F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > [DIY] KAFAS2 for SLI or 5AS retrofit for F3x
Extreme Powerhouse
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-10-2018, 01:49 AM   #1
mhhforyou
Private First Class
mhhforyou's Avatar
47
Rep
114
Posts

Drives: F36 420da
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 BMW 420da  [0.00]
[DIY] KAFAS2 for SLI or 5AS retrofit for F3x

As I know of some people who would like to do that and have already accompanied a few in the retrofit I thought I'm doing a short HowTo to the extent of retrofitting this. Apart from that it could be a expensive retrofit, it is one of the most useful retrofits available for me and for those who have a rather bare F3x very interesting as it opens the doors not only to SLI but also to the high beam assistant and 5AS Driving Assist.

First of all, if you try this yourself, I assume no liability for damage because you should know what you do!

Requirements:

It is important that the speedometer 6WA or 6WB and a Navigation System Prof CIC / NBT or navigation system Business EntryNav are present. If you have HUD nice, but is not compulsory. Year of construction is also rather secondary as long as previous requirements are met.

If you had previously HBA (high beam assist), you have the better version after the retrofit because the KAFAS2 color camera did the same job even
better as the smaller SW camera from only HBA. Same for selective beam feature.

Since you also handle in the effective range of the head airbag in this retrofit you should ideally be from the subject.

Required parts

Windshield for Kafas2 > There are only 2 Version of Windshields with KAFAS2 for each F3x. Either with HUD or without.

F32, F36, F82 with HUD 7 285 901
F32, F36, F82 without HUD 7 285 900
F30, F31, F35, F80 with HUD 7 258 072
F30, F31, F35, F80 without HUD 7 258 069
F33, F83 with HUD 7 285 912
F33, F83 without HUD 7 285 911

Interior mirror > there are different depending on SAs of your car

without everything 9 243 595
Dimming 9 256 137
Dimming with Alarm 9 256 138
There should also be some with compass or garage door opener. But they are very expensive.

Covers interior mirror 9 275 008
KAFAS2 Camera > Attention, 4series and 3series use different KAFAS cameras because of different windshield angles!!!

3series 9 978 359 or 6 822 679
4series 9 924 467 or 9 384 686
F33, F83, 9 281 714 or 6 822 687

KAFAS2 ECU > lots of different numbers because of different I steps.

Currently is 9 474 776, but
6 992 830
6 819 329
6 839 769
9 399 247
9 384 988
9 367 350
are also fine.

ECU holder 9 232 796
metal screw 9 158 177
Wiring harness KAFAS from X5 F15 > the F15 is very similar in some respects to the F3x. We will use this fact here.
9 322 256
1x double flat spring contact
1x ring eye M6 or ground support pin
2x MQS pins without Ela
FSC Speed ​​Limit Info


What should I do

Disconnect the battery as you work on airbag-related parts and bus systems! Ideally, the new windshield is already in the car when you start working. Since the interior mirror is already dismantled by this fact, we do not need to disassemble it. Why it is like that? On the windscreen for KAFAS2, the old non KAFAS interior mirror simply does not fit because the foot is different.
Also dismantle the A pillar trim left, footwell trim left and right below to A pillar, footwell trim under steering wheel and glove box. If you want to lay the cables properly, the Head Unit and everything that has to get out for it also need to be dismantled. If you have rear view or surround view also the TRSVC ecu in the driver's footwell left side must be removed.

First, put the KAFAS2 camera in the mount on the windshield and clip it in. Then you put the F15 Rep cable once on the KAFAS camera and the 3 pin MQS plug on the windscreen. This is for the heating in the range of the KAFAS camera and is new by the new windscreen. Then you put the cable in the headliner over to the left A pillar and then down the A pillar into the driver's footwell.
It is very important to make sure that the cable can never get in the way of the head airbag if it should open. Otherwise, this could have extremely unpleasant consequences.
Now the inside mirror, the cover for it and the A pillar can be mounted again. In the driver's footwell on the left side, mount the KAFAS ECU holder and clip in the KAFAS ECU. The wiring harness that is already lying somewhere in the driver footwell should now be placed cleanly to the location of the KAFAS ECUs.
Now comes a special feature of the F15 wiring harness. PINs 9 and 10 on the A56 * 1B are Pin9 PT Can High and Pin10 PT Can Low. The cable colors are twisted to the F3x. Pin9 is red and Pin10 blue / red. The F3x is exactly the other way round. With this knowledge, you can now just leave the cables as they are, but when connecting to the PT Can you have to be careful or you turn pin 9 and 10 on the plug A56 * 1B that is blue / red in pin9 and red in pin10. I recommend the clean 2nd variant.
When this is done you can plug the A56 * 1B and 2B into the KAFAS ECU. Now there are still 4 open cables left. The green is terminal 15N and belongs in the front fuse box on fuse F44. That means pulling behind the HU in the passenger footwell and through the open hole in the fuse box.
The brown cable is ground and can be connected to the ground connector in the driver's footwell. The red and blue / red cable I think is clear what it is. The next point to get to the PT Can is the ACSM ECU in the driver's footwell over the gas pedal. Either you look there for the red and blue / red cable which comes from the ACSM and connects via welding or something the two cables from the KAFAS ECU. But that's not a really great solution and I would not do it. Better way is to connect PT Can high and low to A11 * 1B on the ACSM pin 52 and pin 26 direkt with the MQS pins but this needs a bmw special gripper.

Now everything can be built together again.

Subsequently, the KAFAS ecu should be flashed to the vehicle I step and the FSC have to be loaded. You have to add 8TH to the FA and then code the complete car. And that's it.

Have fun imitating ...
Attached Images
     
Appreciate 0
      07-12-2018, 09:55 AM   #2
outubro
New Member
4
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: 320d
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: portugal

iTrader: (0)

F20

Hi
I have a F20 series 1 the procedure is the same.
if you can help.

outubro
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2018, 12:17 AM   #3
Raygbmw1
New Member
Australia
5
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: Bmw116 F20
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia

iTrader: (0)

The Kafas 2 retrofit in F20 is the same as the OP had written. I have done this to get SLI and it worked perfectly after flashing the ecu and installing the FsC code for it and coding.

I would be trying to retrofit the full 5AS soon when I get the steering column, switches and vibration module from eBay and wrecking yard. So far I have the steering column, vibrating module but no switch just yet.
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2018, 07:26 AM   #4
mhhforyou
Private First Class
mhhforyou's Avatar
47
Rep
114
Posts

Drives: F36 420da
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 BMW 420da  [0.00]
If you need the 2 FSC needed for 5AS you can send me a PM.
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2018, 03:39 AM   #5
Raygbmw1
New Member
Australia
5
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: Bmw116 F20
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhhforyou View Post
If you need the 2 FSC needed for 5AS you can send me a PM.
Yes please if you can PM me his details Iíll be forever greatful. I have already sent you a PM.
Ray
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2018, 06:50 AM   #6
berndh
Private
5
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: BMW F11 525d
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: NL

iTrader: (0)

Does anyone know the partnumber of the connector where the can bus and the power/gnd are connected to the KAFAS ECU?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2018, 01:22 PM   #7
mhhforyou
Private First Class
mhhforyou's Avatar
47
Rep
114
Posts

Drives: F36 420da
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 BMW 420da  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndh View Post
Does anyone know the partnumber of the connector where the can bus and the power/gnd are connected to the KAFAS ECU?

Thanks
Kafas1 or Kafas2 ECU?
Appreciate 0
      11-01-2018, 09:16 AM   #8
Mixpower
Registered
2
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: i3 REX
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

I am in the process of retrofitting KAFAS2 in my BMW i3 but I also need to retrofit the SAS module which I already have bought. I have a diagram of the KAFAS2 Module and I can see the SAS (S-CAN) comes in on pin 3 and 4, but it also loops from pin 2 and 5 to 11 and 8 for some reason does someone maybe have a clue on how to connect this?

This is the Diagram.



And this is the S-CAN Bus which only exist between the SAS and KAFAS2 module.


Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      11-05-2018, 03:33 PM   #9
daMANiack
Private
daMANiack's Avatar
Australia
16
Rep
96
Posts

Drives: BMW F26 X4 35d
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

Hi,

Did you eventually get the purchased FSC files for SLI to work?

I purchased the FSC SLI files and can only get the circle with ---.

I've been told to update the KAFAS2 ECU to the latest software. This may make sense as SLI wasn't available in BMW's when I purchased my 2017 X4 35d in Jan'2017, production date Oct-2016.

How long did it take to update the firmware on the Kafas2 and did you update the firmware on any other ECU's?

Did the hairs RISE UP YOUR NECK when you were updating ECU/s.

I live in Adelaide.

Kind Regards, Ken


Quote:
Originally Posted by Raygbmw1 View Post
The Kafas 2 retrofit in F20 is the same as the OP had written. I have done this to get SLI and it worked perfectly after flashing the ecu and installing the FsC code for it and coding.

I would be trying to retrofit the full 5AS soon when I get the steering column, switches and vibration module from eBay and wrecking yard. So far I have the steering column, vibrating module but no switch just yet.
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2018, 05:41 PM   #10
outubro
New Member
4
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: 320d
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: portugal

iTrader: (0)

good night

I have a BMW F20 2015 made a retrofit HBA-KAFAS2 -Kafas camera 9278359 but when active higth beam
I have in bc warning(camera front) Camera-based driver support systems and the green light of the assistant turns off.for HBA you need FSC.
Can help me?
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2018, 05:50 PM   #11
daMANiack
Private
daMANiack's Avatar
Australia
16
Rep
96
Posts

Drives: BMW F26 X4 35d
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

Hi,

Not sure if this is related but I had to flash my Kafas2 ECU with latest firmware. Initially updating to the later firmware didn't complete properly and I got a lot of warnings relating to cameras and my pedestrian and lane change etc. were disabled.

As soon as I had a successful Kafas2 ECU firmware update, all my warnings disappeared and systems relating to cameras are functioning 100%.

Cheerz M

Quote:
Originally Posted by outubro View Post
good night

I have a BMW F20 2015 made a retrofit HBA-KAFAS2 -Kafas camera 9278359 but when active higth beam
I have in bc warning(camera front) Camera-based driver support systems and the green light of the assistant turns off.for HBA you need FSC.
Can help me?
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2018, 05:56 PM   #12
outubro
New Member
4
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: 320d
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: portugal

iTrader: (0)

kafas

I will have photos of the reading with the ista and error in the car
I have a BMW F20 2015 made a retrofit HBA-KAFAS2 -Kafas camera 9278359 but when active higth beam
I have in bc warning(camera front) Camera-based driver support systems and the green light of the assistant turns off.for
KAFAS CAFD_0000_1148_000_011_007
Attached Images
  

Last edited by outubro; 11-29-2018 at 06:09 PM.. Reason: CAFD
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2018, 06:01 PM   #13
outubro
New Member
4
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: 320d
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: portugal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by daMANiack View Post
Hi,

Not sure if this is related but I had to flash my Kafas2 ECU with latest firmware. Initially updating to the later firmware didn't complete properly and I got a lot of warnings relating to cameras and my pedestrian and lane change etc. were disabled.

As soon as I had a successful Kafas2 ECU firmware update, all my warnings disappeared and systems relating to cameras are functioning 100%.

Cheerz M
how did the update with esys or istap.
Regards
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2018, 06:27 PM   #14
daMANiack
Private
daMANiack's Avatar
Australia
16
Rep
96
Posts

Drives: BMW F26 X4 35d
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

E-Sys 3.27.1

Cheerz

Quote:
Originally Posted by outubro View Post
how did the update with esys or istap.
Regards
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2018, 03:14 PM   #15
outubro
New Member
4
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: 320d
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: portugal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by daMANiack View Post
E-Sys 3.27.1

Cheerz
What was the psddata you used.
Regards
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2018, 04:06 PM   #16
daMANiack
Private
daMANiack's Avatar
Australia
16
Rep
96
Posts

Drives: BMW F26 X4 35d
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

v.4.14.14_PSdZData_Full

Quote:
Originally Posted by outubro View Post
What was the psddata you used.
Regards
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2018, 06:21 AM   #17
outubro
New Member
4
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: 320d
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: portugal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by daMANiack View Post
v.4.14.14_PSdZData_Full
has the hba 5ac and 8th only with camera kafas?
I already did the update for the latest version and got warning camera front

Can you help me
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2018, 12:10 PM   #18
outubro
New Member
4
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: 320d
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: portugal

iTrader: (0)

kafas

Quote:
Originally Posted by daMANiack View Post
v.4.14.14_PSdZData_Full


good afternoon

made the update only in KAFAS2.
Or did it also in the FEM
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 05:52 PM   #19
outubro
New Member
4
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: 320d
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: portugal

iTrader: (0)

It was a few hours of work.
Error (CAMERA FRONT) solution I found car_camera_package_and_angle_type= all_others
update kombi and kafas 2
now I already have 5AC, 5AD and 8TH. Now my retrofit is working
Thank you for your help
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 07:12 PM   #20
Jhnblckwood
Captain
103
Rep
716
Posts

Drives: F30 2014 320i xdrive
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Would I need a new windshield for kafas retrofit if I only have the rain/solar sensor n no hud?
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2018, 07:38 AM   #21
berndh
Private
5
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: BMW F11 525d
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: NL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhhforyou View Post
Kafas1 or Kafas2 ECU?
Kafas2
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2018, 03:26 PM   #22
outubro
New Member
4
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: 320d
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: portugal

iTrader: (0)

fsc

good night
after a lot of work I discovered how to turn around and after all I do not have to pay to have it bump. FSC for SLI or 5AS or 5at free send me PM.

Let's settle.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST