F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > BMW retrofit Integrated Navigation for HU_ENTRY
Extreme Powerhouse
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-12-2016, 01:46 PM   #89
mar-22
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: BMW-F22
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Portugal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TePee View Post
The higher voltage applies only for NBT Evo Screen.
Hi TePee, sorry but I d'nt realized.
If you have only a Professional radio and install this kit also replace the original 6.5" by a new 8.8" screen that will not work? this is it?
Appreciate 0
      07-12-2016, 03:42 PM   #90
TePee
Second Lieutenant
35
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: F34 LCI MY2019
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Home of BMW

iTrader: (0)

8,8" retrofit is only possible if you have newer radio professional from 7/2014 on (HU Entrynav). Therefore you need the L7 High 8,8 screen.

But this is a different story. This thread is about "BMW Integrated Navigation" retrofit. No clue whether this is compatible with 8,8" and split screen etc. Noone seems to have tried it here...
Appreciate 0
      07-13-2016, 09:06 AM   #91
mar-22
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: BMW-F22
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Portugal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TePee View Post
8,8" retrofit is only possible if you have newer radio professional from 7/2014 on (HU Entrynav). Therefore you need the L7 High 8,8 screen.
My car is 5/2014
Thanks
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2016, 04:58 AM   #92
drguru
New Member
1
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: 2013 520d
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

Hello everyone,
I will start by thanking Shawnsheridan and Radair
Successfully installed integrated navigation to my 2013 F10. I worked straight away, but without voice.

My car have HU_CHAMP2 instead of HU_ENTRY
Tried all setting in of MUTE but with with no effect.

Then tried to add Ho-Word "NAVI" to but bit confused how to do.....
I read the thread on HIFI coding (how to change FA ) and followed it step by step
now I am stuck at step 5
I can see HO-wort but was not able to figure out how to add "NAVI".

Do i have to press right click on Ho-wort and then click edit to add "NAVI"
Secondly do i have to add NAVI in inverted comma's or only NAVI.

I attached 2 pictures, first is of the mute which i coded
Second is of Ho-Wort......

Please help

Thank you
GSB

Last edited by drguru; 07-15-2016 at 01:46 PM.. Reason: spelling mistake
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2016, 07:01 AM   #93
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
3553
Rep
19,218
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by drguru View Post
...
Then tried to add Ho-Word "NAVI" to but bit confused how to do.....
I read the thread on HIFI coding (how to change FA ) and followed it step by step
now I am stuck at step 5
I can see HO-wort but was not able to figure out how to add "NAVI".

Do i have to press right click on Ho-wort and then click edit to add "NAVI"
Secondly do i have to add NAVI in inverted comma's or only NAVI.
...
Just Right-Click on Ho-Wort => New => Ho-Wort, then in Empty Box that appears, type NAVI without any quotes. Then Save FA, write FA back to car, and then you can use car FA for proper VO Coding.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2016, 12:00 PM   #94
drguru
New Member
1
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: 2013 520d
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Just Right-Click on Ho-Wort => New => Ho-Wort, then in Empty Box that appears, type NAVI without any quotes. Then Save FA, write FA back to car, and then you can use car FA for proper VO Coding.
Thank You Shawnsheridan
I successfully added NAVI to Ho-Wort but with no effect still no voice by integrated navigation.

suggestions please ?

Thank you
gsb

Last edited by drguru; 07-15-2016 at 01:47 PM.. Reason: spelling mistake
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2016, 12:05 PM   #95
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
3553
Rep
19,218
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by drguru View Post
Thank You Shawnsheridan
I successfully added NAVI to Ho-Wort but with no effect still no voice by integrated navigation.

suggestions please ?

Thank you
gsb
What did you do after adding NAVI to FA? By itself, that does nothing. You still need to Load Modified FA, Activate FA, and Code car.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2016, 12:13 PM   #96
drguru
New Member
1
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: 2013 520d
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

Thank you Shawn for the quick response.
I did load FA.
last step was write FA FP , but haven't activated after that. i will do it.
What coding do i need to do ?
thank you
GSB

Last edited by drguru; 07-15-2016 at 12:18 PM..
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2016, 12:18 PM   #97
radair
Private
radair's Avatar
Austria
14
Rep
89
Posts

Drives: F31 318d Touring
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Austria

iTrader: (0)

Hi,

After activating the FA you have to code the Radio unit only.




Quote:
Originally Posted by drguru View Post
Thank you Shawn for the quick response.
I did load FA, but haven't activated after that. i will do it.
What coding do i need to do ?
thank you
GSB
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2016, 12:20 PM   #98
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
3553
Rep
19,218
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by drguru View Post
Thank you Shawn for the quick response.
I did load FA.
last step was write FA FP , but haven't activated after that. i will do it.
What coding do i need to do ?
thank you
GSB
At a minimum, you need to VO Code your Head Unit (HU_CHAMP, HU_ENTRYNAV, etc.), so start with that.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.

Last edited by shawnsheridan; 07-15-2016 at 01:00 PM..
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2016, 12:58 PM   #99
drguru
New Member
1
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: 2013 520d
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

Thank you for your lightning response
I coded few options of one by one on HU_champ2, but nothing worked for me till now.....
Will try again after a moment and let you know the result.
thank you
gsb
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2016, 01:45 PM   #100
drguru
New Member
1
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: 2013 520d
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
At a minimum, you need to VO Code your Head Unit (HU_CHAMP, HU_ENTRYNAV, etc.), so start with that.
Dear Shawn
I am posting some pics please let me know what to code.
i will delete pics later as they take too much space..
i will b highly obliged
thank you
gsb

Last edited by drguru; 07-15-2016 at 02:29 PM..
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2016, 01:49 PM   #101
drguru
New Member
1
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: 2013 520d
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

pictures follows

Last edited by drguru; 07-15-2016 at 02:28 PM..
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2016, 01:53 PM   #102
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
3553
Rep
19,218
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by drguru View Post
Dear Shawn
I am posting some pics please let me know what to code.
i will delete pics later as they take too much space..
i will b highly obliged
thank you
gsb
If we wanted to make every single FDL Code change needed manually, we would not have bothered adding HO-Wort = NAVI to FA. There would be no point. We modified FA in order to use FA for VO Coding, which is a much simpler process of letting E-Sys make all the required individual FDL Code changes for us.

VO Code:

Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Right-Click on ECU (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE.

You need to VO Code your Head Unit control unit.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2016, 01:56 PM   #103
tomsab0
Second Lieutenant
11
Rep
205
Posts

Drives: F48
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Load the new FA, activate it, Right Click on HU_Champ (listed in the below ECU field and select Code...

Edit: Shawn was faster.
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2016, 02:17 PM   #104
drguru
New Member
1
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: 2013 520d
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

Gotit buddy
will let you know the result
thank you
GSB
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2016, 06:42 PM   #105
drguru
New Member
1
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: 2013 520d
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

Thank you Shawn and tomsab0
Ecu coded
but still no voice...........................
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2016, 06:45 PM   #106
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
3553
Rep
19,218
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by drguru View Post
Thank you Shawn and tomsab0
Ecu coded
but still no voice...........................
What Voice are you referring to, and dId you have it before and lost it, or you have never had it?
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2016, 06:51 PM   #107
drguru
New Member
1
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: 2013 520d
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

Integrated navigation system installed all working but no voice from navigation.
It isn't there since i installed it.
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2016, 07:54 PM   #108
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
3553
Rep
19,218
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by drguru View Post
Integrated navigation system installed all working but no voice from navigation.
It isn't there since i installed it.
Personally, I have factory CIC Navigation System, and I am not familiar with this Integrated System, but assuming it does have Voice function as you say, then either wiring is not correct or more coding is needed.

After you added HO-Wort = NAVI to FA, did you write the updated modified FA to car VCM?

See the complete VO Coding Process here:

E-Sys - VO Coding Guide.pdf:
https://mega.nz/#!1xpU2DqY!eVG7F6k0d...dVSDBnKk8Rzg90

We need to be sure that when you VO Coded your Head Unit (HU_CHAMP), HO-Wort = NAVI was in the FA that was activated at the time of VO Coding.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2016, 01:55 AM   #109
tomsab0
Second Lieutenant
11
Rep
205
Posts

Drives: F48
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by drguru View Post
Integrated navigation system installed all working but no voice from navigation.
It isn't there since i installed it.
Are you 100% sure, that you have connected all the wires correct?
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2016, 05:02 AM   #110
drguru
New Member
1
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: 2013 520d
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomsab0 View Post
Are you 100% sure, that you have connected all the wires correct?
I think i connected them correctly.
Will post the picture which i took after connecting wires...
orange--- pin 40
voilet ---- pin 34
white which you can see lose was later connected to pin 10
please correct me if i am wrong.
thank you
gsb
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
integrated, navigation

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST