F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > 10.25" Android 9.0 HU discussion
proTUNING Freaks
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-12-2019, 05:19 AM   #67
Pro-Owner
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 318d
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtee View Post
Well, I think you can still get a USB dongle and put your SIM card there. Or use mobile hotspot.

Does anyone know how many USB ports does the unit have?
most come with 2 I think, but I've seen usb hubs being used as well.
Appreciate 1
lehtee24.50

      08-12-2019, 08:37 AM   #68
adrien78
Private First Class
France
28
Rep
134
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 335i
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: France, Versailles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtee View Post
Well, I think you can still get a USB dongle and put your SIM card there. Or use mobile hotspot.

Does anyone know how many USB ports does the unit have?
That's true, I'm just tired of this retarded chinese products. I think EU could be a huge market for this kind of units.
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2019, 08:41 AM   #69
lehtee
Enlisted Member
25
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 120D (2016 M-Sport)
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Finland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by adrien78 View Post
That's true, I'm just tired of this retarded chinese products. I think EU could be a huge market for this kind of units.
Yeah. IDK wtf did they think when they decided not to support LTE in EU. So stupid
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2019, 09:36 AM   #70
Kri
Second Lieutenant
Austria
52
Rep
217
Posts

Drives: E87
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Ok, thats exactly what i thought, no good EU support.
i also have already a snapdragon HU with built in LTE but have not used it.
instead of i`m installing an Automotive grade Wireless hotspot, also used in buses like FlixBus

i found two cool devices, one is the Teltonika RUT850 and the second one is the Mikrotik wAP LTE Kit (RBwAPR-2nD&11e-LTE / EU version )

I tested both of them, if someone is interested in them, i made a little review here (german).

the additional benefit of this is that you can also connect your normal mobile phone and you still have internet for whatsap and navigation the whole time when doing a call.
when doing thethering of your normal phone you loose internet functionality after some kilometers while calling.

sincerely Chri.

p.s.: Mikrotik does also have an US LTE Version

Last edited by Kri; 08-12-2019 at 09:46 AM..
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2019, 09:45 AM   #71
marakeh
Private
12
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: BMW 118D
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

anybody brave enough to try this for rooting?

https://forum.xda-developers.com/sho...&postcount=143

i would like to recompile the eventcenter.apk to change some of those horrible default apps...

Last edited by marakeh; 08-13-2019 at 02:53 AM..
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2019, 04:06 PM   #72
Pro-Owner
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 318d
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

I'v been advised to post here instead of a different thread i started, the answers without quote tags are from the original thread, answered by lethee himself, so bear with me as this may be a long list.

I've read through this thread, but I still have quite a few questions that I think others may find useful as well. I'm going to try to be as methodical as possible, so here goes. (The questions are in bold, I'll add responses in regular text to this post along the way).

1. What is the boot time for these headunits, and when does the boot start (when unlocking, or when starting the car)?
1. According to reviews I've seen, boot time is something like 15-30 seconds. But someone who owns an unit will know better.
2. How do these units hold up in cold humid weather?

3. How is the brightness compared to the original, especially during bright sunny days?

4. I know the new chips (qualcom) have good audio quality, but what about volume, the difference between Bluetooth and radio is very noticeable on the original radio, is it the same with this (i.e. Android part lower volume than iDrive radio)?

5. Are these devices rooted?
5. The devices are not rooted by default and it is quite hard to root them. Some people have succeeded on rooting their unit on the android 7.1/8 models but I haven't seen a 9.0 root yet.
6. Does anybody have a 1920x720 (or close to this) version, with a qualcom 8 core cpu, 4gb ram, 64gb rom and anti glare screen with good brightness? If so, where can I find it?
6. I have searched a lot and came to conclusion that there is no model with 1920x720 screen AND snapdragon. It's either 1280x480 screen + Snapdragon or better screen with PX6
7. Does sound from the android part, for example spotify, stop when accessing the iDrive part for for example vehicule info?

8. Is the dashboard (rpm , speed, fual level etc.) still as choppy as in the videos from the android 7 & 8 versions?

9. Can the buttons on the radio fascia still be used to add shortcuts like it does on the iDrive?

10. Which buttons on the controller & steering wheel don't work with the adroid unit, or do something weird? (like on the original radio, the steering wheel scroll can't skip songs over bluetooth)

11. Is there a difference between i.e. AVIN units and the aliexpress ones, even though they look the same?
11. No. The products are same, the difference between sellers is in after sales support. However you may be able to add some (costly) extras to your unit (built in carplay for example) with some sellers but not all.
12. For europeans, supplier ewaying seems to be a good option due to the german warehouse, can anybody confirm if their products are as good as the others?
12. See #11, I'm sure there's maybe 1-2 factories all units come from. Ewaying is the same products, but I have noticed they don't have the latest models available (at least for F20).
13. When adding the optional DAB+ dongle, can you somehow avoid having to add the external antenna (by splitting the regular antenna cable for example)?

14. Does it remember on startup, where it left off last time, if you had a specific app open, does it restart that app?

15. There are a few optional bits and pieces with these units, like the DAB+ dongle etc. Is there anything you really recommend getting?

16. Is there anything you think I really should know about these headunits?

Thanks in advance!
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2019, 05:02 PM   #73
Frankly30
Private
Germany
20
Rep
78
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg.a View Post
Hi. How were you able to code the radio to support the split screen in bimmercode? Thanks
In Expert Mode change the following in your HU:
HU_NBT > 3000_HMI > DISPLAY_SIZE_RESOLUTION = 10.25_1280x480
HU_NBT > 3001_EXBOX > DISPLAY_VARIANTE = breites_display

I use a HUAWEI E8372 LTE/4G Wingle for Internet. It works like a WiFi Hotspot therefor it only needs power from USB. I never had a problem with it tbh, plus I can share my internet with passengers.
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2019, 05:36 PM   #74
Frankly30
Private
Germany
20
Rep
78
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

https://aliexpress.com/item/33047984764.html
This unit's UI seems to be a little more updated. Like being able to search in Media App, unpair Bluetooth device and an actual updated Factory Settings. I dont have that on my PX6 Android 9.0...
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2019, 06:01 PM   #75
taranfx
Z4 35is
taranfx's Avatar
United_States
24
Rep
226
Posts

Drives: 2011 Z4 35is || 2016 435i
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

Does anyone of the Android HU is compatible with HeadsupDisplay? Like for navigation?
__________________
2011 Z4 E89 35is 2016 435i GC m-sport
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2019, 07:55 PM   #76
Pro-Owner
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 318d
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by taranfx View Post
Does anyone of the Android HU is compatible with HeadsupDisplay? Like for navigation?
Depends on which navigation you use. If you intend on keeping the stock navigation, then yes, otherwise no. The android unit is a layer on top of idrive. It can't do the stuff idrive does, it just passes on the audio and displays the video on the screen. You can however retain the stock navigation by linking it in the android unit as the default navigation. Once you hit the navigation button it will send you to idrive and open up the nav.
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2019, 10:04 AM   #77
ce23
Registered
Germany
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: 2014 F20 118i
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Still unsure if I should go with an Android HU or a CarPlay box. How is the integration with the OEM microphone working for the Android 9 HUs? However, CarPlay with stock microphone still is my prefered scenario.
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2019, 09:28 AM   #78
schoettt
Private First Class
14
Rep
146
Posts

Drives: 228i x drive m sport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: columbus, Indiana

iTrader: (1)

Siriusxm

Will this work with my siriusxm that I currently have?
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2019, 12:39 PM   #79
twoface
New Member
2
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: BMW 316D
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Croatia

iTrader: (0)

I'm looking forward for those that get their HD display version to make a review. I would really want a antiglare screen but I don't see this option for HD display unit. So I'm torn between 480p screen with antiglare layer or regular black HD display. Question for owners, how does screen auto brightness work? Does it compensate based on sensor values or? I've seen some hacks done with brightness in 7.1 unit thread.
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2019, 03:19 PM   #80
marakeh
Private
12
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: BMW 118D
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

got a new firmware:

PX6 4+32 upgrade file download link.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1j8...J0akAxFKBlnKNe

Operation method:
PX6 upgrade steps:
1. After downloading the file, please do not extract the file, copy the file directly to the U disk, and change the file name to "px6.zip".
2. The device is turned off (shutdown for at least 5 minutes), and the USB flash drive is inserted into the USB interface.
3, then boot, waiting for the system to detect the upgrade file. Waiting for the upgrade.
4. The upgrade is complete.

-> update dialog is not trigged for me, so no update for me yet, im in contact with the seller..
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2019, 04:39 PM   #81
zimasha
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: 2004 530i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Minsk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by marakeh View Post
got a new firmware:

PX6 4+32 upgrade file download link.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1j8...J0akAxFKBlnKNe

Operation method:
PX6 upgrade steps:
1. After downloading the file, please do not extract the file, copy the file directly to the U disk, and change the file name to "px6.zip".
2. The device is turned off (shutdown for at least 5 minutes), and the USB flash drive is inserted into the USB interface.
3, then boot, waiting for the system to detect the upgrade file. Waiting for the upgrade.
4. The upgrade is complete.

-> update dialog is not trigged for me, so no update for me yet, im in contact with the seller..
Try renaming to update.zip.
Btw where did you get your unit from?
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2019, 03:12 AM   #82
marakeh
Private
12
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: BMW 118D
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

from aliexpress.

https://www.aliexpress.com/store/3090101 (manufacturer is ewaygps)

tried update.zip, px6.zip, px6_format.zip.

im currently waiting for a reply from the seller.
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2019, 04:59 AM   #83
smahel
Private First Class
47
Rep
123
Posts

Drives: M235i, X1, MINI Cooper
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 M235i  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by marakeh View Post
from aliexpress.

https://www.aliexpress.com/store/3090101 (manufacturer is ewaygps)

tried update.zip, px6.zip, px6_format.zip.

im currently waiting for a reply from the seller.
hi marakeh, thank you for sharing Android 9. Try renaming the file to px6-9.0.zip and it should go.
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2019, 05:16 AM   #84
Kri
Second Lieutenant
Austria
52
Rep
217
Posts

Drives: E87
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smahel View Post
hi marakeh, thank you for sharing Android 9. Try renaming the file to px6-9.0.zip and it should go.
Does someone know where at the image the information ist stored how the naming has to be ?
as they are very different i think there has to be some kind of configuration db where this is stored to.

Chri
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2019, 05:25 AM   #85
smahel
Private First Class
47
Rep
123
Posts

Drives: M235i, X1, MINI Cooper
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 M235i  [4.50]
oem\app\upgrade_name.txt
just like px3
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2019, 06:02 AM   #86
Frankly30
Private
Germany
20
Rep
78
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by marakeh View Post
got a new firmware:

PX6 4+32 upgrade file download link.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1j8...J0akAxFKBlnKNe
Is that the same Firmware as mine PQ2A.190305.002 ? Snapgragon users seem to have a more updated firmware.. Also is the upgrade crosscompatible with all PX6 boards?
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2019, 07:38 AM   #87
seaman5705
Private
5
Rep
71
Posts

Drives: BMW F10
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by adrien78 View Post
so bad... in france we are using these frequencies :

700 MHz (B28)
800 MHz (B20)
1800 MHz (B3)
2100 MHz (B1)
2600 MHz (B7)

So this 4G unit is f*cking useless
Bands B1 and B3 are supported by the unit , as indicated above .
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2019, 08:49 AM   #88
schoettt
Private First Class
14
Rep
146
Posts

Drives: 228i x drive m sport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: columbus, Indiana

iTrader: (1)

Siriusxm

Will these work with existing siriusxm thats already in idrive?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST