F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Wheels and Tires -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack > TPMS programming tool?
Extreme Powerhouse
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-21-2017, 12:06 PM   #1
XKxRome0ox
e90noob
XKxRome0ox's Avatar
United_States
488
Rep
1,146
Posts

Drives: '08 E90 M3
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (3)

TPMS programming tool?

has anyone replaced the TPMS sensors for a 2014+ f30 f3x car?

i bought a second set of wheels and purchased a set of HUF TPMS
looking through the instructions and it says i need a TPMS programming tool to make these work
-_-

i hope the tire shop has one
__________________
2008 E90 M3 + LCI euro tail

Production date - 2008-04-22
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2017, 12:35 PM   #2
wdeerfield
A family of bimmers
United_States
1769
Rep
6,851
Posts

Drives: '13 f30, '11 f10
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Clifton Park, NY

iTrader: (0)

you should only need to go into the idrive and reset the TPMS. start driving and they will sync up.

IF this is not working for you then you bought the wrong TPMS sensors for your MY F30. They changed for '14+ from what the 12-13 F30s have
__________________
2013 EB/CR 335i xdrive | DHP | 19" VMR V803 | MPS4S | MPerformance | M3 Grills | BMS Tips | LED Turn Signals | CTS intake | VRSF FMIC | VRSF CP
2011 JB 535i xdrive | ZPP | ZSP | ZCW | 6FL | NAV | 331s Square | MPerformance Spoiler | M5 Grills | Painted Reflectors

Last edited by wdeerfield; 04-21-2017 at 12:45 PM..
Appreciate 1
Polo088161093.50

      04-21-2017, 12:51 PM   #3
XKxRome0ox
e90noob
XKxRome0ox's Avatar
United_States
488
Rep
1,146
Posts

Drives: '08 E90 M3
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdeerfield View Post
you should only need to go into the idrive and reset the TPMS. start driving and they will sync up.

IF this is not working for you then you bought the wrong TPMS sensors for your MY F30. They changed for '14+ from what the 12-13 F30s have
i read through a lot of forum posts and articles about the TPMS and part numbers
these sensors are the right part number
36106856209
i hope they just sync up with the TMPS reset then
__________________
2008 E90 M3 + LCI euro tail

Production date - 2008-04-22
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2017, 01:11 PM   #4
inspired626
Private
6
Rep
66
Posts

Drives: A slow one
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Socal

iTrader: (0)

Who did you buy the sensors from? Can you ask them to program them for you?
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2017, 01:17 PM   #5
wdeerfield
A family of bimmers
United_States
1769
Rep
6,851
Posts

Drives: '13 f30, '11 f10
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Clifton Park, NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by inspired626 View Post
Who did you buy the sensors from? Can you ask them to program them for you?
there is no programming needed. BMW idrive has the reset for TPM
__________________
2013 EB/CR 335i xdrive | DHP | 19" VMR V803 | MPS4S | MPerformance | M3 Grills | BMS Tips | LED Turn Signals | CTS intake | VRSF FMIC | VRSF CP
2011 JB 535i xdrive | ZPP | ZSP | ZCW | 6FL | NAV | 331s Square | MPerformance Spoiler | M5 Grills | Painted Reflectors
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2017, 03:24 PM   #6
XKxRome0ox
e90noob
XKxRome0ox's Avatar
United_States
488
Rep
1,146
Posts

Drives: '08 E90 M3
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (3)

It worked
HUF TPMS works after just resetting through I drive
Appreciate 1
Polo088161093.50

      05-08-2019, 01:14 AM   #7
bobbyggx
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: '18 BMW G30 540i xDrive
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Bulgaria

iTrader: (0)

Guys, can somebody give a short technical explanation how does this reset happens and how does the car knows the location of each sensor?

I saw a video in Youtube where a Chrysler vehicle got its sensors changed and the guys was walking around with a magnet. I would assume that the system is somehow check the tires itself, but how exactly?
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2019, 08:15 PM   #8
Beachparty
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (0)

I believe each wheel well has it's own tpms receiver so it only reads whatever the sensor sends.
That's why you can swap / rotate wheels without changing / coding anything
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST