F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Experience with 10.25" android 7.1 HU's
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-07-2018, 05:27 PM   #1541
blocksnyc
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 328i conv
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: nyc

iTrader: (0)

Hi Guys,

Sorry if i'm in the wrong place but after numerous amount of research i couldn't find a better place for help with a particular weird problem i'm experiencing. I know this is the F30 section but im having a problem with my E60 Android 7.1.1 HU. The UI change from BMW ID6 UI to BMW Evo UI. This occurred after a weird system startup. Also i lost the ability to control it via the idrive rotating knob. There's a section under settings where after entering a pin you'll be able to change whats called "Mode Set" this is where you select what UI you want the system to use. There used to be at least 5 options one being the BMW Evo New ID6 but i no longer see it. i only see 3 options now(BMW NBT, an Audi one and BMW Evo). I really don't know what happened and how can I get the ID6 UI back. Attached are pics of my system information. Once again sorry guys if i'm in the wrong place but i couldn't find nowhere else with more expertise in BMW Android HU. Any help is highly appreciated
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 06:03 PM   #1542
Tekniques
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: BMW X6 E71 (2014)
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravijordan View Post
I updated Autoplay app for CarPlay and I donít know if that did the trick but Iím not getting the pop up screen any longer for usb it just connects straight away now 😀
I've also noticed with Autokit that if Carplay is running and I then turn off the car, come back after some time, connect phone, turn on car, it now automatically brings back Carplay once the system has booted up.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 06:09 PM   #1543
Tekniques
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: BMW X6 E71 (2014)
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alex1991 View Post
Well my does not have...
I have the same style unit. You don't need a replacement.
If you have bought the GPS splitter as I did, one end (the single end) connects to the OEM GPS plug. Then one of the splits connects to your OEM Factory unit. The other split, will connect to the Android control unit (not the screen) with the gold plug. BUT, you will need an adapter to convert the plugs as the splitter will not connect directly to the control unit. I ordered this adapter from AVIN, https://avinusa.com/factory-gps-ante...-audi-bmw.html

In your photo, I can see you have connected the third party supplied GPS Receiver. Remove that as it won't be used.

Last edited by Tekniques; 12-07-2018 at 06:15 PM.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 08:59 PM   #1544
blocksnyc
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 328i conv
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: nyc

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blocksnyc View Post
Hi Guys,

Sorry if i'm in the wrong place but after numerous amount of research i couldn't find a better place for help with a particular weird problem i'm experiencing. I know this is the F30 section but im having a problem with my E60 Android 7.1.1 HU. The UI change from BMW ID6 UI to BMW Evo UI. This occurred after a weird system startup. Also i lost the ability to control it via the idrive rotating knob. There's a section under settings where after entering a pin you'll be able to change whats called "Mode Set" this is where you select what UI you want the system to use. There used to be at least 5 options one being the BMW Evo New ID6 but i no longer see it. i only see 3 options now(BMW NBT, an Audi one and BMW Evo). I really don't know what happened and how can I get the ID6 UI back. Attached are pics of my system information. Once again sorry guys if i'm in the wrong place but i couldn't find nowhere else with more expertise in BMW Android HU. Any help is highly appreciated
Here are the pics
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2018, 11:10 AM   #1545
StevenRed
New Member
Italy
0
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: BMW X1 E84 XDrive20d
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Italy

iTrader: (0)

Strange thing: my display can play music even without the aux jack inserted! Is it normal?
If I put another scource in the aux hole, it will played and the music of the display goes at very low volume...
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2018, 12:23 PM   #1546
Guerillah
Private First Class
United_States
12
Rep
157
Posts

Drives: 15' F30 335xi AW MSport Stg 2
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ

iTrader: (1)

Is there a way to automatically have the android interface load up rather than the idrive one? Also, on that note, is it possible to automatically have it start the navigation? Thanks fellas.
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2018, 03:11 PM   #1547
ronanz
Gettin It Figured Out
ronanz's Avatar
United_States
1361
Rep
2,131
Posts

Drives: 435i FBO S2 bm3 w/ options
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Southwest Region

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guerillah View Post
Is there a way to automatically have the android interface load up rather than the idrive one? Also, on that note, is it possible to automatically have it start the navigation? Thanks fellas.

+2....I'm in for this info as well.

Guerillah , what's your impressions so far?

.
__________________
.

My Build Thread can be found HERE
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2018, 09:45 PM   #1548
Guerillah
Private First Class
United_States
12
Rep
157
Posts

Drives: 15' F30 335xi AW MSport Stg 2
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronanz View Post
+2....I'm in for this info as well.

Guerillah , what's your impressions so far?

.
The android 8 version seems fine so far minus some annoyances such as crappy audio when not playing through the original idrive system and lack of the time sticking even when set to manual or from GPS (not sure why manual isn't even persisting). I think the idrive controller needs a touch interface to really take advantage of the android side as well. I've also noticed that the head unit has color banding issues when YouTube videos are expanded to full screen (not every video does it?!). I'm guessing most of these problems are also on the android 7 version... I'm still satisfied with the purchase but it could be much better if a touch controller was included and the audio was made better... Just my 2 cents.
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2018, 12:19 AM   #1549
mike78
Private First Class
4
Rep
155
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 320d M-Sport (2013)
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Greece

iTrader: (0)

Have you bought the CarPlay adapter from Louie ? Or somewhere else?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bosley View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike78 View Post
Regarding CarPlay and autoplay, do you experience any disconnects especially when iphone has low battery <40% ?
I've never noticed that in my car to be honest, but many users reported this issue..
Which box version and app version do you have? Maybe you just need to update them..

Yesterday I've updated both and now I have
- app vers: 2018.11.09.1746
- box vers: 2018.11.16.1029
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2018, 02:24 AM   #1550
Bosley
Private
Bosley's Avatar
Italy
3
Rep
97
Posts

Drives: BMW F20 116d 2.0
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Italy

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronanz View Post
Could you share how/where to do that?

.
Sure!
- First of all you have to put the .png file you want as icon in an usb key and connect it to the Head Unit;
- Open the app (without connecting the phone) and click on Settings (on top);
- You go in the secret mený (press and hold on the app version for 2-3 seconds and then scroll up until the menu appears)
- Go to "select icon" or something like that, scroll down and you'll find the option to select a custom icon
- Click on that and select the file you have in your usb.
Appreciate 1
ronanz1361.00

      12-10-2018, 02:30 AM   #1551
Bosley
Private
Bosley's Avatar
Italy
3
Rep
97
Posts

Drives: BMW F20 116d 2.0
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Italy

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike78 View Post
Have you bought the CarPlay adapter from Louie ? Or somewhere else?
From an italian reseller, worst support ever.. I had so many issues and he was not able to solve anything.. I think all white CarPlay adapters are the same anyway
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2018, 02:42 AM   #1552
mike78
Private First Class
4
Rep
155
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 320d M-Sport (2013)
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Greece

iTrader: (0)

Can you please post a close photo of the device?
Also, do you remember how long is the usb cable from android device to the the female usb plug? is it more than 30cm?

thanx for the info,
Mike

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bosley View Post
From an italian reseller, worst support ever.. I had so many issues and he was not able to solve anything.. I think all white CarPlay adapters are the same anyway
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2018, 03:31 AM   #1553
Bosley
Private
Bosley's Avatar
Italy
3
Rep
97
Posts

Drives: BMW F20 116d 2.0
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Italy

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike78 View Post
Can you please post a close photo of the device?
Also, do you remember how long is the usb cable from android device to the the female usb plug? is it more than 30cm?

thanx for the info,
Mike
it looks like this one:
https://www.amazon.it/ATOTO-AC-CPAA4...carplay+dongle
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2018, 04:58 AM   #1554
Tekniques
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: BMW X6 E71 (2014)
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bosley View Post
There is no password in that menu.. it's the menu inside autokit app.. when you open the app and you don't plug the iphone there is the possibility to select "settings" there..

You DO NOT have to go to the setting menu in the Andorid system.. Just in the app one..
This is the password popup that I'm getting with Autokit once I press the version to try enter the secret menu. Have you seen this before?





whatever you enter, it always returns "incorrect password".
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2018, 06:23 AM   #1555
RublesMy
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: B w
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Russia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick_m135i View Post
Hey, i've got a big problem, my device brightness is really low. In settings it's on 100%. When i switch to OEM the brightness is clear, but when i switch to Android back, it's dark.
I've checked the wires, but they look good. I don't have any idea anymore, could someone please help me. Thank you
I have the same problem.
Brightness is very low on all android (boot logo, recovery, android). But if iam switch to iDriver, or open "AUX" - i have good brightness. Already installed 3 versions of firmware, full factory reset (also from recovery - wipe cache etc). Also iam root this device and try brightness control apps - no help. What i want to do next - update MCU file, but can't do this: A message appeared "Please wait..." and nomore. Can anyone help?
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2018, 10:45 AM   #1556
Bosley
Private
Bosley's Avatar
Italy
3
Rep
97
Posts

Drives: BMW F20 116d 2.0
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Italy

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tekniques View Post
This is the password popup that I'm getting with Autokit once I press the version to try enter the secret menu. Have you seen this before?





whatever you enter, it always returns "incorrect password".
I've never seen that before.. Just try to download AutoPlay instead of Autokit, maybe it will work!
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2018, 03:35 PM   #1557
smahel
Private
4
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: M235i
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 M235i  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by RublesMy View Post
I have the same problem.
Brightness is very low on all android (boot logo, recovery, android). But if iam switch to iDriver, or open "AUX" - i have good brightness. Already installed 3 versions of firmware, full factory reset (also from recovery - wipe cache etc). Also iam root this device and try brightness control apps - no help. What i want to do next - update MCU file, but can't do this: A message appeared "Please wait..." and nomore. Can anyone help?
Cause not MCU but Android. Try to reset Android with this firmware (it will also reset your settings!) https://mega.nz/#!kIklxYDa!5lSoG7o3z...CEwK3tj5c0E0kQ
If you succeed, and I am convinced that yes, you can update to the newer firmware.
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2018, 11:17 PM   #1558
Supernova66
Private First Class
United_States
56
Rep
197
Posts

Drives: 2015 335i
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Central Coast, CA

iTrader: (0)

Louie just told the the PX6 8.1 with 2GB/32GB is available for a group buy. Price delivered is $455. I would be happy to put one together if anyone is interested.

Appreciate 0
      12-11-2018, 02:46 AM   #1559
RublesMy
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: B w
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Russia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smahel View Post
Cause not MCU but Android. Try to reset Android with this firmware (it will also reset your settings!) https://mega.nz/#!kIklxYDa!5lSoG7o3z...CEwK3tj5c0E0kQ
If you succeed, and I am convinced that yes, you can update to the newer firmware.
BIG THANKS!!!!!!!!!! Finally I won it! Also updated to last firmware from my seller - 2018.11.16 and now all okay
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2018, 03:13 AM   #1560
Bosley
Private
Bosley's Avatar
Italy
3
Rep
97
Posts

Drives: BMW F20 116d 2.0
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Italy

iTrader: (0)

Hello,
does anybody know if I need any update?
I don't think the MCU is updated because I have an issue when I'm trying to update it (the same one that many other users reported), but is the rest updated? Android version etc?
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2018, 03:30 AM   #1561
DRuw
Lieutenant
DRuw's Avatar
Netherlands
48
Rep
500
Posts

Drives: F31 325D Msport
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Guerillah Can you tell us if Google maps work?
On 7.1 systems it doesnt. Waze is better I think but it would be nice to have the option....
I am thinking about upgrading the screen to 7.1 but thats also because I seem to have some kind of screen defect on it (that seems impossible to capture on picture)
Its like a damaged column of pixels on 1/3rd of the screen...
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2018, 06:03 AM   #1562
Ravijordan
Private
3
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: Bmw 420d m sport
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RublesMy View Post
BIG THANKS!!!!!!!!!! Finally I won it! Also updated to last firmware from my seller - 2018.11.16 and now all okay
Is 2018.11.16 the latest firmware for android 7.1 ?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST