F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Unable to connect via VIN !!
European Auto Source (EAS)
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-24-2017, 12:34 PM   #23
NOGRP
Enlisted Member
NOGRP's Avatar
0
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: BMW 114i (F20)
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Hungary

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
Yes, that is clear. On computer, if router gets no communication, then issue with computer. But, if another computer did not work, then may be car as well.
I tried with 3 different PC and 2 cable. One of them was my friend's coding laptop. So that's why I want to focus on the car now.
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2017, 08:02 AM   #24
discoboy1
Lieutenant Colonel
discoboy1's Avatar
Canada
85
Rep
1,516
Posts

Drives: E82 1M VO/F30 328D
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NOGRP View Post
I know this is a very old thread but I hope I can find the answer here for my problem.

I am trying to connect to my car with enet cable. I followed every word in the e-sys tutorial but after days of trying still no success.

I have already tried to connect with 2 different PCs and 2 different OS to my car. I checked a lot of settings like disable bluetooth, wifi, firewall, antivirus and other unused network adapter. I also plugged straight to a router just to check the MAC address and the IP but even a Linux Mikrotik and D-link router can not see anything. I thought that maybe I got faulty cable so I ordered a new one.
This cable has arrived today so I tired it again but I got the same issue. None of the LED is blinking on the Ethernet port. ZGW Search shows blank.
I turn on the ignition than I plug the cable in, I wait up to 60 seconds for Windows to say "limited connectivity". The network icon in the tray should show a yellow ! but nothing happen. The icon shows "no cable connected" even after 10 min on both PC. The TCP/IPV4 protocol is on automatic setting.
I even checked the OBD fuse but all of them were okey. The OBD pins seems okey too.
I am out of idea. I have spent days to figure out what is the problem but no luck

I would really appreciate any input.
I have the same issue, did you ever got it to work?
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2017, 09:18 AM   #25
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
3785
Rep
20,490
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by discoboy1 View Post
I have the same issue, did you ever got it to work?
You will not be able to connect via VIN unless PSdZData is properly installed, and the Car and Laptop have a connection. For this:

1) The Target Connection Window should not be blank (It should show multiple target connections for different chassis')
2) ENET Cable must be good and making good contact in OBDII Port
3) Car must have proper voltage (Make sure motor is running if car is not on a Charger).
4) Laptop must not have Firewall or any Antivirus software running.
5) PC Lan Adapter should get a fallback IP address of 169.254.xxx.xxx (Make sure it is using DHCP and does not have a Static IP address assigned to it)
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Appreciate 0
      08-11-2017, 05:10 AM   #26
NOGRP
Enlisted Member
NOGRP's Avatar
0
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: BMW 114i (F20)
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Hungary

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by discoboy1 View Post
I have the same issue, did you ever got it to work?

I could not solve it :/ I am thinking to take my car to service in order to check the OBD port. I tried to measure the voltage at the OBD port but I do not have 12v.
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2018, 01:41 PM   #27
conor7205
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 M Sport
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

I am really struggling with this issue, i have been connected to my car before. Currently i have tested with the ignition on/off, no virus software or firewall blocking anything, the cable has worked a day before so it cant be that, that rules my laptop out also.

I can see all the vehicle profles from psdzdata, i performed a full reinstall or e sys, including the launcher and the psdzdata, but it still wont let me connect via VIN. Does anyone have any othwr suggestions of what i can try?

Would very much appreciatw it.

C
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2018, 01:59 PM   #28
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
3785
Rep
20,490
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by conor7205 View Post
I am really struggling with this issue, i have been connected to my car before. Currently i have tested with the ignition on/off, no virus software or firewall blocking anything, the cable has worked a day before so it cant be that, that rules my laptop out also.

I can see all the vehicle profles from psdzdata, i performed a full reinstall or e sys, including the launcher and the psdzdata, but it still wont let me connect via VIN. Does anyone have any othwr suggestions of what i can try?

Would very much appreciatw it.

C
Just what I wrote in post #25.

Is your Motor Running?
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2018, 08:56 AM   #29
conor7205
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 M Sport
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Just what I wrote in post #25.

Is your Motor Running?
Hi Shawn,

Thanks for replying,

Yes I will have the E Sys cabled connect to the car and laptop with the motor running, and have tried with the motor off also.

I have not checked point 5 of post #25, so I will double check that the ethernet connection has a DHCP setting and not static, I haven't touched this since it worked but it is worth double checking.

C
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2018, 10:37 AM   #30
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
3785
Rep
20,490
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by conor7205 View Post
Hi Shawn,

Thanks for replying,

Yes I will have the E Sys cabled connect to the car and laptop with the motor running, and have tried with the motor off also.

I have not checked point 5 of post #25, so I will double check that the ethernet connection has a DHCP setting and not static, I haven't touched this since it worked but it is worth double checking.

C
If nothing else works, then try the Winsock Reset.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2018, 04:24 AM   #31
conor7205
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 M Sport
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
If nothing else works, then try the Winsock Reset.
Performed the winsock reset and restarted the laptop, still nothing. This is the ip address the ethernet connection is getting, which looks correct to me?



Is there any other way to connect to the car with E Sys? I can see the other options aside from Connect via VIN but i assume there is a reason the other options aren't used?

C
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2018, 08:35 AM   #32
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
3785
Rep
20,490
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by conor7205 View Post
Performed the winsock reset and restarted the laptop, still nothing. This is the ip address the ethernet connection is getting, which looks correct to me?

Is there any other way to connect to the car with E Sys? I can see the other options aside from Connect via VIN but i assume there is a reason the other options aren't used?

C
I have no idea what issue is. There is no other connection way for ENET Cable.

Try a different laptop. If you have same issue, then it is cable or car gateway module.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2018, 12:23 PM   #33
atzebmw
Major
Germany
255
Rep
1,186
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by conor7205 View Post
Performed the winsock reset and restarted the laptop, still nothing. This is the ip address the ethernet connection is getting, which looks correct to me?



Is there any other way to connect to the car with E Sys? I can see the other options aside from Connect via VIN but i assume there is a reason the other options aren't used?

C
Maybe you want to try the small tool "zgw_search.exe".
So you can see if the car is connected to the laptop, because it displays the IP address of the car.
If it shows the IP address of the car, then there must be a problem with e-sys.
If it does not display the IP address, the problem may be with the cable or the car.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST