F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Is there a way to reduce the sensitivity of stop-start?
Vorsteiner
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-06-2018, 12:31 PM   #1
thescouselander
Private First Class
28
Rep
133
Posts

Drives: 4 Series Gran Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Is there a way to reduce the sensitivity of stop-start?

I've noticed on my car that stop-start cuts the engine before I've come to a complete stop - this is very annoying. Is there a way to code the stop-start so it will only cut the engine at a complete stop?
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2018, 01:28 PM   #2
SSIIJAR
First Lieutenant
United Kingdom
69
Rep
342
Posts

Drives: 335d M Sport+
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Huntingdon

iTrader: (0)

Not too sure about that. I just coded mine out and it was the first job I did when I collected my car as they are not good for the engine or starter motor etc.
Appreciate 1
F30Andy868.50

      12-06-2018, 01:34 PM   #3
Sasquartch
Captain
254
Rep
859
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Doesn't sound right, on my 328i you have to come to a complete stop and then after perhaps half a second it then stops

But most people code it out anyway, I hardly ever use it
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2018, 02:24 PM   #4
thescouselander
Private First Class
28
Rep
133
Posts

Drives: 4 Series Gran Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sasquartch View Post
Doesn't sound right, on my 328i you have to come to a complete stop and then after perhaps half a second it then stops

But most people code it out anyway, I hardly ever use it
Yes, that's what I'd expect but on my car the engine cuts out at 1-2 mph. It's not the only odd thing it does and I reckon it's probably something to do with BMW being more agressive with emissions reduction due the new WLTP tests. I might just code it out as you suggest.
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2018, 02:56 PM   #5
Mrklaw
Captain
151
Rep
784
Posts

Drives: F30 LCI 320i msport
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Windsor uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by thescouselander View Post
Yes, that's what I'd expect but on my car the engine cuts out at 1-2 mph. It's not the only odd thing it does and I reckon it's probably something to do with BMW being more agressive with emissions reduction due the new WLTP tests. I might just code it out as you suggest.
Yeah I assume itís down to fuel efficiency. My wifeís polo says it deliberately cuts the engine just before it stops. No idea why they donít let you permanently turn it off without coding. They still technically get the better figures
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2018, 02:57 PM   #6
PaulT_M5
Lieutenant
England
175
Rep
530
Posts

Drives: San Marino Blue F90
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Midlands, England

iTrader: (0)

It's the coasting feature - it even does it on the new M5!

You can press the button underneath the Start/Stop button every journey, or code it out.
__________________
F90 San Marino Blue/Black
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 01:51 AM   #7
thescouselander
Private First Class
28
Rep
133
Posts

Drives: 4 Series Gran Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulT_M5 View Post
It's the coasting feature - it even does it on the new M5!

You can press the button underneath the Start/Stop button every journey, or code it out.
I'm not sure there's any coasting going on. When the engine cuts the car stops dead.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 02:56 AM   #8
SkyJawa
Major General
SkyJawa's Avatar
England
2000
Rep
6,480
Posts

Drives: 335d
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Hampshire

iTrader: (1)

Mine doesn’t cut out till complete standstill, unlike wife’s Octavia with cuts out before stopping and is pretty irritating!
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 03:28 AM   #9
Skwirrel
Private
43
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: 330d
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by thescouselander View Post
I've noticed on my car that stop-start cuts the engine before I've come to a complete stop - this is very annoying. Is there a way to code the stop-start so it will only cut the engine at a complete stop?
This happens on my car too, especially if you progressively use less pressure on the brake pedal in the last few metres to get a totally smooth stop.

Just code it out, there is no discernable difference to fuel consumption.

I had it on a manual car previously and it was much more effective controlling the stop or start using the clutch, so you can start the engine before you need to move off or keep it running at a junction or roundabout.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 03:39 AM   #10
xenon
Major General
xenon's Avatar
England
552
Rep
6,439
Posts

Drives: 2018 A6 Avant S-Line
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coventry

iTrader: (0)

My A6 cuts out just before stopping too but the whole thing is annoying so, like most, I've coded it off.
__________________
Ian
Current: 2018 A6 Avant S-Line MMI+
Previous: 2014 F31 320d M-Sport, 2013 F10 520d M-Sport, 2011 F10 530d M-Sport, 2008 320i M-Sport Coupe, 2002 325i, 2001 318i valvetronic, 1998 318i, 1996 525i, 1990 Porsche 944S2
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 04:28 AM   #11
TodmordenLad
Lieutenant Colonel
TodmordenLad's Avatar
United Kingdom
843
Rep
1,842
Posts

Drives: 440i GC LCI with MPPSK
Join Date: May 2015
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

I dont know but I find BMWs stop start awful - obtrusive and clunky. I turn it off as soon as I've started the engine
By contrast, stop start on my wife's new Fiesta is smooth and almost imperceptible. Ford does a lot of things better than BMW tbh, just doesn't have the brand image or make particularly pretty cars
__________________
Current: 440i GC LCI with MPPSK. Previously owned: F31 330D M Sport+ with MPPK, F11 530D SE, F11 520D SE, E61 530D M Sport, E36 325i plus a host of MB's, Audis & Volvos too numerous to mention
Appreciate 1
Kyngofpop551.50

      12-07-2018, 09:17 AM   #12
Wills2
Barge driver
Wills2's Avatar
United Kingdom
3542
Rep
7,016
Posts

Drives: G11 740d xdrive
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: West Yorkshire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by thescouselander View Post
I'm not sure there's any coasting going on. When the engine cuts the car stops dead.
You can just press the brake pedal firmly and it will start up again or apply pressure to the steering wheel and it'll start as well, flicking the gear lever into manual mode also works on my car.
__________________
G11 740d xdrive/Z4C, Gone F80 M3/F10 M5/F31 335d/e92 M3 x 2/F10 520d x 2/997 C2S/e46 M3/e46 320d/SL320/Touareg 3.2V6/Audi allroad 2.7TDi
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 10:06 AM   #13
Oceanic
Private First Class
56
Rep
128
Posts

Drives: Audi S5
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Put it into sport mode will also re-start it or prevent it cutting in, code the bastard thing off though.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 12:43 PM   #14
Wills2
Barge driver
Wills2's Avatar
United Kingdom
3542
Rep
7,016
Posts

Drives: G11 740d xdrive
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: West Yorkshire

iTrader: (0)

Personally I wouldn't code it off, as in heavy traffic I think it's good not to sit there chugging fumes out whilst stationery but there are times that it's annoying.
__________________
G11 740d xdrive/Z4C, Gone F80 M3/F10 M5/F31 335d/e92 M3 x 2/F10 520d x 2/997 C2S/e46 M3/e46 320d/SL320/Touareg 3.2V6/Audi allroad 2.7TDi
Appreciate 1
Kyngofpop551.50

      12-07-2018, 01:41 PM   #15
Hooded
Lieutenant Colonel
Hooded's Avatar
England
664
Rep
1,984
Posts

Drives: F30 330d M-Sport
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wills2 View Post
Personally I wouldn't code it off, as in heavy traffic I think it's good not to sit there chugging fumes out whilst stationery but there are times that it's annoying.
Nothing wrong with coding it to default off if you find it annoying, you can still hit the button and turn it on occasionally if you're stuck it gridlock traffic.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 06:21 PM   #16
ukbeemerboy
Beemer Heaven
ukbeemerboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
347
Rep
2,673
Posts

Drives: BMW 330d M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Somerset UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by thescouselander View Post
Yes, that's what I'd expect but on my car the engine cuts out at 1-2 mph. It's not the only odd thing it does and I reckon it's probably something to do with BMW being more agressive with emissions reduction due the new WLTP tests. I might just code it out as you suggest.
Is your car a manual or auto?
__________________
Scott

2017 BMW 330d M Sport : 2015 BMW 220d M Sport
2008 Mini Cooper
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 06:56 PM   #17
APJ
Private First Class
APJ's Avatar
United Kingdom
33
Rep
158
Posts

Drives: F36 435d M Sport Plus
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Greater Manchester

iTrader: (0)

You can code it to remember its last position, which it even remembers when you start from cold, gives you more flexibility that way, unless you really hate it and code it out completely like others have suggested.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 09:17 PM   #18
adam.b
New Member
United Kingdom
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: F30-330d, F31-335d
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Bedford

iTrader: (0)

It is still possible? on F46 service needed to go back to old software to get working and on f30 16plate and f31 18 plate after unplugging comp goes back to default and is ON. They can't overwrite it.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2018, 05:09 AM   #19
un1eash
Second Lieutenant
51
Rep
272
Posts

Drives: 320d M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Midlands, UK

iTrader: (0)

Coded mine to remember last setting. It's useful at time but not when your pulling up to a T junction or crawling in traffic as it cuts in too much.
Mine also only stops when the car has completely come to a stop.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2018, 06:17 AM   #20
Wills2
Barge driver
Wills2's Avatar
United Kingdom
3542
Rep
7,016
Posts

Drives: G11 740d xdrive
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: West Yorkshire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hooded View Post
Nothing wrong with coding it to default off if you find it annoying, you can still hit the button and turn it on occasionally if you're stuck it gridlock traffic.
For you maybe, probably not for the people breathing the emissions of remapped diesel in, I'd rather just press a button if it's not appropriate for the conditions, but with diesel especially one that's been messed with I think it's wrong full stop with stuff they chuck out.
__________________
G11 740d xdrive/Z4C, Gone F80 M3/F10 M5/F31 335d/e92 M3 x 2/F10 520d x 2/997 C2S/e46 M3/e46 320d/SL320/Touareg 3.2V6/Audi allroad 2.7TDi
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2018, 06:31 AM   #21
Rhino at Work
Captain
Rhino at Work's Avatar
305
Rep
630
Posts

Drives: EB F30 340i Shadow Edition
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Yorkshire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hooded View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wills2 View Post
Personally I wouldn't code it off, as in heavy traffic I think it's good not to sit there chugging fumes out whilst stationery but there are times that it's annoying.
Nothing wrong with coding it to default off if you find it annoying, you can still hit the button and turn it on occasionally if you're stuck it gridlock traffic.
+1. Mine is coded off via Bimmercode but if I find myself stuck in traffic I just flick the switch into Eco Pro.
__________________
Current: EB F30 340i Shadow Edition with even more toys
Previous: EB F30 330d xdrive with lots of toys
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2018, 07:50 AM   #22
Hooded
Lieutenant Colonel
Hooded's Avatar
England
664
Rep
1,984
Posts

Drives: F30 330d M-Sport
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wills2 View Post
For you maybe, probably not for the people breathing the emissions of remapped diesel in, I'd rather just press a button if it's not appropriate for the conditions, but with diesel especially one that's been messed with I think it's wrong full stop with stuff they chuck out.
You don't exactly drive the most eco friendly cars yourself.. if you are that concerned about the environment perhaps you should get off the soap box and buy a more eco friendly zero emissions car
My own car still has the DPF and EGR intact, is legal and passes the emissions test easily with no visible smoke.

The stop start system Is annoying and I don't think it's particularly great for the cars components long term, but as already said if you code it to default off you can still turn it on easily anytime you are stuck in gridlock traffic to stop those nasty emissions, it's not like the feature is being completely disabled so you can't use it, ..and don't forget whenever you put a car in sport mode it's turned off just the same.. are you against driving in sport mode too?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST