F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > F30 6MT gear indicator coding?
proTUNING Freaks
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-11-2019, 09:49 AM   #1
6SpeedCrewCab
Private
6SpeedCrewCab's Avatar
United_States
38
Rep
81
Posts

Drives: 2015 335i MSport
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (0)

F30 6MT gear indicator coding?

My 335i has the 6 speed manual so the screen on the gauge cluster only shows what gear the car thinks you should be in. I've never paid any attention to it, however, I do occasionally check that box for which gear I'm currently in(like it shows in the automatic transmission models). Is there any way that I can swap the "shift indicator" function for a simple display of the current gear?
Appreciate 1
      02-11-2019, 09:53 AM   #2
mbanks21
Colonel
1189
Rep
2,930
Posts

Drives: 2015 335i MSport
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: St. Pete Florida

iTrader: (8)

I doubt it. I have a JB4 and one of the gauge options is what gear you're in
__________________
2015 335i Msport/6 JB4/EWG/E30/VRSF DP/ER CP/ VRSF Race Exhaust/ Injen Intake/Verde Axis 19x8.5/9.5 245/35/275/30 Conti Extreme CS/ H&R Sports / Motorsport Hardware Stud Conversion
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2019, 05:51 PM   #3
430inPR
New Member
430inPR's Avatar
Puerto Rico
5
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: '19 430i M-Sport 6MT
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6SpeedCrewCab View Post
My 335i has the 6 speed manual so the screen on the gauge cluster only shows what gear the car thinks you should be in. I've never paid any attention to it, however, I do occasionally check that box for which gear I'm currently in(like it shows in the automatic transmission models). Is there any way that I can swap the "shift indicator" function for a simple display of the current gear?
If you find a way to do this I would be interested in doing it too.
__________________
Current: 2019 430i M-Sport | 6MT | Glacier Silver Metallic/Black Dakota Leather | 400M wheels | DAP | HUD. Wife's 2018 Acura MDX
Past: 2013 MB C250 Coupe | 2012 MB C250 Coupe | 2004 BMW 325Ci | 2000 Toyota Celica GT-S | 1990 Miata and a whole bunch of Odysseys
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2019, 11:28 PM   #4
YuminNuman
Lieutenant
YuminNuman's Avatar
United_States
277
Rep
492
Posts

Drives: '17 340ix 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

There are two knobs you can code in the kombi module that will change the indicator to

[ 4 ]
and when you should shift it will show
[ 4 > 5 ]

the stock settings always just show
[ ]
or
[ > 5 ]

I forget the exact names, you can prob google them but something like

SPA_IST_ENABLE -> nicht_aktiv
SPA_IST_GANG_ENABLE -> aktiv

once in esys just search the kombi fdl for "SPA" and you'll see them. Disable the normal one and enable the gang one. It's better, but there's no way to get rid of the "should be in" half.
Appreciate 2
      02-11-2019, 11:49 PM   #5
neonnblack
First Lieutenant
136
Rep
323
Posts

Drives: 335i 6MT/e46 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Reno, NV

iTrader: (0)

Stay in sport. 😁
Appreciate 0
      02-12-2019, 07:55 AM   #6
neonnblack
First Lieutenant
136
Rep
323
Posts

Drives: 335i 6MT/e46 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Reno, NV

iTrader: (0)

You can completely disable it in idrive also.
Appreciate 0
      02-12-2019, 11:13 AM   #7
Al Bundy's Dodge
Captain
829
Rep
600
Posts

Drives: 2015 335i xDrive
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Denver

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by neonnblack View Post
You can completely disable it in idrive also.
I did this roughly 24 hours after I bought the car when I saw it tell me I should be in 6th gear by 45mph. I knew then we werent ever going to see eye to eye on how to drive this thing.
__________________
2015 335i xDrive 6MT - Melbourne Red - M Sport - DHP - Cold Weather Pkg - Light Package - and a buncha other stuff I dont use
2018 M2 6MT - Black Sapphire Metallic - Executive Pkg
Appreciate 2
      02-12-2019, 11:14 AM   #8
donkey
Captain
donkey's Avatar
United_States
402
Rep
677
Posts

Drives: X3
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Flavortown

iTrader: (0)

How can you not tell what gear you're in?
Appreciate 0
      02-12-2019, 11:39 AM   #9
YuminNuman
Lieutenant
YuminNuman's Avatar
United_States
277
Rep
492
Posts

Drives: '17 340ix 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

I don't always know if i'm in 5th or 6th, and instead of the shifter later telling me it's right at a glance. On the track for example plotting a 5>4>3>2 shift, the sooner I know where it is and what I have to do the better. So I actually have found it to a bit useful, but yes I agree it's a weird thing to have ... I should just turn in and buy an auto now.

Some of you probably keep your hand on the shifter all day.

And yes the default setting is a joke. "> 6" .. i'm halfway through 2nd and you want me to drop 6th
Appreciate 0
      02-12-2019, 12:00 PM   #10
6SpeedCrewCab
Private
6SpeedCrewCab's Avatar
United_States
38
Rep
81
Posts

Drives: 2015 335i MSport
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by YuminNuman View Post
There are two knobs you can code in the kombi module that will change the indicator to

[ 4 ]
and when you should shift it will show
[ 4 > 5 ]

the stock settings always just show
[ ]
or
[ > 5 ]

I forget the exact names, you can prob google them but something like

SPA_IST_ENABLE -> nicht_aktiv
SPA_IST_GANG_ENABLE -> aktiv

once in esys just search the kombi fdl for "SPA" and you'll see them. Disable the normal one and enable the gang one. It's better, but there's no way to get rid of the "should be in" half.
This is just what I was looking for! I'll let you know how it works out when I get it coded
Appreciate 1
dmaxdmax297.00
      02-12-2019, 12:04 PM   #11
6SpeedCrewCab
Private
6SpeedCrewCab's Avatar
United_States
38
Rep
81
Posts

Drives: 2015 335i MSport
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by donkey View Post
How can you not tell what gear you're in?
If I'm just cruising around town, sure, I can either quickly glance down at my shifter or just feel for where it's at with my hand. But I was looking for a solution for when I'm doing some spirited driving with both hands on the wheel and all I can see is the car telling me I need to be in 6th.
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2021, 09:06 AM   #12
dmaxdmax
Captain
dmaxdmax's Avatar
United_States
297
Rep
709
Posts

Drives: 2016 340i xD 6-spd
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6SpeedCrewCab View Post
This is just what I was looking for! I'll let you know how it works out when I get it coded
Did it work? Fingers crossed it did and that you're still here!
__________________
'92 325i RIP, '99 328i RIP, '16 340i

dmax on FB

My last pre-covid standup set
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2021, 04:41 PM   #13
MSlv
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 318i
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Romania

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by YuminNuman View Post
There are two knobs you can code in the kombi module that will change the indicator to

[ 4 ]
and when you should shift it will show
[ 4 > 5 ]

the stock settings always just show
[ ]
or
[ > 5 ]

I forget the exact names, you can prob google them but something like

SPA_IST_ENABLE -> nicht_aktiv
SPA_IST_GANG_ENABLE -> aktiv

once in esys just search the kombi fdl for "SPA" and you'll see them. Disable the normal one and enable the gang one. It's better, but there's no way to get rid of the "should be in" half.
This worked just fine on my 6wa but it doesn’t work on 6wb after retrofit, it just removes the gear suggestion altogether… car is 2018 and 6wb manufactured in 2019
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2021, 05:16 PM   #14
dmaxdmax
Captain
dmaxdmax's Avatar
United_States
297
Rep
709
Posts

Drives: 2016 340i xD 6-spd
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSlv View Post
This worked just fine on my 6wa but it doesn’t work on 6wb after retrofit, it just removes the gear suggestion altogether… car is 2018 and 6wb manufactured in 2019
I double checked everything...here's what worked for me.

In bimmercode/instrument cluster/expert mode

FZG Ausstattung

SPA_ENABLE: nicht aktiv

SPA_IST_GANG_ENABLE: aktiv

SPA_KOMBISELECT_DISABLE: nicht aktiv


Let me know if that changes anything and works for you. Did on my 2016 340i
__________________
'92 325i RIP, '99 328i RIP, '16 340i

dmax on FB

My last pre-covid standup set
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2021, 10:12 AM   #15
MSlv
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 318i
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Romania

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the advice. I coded all 3 like you said but it didn’t work, I got the same result as when I tried only with SPA_ENABLE and SPA_IST_GANG_ENABLE, the gear advice indicator went missing.

I will try later on to only set SPA_IST_GANG_ENABLE to aktiv, maybe try different permutations… I had this function on 6wa just before retrofitting 6wb and I loved it…
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2021, 11:51 AM   #16
dmaxdmax
Captain
dmaxdmax's Avatar
United_States
297
Rep
709
Posts

Drives: 2016 340i xD 6-spd
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSlv View Post
Thanks for the advice. I coded all 3 like you said but it didn’t work, I got the same result as when I tried only with SPA_ENABLE and SPA_IST_GANG_ENABLE, the gear advice indicator went missing.

I will try later on to only set SPA_IST_GANG_ENABLE to aktiv, maybe try different permutations… I had this function on 6wa just before retrofitting 6wb and I loved it…
Good luck. I believe kombiselect 'might' be picked up through iDrive directly...as I can turn off the gear indicator entirely too in iDrive.

Just note that two say 'enable,' but the kombi says 'disable'--as in don't code when you've been drinking!

I also wonder if in your new coding bmw put things in to protect you from yourself? They've been stepping up their babysitting game a lot!
__________________
'92 325i RIP, '99 328i RIP, '16 340i

dmax on FB

My last pre-covid standup set
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2021, 01:59 AM   #17
MSlv
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 318i
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Romania

iTrader: (0)

So I tried one more time and anything else than default aktiv/not aktiv settings will cause the gear advice indicator to disappear completely.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2021, 05:02 AM   #18
dmaxdmax
Captain
dmaxdmax's Avatar
United_States
297
Rep
709
Posts

Drives: 2016 340i xD 6-spd
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSlv View Post
So I tried one more time and anything else than default aktiv/not aktiv settings will cause the gear advice indicator to disappear completely.
Sorry to hear. Maybe someone with your year's model will have found a workaround.

This was one of the first coding items I wanted to do and glad I got done. Now it's off to try to stop the automatic rev matching...although it has saved me a few times.
__________________
'92 325i RIP, '99 328i RIP, '16 340i

dmax on FB

My last pre-covid standup set
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST