F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > B58 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > 340 MPK Sport-Dash
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-09-2018, 04:43 PM   #1
coldM2
Private First Class
13
Rep
102
Posts

Drives: Bmw340iMPPSK/BmwM2MPE
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

340 MPK Sport-Dash

I've been wondering for quite a while now why BMW didn't change the sport indicator on their dashboard to 360 horsepower instead of 320 after getting the MPPSK. Is there anyway to change this by myself? (picture borrowed from google)
Attached Images
  

Last edited by coldM2; 12-12-2018 at 07:07 AM..
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2018, 05:22 PM   #2
IK6SPEED
Major General
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
3149
Rep
8,028
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cali

iTrader: (19)

Quote:
Originally Posted by black340 View Post
I've been wondering for quite a while now why BMW didn't change the sport indicator on their dashboard to 360 horsepower instead of 320 after getting the MPPSK. Is there anyway to change this by myself? (picture borrowed from google)
No to changing yourself.

Clearly, all the software was not installed properly. Have the Dealer fix what you already paid for.
__________________
Stable: F80 / AH3
Past: F80 ZCP / F22 M235i / E89 35is
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2018, 07:15 PM   #3
simonelwell
Private
47
Rep
79
Posts

Drives: 4 series Gran Coupe MPPSK
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Essex, England

iTrader: (0)

Reckon that must be an M3/M4 display. My sport dial shows up to 400HP after MPPSK fitted
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2018, 05:51 PM   #4
coldM2
Private First Class
13
Rep
102
Posts

Drives: Bmw340iMPPSK/BmwM2MPE
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

The picture is borrowed from google just to show which display I mean. Instead of mine showing 360hp on the display as it should since I have the mppsk it shows 320. My question is if bmw changes this to 360 after a mppsk install?
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2018, 08:39 PM   #5
rlmesq
Major
774
Rep
1,175
Posts

Drives: 2018 440i M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chico, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by black340 View Post
The picture is borrowed from google just to show which display I mean. Instead of mine showing 360hp on the display as it should since I have the mppsk it shows 320. My question is if bmw changes this to 360 after a mppsk install?
It changes to 400 when MPPSK is installed (correctly).

As IK6SPEED already said, you need to take it back from the dealer and get them to do it right.
Appreciate 2
coldM212.50

      12-11-2018, 02:45 AM   #6
coldM2
Private First Class
13
Rep
102
Posts

Drives: Bmw340iMPPSK/BmwM2MPE
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rlmesq View Post
It changes to 400 when MPPSK is installed (correctly).

As IK6SPEED already said, you need to take it back from the dealer and get them to do it right.
Yes sure! Ill give them a call in an hour. I believe the reason for this is because i had an issue this summer and brought the car to the BMW service and they thought doing a system reset would fix the issue I had. Perhaps when they did that they even removed the M performance mapping on the car....
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2018, 05:36 AM   #7
Gabrola
First Lieutenant
Gabrola's Avatar
160
Rep
313
Posts

Drives: 340i
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Power and torque gauges max values are unchanged at 400hp and 400 ft-lb before and after fitting MPPSK. However, if you change the torque units to Nm, max torque is 480Nm before MPPSK and 560Nm after MPPSK. This is one way you can check if it is programmed correctly.
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2018, 10:33 AM   #8
supermarket
Private First Class
90
Rep
141
Posts

Drives: 2018 340xi, 1996 328iS
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

black340, a stock 340 set to hp and ft⋅lb will show 0–400 on both dials even without MPPSK. If yours shows 320, you’re probably set to a different unit. A 340 should never show a dial that only reads to 340hp, MPPSK or not.

320 does sounds right for MPPSK if you’re set to kW for power. In Sweden, that’s most likely what you’re seeing. (And for torque, you’d see 560N⋅m. Without MPPSK, they read to 240kW and 480N⋅m.)
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2018, 06:51 PM   #9
coldM2
Private First Class
13
Rep
102
Posts

Drives: Bmw340iMPPSK/BmwM2MPE
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by supermarket View Post
black340, a stock 340 set to hp and ft⋅lb will show 0–400 on both dials even without MPPSK. If yours shows 320, you’re probably set to a different unit. A 340 should never show a dial that only reads to 340hp, MPPSK or not.

320 does sounds right for MPPSK if you’re set to kW for power. In Sweden, that’s most likely what you’re seeing. (And for torque, you’d see 560N⋅m. Without MPPSK, they read to 240kW and 480N⋅m.)
Ill post a picture of my screen tomorrow once I wake up.
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2018, 07:07 AM   #10
coldM2
Private First Class
13
Rep
102
Posts

Drives: Bmw340iMPPSK/BmwM2MPE
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by supermarket View Post
black340, a stock 340 set to hp and ft⋅lb will show 0–400 on both dials even without MPPSK. If yours shows 320, you’re probably set to a different unit. A 340 should never show a dial that only reads to 340hp, MPPSK or not.

320 does sounds right for MPPSK if you’re set to kW for power. In Sweden, that’s most likely what you’re seeing. (And for torque, you’d see 560N⋅m. Without MPPSK, they read to 240kW and 480N⋅m.)
I just uploaded how mine looks, is this correct? If so can I change it to horsepower?
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2018, 07:32 AM   #11
Skyhigh
Captain
Skyhigh's Avatar
294
Rep
853
Posts

Drives: BMW F36
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Yes, that's correct. What do you think is not right about it? Your power (in your picture) is in kW, not PS. Even after MPPSK you have under 320 kW (265 to be precise). So the scale is perfectly in line with that. Your NM indicator has however changed (correctly) to now cater for 500Nm (previously limitted to 480Nm).
__________________
"Large increases in cost with questionable increases in performance can be tolerated only in cars and women."
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2018, 09:04 AM   #12
supermarket
Private First Class
90
Rep
141
Posts

Drives: 2018 340xi, 1996 328iS
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by black340 View Post
I just uploaded how mine looks, is this correct? If so can I change it to horsepower?
Dials max out at 320kW and 560N⋅m, sounds like MPPSK to me.

I think you can change the units via iDrive settings.

Edit: here’s a picture of the settings I was thinking of (via this post). On iDrive 6, it’s at My Vehicle → iDrive Settings → Units.


Last edited by supermarket; 12-12-2018 at 09:32 AM..
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2018, 03:26 PM   #13
coldM2
Private First Class
13
Rep
102
Posts

Drives: Bmw340iMPPSK/BmwM2MPE
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Ohh, thanks guys! Sorry my bad I didn’t pay attention to the units! I’ll try to change the units later!😁😁
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST