F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Andream MMI Box - Wireless CarPlay & Android Auto
ARMA SPEED
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-14-2020, 03:41 PM   #4203
grocerylist
Second Lieutenant
152
Rep
200
Posts

Drives: BMW M235i
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 BMW M235i  [0.00]
With the new custom v2 firmware, most of the time I'm unable to get AA to launch automatically and also can't get it to launch when I click the AA icon with the idrive controller.

This didn't really happen with the Andream firmware. Occasionally when running the Andream firmware, wireless AA would disconnect, but I'd go into the settings and disconnect/reconnect then would be prompted to start AA again. I've tried doing this in the custom firmware with the Bimmertech layout in wireless settings where I see my phone but when I click my phone to disconnect, nothing happens. If I toggle over I can delete my phone but I doubt that I'd want to do that.

I'd far prefer to use wireless AA but to do some testing with wired AA, I did find it more reliable, however if my phone bumps around, when connected, AA drops out and sometimes it will relaunch but if it doesn't other than disconnecting my phone and reconnecting, I haven't been able to figure out how to re-initiate AA. I don't know if this MMI unit is particularly finicky but when I've used a rental car that had stock AA, I've never had any issues with AA disconnecting, if my phone was bouncing around due to "spirited" driving. Do others have issues with wired AA disconnecting like this?

BTW I'm still having issues with Autolink seeming to conflict with wired AA, so that Autolink is simply unusable.
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2020, 04:05 PM   #4204
muniz_ri
Captain
United_States
168
Rep
607
Posts

Drives: BMA 320I
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by grocerylist View Post
With the new custom v2 firmware, most of the time I'm unable to get AA to launch automatically and also can't get it to launch when I click the AA icon with the idrive controller.

This didn't really happen with the Andream firmware. Occasionally when running the Andream firmware, wireless AA would disconnect, but I'd go into the settings and disconnect/reconnect then would be prompted to start AA again. I've tried doing this in the custom firmware with the Bimmertech layout in wireless settings where I see my phone but when I click my phone to disconnect, nothing happens. If I toggle over I can delete my phone but I doubt that I'd want to do that.

I'd far prefer to use wireless AA but to do some testing with wired AA, I did find it more reliable, however if my phone bumps around, when connected, AA drops out and sometimes it will relaunch but if it doesn't other than disconnecting my phone and reconnecting, I haven't been able to figure out how to re-initiate AA. I don't know if this MMI unit is particularly finicky but when I've used a rental car that had stock AA, I've never had any issues with AA disconnecting, if my phone was bouncing around due to "spirited" driving. Do others have issues with wired AA disconnecting like this?

BTW I'm still having issues with Autolink seeming to conflict with wired AA, so that Autolink is simply unusable.
I'm not having any issues with wireless AA with my Samsung Galaxy S10e.

I was previously using a Samsung Galaxy S7 and that was slow and unreliable with wireless AA. Which phone are you using?
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2020, 04:13 PM   #4205
grocerylist
Second Lieutenant
152
Rep
200
Posts

Drives: BMW M235i
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 BMW M235i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by muniz_ri View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by grocerylist View Post
With the new custom v2 firmware, most of the time I'm unable to get AA to launch automatically and also can't get it to launch when I click the AA icon with the idrive controller.

This didn't really happen with the Andream firmware. Occasionally when running the Andream firmware, wireless AA would disconnect, but I'd go into the settings and disconnect/reconnect then would be prompted to start AA again. I've tried doing this in the custom firmware with the Bimmertech layout in wireless settings where I see my phone but when I click my phone to disconnect, nothing happens. If I toggle over I can delete my phone but I doubt that I'd want to do that.

I'd far prefer to use wireless AA but to do some testing with wired AA, I did find it more reliable, however if my phone bumps around, when connected, AA drops out and sometimes it will relaunch but if it doesn't other than disconnecting my phone and reconnecting, I haven't been able to figure out how to re-initiate AA. I don't know if this MMI unit is particularly finicky but when I've used a rental car that had stock AA, I've never had any issues with AA disconnecting, if my phone was bouncing around due to "spirited" driving. Do others have issues with wired AA disconnecting like this?

BTW I'm still having issues with Autolink seeming to conflict with wired AA, so that Autolink is simply unusable.
I'm not having any issues with wireless AA with my Samsung Galaxy S10e.

I was previously using a Samsung Galaxy S7 and that was slow and unreliable with wireless AA. Which phone are you using?
I'm using a OnePlus 6.

With the stock Andream firmware it was mostly reliable, however for some reason wireless AA would always die within the first 10-15 minutes of driving but once I disconnected in the MMI settings and reconnected, AA wouldn't have any problems after that.
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2020, 04:41 PM   #4206
thestimp
Lieutenant
United_States
139
Rep
559
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 - X3M
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSeabass View Post
Okay, exchanged emails with RoadTop, and the instructions had the wrong DIP switch setting. Only turning 3 and 4 on got the screen to work.

Now, there's no audio with Android Auto. Yes, I unpaired/deleted the phone from iDrive. Yes, AUX is set as the audio device in iDrive. Yes, Android Auto pairs wirelessly just fine to my Pixel 3a. All I end up getting is the radio showing up at random because the iDrive apparently still navigates the CIC in the background. Google/YT music apps are appearing on the Auto screen, and it is showing the music as playing both on the screen and on the phone... but no sound.

Starting to lose my patience with all this.







Wireless AA is currently fucked because it requires too muich bandwidth and these machines have a hard time cutting it. Theres also patches rolling out from google because AA is fucked up after a recent patch run. If you have no sound in AA its either you didnt move over teh fiber optic to the new harness or settings in phone of some sort. You do not need to plug in the AUX cable because its an inline splice. and yes the aux in is shit quality because of that.
Your unit may be defective if this is the case.

For about $100 more you can get and android headunit that does all of this just as well and you add touch screen capabilities, its baller and worth it for anyone with out it. Get a 10.25" and enjoy the new hotness.
__________________
This muthafuka got the RONA!
2016 YMB FBO
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2020, 04:57 PM   #4207
muniz_ri
Captain
United_States
168
Rep
607
Posts

Drives: BMA 320I
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by grocerylist View Post
I'm using a OnePlus 6.

With the stock Andream firmware it was mostly reliable, however for some reason wireless AA would always die within the first 10-15 minutes of driving but once I disconnected in the MMI settings and reconnected, AA wouldn't have any problems after that.
I did a quick Google search for OP6 and wireless AA and it looks like issues are common.

But what may help is to begin with a clean slate by clearing cache and data from the AA, Google, and Google Play services apps. Deleting the mmi's wifi and bt connections from your phone. Then going through the proper mmi pairing procedure again.
Appreciate 1
      08-14-2020, 05:19 PM   #4208
cerij101
Enlisted Member
United Kingdom
3
Rep
36
Posts

Drives: BMW 520d F11
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wales

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by grocerylist View Post
With the new custom v2 firmware, most of the time I'm unable to get AA to launch automatically and also can't get it to launch when I click the AA icon with the idrive controller.

This didn't really happen with the Andream firmware. Occasionally when running the Andream firmware, wireless AA would disconnect, but I'd go into the settings and disconnect/reconnect then would be prompted to start AA again. I've tried doing this in the custom firmware with the Bimmertech layout in wireless settings where I see my phone but when I click my phone to disconnect, nothing happens. If I toggle over I can delete my phone but I doubt that I'd want to do that.

I'd far prefer to use wireless AA but to do some testing with wired AA, I did find it more reliable, however if my phone bumps around, when connected, AA drops out and sometimes it will relaunch but if it doesn't other than disconnecting my phone and reconnecting, I haven't been able to figure out how to re-initiate AA. I don't know if this MMI unit is particularly finicky but when I've used a rental car that had stock AA, I've never had any issues with AA disconnecting, if my phone was bouncing around due to "spirited" driving. Do others have issues with wired AA disconnecting like this?

BTW I'm still having issues with Autolink seeming to conflict with wired AA, so that Autolink is simply unusable.
I'm glad that my Pixel does reliably auto connect to AA using V2 custom firmware, like you I cannot connect it manually by clicking on it in the Wireless Devices list like I could on V1.

Once connected however it is very reliable.
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2020, 05:26 PM   #4209
muniz_ri
Captain
United_States
168
Rep
607
Posts

Drives: BMA 320I
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cerij101 View Post
I'm glad that my Pixel does reliably auto connect to AA using V2 custom firmware, like you I cannot connect it manually by clicking on it in the Wireless Devices list like I could on V1.

Once connected however it is very reliable.
v2 disconnects the mmi bt connection as soon as AA starts so that phone calls can be handled by the oem bt connection. That's why you cannot toggle the mmi bt on/off in the mmi settings. But you should be able to force the reconnect from the phones bt settings although that may be tricky to do while driving.

AA disconnects when the wifi connection to the mmi is not stable. You want to make sure that the mmi wifi antenna is not touching metal. Trying a different wifi channel may also help.

Last edited by muniz_ri; 08-14-2020 at 05:33 PM..
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2020, 05:29 PM   #4210
MrSeabass
New Member
2
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: BMW X3
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by thestimp View Post
Wireless AA is currently fucked because it requires too muich bandwidth and these machines have a hard time cutting it. Theres also patches rolling out from google because AA is fucked up after a recent patch run. If you have no sound in AA its either you didnt move over teh fiber optic to the new harness or settings in phone of some sort. You do not need to plug in the AUX cable because its an inline splice. and yes the aux in is shit quality because of that.
Your unit may be defective if this is the case.

For about $100 more you can get and android headunit that does all of this just as well and you add touch screen capabilities, its baller and worth it for anyone with out it. Get a 10.25" and enjoy the new hotness.
Check my followup post; the AUX cable ended up being required in the end. Fiber optic cables were in the right place. The box just sucks, and the iDrive causing the CIC menu to be navigated underneath the AAuto display is a showstopper. Other things I noticed is the screen would just cut out for a few seconds for no reason, then fade back in - for any reason.

Android headunit is an option, but even with the short time I played with AA, BMW's use of map/music splitscreen and snappy steering wheel controls made me feel like maybe I'm not missing out on the experience afterall.
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2020, 05:53 PM   #4211
jaypayne05
Private First Class
United_States
21
Rep
149
Posts

Drives: 435i Gran Coupe M Package
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Orlando

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by propernorf View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaypayne05 View Post
Did you go in to setting and toggle the auto night mode button
Yup that's actually the first thing I tried even thought the settings suggest it's for Carplay. nothing is changing still in night mode.
You might have to wait for a custom firmware for the B units or for a new release from Andream to fix it. I have CarPlay so I dont have that issue
__________________
435i M Package, VRSF FMIC, VRSF CP, MHD stage 2+, stock cat
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2020, 07:31 PM   #4212
skalli07
New Member
3
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 318D 2013 M sport
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Hello all

I have a big problem with my box that I installed today

My car : BMW F20 2016 120D NBT
My box : Andream

Software used (after update) :
v2.1.0.8.multiusb.gpe.b (PIN: 2863)
v1.0.A0.mod (PIN: 2863) (Not cross compatible) (based on: v2.1.0.6.gpe.b)

When I installed the box, I lost the possibility to show next/previous (music / radio ...) in my extended cluster (before, for exemple, when I wanted to switch the radio station or the music in bluetooth of my iPhone-, using the button of stelrling wheel, I had the info shown in my cluster in the digital screen, now, it's not showing anymore after the box installed), but it works without showing in the screen (with a swipe up, then press, it changed radio for exemple)

I also lost the information about my car (maintenance deadlines, control of oil, breaks, average consumption ..), now it's empty, only the historic of maintenance is okay

When I am in CarPlay mode, I cannot switch music (iPhone 11 pro max iOS 13.6) with the button of my wheel, when I activate the option in CarPlay setting, it uses my button(scroll up, scroll down) to navigate in the CarPlay menu (like if I turn the dial right or left), and it's not changing any music), when I use the physical buttons left/right on the dash, they switch music next/previous ..

The buttons for Siri, phone, volume are working well on my wheel

Overall, CarPlay is working good (wifi), I only have those problems, did you noticed those issues ? what can I do please ? (I really like to use the buttons in meh wheel ^^), and the extended display to show the next music/radio and the information about maintenance and consumption on the NBT)

Thank you





Appreciate 0
      08-14-2020, 10:26 PM   #4213
thestimp
Lieutenant
United_States
139
Rep
559
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 - X3M
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaypayne05 View Post
You might have to wait for a custom firmware for the B units or for a new release from Andream to fix it. I have CarPlay so I dont have that issue

Do Android Auto for Idrive then, worth a looksee...


https://f80.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh....php?t=1738137



https://github.com/hufman/AndroidAutoIdrive
__________________
This muthafuka got the RONA!
2016 YMB FBO
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2020, 09:54 AM   #4214
Fishie
Private
5
Rep
58
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW 32ix
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSeabass View Post
Okay, likely final update - turns out I did have to plug in the 3.5mm cord to the center console to get audio despite the instructions to the contrary. The audio sounds like shit, and I still end up with the radio accidentally coming on here and there as I navigate an extremely sluggish menu with iDrive.

Gonna box this up and return it. Huge headache, and I may look into the touchscreen replacement options instead.
That's correct. 2013 cars have been giving issues with microphone + audio.

I was able to adjust my cars EQ settings and the audio is even better than before. The 3.5mm to the centre console is not a huge issue, the cable is very easy to hide and I believe that having it plugged in is worth it in order to have carplay.
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2020, 09:58 AM   #4215
BimmerLuv1
New Member
Germany
0
Rep
15
Posts

Drives: BMW E81
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Problem: MCU won't update and stuck

Hello @ all,

1. I read most of this thread and it's amazing how active you guys are and try to help each other. Kudos to you!!!

2. Sry für hijacking your F30 forum because I drive an E81

3. My problem....

I drive an E81 120i, Made 2009, Navi CIC Prof with 8,8 screen and I have installed a MMI vom ROAD TOP. I tried to update the SOFTWARE AND MCU with the latest build from the first page of this thread (ROAD TOP CIC).

SOFTWARE updated fine but I can't flash the MCU. It's stuck at this screen "USER UPDATE MCU, WAIT DO NOT POWER OFF". I kept the running for 30 min with this screen but nothing happened. I then forced the MMI to restart with the 5 sec BACK BUTTON press. MCU Version is still the old version.

Anyone an idea on how I can solve this?



Appreciate 0
      08-15-2020, 12:02 PM   #4216
G.Newt
Lieutenant
283
Rep
595
Posts

Drives: B58 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Denver, CO

iTrader: (0)

Upgraded my Andream to B v1.0.2 and that fixed the scrolling lag completely. Makes the user experience a lot better.

Question: it seems it wasn't able to take the MCU 20.06 update. I have the Gemini-update.bin and the MCU .bin on the root of my flash drive. Was I flashing the wrong version? Can the B units take the 20.06 MCU update? Thanks!
__________________
2016 340i xDrive 6-speed.
FBO. Stage 2 E30 BM3. 440hp / 515lb-ft
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2020, 12:13 PM   #4217
propernorf
Enlisted Member
propernorf's Avatar
No_Country
9
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: 16' M5 F10
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Out

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by thestimp View Post
idrive is simply no go for me, it rarely connects and if does usually not for long. Nevertheless really awesome project.
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2020, 12:24 PM   #4218
eexxcc
New Member
8
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: F07 2014
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: LV

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by G.Newt View Post
Upgraded my Andream to B v1.0.2 and that fixed the scrolling lag completely. Makes the user experience a lot better.

Question: it seems it wasn't able to take the MCU 20.06 update. I have the Gemini-update.bin and the MCU .bin on the root of my flash drive. Was I flashing the wrong version? Can the B units take the 20.06 MCU update? Thanks!
Updated my Andream B (B_V1.0.2) unit to MCU 20.06, no problems so far.

After updating, restart unit by pressing back button for 5 sec.
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2020, 12:33 PM   #4219
cinergi
Enlisted Member
11
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: 2014 535i xDrive Modern Line
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (0)

Sound quality?

Most of this thread seems to focus on functionality and software. I'm wondering about the sound quality of these boxes? Some say it's great, others say it's terrible so I'm not sure what to make of it. This is a key consideration for me.

What's the sound quality as compared to a direct BT connection to iDrive? I'm trying to avoid flat-sounding audio with no bass or treble extension. I have the Logic7 system, which is capable of great sound given a great input. Looking to hear primarily from those who also have Logic7, since the base stereo doesn't sound as good to begin with (I had it in my previous car) so quality differences would be masked.

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2020, 12:43 PM   #4220
skalli07
New Member
3
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 318D 2013 M sport
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

No one :'( ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by skalli07 View Post
Hello all

I have a big problem with my box that I installed today

My car : BMW F20 2016 120D NBT
My box : Andream

Software used (after update) :
v2.1.0.8.multiusb.gpe.b (PIN: 2863)
v1.0.A0.mod (PIN: 2863) (Not cross compatible) (based on: v2.1.0.6.gpe.b)

When I installed the box, I lost the possibility to show next/previous (music / radio ...) in my extended cluster (before, for exemple, when I wanted to switch the radio station or the music in bluetooth of my iPhone-, using the button of stelrling wheel, I had the info shown in my cluster in the digital screen, now, it's not showing anymore after the box installed), but it works without showing in the screen (with a swipe up, then press, it changed radio for exemple)

I also lost the information about my car (maintenance deadlines, control of oil, breaks, average consumption ..), now it's empty, only the historic of maintenance is okay

When I am in CarPlay mode, I cannot switch music (iPhone 11 pro max iOS 13.6) with the button of my wheel, when I activate the option in CarPlay setting, it uses my button(scroll up, scroll down) to navigate in the CarPlay menu (like if I turn the dial right or left), and it's not changing any music), when I use the physical buttons left/right on the dash, they switch music next/previous ..

The buttons for Siri, phone, volume are working well on my wheel

Overall, CarPlay is working good (wifi), I only have those problems, did you noticed those issues ? what can I do please ? (I really like to use the buttons in meh wheel ^^), and the extended display to show the next music/radio and the information about maintenance and consumption on the NBT)

Thank you





Appreciate 0
      08-15-2020, 12:48 PM   #4221
ViperBoy2
Enlisted Member
United_States
7
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: 2015 X5M
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: San Jose, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cinergi View Post
What's the sound quality as compared to a direct BT connection to iDrive? I'm trying to avoid flat-sounding audio with no bass or treble extension. I have the Logic7 system, which is capable of great sound given a great input. Looking to hear primarily from those who also have Logic7, since the base stereo doesn't sound as good to begin with (I had it in my previous car) so quality differences would be masked.
I have a full JL Audio replacement (amp + speakers) in my X5M and bought the Andream as much for audio improvement as for AA. BMW doesn't support AAC on Android, let alone AptX so the SBC Bluetooth quality is horrible. The new box definitely seems clearer (especially highs) with Spotify's highest quality downloads. Nothing scientific, but Android users especially will appreciate the upgrade

I had originally tried using an old iPhone for NBT aux input which was also an audio improvement, but the BMW apps integration was flakey on a good day
Appreciate 1
      08-15-2020, 01:20 PM   #4222
xDHC
Second Lieutenant
Netherlands
91
Rep
289
Posts

Drives: F20 116i
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by skalli07 View Post
I also lost the information about my car (maintenance deadlines, control of oil, breaks, average consumption ..), now it's empty, only the historic of maintenance is okay
( ?
you forgot to connect the fibre optic cables or did not correct connect them.
Appreciate 1
x-m4n136.50

      08-15-2020, 02:31 PM   #4223
skalli07
New Member
3
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 318D 2013 M sport
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xDHC View Post
you forgot to connect the fibre optic cables or did not correct connect them.
Hello

Yes indeed i figured it out today Before seeing your message , this what the right guess, thx

Now i have the info working, only switch songs from my wheel in CarPlay are not working (the rest is working good)



If i can get the next/previous button from my wheel working this kit would ne perfect

Any idea?
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2020, 03:12 PM   #4224
chabzer
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
41
Posts

Drives: F30 318d
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: france

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by skalli07 View Post
Hello

Yes indeed i figured it out today Before seeing your message , this what the right guess, thx

Now i have the info working, only switch songs from my wheel in CarPlay are not working (the rest is working good)



If i can get the next/previous button from my wheel working this kit would ne perfect

Any idea?
In aux mode, you can't use next/previous with the wheel
You can stream audio via bluetooth if you like with your phone and then you'll be able to change songs/select song BUT you have to disable wheel in the mmi settings, or you'll have conflict as the wheel is used to navigate through the MMI too.
AND you will loose sound from apps like waze etc, as your phone is streaming to the car directly and you'll be in Bluetooth mode.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
andream, android, android auto, apple, carplay, mmi, retrofit

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST