F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > 10.25" Android 9.0 HU discussion
European Auto Source (EAS)
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-13-2020, 05:35 PM   #2553
akirax
Private
12
Rep
73
Posts

Drives: BMW F30
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Spain

iTrader: (0)

I found a definitely solution to the auto brightness with cflumens.

I made a profile in Tasker that on system start puts the brightness at 230, then cflumens starts and always change the brightness i configure.

Cheers.
Appreciate 1
Kri192.50

      02-13-2020, 06:12 PM   #2554
TheRoss
New Member
0
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: F31 320xD 135 KW 10/2014
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: germany / Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

Does anyone use task widgets like bandwidth monitor or cpu usage?
These widgets aren't being displayed on the task bar (only when pulling the slider down, I can see that they are actually running).
Does anyone have a solution for this?
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2020, 08:29 AM   #2555
Slepoipew
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: BMW E83
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Moscow Russia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kri View Post
To Root and SU the Snapdragon devices even more easier than i described here, i created a Windows batch job that now does the Job for you

Download the actual ADB Software from here.
Unpack it, also download the adb_su_root.zip attached here, unzip it so that all files are together at the same folder where the adb.exe is.

just start the root_Android9.bat, enter the IP Adress (without port !) and let it run, thats it

Please give feedback when it does work for you, i only have one device to test with

Chri
This does not work.
SU is copied to the device, but there is no complete control over the file system.
I can not delete files in the system folder
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2020, 08:38 AM   #2556
Kri
First Lieutenant
Austria
193
Rep
398
Posts

Drives: E87
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slepoipew View Post
This does not work.
SU is copied to the device, but there is no complete control over the file system.
I can not delete files in the system folder
As described below in the guide, you need to remount the partition after every reboot if you want to access the system folders with write permission.

Quote:
* while you had permanent Root of ADB on Android 8 you don`t have it on Android 9.
Every time you reboot the device you need to remount your partition again, this is looking like this
Code:

D:\adb>adb connect 192.168.0.11:5555
connected to 192.168.0.11:5555

D:\adb>adb root

D:\adb>adb remount
remount succeeded

D:\adb>adb shell
msm8953_64:/ #

when you try this at the android system you need a file browser like Total Commander for Android that supports remount.

Kri
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2020, 02:41 PM   #2557
Joecoxlvi
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Morocco

iTrader: (0)

Hello Guys,

Just bought an android HU for my f30, and by checking the harness I found something that is similar to a speaker or tweeter, anyone have any idea what it is about.

It is circled the picture and it's cable goes to the white connector:

https://i.ibb.co/PTNtmby/20200214-203723.jpg

Appreciate the help.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2020, 05:05 PM   #2558
JimRakete
New Member
JimRakete's Avatar
Germany
2
Rep
15
Posts

Drives: BMW F11
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Hamburg

iTrader: (0)

I think this speaker is for the navigation voice output to avoid this bad quality sounds on front left during bmw radio mode.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2020, 07:28 PM   #2559
3rotor
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (0)

Hi everyone,

I bought one of the HD PX6 screens for my F30 around 3 months ago, it's been great having Carplay in our car!

Couple of questions - The contrast on the screen seems to be a bit high, where when I'm at the map screen while in Carplay I can barely see any of the streets, while in night mode everything looks good - Do you guys have any suggestions on how I could tweak the screen colour settings?

Second question, I know the PX6 processor isn't as powerful as the snap dragon, but are there any tweaks to make the carplay app more responsive? After about 5-10 minutes with maps and music running it seems like the delay of the audio and the touch controls goes to around 5 seconds.

Thanks in advance!
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2020, 07:57 AM   #2560
Joecoxlvi
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Morocco

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimRakete View Post
I think this speaker is for the navigation voice output to avoid this bad quality sounds on front left during bmw radio mode.
Thank you sir, any idea where should I place it ? (f30 btw)
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2020, 01:02 PM   #2561
Gabrielisimous
Enlisted Member
Gabrielisimous's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: F30 328i 2013
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3rotor View Post
Hi everyone,

I bought one of the HD PX6 screens for my F30 around 3 months ago, it's been great having Carplay in our car!

Couple of questions - The contrast on the screen seems to be a bit high, where when I'm at the map screen while in Carplay I can barely see any of the streets, while in night mode everything looks good - Do you guys have any suggestions on how I could tweak the screen colour settings?

Second question, I know the PX6 processor isn't as powerful as the snap dragon, but are there any tweaks to make the carplay app more responsive? After about 5-10 minutes with maps and music running it seems like the delay of the audio and the touch controls goes to around 5 seconds.

Thanks in advance!
That issue sounds more like a hardware problem, I do have px6 with only 2gb ram and CarPlay always working as it should
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2020, 10:13 PM   #2562
3rotor
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabrielisimous View Post
That issue sounds more like a hardware problem, I do have px6 with only 2gb ram and CarPlay always working as it should
Howís your contrast on the map screen? Is everything visible?

Iím also wondering if thereís an update to the carplay app that Iím missing. Does anyone know what the latest version is?
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2020, 11:24 PM   #2563
Gabrielisimous
Enlisted Member
Gabrielisimous's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: F30 328i 2013
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3rotor View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabrielisimous View Post
That issue sounds more like a hardware problem, I do have px6 with only 2gb ram and CarPlay always working as it should
How's your contrast on the map screen? Is everything visible?

I'm also wondering if there's an update to the carplay app that I'm missing. Does anyone know what the latest version is?
Yes, everything visible and the update it depends on which app you are using to run CarPlay you need to google to find out if you are using the latest version (I'm using "Zbox app with Zbox dongle and the latest version is 4.5.13 ... also dongle could have an update pending ).
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2020, 08:42 AM   #2564
machman767
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
77
Rep
281
Posts

Drives: 320d Sport auto
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Preston

iTrader: (0)

Hi, guys, I tried to complete the Avin AV8 update earlier, followed their instructions but no matter what I did the unit refused to start the update. Now part of me is saying leave well alone, it's working well with no issues so why possibly upset the status quo (whatever you want....&#128513 but another part is wondering why it's not working, what's the technique you guys use for updates?
Cheers, Mick
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2020, 09:59 AM   #2565
Kri
First Lieutenant
Austria
193
Rep
398
Posts

Drives: E87
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by machman767 View Post
Hi, guys, I tried to complete the Avin AV8 update earlier, followed their instructions but no matter what I did the unit refused to start the update. Now part of me is saying leave well alone, it's working well with no issues so why possibly upset the status quo (whatever you want....��) but another part is wondering why it's not working, what's the technique you guys use for updates?
Cheers, Mick
Does some kind of error message do appear ?
Can you access the usb drive with es explorer ?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

thx Firefly for the hint, seems that our units will be shipped with Android 10 soon
I hope it will be possible to upgrade our units

Kri
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 2
      02-16-2020, 10:35 AM   #2566
machman767
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
77
Rep
281
Posts

Drives: 320d Sport auto
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Preston

iTrader: (0)

Hi, Kri, no error message but I can view the stick in ES explorer.
Mick
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2020, 11:37 AM   #2567
Gabrielisimous
Enlisted Member
Gabrielisimous's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: F30 328i 2013
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by machman767 View Post
Hi, guys, I tried to complete the Avin AV8 update earlier, followed their instructions but no matter what I did the unit refused to start the update. Now part of me is saying leave well alone, it's working well with no issues so why possibly upset the status quo (whatever you want....&#128513 but another part is wondering why it's not working, what's the technique you guys use for updates?
Cheers, Mick
True. I contacted Avin support a couple of times and they only reply to say try and try again... after more than 20 tries with different usbs and sds cards I opted to better leave it like that
Appreciate 1
      02-16-2020, 01:15 PM   #2568
Mega08
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: Bmw 320d e92 2008
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Italy

iTrader: (0)

Arrow HELP !!

hi guy's am new here and i will try to be as clear as i can so sorry for my english in advance
....
so my brother have an android unit 10.25 in his 2008 bmw 320d and he began to have problemes with it i think when he formated the sd card the screen began to freez , many foncntions can't be used or opened anymore like the DRV and in general very buggy and a lot of times the screen will go nuts showing a lot of colored bars or white bars etc...
so i was wondering if this can be fixed with an update because i dont think its a hardware issue because the screen works sometimes without issue

i was thinking it's a software issue or frimware or i don't know but the thing is i dont know exactly what version of frimware/android and mcu to update to so i was wondering if you guy's could guide me how to make this update if possible as am going to poste bellow the model and version of his android unit and pictures of it when it's bugy too
thank you guy's

here are the pictures :

https://ibb.co/5Lxj0gq
https://ibb.co/CK5PHbk
https://ibb.co/kqzMrH1
https://ibb.co/p6Dw60g
https://ibb.co/QvrxYk3
https://ibb.co/QvrxYk3
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2020, 02:17 PM   #2569
JimRakete
New Member
JimRakete's Avatar
Germany
2
Rep
15
Posts

Drives: BMW F11
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Hamburg

iTrader: (0)

Maps control by idrive works on F11 CIC.
Had to apply the easy root at first, and then i had to grant the permissions for tasker with adb shell. now it works.

Big thanks to @kri and @foxy_brown !!
__________________
F11 Retrofits: Digital Cluster 6WB, Comfort Seats, Gentlemen Function, Soft-Close-Doors, Automatic Tailgate, Android 9.0 Display, Front- and Rear Camera with autom. switching, Steering Wheel Heating and Paddles, Alarm System with GPS Tracker and GSM
Appreciate 1
Kri192.50

      02-17-2020, 08:39 AM   #2570
bepp67
Registered
Italy
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: bmw 520 xd f11
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Italy

iTrader: (0)

Hello everyone and I apologize in advance if the question I am about to ask has already been asked. I recently purchased a sd625 4/64 1920x720 device for F11, and I ask if I can install the firmware Ksw-P-Userdebug_OS_v3.8.3 also on mine and if, consequently, I must also update the MCU? moreover, someone can show me where to download the splash images and bootanimations for my resolution? Thanks
Name:  20200217_093940-1.jpg
Views: 268
Size:  220.8 KB

Last edited by bepp67; 02-17-2020 at 09:00 AM..
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2020, 08:55 AM   #2571
SuperNick
New Member
16
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 2009
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Italy

iTrader: (0)

update MCU

Hello guys... there is a update for my snapdragon device?

MCU Ver: 023052dGS-CIC-GTL-191127-B18
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2020, 10:29 AM   #2572
Kri
First Lieutenant
Austria
193
Rep
398
Posts

Drives: E87
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bepp67 View Post
Hello everyone and I apologize in advance if the question I am about to ask has already been asked. I recently purchased a sd625 4/64 1920x720 device for F11, and I ask if I can install the firmware Ksw-P-Userdebug_OS_v3.8.3 also on mine and if, consequently, I must also update the MCU? moreover, someone can show me where to download the splash images and bootanimations for my resolution? Thanks
Attachment 2241521
Hmm, seems you have a new MCU Type, there is a "DC" within the code.
your code is "615095dALS-NBT-GTH-DC-191128A".
Normally ALS Units do have something like "615054dALS-NBT-GTH-191129-B18"
So, no update for your HU here available, you would need to ask your seller.

Does your Unit has some other special configuration than 1920*720 resolution ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperNick View Post
Hello guys... there is a update for my snapdragon device?

MCU Ver: 023052dGS-CIC-GTL-191127-B18
Nop, also no update availalbe yet.

SuperNick / bepp67 , whats working wrong on the HU why you asking for an MCU update ?
Normally MCU`s have not lots of stuff that is buggy, so MCU updates are not as often as Android updates.

Kri
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2020, 12:34 PM   #2573
evelucife
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: BMW X1 E84
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: SEA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kri View Post
Afaik, there is no real information about this unit around, they are pretty new and not sold often.
As bad as it does sound, best way is to sell the unit and buy a Snapdragon HU
That's a pity to hear, thank you for replying though. Good thing that Im currently happy with my HU and already downloaded all kind of apps. Furthermore selling one of these thing and find a suitable replacement is not that easy here where i live. Figure i will stick with it for further updates (If any )
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2020, 01:26 PM   #2574
TheRoss
New Member
0
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: F31 320xD 135 KW 10/2014
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: germany / Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mega08 View Post
hi guy's am new here and i will try to be as clear as i can so sorry for my english in advance
....
so my brother have an android unit 10.25 in his 2008 bmw 320d and he began to have problemes with it i think when he formated the sd card the screen began to freez , many foncntions can't be used or opened anymore like the DRV and in general very buggy and a lot of times the screen will go nuts showing a lot of colored bars or white bars etc...
so i was wondering if this can be fixed with an update because i dont think its a hardware issue because the screen works sometimes without issue

i was thinking it's a software issue or frimware or i don't know but the thing is i dont know exactly what version of frimware/android and mcu to update to so i was wondering if you guy's could guide me how to make this update if possible as am going to poste bellow the model and version of his android unit and pictures of it when it's bugy too
thank you guy's

here are the pictures :

https://ibb.co/5Lxj0gq
https://ibb.co/CK5PHbk
https://ibb.co/kqzMrH1
https://ibb.co/p6Dw60g
https://ibb.co/QvrxYk3
https://ibb.co/QvrxYk3
Hi.
please follow these steps (and please do it as I said ):
( This will factory-reset your unit, which is fine and needed)

1 - download the latest MCU update:
https://github.com/chinesebmwheaduni.../mcuupdate.bin
name it mcuupdate.bin and put it on the root of a fat32-formatted usb-stick
(repo for all old mcus: https://github.com/chinesebmwheadunits/mcu)

2 - download the latest px3-image:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1mqJ...faJsDEcHe/view
and name it px3_reset.img and put it on the fat32-formatted usb-stick

3 - boot your unit WITHOUT having the usb-stick inserted!
Insert the usb-stick only AFTER the Unit is up and running

4 - Apply the mcu upgrade via the mcu menu

5 - during the upgrade of the mcu, the unit will reset - this is fine.
During reset it will also auto-detect the usb-drive and the image-file (when properly named) and will update the Android OS.

This image is way cleaner than the one supplied by the chinese manufacturers. So you should have no problems with this.

Before you do this, you could run a few gfxbench benchmarks and see if the unit crashes - afterwards when the upgrade is done of the mcu+android you can re-test it.

BTW: The proper thread of the PX3 unit is this one:
https://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh....php?t=1500481

Last edited by TheRoss; 02-17-2020 at 01:32 PM..
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST