F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Used steering rack.
European Auto Source (EAS)
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-07-2018, 01:46 AM   #1
adpack82
Enlisted Member
Scotland
5
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: F30 330D M sport
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Fife

iTrader: (0)

Used steering rack.

My steering rack needs replacing. I can probabaly buy several used racks for the price of a new one from BMW.

My question is; while it's a straight forward mechanical fit, how difficult is it to code the new (used) rack to the car? That's assuming it is possible.

Also, while I'm at it, can I change to vss?

2014 330d.

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 03:12 AM   #2
Watsey
Major General
United Kingdom
2413
Rep
5,145
Posts

Drives: F31 330D sDrive M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Herts, UK.

iTrader: (1)

AFAIK this is a dealer-fit process (or at least someone who is BMW technician qualified), with a substantial software download from BMW Germany to code the new rack into the car.

I very much doubt that BMW would even consider upgrading the rack to VSS.

But every day is a school day and I'm happy to be proven wrong.
__________________
Current : F31 330sD, DMS remap, Ohlins Road & Track, Millway Motorsports top mounts, SuperPro poly bushes, Quaife LSD, Stoptech BBK with Pagid RS4-2 pads, Birds ARBs.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 03:48 AM   #3
adpack82
Enlisted Member
Scotland
5
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: F30 330D M sport
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Fife

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watsey View Post
AFAIK this is a dealer-fit process (or at least someone who is BMW technician qualified), with a substantial software download from BMW Germany to code the new rack into the car.

I very much doubt that BMW would even consider upgrading the rack to VSS.

But every day is a school day and I'm happy to be proven wrong.
Would that include fitting a rack of the same spec as I have now, or just for vss retrofit?

I know that it'll need coding to the car, but I have esys and ista-p.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 04:11 AM   #4
Watsey
Major General
United Kingdom
2413
Rep
5,145
Posts

Drives: F31 330D sDrive M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Herts, UK.

iTrader: (1)

My car has had two replacement steering racks (no VSS) and both had to be coded into the car. Talking with the service manager it did seem to be a time-consuming process. Multiple ECUs have to be coded, including the rack and the AT.
__________________
Current : F31 330sD, DMS remap, Ohlins Road & Track, Millway Motorsports top mounts, SuperPro poly bushes, Quaife LSD, Stoptech BBK with Pagid RS4-2 pads, Birds ARBs.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 04:45 AM   #5
NISFAN
Major General
NISFAN's Avatar
United Kingdom
2394
Rep
8,763
Posts

Drives: The best kind of F30 :)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bedford UK

iTrader: (0)

I guess it depends on what items you want to replace.

The rack itself has a whopping great motor on it, then there is a load cell and steering angle sensor on the input shaft (from steering wheel). Other than that it is a mechanical device. Perhaps you can separate the part you need to replace ( the mechanical rack itself ?!?!?) without needing to code? As for coding, if replacing like for like (be careful here as there are many rack part numbers) I'm sure it is less coding and more calibration it requires.

I'd be tempted to give it a go myself

......provided the 'new' rack is sound.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 05:32 AM   #6
Daftasabrush
Fool
Daftasabrush's Avatar
England
1693
Rep
3,444
Posts

Drives: F31 340i
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

You could also look into getting your existing rack re-manufactured which may be cheaper and likely to also provide a warranty of some sort.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 06:14 AM   #7
sspade
Brigadier General
sspade's Avatar
United_States
1412
Rep
3,849
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Florida

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2014 BMW 328i  [5.00]
Keep us posted on your decision...

If you buy a VSS rack, dont see why the dealer/indy wouldnt fit and code it the exact same as a non VSS rack...

Thats my plan as well if my rack fails.
__________________
BMW 328i FBO, Bootmod3 Stage 1 [see garage for build]
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 06:42 AM   #8
Hooded
Colonel
Hooded's Avatar
England
953
Rep
2,578
Posts

Drives: F30 330d M-Sport
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

What's the fault on your current rack?
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 06:52 AM   #9
adpack82
Enlisted Member
Scotland
5
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: F30 330D M sport
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Fife

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NISFAN View Post
I guess it depends on what items you want to replace.

The rack itself has a whopping great motor on it, then there is a load cell and steering angle sensor on the input shaft (from steering wheel). Other than that it is a mechanical device. Perhaps you can separate the part you need to replace ( the mechanical rack itself ?!?!?) without needing to code? As for coding, if replacing like for like (be careful here as there are many rack part numbers) I'm sure it is less coding and more calibration it requires.

I'd be tempted to give it a go myself

......provided the 'new' rack is sound.
I did think about trying to replace the mechanical parts only; It's worth a go at least.

I had a look on real oem, so I know which rack I need. Of should that be racks, as my exact part number has been superseded about 10 times! 😁
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 06:53 AM   #10
adpack82
Enlisted Member
Scotland
5
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: F30 330D M sport
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Fife

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daftasabrush View Post
You could also look into getting your existing rack re-manufactured which may be cheaper and likely to also provide a warranty of some sort.
I spoke to someone who had it done. He payed 600. Used racks are around 300 on ebay.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 06:56 AM   #11
adpack82
Enlisted Member
Scotland
5
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: F30 330D M sport
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Fife

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hooded View Post
What's the fault on your current rack?
Knocking, which was lessened but not fixed with the thrust piece repair kit. Also vague, notchy steering that needs constant correction. Loads of dead spots etc.

Before anyone suggests it - I've had 3, four wheel alignments done. 2 by dealer, one by indi, tried 2 sets of wheels, one set with run flats, the other with Ps4's
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 07:07 AM   #12
Watsey
Major General
United Kingdom
2413
Rep
5,145
Posts

Drives: F31 330D sDrive M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Herts, UK.

iTrader: (1)

The knocking is due to a tolerance fault, but you know that as you've tried the thrust repair approach.

The characteristics of the racks in the current model range are basically quite shit. Electrical assistance rather than hydraulic ruins the responsiveness and kills the feel, bump steer is automatically 'corrected' but very badly (you end up fighting the steering), and the racks are quite slow in the non-M versions.

The second-worse decision by BMW, IMO, behind the standard fitment of RFTs. I understand the theoretical efficiency gains but the execution is poor.
__________________
Current : F31 330sD, DMS remap, Ohlins Road & Track, Millway Motorsports top mounts, SuperPro poly bushes, Quaife LSD, Stoptech BBK with Pagid RS4-2 pads, Birds ARBs.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 07:36 AM   #13
adpack82
Enlisted Member
Scotland
5
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: F30 330D M sport
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Fife

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watsey View Post
The knocking is due to a tolerance fault, but you know that as you've tried the thrust repair approach.

The characteristics of the racks in the current model range are basically quite shit. Electrical assistance rather than hydraulic ruins the responsiveness and kills the feel, bump steer is automatically 'corrected' but very badly (you end up fighting the steering), and the racks are quite slow in the non-M versions.

The second-worse decision by BMW, IMO, behind the standard fitment of RFTs. I understand the theoretical efficiency gains but the execution is poor.
Yes, very poor. Sadly, I don't have the luxury of getting used to it either, as I drive several different cars a day. I jump back in my car at the end of the day and it feels great... Until I drive 100yds.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 10:42 AM   #14
Hooded
Colonel
Hooded's Avatar
England
953
Rep
2,578
Posts

Drives: F30 330d M-Sport
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daftasabrush View Post
You could also look into getting your existing rack re-manufactured which may be cheaper and likely to also provide a warranty of some sort.
I would probably go with that over one off eBay. A second hand rack off eBay might not be a lot better than the one currently on the car.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 11:38 AM   #15
sspade
Brigadier General
sspade's Avatar
United_States
1412
Rep
3,849
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Florida

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2014 BMW 328i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hooded View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daftasabrush View Post
You could also look into getting your existing rack re-manufactured which may be cheaper and likely to also provide a warranty of some sort.
I would probably go with that over one off eBay. A second hand rack off eBay might not be a lot better than the one currently on the car.
I understand and agree but if getting remanufactured... why would it matter?

Also... buying a used one off eBay and sending it out for repair allows you to still drive your car until you have a brand new rack ready to go in... thats a huge plus and leaves the car down for only a day max versus weeks potentially...
__________________
BMW 328i FBO, Bootmod3 Stage 1 [see garage for build]
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 11:52 AM   #16
Crazy_1201
Private
12
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: E90 320d
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Birmingham

iTrader: (0)

It is doable:

https://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh...5#post21853485

Coding:

Expert Mode-Coding Read FA Activate FA Read SVT Select EPS ECU Detect CAFD for SWE Choose CAFD Click Code

Last edited by Crazy_1201; 12-07-2018 at 12:00 PM..
Appreciate 2
sspade1411.50

      12-07-2018, 12:37 PM   #17
Hooded
Colonel
Hooded's Avatar
England
953
Rep
2,578
Posts

Drives: F30 330d M-Sport
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sspade View Post
I understand and agree but if getting remanufactured... why would it matter?

Also... buying a used one off eBay and sending it out for repair allows you to still drive your car until you have a brand new rack ready to go in... thats a huge plus and leaves the car down for only a day max versus weeks potentially...
300 + 600 if buying of eBay instead of just 600 for remanufacture?

I guess I'm thinking as someone who owns more than 1 car though!
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 12:51 PM   #18
sspade
Brigadier General
sspade's Avatar
United_States
1412
Rep
3,849
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Florida

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2014 BMW 328i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hooded View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sspade View Post
I understand and agree but if getting remanufactured... why would it matter?

Also... buying a used one off eBay and sending it out for repair allows you to still drive your car until you have a brand new rack ready to go in... thats a huge plus and leaves the car down for only a day max versus weeks potentially...
£300 + £600 if buying of eBay instead of just £600 for remanufacture?

I guess I'm thinking as someone who owns more than 1 car though!
Fair enough. We are just talking out options... all good!
__________________
BMW 328i FBO, Bootmod3 Stage 1 [see garage for build]
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 04:09 PM   #19
adpack82
Enlisted Member
Scotland
5
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: F30 330D M sport
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Fife

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazy_1201 View Post
It is doable:

https://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh...5#post21853485

Coding:

Expert Mode-Coding Read FA Activate FA Read SVT Select EPS ECU Detect CAFD for SWE Choose CAFD Click Code
Thanks. That's the kind of think I'm looking for. 👍
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 04:15 PM   #20
adpack82
Enlisted Member
Scotland
5
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: F30 330D M sport
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Fife

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hooded View Post
300 + 600 if buying of eBay instead of just 600 for remanufacture?

I guess I'm thinking as someone who owns more than 1 car though!
We have two cars; however, they both get used daily by my wife and I.

I understand its a gamble buying a used rack. Worst case scenario is buying a rack and then having to get it refurbed. Thay is still a hell of a lot cheaper than buying a new one! Plus, I out the "new" rack on my car and try it out if it's not quite right then it's my original rack that's away getting re-manufactured, while I still have a car to use.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST