F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > N55 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > ***DIY: bootmod3 OBD Agent build with RPi 3 B
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-25-2018, 03:09 PM   #67
MarkG_M5Comp
Supreme Being
MarkG_M5Comp's Avatar
United Kingdom
1740
Rep
5,424
Posts

Drives: M5 Comp
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hampshire, UK

iTrader: (0)

I've stumbled across this thread - some great work guys!

Just ordered all the parts and will be building my box tomorrow
__________________
Current: F90 M5 Competition
Gone: F80 M3 Competition Pack / M135i / F15 X5 M50d / Saab 9-5 Aero HOT / F30 335d xDrive M Sport / E92 LCI 320d M Sport / E46 320d M Sport Touring / E46 318i Touring
Appreciate 1
      05-26-2018, 02:47 PM   #68
EstorilMSport
Private First Class
EstorilMSport's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
135
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tampa, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaredG_F30 View Post

PRO PRO Tip: Ok so I haven't verified this but it seems that it would work. I have an extra WiFi router so I'm going to use it to set up a new home network with SSID bootmod3 and password bootmod3. I should be able to connect my phone and OBD agent to this network and be able to flash without setting up the hotspot through my phone. I'll report back on if this works or not.
Has anyone been able to connect using their home WiFi network? I have not been successful. My SSID and PW are bootmod3 as instructed and my iphone was connected to the network and hard reset. I also updated to the newest firmware and plugged it into my tv and it looks like a prompt for a login (screenshot below). Has anyone else seen this prompt? Is it normal?

Thanks.

__________________
2014 335i M Sport: bootmod3 Stg 2 E30 Custom, AA CP, CSF FMIC, GFB DV , VRSF catless DP, aFe stage 2 intake, KW Clubsport coilovers, MP LSD, aFe sway bars, F80 LCAs, monoball thrust arms, Delrin rear subframe bushings, xHP Stage 3.
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2018, 04:12 PM   #69
Anthony235
Lieutenant Colonel
Anthony235's Avatar
United_States
683
Rep
1,546
Posts

Drives: m235i
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: OC, Ca

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2015 BMW  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony235 View Post
Just to share.

For those near a Microcenter (or don't mind shipping) this is a good option too. Comes with motherboard, SD card, and case at a good price point.

I'm going to go pick it up Saturday.

http://www.microcenter.com/product/4..._B_Starter_Kit
Just to update. I did end up using this kit from microcenter. Works fine.

For some reason though it does seem to take a long time to connect via iOS on occasion. Sometimes I end up resetting the RPi and/or having to kill the app on the phone. Would be annoying if I wanted it to connect every time I get in the car. Not sure if other experience this or just me
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2018, 09:56 PM   #70
tr4ck_m3
TheBuildJournal.com
tr4ck_m3's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
118
Posts

Drives: 2002 E46 M3 / 2013 F30 335i M
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EstorilMSport View Post
Has anyone been able to connect using their home WiFi network? I have not been successful. My SSID and PW are bootmod3 as instructed and my iphone was connected to the network and hard reset. I also updated to the newest firmware and plugged it into my tv and it looks like a prompt for a login (screenshot below). Has anyone else seen this prompt? Is it normal?

Thanks.

im getting this too. unsuccessful usb tethering and also wifi tether...
__________________
BuildJournal - BMW DIY, Reviews, Tuning, Photoshoots, Technical Guides/Articles
Track: 2002 BMW TiAg/Black E46 ///M3 6MT
Daily: 2011 BMW Jerez /Black E92 ///M3 DCT + 2013 BMW Sapphire Black/Black F30 335i
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2018, 08:28 AM   #71
JaredG_F30
Major
JaredG_F30's Avatar
866
Rep
1,388
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i, M-Sport, Manual
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Raleigh, NC

iTrader: (0)

I haven't tried to connect to home WiFi yet. Looks like there are some issues. Maybe I can find some time the weekend to give it a shot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EstorilMSport View Post
Has anyone been able to connect using their home WiFi network? I have not been successful. My SSID and PW are bootmod3 as instructed and my iphone was connected to the network and hard reset. I also updated to the newest firmware and plugged it into my tv and it looks like a prompt for a login (screenshot below). Has anyone else seen this prompt? Is it normal?

Thanks.

__________________

2014 F30 335i, M-Sport, 6MT, V801s, custom exhaust, CTS Turbo Intake & IC, FTP CP, VRSF DP, TMS Strut Brace, BM3 Stg 2, 381 whp, 429 wtq (waiting for install: GFB DV+) Next: Ohlins R&T, M Performance LSD, M Performance Brake Kit
SPI Films Blog/DIY Vids
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2018, 09:45 AM   #72
BunkerJ
Colonel
BunkerJ's Avatar
1006
Rep
2,382
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

I don't think I've seen home WiFi work yet. I'd have to sit down to figure out why, just don't have time ATM. As for iOS, iPhone just blows when it comes to the WiFi Hotspot. If you've seen Eric (Owns the MG M2) on the FB Page, message him. I know we had issues with him and he eventually worked it out. His delay (which sounds similar to yours) was due to it still trying to connect to WiFi (his phone was) and that slowed down connection time.
__________________

2013 F30 328i: MHI Big Turbo, GFB DV+, Mishimoto CAI, ER TIC/CP/Catless DP, AWE Touring Quad Exhaust w/ Resonated Midpipe, NGK LI Plugs, BM3 with PTF Stage 2 91 AGG Tune, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP, Solowerks S1 Coilovers, and DEPO/M-Sport Retrofit
Appreciate 2
Fr3sh20.50

      05-29-2018, 09:55 PM   #73
GoodtoGo
Second Lieutenant
GoodtoGo's Avatar
61
Rep
235
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (5)

I've been able to reconfigure the agent SSID and PW to log into an already configured home WiFi and connect tethered and untethered to an iPhone running the BM3 app logged into the same WiFi network.

I've also renamed my iPhone hotspot SSID and PW to be the same as my home network to use while away from home while not having to change any of the agent settings. I did have to disable WiFi networking service in privacy > location services > system services.
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2018, 12:58 PM   #74
JaredG_F30
Major
JaredG_F30's Avatar
866
Rep
1,388
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i, M-Sport, Manual
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Raleigh, NC

iTrader: (0)

That's awesome. Other then reconfiguring the agent SSID and PW did you make any other changes. That being said, it seems logical that having a home WiFI network with SSID bootmod3 and PW bootmod3, the agent should connect without needed to be reconfigured.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodtoGo View Post
I've been able to reconfigure the agent SSID and PW to log into an already configured home WiFi and connect tethered and untethered to an iPhone running the BM3 app logged into the same WiFi network.

I've also renamed my iPhone hotspot SSID and PW to be the same as my home network to use while away from home while not having to change any of the agent settings. I did have to disable WiFi networking service in privacy > location services > system services.
__________________

2014 F30 335i, M-Sport, 6MT, V801s, custom exhaust, CTS Turbo Intake & IC, FTP CP, VRSF DP, TMS Strut Brace, BM3 Stg 2, 381 whp, 429 wtq (waiting for install: GFB DV+) Next: Ohlins R&T, M Performance LSD, M Performance Brake Kit
SPI Films Blog/DIY Vids
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2018, 02:07 PM   #75
BunkerJ
Colonel
BunkerJ's Avatar
1006
Rep
2,382
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaredG_F30 View Post
That's awesome. Other then reconfiguring the agent SSID and PW did you make any other changes. That being said, it seems logical that having a home WiFI network with SSID bootmod3 and PW bootmod3, the agent should connect without needed to be reconfigured.
It **should** haha. My other non-BM3 RP3's have no issue with this, so not sure ATM. Might as well just tether the phone to the device since you'll need to use it to control everything anyhow.
__________________

2013 F30 328i: MHI Big Turbo, GFB DV+, Mishimoto CAI, ER TIC/CP/Catless DP, AWE Touring Quad Exhaust w/ Resonated Midpipe, NGK LI Plugs, BM3 with PTF Stage 2 91 AGG Tune, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP, Solowerks S1 Coilovers, and DEPO/M-Sport Retrofit
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2018, 02:10 PM   #76
JaredG_F30
Major
JaredG_F30's Avatar
866
Rep
1,388
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i, M-Sport, Manual
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Raleigh, NC

iTrader: (0)

True but my LTE signal is 2/5 bars in my garage but the home WiFi is 95%

Quote:
Originally Posted by BunkerJ View Post
It **should** haha. My other non-BM3 RP3's have no issue with this, so not sure ATM. Might as well just tether the phone to the device since you'll need to use it to control everything anyhow.
__________________

2014 F30 335i, M-Sport, 6MT, V801s, custom exhaust, CTS Turbo Intake & IC, FTP CP, VRSF DP, TMS Strut Brace, BM3 Stg 2, 381 whp, 429 wtq (waiting for install: GFB DV+) Next: Ohlins R&T, M Performance LSD, M Performance Brake Kit
SPI Films Blog/DIY Vids
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2018, 02:13 PM   #77
BunkerJ
Colonel
BunkerJ's Avatar
1006
Rep
2,382
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaredG_F30 View Post
True but my LTE signal is 2/5 bars in my garage but the home WiFi is 95%
Well, yes, but that's what I'm saying. You can connect the phone to WiFi and USB tether and do WiFi sharing. You can also download maps to the Pi wherever, so long as it has power. Doesn't need to be in the car.
__________________

2013 F30 328i: MHI Big Turbo, GFB DV+, Mishimoto CAI, ER TIC/CP/Catless DP, AWE Touring Quad Exhaust w/ Resonated Midpipe, NGK LI Plugs, BM3 with PTF Stage 2 91 AGG Tune, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP, Solowerks S1 Coilovers, and DEPO/M-Sport Retrofit
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2018, 07:44 PM   #78
GoodtoGo
Second Lieutenant
GoodtoGo's Avatar
61
Rep
235
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaredG_F30 View Post
That's awesome. Other then reconfiguring the agent SSID and PW did you make any other changes. That being said, it seems logical that having a home WiFI network with SSID bootmod3 and PW bootmod3, the agent should connect without needed to be reconfigured.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodtoGo View Post
I've been able to reconfigure the agent SSID and PW to log into an already configured home WiFi and connect tethered and untethered to an iPhone running the BM3 app logged into the same WiFi network.

I've also renamed my iPhone hotspot SSID and PW to be the same as my home network to use while away from home while not having to change any of the agent settings. I did have to disable WiFi networking service in privacy > location services > system services.
No other settings to the agent. Only the one setting change mentioned on iPhone. I preferred to change my agent WiFi login that create a new home WiFi network SSID and PW.

Startup sequence might also be important:

WiFi network active (home or phone hotspot)
Power up agent
Allow agent to connect to network (shows confirmation on iPhone for hotspot)
Open app
App login
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2018, 08:04 AM   #79
JaredG_F30
Major
JaredG_F30's Avatar
866
Rep
1,388
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i, M-Sport, Manual
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Raleigh, NC

iTrader: (0)

Ah...good points

Quote:
Originally Posted by BunkerJ View Post
Well, yes, but that's what I'm saying. You can connect the phone to WiFi and USB tether and do WiFi sharing. You can also download maps to the Pi wherever, so long as it has power. Doesn't need to be in the car.
__________________

2014 F30 335i, M-Sport, 6MT, V801s, custom exhaust, CTS Turbo Intake & IC, FTP CP, VRSF DP, TMS Strut Brace, BM3 Stg 2, 381 whp, 429 wtq (waiting for install: GFB DV+) Next: Ohlins R&T, M Performance LSD, M Performance Brake Kit
SPI Films Blog/DIY Vids
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2018, 08:21 AM   #80
JaredG_F30
Major
JaredG_F30's Avatar
866
Rep
1,388
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i, M-Sport, Manual
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Raleigh, NC

iTrader: (0)

So when connecting the Agent to your home WiFi, how do you know when it's connected?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodtoGo View Post
No other settings to the agent. Only the one setting change mentioned on iPhone. I preferred to change my agent WiFi login that create a new home WiFi network SSID and PW.

Startup sequence might also be important:

WiFi network active (home or phone hotspot)
Power up agent
Allow agent to connect to network (shows confirmation on iPhone for hotspot)
Open app
App login
__________________

2014 F30 335i, M-Sport, 6MT, V801s, custom exhaust, CTS Turbo Intake & IC, FTP CP, VRSF DP, TMS Strut Brace, BM3 Stg 2, 381 whp, 429 wtq (waiting for install: GFB DV+) Next: Ohlins R&T, M Performance LSD, M Performance Brake Kit
SPI Films Blog/DIY Vids
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2018, 09:12 PM   #81
GoodtoGo
Second Lieutenant
GoodtoGo's Avatar
61
Rep
235
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaredG_F30 View Post
So when connecting the Agent to your home WiFi, how do you know when it's connected?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodtoGo View Post
No other settings to the agent. Only the one setting change mentioned on iPhone. I preferred to change my agent WiFi login that create a new home WiFi network SSID and PW.

Startup sequence might also be important:

WiFi network active (home or phone hotspot)
Power up agent
Allow agent to connect to network (shows confirmation on iPhone for hotspot)
Open app
App login
Unfortunately you don't know until you log in through the app and see that your OBD agent is connected. I guess you could log into your home router to check connections.

The agent could not have been logged into any other network because my hotspot was off and my phone was logged into the home network. I don't believe the iPhone allows hotspot connections when it is logged into WiFi anyway.
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2018, 07:56 AM   #82
JaredG_F30
Major
JaredG_F30's Avatar
866
Rep
1,388
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i, M-Sport, Manual
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Raleigh, NC

iTrader: (0)

Correct about the iPhone and another reason I would like to get the agent connected to my home WiFi. Currently, I have to go into iPhone settings and click "forget this network" in order to connect the agent to my iPhone hotspot. Then I have to log back in when I'm done. It's not a huge issue but I have an extra WiFi router that I can set to SSID bottmod3 and be done with it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodtoGo View Post
Unfortunately you don't know until you log in through the app and see that your OBD agent is connected. I guess you could log into your home router to check connections.

The agent could not have been logged into any other network because my hotspot was off and my phone was logged into the home network. I don't believe the iPhone allows hotspot connections when it is logged into WiFi anyway.
__________________

2014 F30 335i, M-Sport, 6MT, V801s, custom exhaust, CTS Turbo Intake & IC, FTP CP, VRSF DP, TMS Strut Brace, BM3 Stg 2, 381 whp, 429 wtq (waiting for install: GFB DV+) Next: Ohlins R&T, M Performance LSD, M Performance Brake Kit
SPI Films Blog/DIY Vids
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2018, 09:49 AM   #83
BunkerJ
Colonel
BunkerJ's Avatar
1006
Rep
2,382
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaredG_F30 View Post
Correct about the iPhone and another reason I would like to get the agent connected to my home WiFi. Currently, I have to go into iPhone settings and click "forget this network" in order to connect the agent to my iPhone hotspot. Then I have to log back in when I'm done. It's not a huge issue but I have an extra WiFi router that I can set to SSID bottmod3 and be done with it.
My solution to this? Go Android
__________________

2013 F30 328i: MHI Big Turbo, GFB DV+, Mishimoto CAI, ER TIC/CP/Catless DP, AWE Touring Quad Exhaust w/ Resonated Midpipe, NGK LI Plugs, BM3 with PTF Stage 2 91 AGG Tune, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP, Solowerks S1 Coilovers, and DEPO/M-Sport Retrofit
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2018, 12:03 PM   #84
Anthony235
Lieutenant Colonel
Anthony235's Avatar
United_States
683
Rep
1,546
Posts

Drives: m235i
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: OC, Ca

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2015 BMW  [0.00]
Just to update on my iOS phone taking forever to connect or requiring me to restart the hardware agent (disconnect USB cable).

So over the last few days what I've been doing is starting the hotspot BEFORE opening the car door. If your car is setup like mine then the cars power turns on as soon as you open the door. This makes sure the hotspot is waiting for the hardware agent and not the other way around.

By doing this it's connecting really fast to my hotspot now. Then I just have to wait a few seconds for the agent itself to connect to the car.

Also, if you're on one of the newer iOS versions the phone should automatically disable WiFi when you enable hotspot and vice versa.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2018, 06:47 AM   #85
EstorilMSport
Private First Class
EstorilMSport's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
135
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tampa, FL

iTrader: (0)

Just to follow up I updated my wireless plan to include the hotspot capability, turned it on and everything works perfectly. No luck on home WiFi but I think Iíve moved past it at this point.
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2018, 06:45 AM   #86
Avto_ABPerformance
New Member
Avto_ABPerformance's Avatar
29
Rep
25
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Georgia ,Tbilisi

iTrader: (0)

Can I use Pi 3? instead of Pi2?
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2018, 11:39 PM   #87
BunkerJ
Colonel
BunkerJ's Avatar
1006
Rep
2,382
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_M4 View Post
Can I use Pi 3? instead of Pi2?
The one required is Pi 3 Model B. Don't use Model B+. Who told you 2?
__________________

2013 F30 328i: MHI Big Turbo, GFB DV+, Mishimoto CAI, ER TIC/CP/Catless DP, AWE Touring Quad Exhaust w/ Resonated Midpipe, NGK LI Plugs, BM3 with PTF Stage 2 91 AGG Tune, Fuel-it Stage 2 LPFP, Solowerks S1 Coilovers, and DEPO/M-Sport Retrofit
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2018, 04:24 PM   #88
Trever007
New Member
1
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: 2016 M235i xDrive
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Do you guys think a PoE hat or PoE to USB adapter would work to power the Pi from the OBD port through the E-Net cable? This way no other power source is needed for a cleaner install.

https://uk.pi-supply.com/products/pi...r-raspberry-pi

https://m.aliexpress.com/item/328417...E&gclsrc=aw.ds
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST