F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > BMW F30 3 Series Coding DIY - Code Auto Start Stop, DVD, Folding Mirrors, Etc.
Extreme Powerhouse
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-30-2021, 09:14 AM   #16039
JesseHensley
Registered
JesseHensley's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW 328i F30
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Wichita Falls, TX

iTrader: (0)

new member

hello every one, new to bmw, new to forums, just bought me a used in good condition with low miles 2013 f30 328i. Looks like i may have some work to do. I've been reading up on a lot of the stuff here in the thread. First project is removing that retarded phone cradle. i already ordered the rubber inlay for the console, and i am looking to update the speakers and head unit on top of the dash, as well as the idrive controller as mine is sticky and worn a little, i see a lot about coding and things to do but i have read so much that my head is spinning. i am an i phone user and i love music, so looking for kinda what to do with the cables from the cradle, and if bimmertech is all that it says that it is for the head unit??
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2021, 10:22 AM   #16040
Bearhands
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: BMW 435D xDrive (F33)
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Hi Shawn, could you send me the link to download the latest E-Sys Pro & psdzdata please?
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2021, 12:09 PM   #16041
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6019
Rep
30,115
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearhands View Post
Hi Shawn, could you send me the link to download the latest E-Sys Pro & psdzdata please?
Your Receive PM function is disabled. PM me when working.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2021, 12:47 PM   #16042
fe7565
Second Lieutenant
United_States
39
Rep
223
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW 328i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

I have done a retrofit from HU_Entry no Nav (CIC) without Combox to NBT with a 609 factory VO. 2012 F30 manufacture date May 2012. Using emulator. Coding only NBT-HU ECU and KOMBI ECU not the entire VCM because of date/VIN number match issues.

Question 1:
I am replacing my factory rain-sensor-only rearview mirror with a remote/dimming/rain sensor one. No folding mirrors. When I add VO 319 (univ remote), 431 interior/outside irr w/auto-dip), 430 (interior auto-dip) do I need to code only a specific ECU or code the entire VCM?

Question 2:
Car has factory 6NH and no Combox no Nav before upgrading to NBT. When I add 6NR, do I need to code a specific ECU only vs the entre car (VCM?) What about 6AE, 6AK, 6AM, 6AP? I am adding 6HU (UHF traffic) which should work if 6AM is not avail. Again, code any specific ECUs?

Question 3:
Enabled Sport+ in two steps from factory Sport/Comfort/Eco Pro via Bimmercode. Do I also need to replace 205 with 2TB and also code the KOMBI and ICM ECUs only?
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2021, 12:53 PM   #16043
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6019
Rep
30,115
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by fe7565 View Post
...Question 2:
Car has factory 6NH and no Combox no Nav before upgrading to NBT. When I add 6NR, do I need to code a specific ECU only vs the entre car (VCM?) What about 6AE, 6AK, 6AM, 6AP? I am adding 6HU (UHF traffic) which should work if 6AM is not avail. Again, code any specific ECUs?
6NR Requires an FSC Enabling Code. It can't simply be coded.

If car already has 6AK ConnectedDrive Services, why would you be adding 6NR ConnectedDrive though?
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2021, 01:28 PM   #16044
fe7565
Second Lieutenant
United_States
39
Rep
223
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW 328i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
6NR Requires an FSC Enabling Code. It can't simply be coded.

If car already has 6AK ConnectedDrive Services, why would you be adding 6NR ConnectedDrive though?
Thank you for the quick response.

The car only had 6NH. The only other 6-series VO codes were 645 (radio), 693 (SAT prep), 676 (hifi). I am replacing 693 with 645 (which the new NBT HU has listed as factory VO). Any other way to get the FSC code besides BMW AG? VO codes 6AC, 6AK, 6AM, 6AP, 6NH are all listed for the new NBT as factory VO. Should I add them to to the VO?

I think I also need to code the specific ECUs (EGS, ICM in additional to KOMBI) for the 205 to 2TB VO code to take place.
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2021, 01:37 PM   #16045
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6019
Rep
30,115
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by fe7565 View Post
Thank you for the quick response.

The car only had 6NH. The only other 6-series VO codes were 645 (radio), 693 (SAT prep), 676 (hifi). I am replacing 693 with 645 (which the new NBT HU has listed as factory VO). Any other way to get the FSC code besides BMW AG? VO codes 6AC, 6AK, 6AM, 6AP, 6NH are all listed for the new NBT as factory VO. Should I add them to to the VO?

I think I also need to code the specific ECUs (EGS, ICM in additional to KOMBI) for the 205 to 2TB VO code to take place.
Only way ot have 6NR is with a 9C FSC Code and Coding. And 693 would be replaced with 655, Not 645, and it requires a 6F FSC Enabling Code and Coding.

There is aftermarket FSC Code set solution for NBT. PM sent.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2021, 01:44 PM   #16046
efvl
Registered
Netherlands
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Hi Shawn, could you send me the link to download the latest E-Sys Pro & psdzdata please?
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2021, 01:45 PM   #16047
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6019
Rep
30,115
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by efvl View Post
Hi Shawn, could you send me the link to download the latest E-Sys Pro & psdzdata please?
Your Receive PM function is disabled. PM me when working.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2021, 07:08 PM   #16048
astr0nate
Private
6
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: '16 340xi
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Does anyone know if I can use an MHD black adapter with a Cat5 cable in place of an ENET cable?
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2021, 07:59 PM   #16049
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6019
Rep
30,115
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by astr0nate View Post
Does anyone know if I can use an MHD black adapter with a Cat5 cable in place of an ENET cable?
Not for E-Sys.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 1
      11-10-2021, 10:10 AM   #16050
CaptainLockdown
New Member
New Zealand
12
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i Luxury F30
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Auckland

iTrader: (0)

Instrument cluster language changed after coding with Carly

Hi. Don't want to start a new thread over this but if needed please let me know. Any help would be greatly appreciated here.
I have a BMW F30 320i Luxury 2013. Imported from Japan and fully converted to English with NBT and Navigation. After some basic coding with Carly (enabling Cruise Control in HUD) the instrument cluster service messages after turning on the ignition, e.g. the 'Ignition switch on' message as well as service menus with oil or water levels, 'Service due in xxx km' message etc are switched back to Japanese. I have NBT Language set to English UK and Time zone to Wellington, Auckland as before. NBT is still in English, Navigation works. But the instrument cluster messages are now in Japanese. I tried to restore a couple of previews backups from the Carly app backup. It had no effect whatsoever. Turned the ignition on and off a few times, tried to restore a very first backup made by Carly, before I even started coding, no success. I also have Bimmercode with modBMW adapter which I can use for advanced coding if needed. What should I do? I didn't try to drive the vehicle yet but switching engine on and off doesn't help either. I feel like there's some mess with language files after that conversion as switching language in iDrive leaves it in English UK, doesn't matter what language I choose. But at least it was all in English until now, and it didn't bother me at all. iDrive Language setting doesn't change a thing. I've seen somewhere that for other languages to work in iDrive some other parameters should coded, not just the cluster language. Any cheatsheet link to that? Thanks.

PS. After investigating a bit I suspect it's maybe because I did CAFD coding first before VO coding, which reseted values to defaults, correct me if I'm wrong, please. Now, how to code it again?

Last edited by CaptainLockdown; 11-10-2021 at 10:23 AM.. Reason: typo
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2021, 10:46 AM   #16051
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6019
Rep
30,115
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainLockdown View Post
Hi. Don't want to start a new thread over this but if needed please let me know. Any help would be greatly appreciated here.
I have a BMW F30 320i Luxury 2013. Imported from Japan and fully converted to English with NBT and Navigation. After some basic coding with Carly (enabling Cruise Control in HUD) the instrument cluster service messages after turning on the ignition, e.g. the 'Ignition switch on' message as well as service menus with oil or water levels, 'Service due in xxx km' message etc are switched back to Japanese. I have NBT Language set to English UK and Time zone to Wellington, Auckland as before. NBT is still in English, Navigation works. But the instrument cluster messages are now in Japanese. I tried to restore a couple of previews backups from the Carly app backup. It had no effect whatsoever. Turned the ignition on and off a few times, tried to restore a very first backup made by Carly, before I even started coding, no success. I also have Bimmercode with modBMW adapter which I can use for advanced coding if needed. What should I do? I didn't try to drive the vehicle yet but switching engine on and off doesn't help either. I feel like there's some mess with language files after that conversion as switching language in iDrive leaves it in English UK, doesn't matter what language I choose. But at least it was all in English until now, and it didn't bother me at all. iDrive Language setting doesn't change a thing. I've seen somewhere that for other languages to work in iDrive some other parameters should coded, not just the cluster language. Any cheatsheet link to that? Thanks.

PS. After investigating a bit I suspect it's maybe because I did CAFD coding first before VO coding, which reseted values to defaults, correct me if I'm wrong, please. Now, how to code it again?
Phone Apps are quite limited. Short Answer is you need to use E-Sys / PSdZData with ENET Cable, Edit FA and change Country Controller and Language Option COdes from Japan to English and then VO Code Kombi and Head Unit.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2021, 05:25 PM   #16052
CaptainLockdown
New Member
New Zealand
12
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i Luxury F30
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Auckland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Phone Apps are quite limited. Short Answer is you need to use E-Sys / PSdZData with ENET Cable, Edit FA and change Country Controller and Language Option COdes from Japan to English and then VO Code Kombi and Head Unit.
Hi. Thanks for the reply. Any tips what exactly should I code to change that to English? Carly requested me to send them logs of what happened but it seems I will have to do it the way you said as the cluster essentially has been reset to the default language.
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2021, 06:41 PM   #16053
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6019
Rep
30,115
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainLockdown View Post
Hi. Thanks for the reply. Any tips what exactly should I code to change that to English? Carly requested me to send them logs of what happened but it seems I will have to do it the way you said as the cluster essentially has been reset to the default language.
I cannot help with iCarly. I can only advise as I did above, which is how to resolve with E-Sys.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2021, 08:10 PM   #16054
CaptainLockdown
New Member
New Zealand
12
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i Luxury F30
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Auckland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
I cannot help with iCarly. I can only advise as I did above, which is how to resolve with E-Sys.
Hi. No, I don't need the help with Carly They are being paid to provide the support on their side, or I just return the adapter. I don't think Carly support will be helpful at this point, in fact their vague response and inability to connect to the support service is already too bad experience for me.

What should I code with E-sys? I just installed it and will be connecting in a 30min or so. The archive is big but the install went smoothly, will unpack psdzdata and it's ready to go.
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2021, 10:13 PM   #16055
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6019
Rep
30,115
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainLockdown View Post
Hi. No, I don't need the help with Carly They are being paid to provide the support on their side, or I just return the adapter. I don't think Carly support will be helpful at this point, in fact their vague response and inability to connect to the support service is already too bad experience for me.

What should I code with E-sys? I just installed it and will be connecting in a 30min or so. The archive is big but the install went smoothly, will unpack psdzdata and it's ready to go.
As I wrote above:

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Edit FA and change Country Controller and Language Option COdes from Japan to English and then VO Code Kombi and Head Unit.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      11-11-2021, 02:00 AM   #16056
CaptainLockdown
New Member
New Zealand
12
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i Luxury F30
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Auckland

iTrader: (0)

After doing Edit FDL in KOMBI module, the E-sys freezes, the wheel keeps spinning and that's it. Any suggestions where to look?
Appreciate 0
      11-11-2021, 07:52 AM   #16057
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6019
Rep
30,115
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainLockdown View Post
After doing Edit FDL in KOMBI module, the E-sys freezes, the wheel keeps spinning and that's it. Any suggestions where to look?
If using a VM, Launcher PRO does not support.

Assuming you are not using a VM, change memory setting to "Default".

Not sure why you are FDL Coding though, as you need to Edit FA and VO Code as I worte, and VO Coding does not require E-Sys Launcher.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      11-11-2021, 10:17 AM   #16058
Romano_the_one
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i F31
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Hi,
I'm new and newbie related to this topic.
I'm looking for the last E-Sys Pro & psdzdata.
Someone can share me a link ?
Regards,
Romano
Appreciate 0
      11-11-2021, 10:22 AM   #16059
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
6019
Rep
30,115
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romano_the_one View Post
Hi,
I'm new and newbie related to this topic.
I'm looking for the last E-Sys Pro & psdzdata.
Someone can share me a link ?
Regards,
Romano
Your Receive PM function is disabled. PM me when working.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      11-12-2021, 03:39 AM   #16060
CaptainLockdown
New Member
New Zealand
12
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i Luxury F30
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Auckland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
If using a VM, Launcher PRO does not support.

Assuming you are not using a VM, change memory setting to "Default".

Not sure why you are FDL Coding though, as you need to Edit FA and VO Code as I worte, and VO Coding does not require E-Sys Launcher.
Hi. Thanks for the help! Finally I made it work. Yes, I tried the VM but it was way too slow. So installed the Esys having famous PSDZData.dll can't find dependencies (something like that). So updated VCredist with latest x64 and x86 installations and it worked. Then what I did I went to the KOMBI L7_MID>3008 PIA_Einheiten and changed SPRACHE to uk (0x01). Since NBT was in in English already I didn't touch it. The best part, after that change I'm now able to change languages in the NBT to Chinese or Russian, and it works both for cluster and the NBT! Even before Carly screwed the cluster language I was able to set only Latin based languages (English, Italian, Spanish, German) but it wasn't taking Chinese or Russian. Not sure what's changed, probably the whole configuration has been corrected when coded back, some binary inconsistencies, who knows. But it's all working now! Was much easier than I thought. Thanks for the help again.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
3 series coding, 3 series f30, 3 series f30 coding, 3 series f30 forum, 3 series forum, 3-series forum, 5 series f10 coding, ass, ass disable, auto start stop, auto start stop disable, bmw 3 series coding, bmw 3 series f30, bmw 3 series forum, bmw 3-series f30, bmw 3-series forum, bmw 5 series coding, bmw auto start stop disable, bmw auto start stop disabling, bmw coding, bmw coding directions, bmw coding diy, bmw coding instructions, bmw diy, bmw diy forum, bmw f10 coding, bmw f30, bmw f30 3 series, bmw f30 3-series, bmw f30 coding, bmw f30 forum, coding 3 series, coding f30, coding f30 3 series, disable ass, disable auto start stop, disable bmw auto start stop, disabling auto start stop, disabling bmw auto start stop, f10 5 series coding, f10 coding, f30 3 series, f30 3 series coding, f30 3 series forum, f30 3-series, f30 3-series forum, f30 coding, f30 forum, f30 forums

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST