F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > E-Sys Launcher & Tokenmaster
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-09-2019, 04:52 AM   #67
Leut
New Member
Netherlands
4
Rep
17
Posts

Drives: MY14 F30 320d
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeppe777 View Post
any idea how to uninstall the root ca certificate?
You've got to this:
1) Launch MMC (mmc.exe).
2) Choose File > Add/Remove Snap-ins.
3) Choose Certificates, then choose Add.
4) Choose My user account.
5) Choose Add again and this time select Computer Account.
6) In the console tree under the logical store that contains the certificate to delete, click Certificates.
7) In the details pane, click the certificate that you want to delete.
8) On the Action menu, click Delete.
9) Click Yes if you are sure that you want to permanently delete the certificate.
10) Restart your computer.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2019, 01:10 PM   #68
EclipseDS
New Member
5
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: Black Sapphire 328i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by splteko View Post
You may not want to use the 2.8.2 that TM has just released, at least not on a computer that has access to your passwords or data. 2.8.2 installs a trusted root CA certificate that allows TM to decrypt all your network traffic and more.
As someone who works a lot with X509 certificates and TLS/SSL, this is simply not true. Traffic on secure channels are encrypted and the only way to decrypt it is if the message or payload is specifically sent to a server using the same certificate with private key. That or an MITM exploit, but thatís a different subject. From what I can see, the certificate key usage doesnít allow it to be use outside of code verification

You have tons of other certificates on the trusted root. If all of those allow what you said, nobody will trust PKI and we wouldnít be using RSA certificates to encrypt and verify digital messages or entities.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2019, 05:40 PM   #69
splteko
New Member
50
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: m3
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EclipseDS View Post
As someone who works a lot with X509 certificates and TLS/SSL, this is simply not true. .
As someone who works a lot with x.509 certificates and TLS/SSL, you should familiarise yourself with how MiTM attacks work and how controlling a trusted CA certificate makes it easy to conduct them. TM's root CA cert is valid for all purposes, not just code signing.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2019, 08:49 PM   #70
justa3bmw
Enlisted Member
3
Rep
43
Posts

Drives: bmw
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: ny

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the nice work so far splteko
Can't wait to see what's in store with your talent.

Where in NY are you located?
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2019, 11:38 AM   #71
jackstrath
Lieutenant
Scotland
70
Rep
403
Posts

Drives: F31 340i
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Aberdeen

iTrader: (0)

where can i get E-Sys 2.7.1? i have managed to run E-Sys launcher pro but cant find e-sys when it asks for the location
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2019, 11:42 AM   #72
atzebmw
Captain
Germany
207
Rep
991
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackstrath View Post
where can i get E-Sys 2.7.1? i have managed to run E-Sys launcher pro but cant find e-sys when it asks for the location
Have you also installed E-Sys 3.27.1?
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2019, 12:17 PM   #73
jackstrath
Lieutenant
Scotland
70
Rep
403
Posts

Drives: F31 340i
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Aberdeen

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
Have you also installed E-Sys 3.27.1?
no ! haha! thats where i was going wrong! downloading it just now !
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2019, 03:17 PM   #74
jackstrath
Lieutenant
Scotland
70
Rep
403
Posts

Drives: F31 340i
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Aberdeen

iTrader: (0)

ok , Esys installed but cant get the launcher to pop up the windown so i can copy the request code into the keygen?
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2019, 12:44 PM   #75
Sean750
New Member
Sean750's Avatar
Netherlands
20
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: 420iA High Exec M Sport Editon
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

@splteko: thank you very much! Works like a charm with the tokenbuster application. Hats off to you!

I worked previously with the ReArm workaround (also Tony thank you for your work), but it was a real pain to change every time the date, also because for instance browsers (google) didn't work with an older date. So when working with esys, you couldn't browse for specific settings which made it hard to work with.

I also tried the recent Tokenmaster 2.8.2 pro launcher but it installed a certificate (can't remove it, keeps asking for it while starting pro launcher). It also raised an error while starting esys.

Sooo....the Tokenbuster solution seems the best option as of now!

A couple of remarks regarding using TokenBuster:

- the 2.8.1 PRO launcher is included in the zipfile, no need to search for that on the internets. The 2.9.1 version PRO Launcher is also included but that doesn't work (as Splteko earlier mentioned, only 2.8.1 is supported with the TokenBuster app)
- the blue font is indeed hard to read, especially on a laptop in bright daylight. Maybe consider changing the color of the font to white.
- maybe you can leave the activation key and response key textboxes by default empty. This indicates better that you have to enter a field or doing an action instead of directly using the default codes.

For clarification for others :
1 ignore the default activation key/response key in TokenBuster.
2 Generate a token in TokenBuster and place it somewhere on your computer.
3 Refer in PRO Launcher to that particular token. Enter the 1234 PIN (or your own) in PRO Launcher.
4 Copy the activation code from the PRO launcer to TokenBuster and copy the generated response code into PRO Launcher (could be in a second window).
5 Click 'activate now' in PRO Launcher.

It should be working then.

Last edited by Sean750; 05-13-2019 at 02:01 AM..
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2019, 10:32 AM   #76
chr
New Member
5
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d xDrive
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Romania

iTrader: (0)

LauncherPRO TokenBuster

RequestCode --> ActivationCode
ActivationCode <-- Response for LauncherPRO

Naming might be a little bit confusing, but it works fine.
Thank you so much, splteko!
Appreciate 0
      05-14-2019, 06:36 PM   #77
doctor80
Enlisted Member
13
Rep
45
Posts

Drives: F30, 328 Xdrive
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Yesterday I coded sport+ successfully.
However i paid attention that when executing Esys for the second time , after first time was succesfully, and then i closed it, the Launcher threw me an error and request to send email to tokenmaster and i could not start Esys.
Then i closed the Launcher and executed Esys itself, and it was able to be executed, and I was able to run and code with it.

Is this the correct behavior?
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2019, 12:45 AM   #78
chr
New Member
5
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d xDrive
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Romania

iTrader: (0)

No, it is not the correct behaviour.
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2019, 04:29 AM   #79
Leut
New Member
Netherlands
4
Rep
17
Posts

Drives: MY14 F30 320d
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by doctor80 View Post
... the Launcher threw me an error and request to send email to tokenmaster and i could not start Esys.
...
Is this the correct behavior?
That's how far I get in any possible way and no solutions for me (yet) to get any further. So, no, I would not call this a correct behavior.

The question though is, has this got to do the with the TokenBuster launcher or with the specific Launcher Pro 2.8.1? Perhaps a combination of both...
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2019, 08:04 AM   #80
x0rcode
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: bmw f31
Join Date: May 2019
Location: frankfurt

iTrader: (0)

also interested
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2019, 09:51 AM   #81
chr
New Member
5
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d xDrive
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Romania

iTrader: (0)

Might be Windows as well.
For me it works perfect on Win 7.
But on Win 10 version 1809, it asks for soft token when I want to code.
Same behavior on both 2.8.1 with Tokenbuster and 2.8.2.
Somebody said it's because of version 1809 and it will be fine with new windows version, end of the month.
Fopefully hi's right, however, I keep the old laptop with Win 7 just in case I need to do some coding.
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2019, 03:23 PM   #82
doctor80
Enlisted Member
13
Rep
45
Posts

Drives: F30, 328 Xdrive
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

The weird part is that it did work for me and I did code successfully.
I'll try today to run it again and see.
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2019, 03:46 PM   #83
lebcardiag
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: E90
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lebanon

iTrader: (0)

NcdCafdTool_V0.5.2

Can you give us keygen for NcdCafdTool_V0.5.2 by token master
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2019, 04:26 PM   #84
jeppe777
Private
7
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: SA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leut View Post
You've got to this:
1) Launch MMC (mmc.exe).
2) Choose File > Add/Remove Snap-ins.
3) Choose Certificates, then choose Add.
4) Choose My user account.
5) Choose Add again and this time select Computer Account.
6) In the console tree under the logical store that contains the certificate to delete, click Certificates.
7) In the details pane, click the certificate that you want to delete.
8) On the Action menu, click Delete.
9) Click Yes if you are sure that you want to permanently delete the certificate.
10) Restart your computer.

Thanks for this however I have looked through the certificates and have no clue which one to delete?
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2019, 05:06 PM   #85
doctor80
Enlisted Member
13
Rep
45
Posts

Drives: F30, 328 Xdrive
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Ok. Rebooted my machine.
Executed Esys itself, without running any Launcher (i ran launcher only once couple days ago).
The Esys came up without any errors.
Does it mean we are good to go by executing Esys after first time running with Launcher?
Windows 10 PRO, 64 bit
Esys 3.27.1
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2019, 05:18 PM   #86
ian332isport
Lieutenant
ian332isport's Avatar
United Kingdom
236
Rep
448
Posts

Drives: F31 340i Shadow Edition
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by doctor80 View Post
Turned antivirus ON - TokenBuster was erased - Still can start Esys directly.
You can run esys without any sort of token solution. What you canít do is FDL coding. This requires launcher to handle the required token.

Try opening the FDL editor, and it will request a PIN.
Appreciate 1
      05-16-2019, 07:56 AM   #87
Ibo24
New BMW owner
Ibo24's Avatar
Belgium
48
Rep
350
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Hopefully 2.9.1 would be released soon.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2019, 03:06 PM   #88
jackstrath
Lieutenant
Scotland
70
Rep
403
Posts

Drives: F31 340i
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Aberdeen

iTrader: (0)

Man, i save the token, load it in the EST Path, enter my pin that i set in tokenbuster, then nothing happens, i cant get the activation prompt? nothing pops up or anything, if i push the hammer and spanner tool icon , re enter the PIN and push check EST soft token and get a message saying "EST Token is not eligible for extension"

Any Ideas on how to get the prompt up that displaces the activation code?

Edit: i put the wrong pin in on purpose and it brought up the activation prompt... went in did the copy and past thing and its now working fine!

So for future, do i have to start E sys with the launcher? or can i start it directly from the e sys desktop icon?

Last edited by jackstrath; 05-17-2019 at 03:24 PM..
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST