F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > The "secret" to the integrated garage door opener?
proTUNING Freaks
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-03-2017, 03:23 PM   #1
BMW DIY Guy
Lieutenant Colonel
993
Rep
1,755
Posts

Drives: 2014 435i
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Maple Valley WA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2014 BMW 435i  [0.00]
The "secret" to the integrated garage door opener?

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
Hey yall.

I applied my search-fu and came up short, so my apologies for what may be a repetitive question.

I picked up my new (to me) 2014 435i yesterday and one of the very first things I am trying to do is synch my garage door opener with the integrated module.

Following the directions seems to get results similar to what it says it should do, but still slightly different, but net results not working.

Now odd side note first: My E46 M3 had no issues and synched on first attempt and worked flawlessly. My partners 01 X5 behaves exactly like the 435, appears to wipe settings, proper solid to blinking etc for the lights to synch, but never actually talks to the opener.

I dont believe it is a rotating code opener and there is no sync/program button on the opener itself to be prepared for a new controller.

So.. I hold both outer buttons to wipe all settings.
Then hold button 1 and a working remote simultaniously until the mirror light goes from slow blink, to rapid. (rapid seems a little spazzy though) Release buttons.

Press button 1 on the mirror and it seems like it broadcasts, but nothing happens. Buttons 2 and 3 blink in the proper fashion to show not programmed. Rinse and repeat across buttons 2 and 3, all seem programmed, and nothing.

The X5 does the SAME thing and drives me crazy.

Any suggestions?
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2017, 05:16 PM   #2
AndDown
Just Copacetic!
United_States
172
Rep
609
Posts

Drives: 2019 F22 230i MSport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Redlands, CA

iTrader: (0)

I vaguely recall having to hold the opener's remote controller right next to the opener, probably had to do with the rolling code thing. Is your opener "HomeLink" compatible? I tried helping to sync my neighbor's new X3 a couple years ago, not good...found out it was an older garage opener (25 yrs old) and did not have HomeLink. There's a video on the BMW website and possibly also on YouTube that I'm sure you already checked out.
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2017, 06:29 PM   #3
BMW DIY Guy
Lieutenant Colonel
993
Rep
1,755
Posts

Drives: 2014 435i
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Maple Valley WA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2014 BMW 435i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndDown View Post
I vaguely recall having to hold the opener's remote controller right next to the opener, probably had to do with the rolling code thing. Is your opener "HomeLink" compatible? I tried helping to sync my neighbor's new X3 a couple years ago, not good...found out it was an older garage opener (25 yrs old) and did not have HomeLink. There's a video on the BMW website and possibly also on YouTube that I'm sure you already checked out.
Awesome question.. the strange variable here is it worked in my M3, but not the older X5 or newer 435i!

It could be the remote... not sure though. Doesn't help I LOATHE the main door opener as it is older, and LOUD. I want to tear it out but can't right now.
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2017, 06:43 PM   #4
Gearhog
Private First Class
Gearhog's Avatar
United_States
54
Rep
135
Posts

Drives: 2015 F32 435i
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: DFW

iTrader: (0)

When I got my car a few months ago I also had issues making this work. I finally figured out that the 1st button under the mirror was defective. I programmed the 3rd button instead and it worked perfectly.
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2017, 06:44 PM   #5
BMW DIY Guy
Lieutenant Colonel
993
Rep
1,755
Posts

Drives: 2014 435i
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Maple Valley WA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2014 BMW 435i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gearhog View Post
When I got my car a few months ago I also had issues making this work. I finally figured out that the 1st button under the mirror was defective. I programmed the 3rd button instead and it worked perfectly.
Thanks.. I appreciate that and will check the other buttons. They all act properly at least, when I hit full reset, all three buttons will slow blink as if they are not programmed. If I walk all three buttons through the programming, they all ACT like they are programmed but still wont talk to the opener.
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2017, 07:51 AM   #6
SteveinArizona
Colonel
United_States
1629
Rep
2,438
Posts

Drives: BMW 530e
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Greater Phoenix

iTrader: (0)

I only live a couple of miles from my dealership and when I picked up my car the salesman followed me home and programmed it for me. Quickly and works like a charm with one slight exception (my previous car had homelink and the homelink worked faster and from farther away -- I used to be able to press the button when I was across the street but now I can't get it to work until I am entering my driveway). But other than that small glitch it works fine. But programming homelink and equivalent has always been a bear.
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2017, 08:09 AM   #7
cb804
Lieutenant
1058
Rep
587
Posts

Drives: 340 xDrive, M2C
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

I found the process frustrating at first until I found the attached video...

Use the 2nd method - the alternating code method. Works like a charm!

"https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M0kbWb_wGh4"

Appreciate 0
      02-04-2017, 08:30 AM   #8
tex2670
Colonel
tex2670's Avatar
United_States
1444
Rep
2,901
Posts

Drives: '14 328xi Sport Line
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Philly

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndDown View Post
I vaguely recall having to hold the opener's remote controller right next to the opener, probably had to do with the rolling code thing. Is your opener "HomeLink" compatible? I tried helping to sync my neighbor's new X3 a couple years ago, not good...found out it was an older garage opener (25 yrs old) and did not have HomeLink. There's a video on the BMW website and possibly also on YouTube that I'm sure you already checked out.
I don't know--I've used HomeLink on openers that were that old, and it worked fine. In fact, it was easier because there were no rolling codes.

One thing that I found on one of my cars was that if the batteries are not strong in the opener remote, it can be difficult to initially program. Try it again with fresh batteries.
__________________

2014 328i xDrive | Black Sapphire / Black Red Dakota | Sport Line | Premium Pkg | Lighting Pkg | Cold Weather Pkg | Driver Assistance | Nav | Sport Automatic Transmission
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2017, 09:12 AM   #9
chiefneil
Major
United_States
733
Rep
1,454
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Arizona

iTrader: (0)

It's possible you're running afoul of a change in the RF security protocol for the opener. Happened sometime in the aughts (2005-2010'ish). I'm vague on the details but I believe Homelink changed their protocols to accommodate the new protocol, therefore not all years/models of BMW's will have the same level of compatibility.

We've also experienced similar things to what you're seeing with similar cars, since we had an '02 X5, '02 330i, '12 X5, '14 335i. We were having some work done on the garage door opener once and the repair guy installed a homelink repeater which took care of the weirdness. I also never solved weirdness with our neighborhood gated entry - that remote programmed easily with all of our cars except never would work with the F30. It would show all the right signs of having taken the program but just wouldn't work.

Anyway, Google "homelink repeater" and you'll see what I'm talking about. If you call homelink and they determine you need one, they'll send you one for free.

https://www.amazon.com/hyd_sl_lpo/7b...wd-57396260142
Appreciate 1
tex26701443.50

      02-04-2017, 12:25 PM   #10
BMW DIY Guy
Lieutenant Colonel
993
Rep
1,755
Posts

Drives: 2014 435i
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Maple Valley WA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2014 BMW 435i  [0.00]
Thanks yall.. I will check all of this out!
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2017, 12:31 PM   #11
BMW DIY Guy
Lieutenant Colonel
993
Rep
1,755
Posts

Drives: 2014 435i
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Maple Valley WA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2014 BMW 435i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefneil View Post
It's possible you're running afoul of a change in the RF security protocol for the opener. Happened sometime in the aughts (2005-2010'ish). I'm vague on the details but I believe Homelink changed their protocols to accommodate the new protocol, therefore not all years/models of BMW's will have the same level of compatibility.

We've also experienced similar things to what you're seeing with similar cars, since we had an '02 X5, '02 330i, '12 X5, '14 335i. We were having some work done on the garage door opener once and the repair guy installed a homelink repeater which took care of the weirdness. I also never solved weirdness with our neighborhood gated entry - that remote programmed easily with all of our cars except never would work with the F30. It would show all the right signs of having taken the program but just wouldn't work.

Anyway, Google "homelink repeater" and you'll see what I'm talking about. If you call homelink and they determine you need one, they'll send you one for free.

https://www.amazon.com/hyd_sl_lpo/7b...wd-57396260142
Homelink.. as in BMW? If a free repeater would fix this I am all for it, but unclear of who I would call.

thank you for all of the info!
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2017, 03:16 PM   #12
chiefneil
Major
United_States
733
Rep
1,454
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Arizona

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by raichean View Post
Homelink.. as in BMW? If a free repeater would fix this I am all for it, but unclear of who I would call.

thank you for all of the info!
The built-in garage door opener in your BMW is made by Homelink. You can call Homelink directly for help. I've never done so personally, but others have said they're pretty helpful. The instructions on the homelink website are also reportedly better than BMW's, but I've never had an issue with BMW's instructions.
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2017, 03:19 PM   #13
BMW DIY Guy
Lieutenant Colonel
993
Rep
1,755
Posts

Drives: 2014 435i
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Maple Valley WA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2014 BMW 435i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefneil
Quote:
Originally Posted by raichean View Post
Homelink.. as in BMW? If a free repeater would fix this I am all for it, but unclear of who I would call.

thank you for all of the info!
The built-in garage door opener in your BMW is made by Homelink. You can call Homelink directly for help. I've never done so personally, but others have said they're pretty helpful. The instructions on the homelink website are also reportedly better than BMW's, but I've never had an issue with BMW's instructions.
so I talked with a garage door pro.. my opener was a cheap POS in late 80s/90s.. the guy was shocked it even worked at all.

So at this point I am looking to replace it regardless.

thanks yall!
__________________
Check out my BMW DIY Channel on YouTube! F32, F80, E39, E46, E53, and E83 projects from Active Autowerke, TuningTechFS, Kies Motorsports, AvinUSA, Karbonius Composites and more!
** YouTube BMW DIY Guy ** ** Facebook BMW DIY Guy **
'Furiosa' F32 Build Thread
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2017, 03:24 PM   #14
chiefneil
Major
United_States
733
Rep
1,454
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Arizona

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by raichean View Post
so I talked with a garage door pro.. my opener was a cheap POS in late 80s/90s.. the guy was shocked it even worked at all.

So at this point I am looking to replace it regardless.

thanks yall!
Good move. Get a belt-drive opener, they're super-quiet compared to the screw and chain models.

Both times I've had an opener replaced the installer programmed my cars to work with the new opener. That's when I got the (free) homelink bridge thing. The pros made the whole programming thing look fast and easy.
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2017, 07:26 PM   #15
rphz
Private First Class
52
Rep
184
Posts

Drives: 2014 F32 435xi
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Colorado

iTrader: (0)

I have the same car (2014 435) and was able to get mine to work on a 3-4 year old Liftmaster Security+. The order may seem backwards but I don't think it matters based on the LED feedback received from both the mirror and opener:

- On the garage door opener itself, press the program button. The LED turns on sold on mine once pressed

- Then in the car, hold down the mirror button you want to program for at least 15 seconds

- My garage door instructions say the main lights will blink once it's learned the new remote (car) but mine never did (i think because I did the process backwards). I did notice that after the last step, the program light started to blink so it is clearly seeing the car. Oddly enough, the garage door manual doesn't even mention a blinking LED

- Then in the car, I put the garage remote about 2 inches from the mirror, and then pressed and held the same mirror button and garage remote open button at the same time until the mirror LED blinked fast

- Mirror button started to work at this point and seems to work reliably

I had previously tried to program this by just doing the remote to mirror, but it didn't work and I couldn't find my garage door opener manual at the time so put it off until this weekend. Thanks OP for posting this as I was determined to get this working today
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2017, 07:54 PM   #16
rolltidef32
National Championship #17 and Counting!
rolltidef32's Avatar
789
Rep
1,520
Posts

Drives: 2018 BMW i3s and 2019 X5
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (0)

Not sure if mentioned already, but remember to press button on the Garage unit itself. You'll then have 30 secs to do the sequence on the Homelink in the car.
__________________
2018 i3s - Melbourne Red, Tera World, Ceramic Film all windows

Packs: Technology, Driver Assistance, HK Audio, Park Distance Control
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2017, 09:17 PM   #17
BMW DIY Guy
Lieutenant Colonel
993
Rep
1,755
Posts

Drives: 2014 435i
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Maple Valley WA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2014 BMW 435i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltidef32
Not sure if mentioned already, but remember to press button on the Garage unit itself. You'll then have 30 secs to do the sequence on the Homelink in the car.
yeah.. this thing isn't a rolling code unit but a dinosaur Era dip switch train wreck. I have given up making it work, and looking seriously into replacing it. It is stupid loud anyway.. needs to go.
__________________
Check out my BMW DIY Channel on YouTube! F32, F80, E39, E46, E53, and E83 projects from Active Autowerke, TuningTechFS, Kies Motorsports, AvinUSA, Karbonius Composites and more!
** YouTube BMW DIY Guy ** ** Facebook BMW DIY Guy **
'Furiosa' F32 Build Thread
Appreciate 1
wrickem1429.00

      02-06-2017, 12:32 PM   #18
TheRealEssad
Private First Class
TheRealEssad's Avatar
50
Rep
144
Posts

Drives: 2015 328i xDrive
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltidef32 View Post
Not sure if mentioned already, but remember to press button on the Garage unit itself. You'll then have 30 secs to do the sequence on the Homelink in the car.
I think this is the point I wasn't doing in mine to get it to work. Will try to follow the above youtube video.
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2017, 01:01 PM   #19
CalCarNut
Brigadier General
CalCarNut's Avatar
United_States
1047
Rep
3,259
Posts

Drives: 2015 F36 Jet Black Sport Line
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Blue Skies

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Seems like mystery solved then. I had zero issues programming my '15GC or my '12 X3..
__________________
2015 BMW F36 428i JetBlack. Sport Line Edition
25% 3M Tint|
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2017, 03:21 PM   #20
Dang3r
Schmollbraten
Dang3r's Avatar
Germany
4334
Rep
1,550
Posts

Drives: M4CPC
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Liandri Central Core

iTrader: (0)

Darn, this worx only at ya at US, caused by frequency here all motors are not responding...bummer
__________________
M4CP - ZX12R LE - GPZ750 Turbo

I///M the infidel, your BMW-dealer had warned you about
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2017, 06:26 PM   #21
RRedline
Second Lieutenant
United_States
153
Rep
205
Posts

Drives: M3 ZCP MN6
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: SF Bay Area

iTrader: (0)

I just had this happen to me -- it turns out that there are 2 versions of Homelink -- Homelink V3 (HL3) and Homelink V4 (HL4).

Older HL3 garage door openers have a white antenna wire and white learn button. If you have a newer garage door opener with a yellow antenna and/or yellow learn button, you have HL4 and you need a HL4 compatible mirror or you need to buy a repeater kit from Homelink to make your HL3 mirror work with an HL4 opener.

To check your mirror, look at the FCC stamp on the back and see if it says HL3 or HL4.
Appreciate 1
tex26701443.50

      02-06-2017, 06:31 PM   #22
jd_perspective
Captain
jd_perspective's Avatar
United_States
276
Rep
811
Posts

Drives: 2019 440i M-Sport
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (0)

I've been living at my current place for 2 years with this car have never been able to program it. lol I'm not a moron either it just doesn't sync. Who knows!
But getting a new house I'll try again when I move in...
__________________
2019 440i Coupe M-Sport
Black Sapphire Metallic / Black Leather

2018 330i Sedan M-Sport - Retired
2015 428i Gran Coupe M-Sport - Retired
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST