F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Andream MMI Box - Wireless CarPlay & Android Auto
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-06-2020, 04:05 PM   #4049
jjra
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: E90 > F48
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Spain

iTrader: (0)

Hi all,

I noticed that, in AA, multimedia content doesn't resume automatically. I double checked this option in AA car settings and in AA phone options, and it is activated in both cases, but it doesn't resume automatically after reconnection. I have to do it manually.

I'm using new custom V2 version and the last Bimmertech MCU.

Can someone help me to solve this little issue?

Thank you in advance.
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2020, 04:56 PM   #4050
Unspec
Captain
Unspec's Avatar
United_States
324
Rep
951
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW 535xi
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Using the custom v2, I noticed that the autolaunch doesn't work if you're in PDC view when the unit tries to switch. Not a big deal, just hold menu button.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjra View Post
Hi all,

I noticed that, in AA, multimedia content doesn't resume automatically. I double checked this option in AA car settings and in AA phone options, and it is activated in both cases, but it doesn't resume automatically after reconnection. I have to do it manually.

I'm using new custom V2 version and the last Bimmertech MCU.

Can someone help me to solve this little issue?

Thank you in advance.
Your phone might be killing the music service during everyday use of your phone due to memory management. Spotify/Google Music/Pandora/whateveryouuse has to be running in the background for autoresume to work. You can easily use tasker to just automate launching the music app when you connect to the MMI bluetooth.
__________________
2015 BMW 535xi

Bootmod3 Stage 2 | ER Catted DP | Remus Exhaust | Gplus FMIC
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2020, 05:31 PM   #4051
eduwinner
Enlisted Member
2
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d F30 M
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Spain

iTrader: (0)

Hi guys, I have only rear PDC (and no button to activate/deactivate in center console).

Mi car has manual transmission and I installed the Custom version 2 by Firefly1337 and cossie1 with latest bimmertech MCU. I have 2 poblems/questions:

1- How do I activate front camera? The camera icon has gone, it was in previows version but that new one doesn't have it and I don'k know how to ativate front camera.

2- My car (BMW 3 series F30) only has rear PDC and there is no button to turn it off/on. When I put reverse gear, PDC sensor starts and it doesn't deactivate even I put neutral or firts gear, PDC only switch off when I move the car forward.
In this case, I can't back to Andream by pressing MENU button even it is working as spotify was running and it sounds when rear PDC stops.

Do you know how to solve these issues?
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2020, 05:56 PM   #4052
cossie1
Captain
United Kingdom
449
Rep
825
Posts

Drives: 2015 F82 M4
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eduwinner View Post
Hi guys, I have only rear PDC (and no button to activate/deactivate in center console).

Mi car has manual transmission and I installed the Custom version 2 by Firefly1337 and cossie1 with latest bimmertech MCU. I have 2 poblems/questions:

1- How do I activate front camera? The camera icon has gone, it was in previows version but that new one doesn't have it and I don'k know how to ativate front camera.

2- My car (BMW 3 series F30) only has rear PDC and there is no button to turn it off/on. When I put reverse gear, PDC sensor starts and it doesn't deactivate even I put neutral or firts gear, PDC only switch off when I move the car forward.
In this case, I can't back to Andream by pressing MENU button even it is working as spotify was running and it sounds when rear PDC stops.

Do you know how to solve these issues?
1 - Press and hold the option button.

2 - Afaik pressing menu should work, but maybe press and hold back for 2 seconds will work instead.
Appreciate 1
      08-06-2020, 07:21 PM   #4053
jjra
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: E90 > F48
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Spain

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unspec View Post
Using the custom v2, I noticed that the autolaunch doesn't work if you're in PDC view when the unit tries to switch. Not a big deal, just hold menu button.



Your phone might be killing the music service during everyday use of your phone due to memory management. Spotify/Google Music/Pandora/whateveryouuse has to be running in the background for autoresume to work. You can easily use tasker to just automate launching the music app when you connect to the MMI bluetooth.
Thank you very much, I'll try that using "Automate", which is very similar to Tasker.
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2020, 07:48 PM   #4054
TE26M3
Private First Class
TE26M3's Avatar
46
Rep
112
Posts

Drives: 2015 Nardo Grey M5 Competition
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Westchester County, NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilFive View Post
See answers in red.
Amazing and much appreciated.

As far as the USB, to clarify it says no device found when plugging in my iphone to it...or is that on purpose?
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2020, 09:59 PM   #4055
muniz_ri
Captain
United_States
168
Rep
607
Posts

Drives: BMA 320I
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by contracts34 View Post
Hi Cossie/Firefly
Wonder if you can answer a query or two.

After a quick Google AEC seems to be for correcting echo issues with Microphones in general. It is default set to 0 but has a range of 0-20. I have tried setting it to 10 and so far seems to have improved.

Am I on the right track with this?
Also, any idea what the other settings are for (other than the obvious volume)?

Cheers and thanks again for a superb piece of work with this Custom S/W
From Bimmertech.....If you will be affected by the echo with the new software removing it can be done in one step. While on a call exit the CarPlay/Android Auto screen by pressing the iDrive controlled BACK button twice in quick succession (like a computer mouse double click) and go to Settings-> Audio and scroll down to Microphone AEC Delay. Start increasing the setting up from 0 in one step increments while having someone test the echo each step of the way on the other side of the phone. Most likely somewhere between 4 and 12 you will find a setting where the echo is gone or at the bare minimum greatly diminished compared to our previous software versions. There shouldn't be a need to adjust any other audio settings. We recommend leaving them at their default setting which are:
Volume: 13
Microphone Volume: 18
Microphone OP Gain: 4
Microphone PGA Gain: 0
Microphone AEC Delay: 0-20
Microphone AEC Quality: 0

Last edited by muniz_ri; 08-06-2020 at 10:16 PM..
Appreciate 1
      08-07-2020, 02:01 AM   #4056
contracts34
Private
contracts34's Avatar
United Kingdom
41
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: BMW 4 Series F33
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Lancashire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by muniz_ri View Post
From Bimmertech.....If you will be affected by the echo with the new software removing it can be done in one step. While on a call exit the CarPlay/Android Auto screen by pressing the iDrive controlled BACK button twice in quick succession (like a computer mouse double click) and go to Settings-> Audio and scroll down to Microphone AEC Delay. Start increasing the setting up from 0 in one step increments while having someone test the echo each step of the way on the other side of the phone. Most likely somewhere between 4 and 12 you will find a setting where the echo is gone or at the bare minimum greatly diminished compared to our previous software versions. There shouldn't be a need to adjust any other audio settings. We recommend leaving them at their default setting which are:
Volume: 13
Microphone Volume: 18
Microphone OP Gain: 4
Microphone PGA Gain: 0
Microphone AEC Delay: 0-20
Microphone AEC Quality: 0
I must have missed that so thanks very much for the info. Much appreciated and it looks like I was on the right track too.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2020, 02:21 AM   #4057
Cruez
New Member
0
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: BMW F31 / Opel Manta b 1981
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

For cic users

135€

€ 135,28 29% Off | Auto Draadloze Carplay Activator Android Auto Interface Box Voor-Bmw Cic 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Serie e60 E70 E71 E84 F01 F02 F10
https://a.aliexpress.com/_dX1NIf0
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2020, 03:01 AM   #4058
Furbz
New Member
5
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: Possible X5 50i
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Gauteng

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Furbz View Post
gave it a whirl and it's a no go on my side.. damn.

i'm tempted to factory reset my phone - it has been a while and i find it often helps with these bugs.
maybe that will help.
i'll wait to see if someone else has a solution before i resort to resetting the phone fully. its such a nightmare setting everything back up again
Factory reset my phone and all works perfectly.
Must have been some odd setting or app causing the issue.
It now works flawlessly.
Thanks to all who helped

I think people might be to quick to point fingers at the MMI not working correctly when our phones are choaking on a hundred different apps all fighting to work

Last edited by Furbz; 08-07-2020 at 03:26 AM..
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2020, 08:45 AM   #4059
eduwinner
Enlisted Member
2
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d F30 M
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Spain

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cossie1 View Post
1 - Press and hold the option button.

2 - Afaik pressing menu should work, but maybe press and hold back for 2 seconds will work instead.
Thanks mate!

Option button worked to activate front camera

But rear PDC screen remains even pressing MENU button or BACK button 2 seconds.

Andream just close the PDC screen when rear PDC is off, so the only way to come back to Andream or native IDrive is to go forward a little, 30-40cm.

I wonder if the PDC button could be retrofitted to switch on/off PDC, I guess coding will be necessary
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2020, 09:12 AM   #4060
LJT
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: F20
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Furbz View Post
Factory reset my phone and all works perfectly.
Must have been some odd setting or app causing the issue.
It now works flawlessly.
Thanks to all who helped

I think people might be to quick to point fingers at the MMI not working correctly when our phones are choaking on a hundred different apps all fighting to work
Thanks for the update! I'm glad it works now.

Do you have to confirm something when you connect or does it really automatically switch to mobile data without you having to do anything?
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2020, 09:30 AM   #4061
Mollyran
Private
12
Rep
78
Posts

Drives: 220i
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Il

iTrader: (0)

v2.0.B0.mod Could not make wireless connection with AA.
On V1 I just make wired connection, turn wifi on and that's it. With V2 It doesn't seem to work that way.

Last edited by Mollyran; 08-07-2020 at 10:04 AM..
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2020, 11:21 AM   #4062
Unspec
Captain
Unspec's Avatar
United_States
324
Rep
951
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW 535xi
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mollyran View Post
v2.0.B0.mod Could not make wireless connection with AA.
On V1 I just make wired connection, turn wifi on and that's it. With V2 It doesn't seem to work that way.
You're paired via bluetooth to the unit right? The whole point of a wireless AA is that you never need to plug in a wire at any point.
__________________
2015 BMW 535xi

Bootmod3 Stage 2 | ER Catted DP | Remus Exhaust | Gplus FMIC
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2020, 01:50 PM   #4063
corduroy
Private
United_States
24
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: '16 X5 xDrive40e (F15)
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: MD

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mollyran View Post
v2.0.B0.mod Could not make wireless connection with AA.
On V1 I just make wired connection, turn wifi on and that's it. With V2 It doesn't seem to work that way.
I think what I had to do was forget the wifi and BT connections that AA made and then add your phone via the MMI. Wireless works flawless after that.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2020, 02:25 PM   #4064
Mollyran
Private
12
Rep
78
Posts

Drives: 220i
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Il

iTrader: (0)

I used settings - carplay - wireless connection - while my wifi is on. The BT is paired to OEM so call quality is excellent now. Although little slow, love the AA auto connect.

Really great job guys, for me it's perfect now.
The only thing I wish was different is the address search for Waze or gmaps. AA is not official in my country so g assistant doesn't work well with street names so I always have to enter address before I use AA. Not sure if it's MMI thing or AA thing since the keyboard for contact search is much better.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2020, 08:01 PM   #4065
ViperBoy2
Enlisted Member
United_States
7
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: 2015 X5M
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: San Jose, CA

iTrader: (0)

Same here - lost wireless AA on V2 when it worked well w/ V1. However, V2 fixed several other issues for me so i'll stick with it since I'm usually charging anyways


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mollyran View Post
v2.0.B0.mod Could not make wireless connection with AA.
On V1 I just make wired connection, turn wifi on and that's it. With V2 It doesn't seem to work that way.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2020, 11:05 PM   #4066
thestimp
Lieutenant
United_States
139
Rep
559
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 - X3M
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

iTrader: (0)

AA works for me on andream, but it freezes and slows down alot.
__________________
This muthafuka got the RONA!
2016 YMB FBO
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2020, 11:14 PM   #4067
xDHC
Second Lieutenant
Netherlands
91
Rep
289
Posts

Drives: F20 116i
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

i'm on andream and v2, no freezes, no slows, wireless working flawlessly.

I think if you got issues its your phone and not v2.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2020, 11:20 PM   #4068
muniz_ri
Captain
United_States
168
Rep
607
Posts

Drives: BMA 320I
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by corduroy View Post
I think what I had to do was forget the wifi and BT connections that AA made and then add your phone via the MMI. Wireless works flawless after that.
Exactly.

It seems that some users are trying to connect to Wifi manually. That's not necessary and is likely why they are having issues. Once you follow the bluetooth pairing procedure, wifi automatically connects and wireless AA launches soon thereafter.
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2020, 03:18 AM   #4069
Mollyran
Private
12
Rep
78
Posts

Drives: 220i
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Il

iTrader: (0)

Just a note for people who listen to the radio while using the MMI on V2.
Just go to settings - audio and change AUX AUTO to no. Use steering mode button to toggle between radio and MMI sound.

As for wireless connection, works perfect.

As I wrote before V2 wireless setting is different, it's need to be done through settings- carplay - wireless connection.
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2020, 05:31 AM   #4070
Moto749r
New Member
United Kingdom
2
Rep
15
Posts

Drives: BMW F31 330d M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire

iTrader: (0)

I've updated to the custom V2 firmware, and AA connects wireless without the need to select the phone, which is excellent!.

However I am now having problems with phone calls, although AA shows the phone call the sound does not come through the car OEM or AA.

Any ideas what I should try guys.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
andream, android, android auto, apple, carplay, mmi, retrofit

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST