F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Pedestrian protection and restraint system faults - ACSM dead?
Extreme Powerhouse
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-06-2019, 04:33 PM   #1
paszczaq
New Member
2
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: F34
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Pedestrian protection and restraint system faults - ACSM dead?

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
I had two faults occurred totally out of nothing on the iDrive and cluster:
1. Pedestrian protection system fault
2. Restraint system

The was no impact to the car or anything as such, ordinary start of ignition in the morning and both faults on.

I scanned it with ISTA and ACMS is keep comming up with the fault that cannot be deleted from ISTA level. The action in service section say's "Replace the control unit" which I'm not so keen on doing at the moment as I'm not sure if it will cure the fault.

Another fault on ISTA was battery faulty or worn out so I now replaced the battery suspecting that it could have impact on ACSM but still the same.

I tried reset fault with F01.prg in ToolSet32 and job status was OK but when I tried to lock airbag with acms4 it's coming up with ECU CONDITION NOT CORRECT

Any advice gents? I'm only beginner level and all I've done thus far was based on the information gathered from the forum....
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2019, 04:40 AM   #2
atzebmw
Lieutenant Colonel
Germany
394
Rep
1,787
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

First of all you should get yourself a reasonable error reading program like ISTA.
And then may be it could be meaningful to get E-Sys for coding.
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2019, 12:08 PM   #3
paszczaq
New Member
2
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: F34
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

It was diagnosed with ISTA already as I stated in the first post
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2019, 08:58 AM   #4
paszczaq
New Member
2
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: F34
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Done several attempts of bringing the ACAM back to live and reset faults with no joy.

Followed few advises from shawnsheridan and still nothing so I'm guessing the module itself needs replacing and coding.

Just looking at different part numbers at RealOEM as I'm getting a second hand non-deflated module and here is the question: What does "Exchangeable retrospectively" mean exactly? Will I be able to use newer modules with this comment on my car?
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2019, 09:16 AM   #5
atzebmw
Lieutenant Colonel
Germany
394
Rep
1,787
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by paszczaq View Post
What does "Exchangeable retrospectively" mean exactly? Will I be able to use newer modules with this comment on my car?
Yes, you can also use newer modules for your car.
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2019, 02:45 PM   #6
paszczaq
New Member
2
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: F34
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
Yes, you can also use newer modules for your car.
Thank you Sir

I got a second hand module ACMS4B from Germany, fitted it and the unit finally responded and managed to remove the pedestrian protection system fault.

Now the final stage and I guess I need to code the ecu to the car as still coming up with restraints system fault and advice from ISTA test plan is to perform coding.

Could someone direct me in the right way?
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2019, 03:03 PM   #7
atzebmw
Lieutenant Colonel
Germany
394
Rep
1,787
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by paszczaq View Post
Thank you Sir

I got a second hand module ACMS4B from Germany, fitted it and the unit finally responded and managed to remove the pedestrian protection system fault.

Now the final stage and I guess I need to code the ecu to the car as still coming up with restraints system fault and advice from ISTA test plan is to perform coding.

Could someone direct me in the right way?
Yes, it is necessarily to be coded.
Do you have E-sys?
Then you only have to load and activate the FA, mark the ACSM, detect CAF for SWE, choose a CAFD with the highest numbers (ACSM needs 3 CAFDs) and OK and hit the button "code".
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2019, 03:36 PM   #8
paszczaq
New Member
2
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: F34
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
Yes, it is necessarily to be coded.
Do you have E-sys?
Then you only have to load and activate the FA, mark the ACSM, detect CAF for SWE, choose a CAFD with the highest numbers (ACSM needs 3 CAFDs) and OK and hit the button "code".
Thank you for the instruction but no I don't have E-sys yet. I gathered that this would be necessary and have been reading through different threads on forum but I haven't found a source thus far.

Any help appreciated
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2019, 03:51 PM   #9
atzebmw
Lieutenant Colonel
Germany
394
Rep
1,787
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by paszczaq View Post
Thank you for the instruction but no I don't have E-sys yet. I gathered that this would be necessary and have been reading through different threads on forum but I haven't found a source thus far.

Any help appreciated
Here under Point 2: Software INstallation you will find E-Sys.
You only need E-Sys 3.27.1 and the psdzdata Lite for your current problem.
If you later want to FDL code some things you still need a Launcher.
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2019, 04:58 PM   #10
paszczaq
New Member
2
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: F34
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Right, so I'm just about to press code:

I followed all instructions, does it look ok?
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2019, 05:16 PM   #11
atzebmw
Lieutenant Colonel
Germany
394
Rep
1,787
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by paszczaq View Post
Right, so I'm just about to press code:

I followed all instructions, does it look ok?
Yes, that looks good.
Now again mark the ACSM and hit the button code.

One moment, i just saw that you make a mistake.
At the start of E-Sys and the connection window i think you didn't choose F020.
Please disconnect E-Sys and connect again with F020 (see my image) and then do it all again.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by atzebmw; 09-14-2019 at 05:21 PM..
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2019, 05:43 PM   #12
paszczaq
New Member
2
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: F34
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

You are a star atzebmw

First time I did it and it was unsuccessful then I followed your advice and all good. Reset seat belt buckles faults etc in ISTA and all sorted now. Fault free car, safe to drive and ready for MOT

Second hand ACSM was around 80 from ebay with 'almost' next day delivery.

Thank you very much for all advice also to shawnsheridan on PM
Appreciate 1
atzebmw393.50

      06-03-2020, 02:44 PM   #13
BeMyWheels
New Member
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: F22
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: B'ham UK

iTrader: (0)

hi guys, just done the same thing replaced my ACSM, coded 3 CAFDs, all green, tried to use the external application to clear and lock.

ISTA shows ACSM requires lock, and that my belt contacts are faulty URGH

in addition to this, I was doing this coding with the car headlights out, and they don't show on the tree anymore! (errors still in the list so should be ok)

P.S Sorry for posting my own thread about this (I tried searching clearly not hard enough), and for poping an old thread
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST