F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F34 3-Series GT (Gran Turismo) Forum > Looking to get my first BMW. A F34
proTUNING Freaks

06-01-2017, 03:23 PM   #1
Law321
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2006 Lexus IS 250AWD

Question Looking to get my first BMW. A F34

Hi all!

First, Thanks for all the great info everyone shares in the forum. It has been one of the deciding factors why I'm leaning towards a BMW.

Little history...
I currently drive a Lexus IS250 AWD. 2006 with 163k. Bought it used with 88k for a great deal. The car has been great, minus the regular issues the vehicle is known for. I used to be a mechanic years ago, so I can do most repairs that don't require a lift or major engine disassembly. I did my water pump in a random parking lot at night after it died on the highway 2 hours from home. Yay uber and autozone!
It's time for a new (used) vehicle though. I had a few requirements:
Luxury vehicle
AWD (I love winter sports)
Plenty of storage for weekend adventures.
Folding rear seats. (amazing that some manufacturers don't make this standard)
Panoramic Sunroof
Decent power (IS250 had 205hp. Snail off the line, but pretty good at highway speeds)
Ride comfort/Noise levels
Interior layout. (I hate cheap looking interiors)
Overall exterior look.

So, at first, I was looking at the crossover/small SUV market. LR Evoque (friend has one) Lexus NX, Porsche Maccan, X3, X4, Q5.
The Porsche Maccan covers all bases but is out of my price range, still.
Lexus NX is nice too but still out of range price wise when outfitted with what i want.
The Evoque hit most marks.
X3/X4 were looking good too.