F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > [DIY] KAFAS2 for SLI or 5AS retrofit for F3x
ARMA SPEED
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-22-2020, 03:08 PM   #89
rickynguyen
Second Lieutenant
10
Rep
207
Posts

Drives: Bmw F30 320i sedan
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: CA92683

iTrader: (0)

Can i use kafas2 function if i not change the windshield ?
Appreciate 0
      07-22-2020, 05:45 PM   #90
freespirit
Second Lieutenant
freespirit's Avatar
47
Rep
224
Posts

Drives: f30 2016 BMW 328i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickynguyen View Post
Can i use kafas2 function if i not change the windshield ?
I don't think so.
__________________
Retrofits: NBT evo ID6, 6wb cluster, heated steering wheel, HUD, Kafas2 with LDW, SLI, HBA, FCW and pedestrian warning, LCW, Surround View and Parking Assist.
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2020, 01:52 AM   #91
Shonky
Enlisted Member
Australia
7
Rep
47
Posts

Drives: F31 320i
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Brisbane, Australia

iTrader: (0)

I have a 2016/07 build F31. Has ACC stop and go, LDW, FCW, LCW (5DF, 5AG, 5AS) but no SLI (ie 8TH). I believe I have all the hardware required and only need a FSC to add 8TH (and maybe a software update to KAFAS2) at worse.

Does that sound correct?

If I get a FSC from those that offer them here are there any issues with it getting wiped with updates and/or no longer working? How are they different if I was able to convince BMW to even sell me one (seems unlikely in Australia).

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 03:41 AM   #92
ichooo
New Member
Bulgaria
4
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: F31
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Bulgaria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shonky View Post
I have a 2016/07 build F31. Has ACC stop and go, LDW, FCW, LCW (5DF, 5AG, 5AS) but no SLI (ie 8TH). I believe I have all the hardware required and only need a FSC to add 8TH (and maybe a software update to KAFAS2) at worse.

Does that sound correct?

If I get a FSC from those that offer them here are there any issues with it getting wiped with updates and/or no longer working? How are they different if I was able to convince BMW to even sell me one (seems unlikely in Australia).

Thanks
Hello mate, I can provide you OEM FSC that will never be wiped. If you still need it let me know
Appreciate 0
      10-02-2020, 07:06 AM   #93
jkwhar
Captain
137
Rep
636
Posts

Drives: F30 328i Xdrive | F15 x35i
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Central NJ

iTrader: (6)

If anyone is interested, I have KAFAS2 camera, ECU and wiring for sale!
__________________
Did my post help? Click "Appreciate!"

F30 328i xDrive | Cold Weather | Nav Pro | Tech Pkg | Injen Intake | CW DP | VRSF IC | MR Dual Exhaust | BM3 | BC coilovers & Swift springs | Integral Audio | Retrofit: 522 & 524 EDM | 5AC | 508 | 3AG | 5DL | 6WB | 8TH | FCW/LDW/SLI | Carplay
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2020, 06:09 PM   #94
Shonky
Enlisted Member
Australia
7
Rep
47
Posts

Drives: F31 320i
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Brisbane, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ichooo View Post
Hello mate, I can provide you OEM FSC that will never be wiped. If you still need it let me know
Thumbs up for ichooo

Had a minor issue with networking being slow but he had a backup plan for that, that worked no problem. Very helpful and friendly guy.

My car had already been updated to 2020-03 so didn't need a firmware update. Seems to work well although a bit hard to tell if it's properly reading the signs or just getting the speed from the navigation so far. Need to go through some roadworks or similar to know for sure I'd say.

Does anyone know if it reads the "inverse" LED signs in tunnels etc in Australia? The ones with the black background and red/white LEDs. edit: It does appear to read them correctly but haven't hit one with an altered speed yet so not 100% if the speeds from the map or the camera.

Last edited by Shonky; 10-13-2020 at 09:40 PM..
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2020, 10:07 AM   #95
escribblings
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: F54 Mini Clubman
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Posting in here, despite being a different model, as you guys seem to have some experience in this.

I hope you can help me.

I am retrofitting 5AS Driving Assistant and Adaptive Cruise Control 541 to a 2016 F54 Mini Clubman

Can you confirm what I need...

KAFAS was installed as standard, so I don't *think* I need a specific FLA camera. I got a bit confused when I read on NewTIS.

If the customer orders exclusively the high-beam assistant (5AC), the system is implemented with a camera and its own control unit in the inside mirror.

Then last night I re read that paragraph and noticed EXCLUSIVELY ORDERS 5AC - so I'm reading that as not in conjunction with anything else KAFAS based... Which would also explain why it's impossible to get part numbers for the mirrors with an FLA camera, if I'm correct in that assumption.

I went down a rabbit hole and now it looks like I have been getting hung up on semantics...

The F54 brochure only mentions the driving assistance 5AS and the adaptive cruise control 541 (which is only available with 5AS), not mention of 5AC at all.

So.... I have KAFAS

I have the stalk with the high-beam assist button.


I have the steering wheel buttons for Adaptive Cruise Control.


But I'm now seeing that I might also need an SAS module!

Do I need anything else?


What would show up in ISTA/ESYS if it's already installed?

Do I need to change the ABS pump? I already have Cruise control with breaking, but none of the other autonomous braking systems.

I've checked the wiring diagram.

272*1B is the connector I'm looking at. There are several unused pins and 8 for, I presume, the adaptive suspension - so I'm ignoring all those (Suspension?: 2,3,7,8,14,15,19,20 Not used: 4,5,6,10,13,16,17,22,24,25,26)

That leaves:

1 -> Z7*6B 5 30B<92 Fuse 92
9 -> X190*1V S_CAN_H S_CAN bus signal
11 -> A258*8B 12 FR_BM_2 Flexray signal
12 -> A258*8B 11 FR_BP_2 Flexray signal
18 -> Z10*7B 31 GND
21 -> X190*2V S_CAN_L S_CAN bus signal
23 -> Z7*3B 19 15N<60 Fuse 60

I'm guessing I don't need 1 of those fuses.

Lastly, I've seen comments about opening ports using tool32, can someone give me a bit more guidance on this?

Many thanks.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST