F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Updating idrive history with HU-ServiceManager
Extreme Powerhouse
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-10-2019, 04:45 PM   #67
maxwarmer
New Member
0
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: M4 F82
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Barcelona

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ir655 View Post
If you are using ENET cable then in Ediabas.ini you need to change "Interface=ENET"

In Obd.ini the "port=comx" should correspond with the same com port that you have selected as default under Device Manager "Ports and LPT" tab. Mine is set as Com3 so my obd.ini file says "port=com3"

Not sure if "Hardware=USB" or if it should say "Hardware=OBD". Mine is set to the latter in Obd.ini
I use a thunderbolt ethernet adapter because I concet from my mac with bootcamp, any sugestion?

I try and put ediabas.ini interface=enet, and Obd.ini try in com1, com2, com3, com4, com5, always the same error, net 0012, no connection.

Any comment?
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2019, 05:30 AM   #68
daviiiiid
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: BMW 420d GC
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Hi guys im new to this forum, im looking for information on how to update the idrive on my 1 series and 4 series after carrying out oil and filter changes on both.

Any help would be much appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      07-23-2019, 05:31 AM   #69
JRF30
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: F30 330D
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Hi is there anyone in bristol or surrounding that could possibly update mine? Thanks
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2019, 10:54 AM   #70
Vodiebaz
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: Bmw f30 320d msport xdrive
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

How do I change my ediabas ini
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2019, 07:05 AM   #71
Sasquartch
Major
398
Rep
1,210
Posts

Drives: 520i G30
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vodiebaz View Post
How do I change my ediabas ini
Just edit using Notepad or similar
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2019, 11:02 PM   #72
Tobi2211
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: F30 330d
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

iTrader: (0)

Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sasquartch View Post
Unfortunately I couldn't get it to connect, just get

28: IFH-0018 INITIALIZATION ERROR

I'm thinking I have a problem with my C:\EDIABAS\BIN\EDIABAS.INI file, I suspect my connection type is wrong

Would you be able to share your settings please ?

The same laptop and cable connects to esys fine so the hardware side of things should be OK

Hey guys!
I have the same problem: I get the HU Service Manager running but I get the error message: Initialization Error.
When I change the ediabas.ini file from Stb: OBD to ENET -> IFH-00027: IFH not found.
Connection with Rh***go** works like a charm tho...
Can someone please help me? Iím also willing to reward you for that
Appreciate 0
      10-28-2019, 01:20 AM   #73
Superdaws
Lieutenant
Australia
88
Rep
491
Posts

Drives: BMW 135i M Sport Le Mans Blue
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Can anyone please provide me some advise on getting HU Service Manager to connect... x64 Win 10.

Connecting to 2016 F15 X5 with NBT HU.
ISTA+ and Esys connect and work fine.
in HU Service Manager i get the Net-0012 error NO CONNECTION, im guessing its a EDIABAS ini setting, but i just cant solve it.

Ive done a clean install of Standard Tools 2.12, and used Ediabas Konfigurator 2.0 with Ediabas 7.3.0.

I can see the connection ok both in the network connection (IP address assigns ok with car) and with ZGW Search i can see the Remotehost.

Ive disabled all other network connections + firewall + Antivirus.

Ive tried with XEthernet setting as autodetect and also entered the remotehost IP from ZGW search in ediabas.ini and it always result in NO CONNECTION. Interface is set as ENET. Heres the relevant section of my ediabas.ini:

;================================================= ============================
[TCP]
;================================================= ============================
RemoteHost = LMUC203404
Port = 3000
TimeoutConnect = 2000
TimeoutReceive = 2000
TimeoutFunction = 10000
; TimeResponsePending = 5000
; DisconnectOnApiEnd = 1
; InitCmd0 = FE,04,00,03,01
; InitCmd1 = FD,05,00,03,01

;================================================= ============================
[XEthernet]
;================================================= ============================
RemoteHost =autodetect
HeaderFormat = 0
TesterAddress = F4,F5
ControlPort =6811
DiagnosticPort =6801
TimeoutConnect = 20000

;================================================= ============================
[IfhProxy]
;================================================= ============================
Port = 6700
__________________

Incoming 2020 BMW M2 Competition 6MT | Black Sapphire
OLD 2010 BMW 135i M Sport 6MT | Le Mans Blue
2016 BMW F15 X5 30D | Sapphire Black | Black Leather
Appreciate 0
      10-28-2019, 09:28 AM   #74
Superdaws
Lieutenant
Australia
88
Rep
491
Posts

Drives: BMW 135i M Sport Le Mans Blue
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Ok, solved my own problem, but for the benefit of anyone else with similar issues:

The problem revolved around the car IP address. I had tried manually entering the IP address from ZGW Search in the XEthernet variable of ediabas.ini after autodetect would not work.

When I played with it more and connected the dots as my ISTA+ and Esys was working, just not Ediabas connection; I found the cars IP address being used to connect in ISTA+ and manually entered that in XEthernet and then HU Service Manager would connect. I was then able to update service details on the car.

Seems ZGW Search was throwing a different car IP address...
__________________

Incoming 2020 BMW M2 Competition 6MT | Black Sapphire
OLD 2010 BMW 135i M Sport 6MT | Le Mans Blue
2016 BMW F15 X5 30D | Sapphire Black | Black Leather
Appreciate 0
      10-28-2019, 11:22 AM   #75
Sasquartch
Major
398
Rep
1,210
Posts

Drives: 520i G30
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Superdaws View Post
Ok, solved my own problem, but for the benefit of anyone else with similar issues:

The problem revolved around the car IP address. I had tried manually entering the IP address from ZGW Search in the XEthernet variable of ediabas.ini after autodetect would not work.

When I played with it more and connected the dots as my ISTA+ and Esys was working, just not Ediabas connection; I found the cars IP address being used to connect in ISTA+ and manually entered that in XEthernet and then HU Service Manager would connect. I was then able to update service details on the car.

Seems ZGW Search was throwing a different car IP address...
I did not have to do this

The cable relies on auto-configuration working, ie if an address is not assigned by a DHCP/BOOTP server (which it wont if the cable is just connecting a laptop to the car) and an IP address starting 169. should get assigned

If you hard code a 169. address you may find that this address will change

It might be that you have a static address assigned to your ethernet port on the laptop

Usually you have to wait 30secs or more after connecting the laptop and turning on the car for auto configuration to do it's thing

Out of interest what was the IP address you put in ?
Appreciate 0
      10-28-2019, 04:47 PM   #76
Superdaws
Lieutenant
Australia
88
Rep
491
Posts

Drives: BMW 135i M Sport Le Mans Blue
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sasquartch View Post
I did not have to do this

The cable relies on auto-configuration working, ie if an address is not assigned by a DHCP/BOOTP server (which it wont if the cable is just connecting a laptop to the car) and an IP address starting 169. should get assigned

If you hard code a 169. address you may find that this address will change

It might be that you have a static address assigned to your ethernet port on the laptop

Usually you have to wait 30secs or more after connecting the laptop and turning on the car for auto configuration to do it's thing

Out of interest what was the IP address you put in ?

Yes i agree that is the way it should happen. The notebook is definitely set to automatic IP assignment by DHCP, and it correctly assigns the IP address to the PC of 169.254.xx.xxx can’t remember exactly. I think it may be a network specific problem as it is a new notebook with Killer networking Ethernet. Everything I’ve read says the cars IP address will remain the same when autonegatiating with and individual PC (not router). The manual entry I used for the car IP in XEthernet is 169.254.44.xx

I think my problem arises by not running a DHCP server on the notebook, I was just using a direct connection, but it worked that way. What program are you using to create a DHCP server on Win10?

Last edited by Superdaws; 11-03-2019 at 04:38 AM..
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2019, 09:52 AM   #77
Sasquartch
Major
398
Rep
1,210
Posts

Drives: 520i G30
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

I don't use a DHCP server

I'm relying on auto configuration working (which is where the 169. address comes from) which seems to work fine for me.

Maybe it's some sort of power saving feature or something like that on your new laptop (my laptop is about 8 years old)
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2019, 01:30 PM   #78
2020shaun
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 320d f31
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: derbyshire

iTrader: (0)

hu manager install

hi
fingers crossed some one can help , ive just downloaded hu service manager and unzipped it but i have no idea how to install it
i have ista+ installed already
any advice please

thanks in advance
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2019, 01:47 PM   #79
Sasquartch
Major
398
Rep
1,210
Posts

Drives: 520i G30
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

There is no installer so some IT knowledge is required

Here are the notes I made for someone :

To Install

Simply copy the EDIABAS and BMW-HU-ServiceManager folders to the root of C:\
Create a shortcut to HU-ServiceManager.bat on the desktop and (optionally) rename
as desired, also the icon can be used for the shortcut

The EDIABAS.INI file must have the correct interface specified. To use the E-Sys
cable (Ethernet) this should be set to ENET

As long as EDIABAS is under D:\ then run ediabas konfigurator2.0.0.exe to change, use the second
ENET entry in the pulldown, otherwise just use notepad to edit the ediabas.ini

If using another drive, eg D:\ edit ediabas.ini to update the first three references to C:\ to D:\ and update
the .bat file to set the correct path

If you search my threads you will find all you need
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2019, 10:28 PM   #80
BO££RZA
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: BMW F20
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: United Kinkdom

iTrader: (0)

Hi guys,

Could someone please help me out with this.

I have everything working and I was able to connect HU Service Manger to my F20 with Entry-HU through ENET cable, but when I write to HU, the iDrive is not updating even after resetting it few times.

I look forward to any advice.

Thank you!
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2020, 12:55 PM   #81
thaking
Second Lieutenant
16
Rep
237
Posts

Drives: E90 FL / F31 FL
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Is there any new solution that new entry is on the top od service history log and not at the bottom?
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2020, 06:37 AM   #82
Sasquartch
Major
398
Rep
1,210
Posts

Drives: 520i G30
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by thaking View Post
Is there any new solution that new entry is on the top od service history log and not at the bottom?
Not that I am aware of

The way it works means that the existing idrive entries are deleted, then the data from BMW's server is then uploaded in one go - this is what happens at a dealer once the new service details are uploaded to the central server

The HU ServiceManager just works around this. It's not the way HU works but the way the idrive works.
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2020, 11:02 AM   #83
thaking
Second Lieutenant
16
Rep
237
Posts

Drives: E90 FL / F31 FL
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Hmm, then this make no sense to use it...
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2020, 06:14 PM   #84
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
309
Rep
5,943
Posts

Drives: F11 530d+Boxster S
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by thaking View Post
Hmm, then this make no sense to use it...


You enter them all again.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2020, 06:15 PM   #85
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
309
Rep
5,943
Posts

Drives: F11 530d+Boxster S
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

I think it better to enter them all again so newest is on the bottom, then when you add anything it is in order still.
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2020, 02:48 PM   #86
mcraeCCS
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: F31
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Luxembourg

iTrader: (0)

Hi guys,
F31 LCI 2016, ENET interface. INPA working good, of course EDIABAS.ini configured properly with ENET interface set. On HU Service Manager I still get the "92: SYS-0002: ECU OBJECT FILE NOT FOUND" error. Seems that some file required to connect to the HU unit misses, or it cannot be found.
IP get settled automatically, 169 apipa range.. and communication doesn't seem to be the issue, as other prg as INPA work fine, launching the EDIABAS with green light, etc.
ECU file path also configured correctly, i found the nbt.prg file inside. (also must mention that ecu path is configured to point to this folder inside ediabas.ini.)
So, does anybody have a clue, or managed to get over this?

Appreciate your help.
Cheers.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2020, 10:21 AM   #87
cossie1
Captain
United Kingdom
449
Rep
824
Posts

Drives: 2015 F82 M4
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Ok guys could do with some help to get this working.

I have INPA working for E46 / E92 series.

I have ISTA working for my F82

E-sys is also working fine for my F82.

But HU manager never connects.

I have all the files in the correct places.

I have tried editing the EDIABAS.INI to show Interface =ENET

I have tried using the car's IP instead of Autodetect.

But nothing seems to work, HU-Manager never connects.
Appreciate 0
      04-19-2020, 01:10 PM   #88
cossie1
Captain
United Kingdom
449
Rep
824
Posts

Drives: 2015 F82 M4
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Anyone ?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST