-2017, 09:30 AM   #97
rampante17
New Member
5
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 330e
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

What about BMWs guarantees if you fiddle with the settings like this? (I'm having an 2017 330e)
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2017, 12:30 PM   #98
440GCSTL
Private First Class
United_States
50
Rep
156
Posts

Drives: 2018 440 Gran Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: St. Louis

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmciver View Post
I just got this app yesterday and began playing with it.... You need to go into "Expert Mode" to code this particular feature. But if you are not familiar with how to change the parameters available in Expert Mode, I would recommend you stay away from that as you can seriously mess up your car (but if you do, it is usually reversible - but not worth the headache IMO). If you go to the coding section of the forum you can learn more about how coding works and what the parameters mean in Expert Mode to code some of the options that the developer has not already put into the app.

Bimmercode will "automatically" code several of the common features/options that people want. These are the ones that are available on the app and many of these features require parameter changes to multiple modules/ECUs in the car. If an option is not available, like easy access, you will need to use Expert Mode to change the individual parameters to get that function working. I coded easy access on my car using E-sys and my laptop some time ago. What I like about this app so far is that Expert Mode appears to give you access to the same parameters as using a laptop. Except using the app on my phone is less cumbersome than using a laptop, but you still need to understand what the parameters mean before you change them.

If you are curious, this thread here provides additional info on the parameters that must be adjusted to get this feature to work, including how to take measurements so the seat moves back/forward to where you want - this is what I did to get it working in my car. I have not personally verified yet, but all of the parameters mentioned in that thread should be accessible in Expert Mode so in theory, you could use the Bimmercode app to get the easy entry feature working. But I still recommend you read up on the basics of coding before messing around in Expert Mode - it will make using the Expert Mode feature much easier (and safer).

I am sure that as time goes on, the developer will add more options to the app, such as easy access, so a user does not need to use Expert Mode to add this capability.
Thanks for the response. I have coded one thing already in expert mode but it was really basic and simple to follow along. I guess I was looking for the cliff notes version of just where to go in and what changes to make. I'll give that thread a read and see if I can get a better grasp of it.
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2017, 06:47 PM   #99
dr.roro
Captain
United_States
179
Rep
791
Posts

Drives: 2015 F32 435i
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: US

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Coding success with Bimmercode and Vgate iCar2!

Super easy to get connected and start coding with my iPhone 7 Plus. Expert mode allows you to get everything you want using a cheat sheet for any options not already listed in the app. I did get some warnings/errors (e.g. Lighting and Chassis Stabilization) after coding a few things (even with engine not running), but they went away on their own after turning the ignition off and on, so I'm not too worried. Significantly less work than figuring out E-Sys...

Here's the full list of what I was able to successfully code on my 2015 F32 435i:

Disable iDrive legal disclaimer
Disable camera legal disclaimer
Fold mirrors when locking with keyfob, change delay to 0.2 secs
Unfold mirrors when unlocking with keyfob
Change iDrive startup animation to M logo
Display individual pressure and temperature on TPMS display
Enable Sport Displays (hp/tq)
Turn off radio when driver door is opened
Unlock driver door when ignition off
Enable digital speedometer on instrument cluster
Disable initial seat belt warning
Change seat belt reminder duration to 5 secs
Auto Start-Stop set to off by default

Did I miss anything?

Last edited by dr.roro; 08-30-2017 at 10:54 AM..
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2017, 08:58 PM   #100
scostu
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
1105
Rep
1,787
Posts

Drives: 2016 F25
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Space Coast Florida......aka NASA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.roro View Post
Coding success with Bimmercode and Vgate iCar2!

Super easy to get connected and start coding with my iPhone 7 Plus. Expert mode allows you to get everything you want using a cheat sheet for any options not already listed in the app. I did get some warnings/errors (e.g. Lighting and Chassis Stabilization) after coding a few things (even with engine not running), but they went away on their own after turning the ignition off and on, so I'm not too worried. Significantly less work than figuring out E-Sys...

Here's the full list of what I was able to successfully code on my 2015 F32 435i:

Disable iDrive legal disclaimer
Disable camera legal disclaimer
Fold mirrors when locking with keyfob, change delay to 0.2 secs
Unfold mirrors when unlocking with keyfob
Change iDrive startup animation to M logo
Display individual pressure and temperature on TPMS display
Enable Sports Display (hp/tq)
Turn off radio when driver door is opened
Unlock all doors when ignition off
Enable digital speedometer on instrument cluster
Disable initial seat belt warning
Change seat belt reminder duration to 5 secs
Auto Start-Stop set to off by default

Did I miss anything?
Code out ASD!
__________________
Wife's ride....2016 Dodge WD R/T

Retired:2014 F31, 2013 Audi Q5 3.0T,
2013 Jeep WK2..Hemi, 2011 E90, 2008 E70, 2004 E46
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2017, 10:33 PM   #101
AudiA4
Major
AudiA4's Avatar
537
Rep
1,396
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i (EB) 6MT, M Sport
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Little Rock, AR, USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scostu View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.roro View Post
Coding success with Bimmercode and Vgate iCar2!

Super easy to get connected and start coding with my iPhone 7 Plus. Expert mode allows you to get everything you want using a cheat sheet for any options not already listed in the app. I did get some warnings/errors (e.g. Lighting and Chassis Stabilization) after coding a few things (even with engine not running), but they went away on their own after turning the ignition off and on, so I'm not too worried. Significantly less work than figuring out E-Sys...

Here's the full list of what I was able to successfully code on my 2015 F32 435i:

Disable iDrive legal disclaimer
Disable camera legal disclaimer
Fold mirrors when locking with keyfob, change delay to 0.2 secs
Unfold mirrors when unlocking with keyfob
Change iDrive startup animation to M logo
Display individual pressure and temperature on TPMS display
Enable Sports Display (hp/tq)
Turn off radio when driver door is opened
Unlock all doors when ignition off
Enable digital speedometer on instrument cluster
Disable initial seat belt warning
Change seat belt reminder duration to 5 secs
Auto Start-Stop set to off by default

Did I miss anything?
Code out ASD!
ASD?
__________________
2014 F30 335i (EB) 6MT, M Sport, Premium, Tech, DHP, HK, CW, M Brakes, M Exhaust

2006 E90 330i (Silver) 6MT, Sport
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2017, 08:40 AM   #102
dr.roro
Captain
United_States
179
Rep
791
Posts

Drives: 2015 F32 435i
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: US

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by scostu View Post
Code out ASD!
I have ASD on my 2015 F32 435i?
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2017, 11:38 AM   #103
elistan
First Lieutenant
United_States
30
Rep
387
Posts

Drives: F30 328i, AP1 S2000
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Longmont, CO

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AudiA4 View Post
ASD?
Active Sound Design, aka synthetic engine noise played through the audio system.
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2017, 11:39 AM   #104
scostu
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
1105
Rep
1,787
Posts

Drives: 2016 F25
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Space Coast Florida......aka NASA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.roro View Post
I have ASD on my 2015 F32 435i?
http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...&highlight=ASD
__________________
Wife's ride....2016 Dodge WD R/T

Retired:2014 F31, 2013 Audi Q5 3.0T,
2013 Jeep WK2..Hemi, 2011 E90, 2008 E70, 2004 E46
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2017, 11:41 AM   #105
scostu
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
1105
Rep
1,787
Posts

Drives: 2016 F25
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Space Coast Florida......aka NASA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AudiA4 View Post
ASD?
Fake engine noise piped in through your stereo by BMW.
__________________
Wife's ride....2016 Dodge WD R/T

Retired:2014 F31, 2013 Audi Q5 3.0T,
2013 Jeep WK2..Hemi, 2011 E90, 2008 E70, 2004 E46
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2017, 12:06 PM   #106
AudiA4
Major
AudiA4's Avatar
537
Rep
1,396
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i (EB) 6MT, M Sport
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Little Rock, AR, USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scostu View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudiA4 View Post
ASD?
Fake engine noise piped in through your stereo by BMW.
Isn't that only on the 328/330?
__________________
2014 F30 335i (EB) 6MT, M Sport, Premium, Tech, DHP, HK, CW, M Brakes, M Exhaust

2006 E90 330i (Silver) 6MT, Sport
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2017, 01:22 PM   #107
dr.roro
Captain
United_States
179
Rep
791
Posts

Drives: 2015 F32 435i
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: US

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
If I have it, I definitely haven't noticed it...
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2017, 01:55 PM   #108
evdok
Lieutenant Colonel
evdok's Avatar
United Kingdom
649
Rep
1,732
Posts

Drives: 330D M/SPORT xDRIVE INDIVIDUAL
Join Date: May 2015
Location: WORCESTERSHIRE

iTrader: (0)

answers please

1) Is it possible to code ASD on a 330D?

2) Also is it possible to code the drivers seat to move back once the ignition is switched off & move back into position when you get back in & press start button? (my previous MB used to have this)

3) Using bimmercode app how do you revert back a code i have done (backup?)


__________________
Happy Motoring

Evdok

Appreciate 0
      08-30-2017, 04:07 PM   #109
scostu
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
1105
Rep
1,787
Posts

Drives: 2016 F25
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Space Coast Florida......aka NASA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AudiA4 View Post
Isn't that only on the 328/330?
http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...&highlight=ASD
__________________
Wife's ride....2016 Dodge WD R/T

Retired:2014 F31, 2013 Audi Q5 3.0T,
2013 Jeep WK2..Hemi, 2011 E90, 2008 E70, 2004 E46
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2017, 04:10 PM   #110
scostu
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
1105
Rep
1,787
Posts

Drives: 2016 F25
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Space Coast Florida......aka NASA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by evdok View Post
1) Is it possible to code ASD on a 330D?
:
http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...&highlight=ASD
__________________
Wife's ride....2016 Dodge WD R/T

Retired:2014 F31, 2013 Audi Q5 3.0T,
2013 Jeep WK2..Hemi, 2011 E90, 2008 E70, 2004 E46
Appreciate 1
evdok648.50

Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST