F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > HBA Coding UK to EU
Studio RSR
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-15-2018, 05:47 AM   #1
willeywilson
New Member
3
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: F31 330D
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

HBA Coding UK to EU

Hi All,

First post here and looking for some help with the High Beam Assist coding.

I have RHD Xenon AHL Headlights on my F31, and I am fine with that and the beam they produce. But when I use the car in LHD markets (often) if I attempt to use the HBA assist it predominantly wants to turn on the LHS high beam, which in the UK would light up the pavement/grass on the outside of a road. However, in LHD countries it obviously blinds oncoming traffic and doesn't always switch off due to the central barrier blocking the camera's view on motorways/highways.

What I am trying to get out of this excercise is the ability to tell the car it is in a LHD market, and therefore for the High Beam Assist to work in the same manner as LHD cars (i.e. have the RHS high beam the one that turns on most, and expect traffic to be coming from the left, not the right).

Now, I use bimmer code, and have found the following settings in FEM -> LaMaster1 & LaMaster2

C_HBA_UC1_LBND_THRES_HGWY_HI = I001Codierwert_RHTR
C_HBA_UC1_RBND_THRES_HGWY_HI = I001Codierwert_RHTR
LUT_HBA_CODRV_VERT = F030Codierwert F30/F31/F34/F35 RL
LUT_HBA_DRV_HOR = F030Codierwert F30/F31/F34/F35 RL
LUT_HBA_CODRV_HOR = I001Codierwert I12
C_HBA_ADAPT_SHUT_ENA = I001 Codierwert
LUT_LA_COL_POS_10M_SHUT_CODRV_Y = F045Scheinwerferkontur_Beifahrer_LHTR

But being new to BMW and Bimmercode I am not sure what to do.


I assume RHTR & RL means RHD, so could swapping these settings to their LHTR & LL equivalents work for me or will it just break my car. Furthermore, that last setting already shows LHTR which has confused me.

If anyone is able to help me understand this and give me the ability to switch between RHD & LHD settings easily, using bimmer code, it would be greatly appreciated.

N.B. I have seen a thread somewhere where you can get the setting to appear in IDrive, but from what I recall this only works for LCI cars with LED's.

Thanks in advance

Wilson
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2018, 06:08 AM   #2
atzebmw
Colonel
Germany
588
Rep
2,302
Posts

Drives: Tesla Model 3
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

These are the codings for an LHD car

FEM_01 > LaMaster1 3073 > C_BLC_LHRHTRAF_TYPE = F030_Linkslenker
FEM_01 > LaMaster2 3074 > C_HBA_UC1_LBND_THRES_HGWY_HI = F030_LHTR
FEM_01 > LaMaster2 3074 > C_HBA_UC1_LBND_THRES_HGWY_LO = F030_LHTR
FEM_01 > LaMaster2 3074 > C_HBA_UC1_LBND_THRES_HI = F030_LHTR
FEM_01 > LaMaster2 3074 > C_HBA_UC1_RBND_THRES_HGWY_HI = F030_LHTR
FEM_01 > LaMaster2 3074 > C_HBA_UC1_RBND_THRES_HGWY_LO = F030_LHTR
FEM_01 > LaMaster2 3074 > C_HBA_UC1_RBND_THRES_HI = F030_LHTR
FEM_01 > LceMaster 3060 > FERNLICHTBLINKEN_UEBERFALLALARM_BLINKMODUS = gleichzeitig
FEM_01 > PfInternalMirror 3120 > ISP_STEERING = Linkslenker
FEM_01 > PfRainLightSensor 3130 > RLS_TYP_LENKUNG = linkslenker
FEM_01 > PfSzt 3150 > PF_SZT_LIN_VAR = default [Default]
FEM_01 > SfSvdVcmGlobal 3210 > VCM_TYPE_STEERING = linkslenker

There are some other codings in other ecus, but for your light-problem it shoul be enough.
You can try these settings without any risk.
Appreciate 1
      09-15-2018, 10:02 AM   #3
willeywilson
New Member
3
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: F31 330D
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Thanks atzebmw!

Do you think I could get away with only changing the coding associated to the lights i.e.
FEM_01 > LaMaster2 3074 > C_HBA_UC1_LBND_THRES_HGWY_HI = F030_LHTR
FEM_01 > LaMaster2 3074 > C_HBA_UC1_LBND_THRES_HGWY_LO = F030_LHTR
FEM_01 > LaMaster2 3074 > C_HBA_UC1_LBND_THRES_HI = F030_LHTR
FEM_01 > LaMaster2 3074 > C_HBA_UC1_RBND_THRES_HGWY_HI = F030_LHTR
FEM_01 > LaMaster2 3074 > C_HBA_UC1_RBND_THRES_HGWY_LO = F030_LHTR
FEM_01 > LaMaster2 3074 > C_HBA_UC1_RBND_THRES_HI = F030_LHTR

Or will the rest be required as well? I will need to flick between LHD & RHD every month or so, so looking for the minimum possible if that makes sense.

Also, my current coding is I001Codierwert_RHTR rather than F030_RHTR, Should I be changing to I001Codierwert_LHTR rather than F030_LHTR as that is an option I am shown, as well as a host of others.

Thanks

Wilson
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2018, 12:09 PM   #4
atzebmw
Colonel
Germany
588
Rep
2,302
Posts

Drives: Tesla Model 3
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Yes, i think it's enough to change only the coding for the lights and the rest is not needed.
Appreciate 1
      09-22-2018, 04:48 AM   #5
willeywilson
New Member
3
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: F31 330D
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

So, as it turned out coding just the lights wasnt enough, the headlight position did clearly move on the road but the HBA still preferred to illuminate the LHS headlight instead of the RHS.

Last night I changed
FEM_01 > LaMaster1 3073 > C_BLC_LHRHTRAF_TYPE = F030_Linkslenker
And voila! RHS headlight is now the preferred main beam with HBA on and doesnt blind everyone!
However, the main beam did change position yet again and my RHD headlights are now pointing into the middle of the opposite lane.
So, I'm going to look at changing the headlight coding back to RHD but keeping traffic type to LH and see what that does.

Thank you, at least now I can use the HBA safely.

Wilson
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2018, 04:50 AM   #6
sahajesh
Brigadier General
sahajesh's Avatar
United Kingdom
2290
Rep
4,447
Posts

Drives: 2021 G05 X5 40i Tanzanite Blue
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sheffield, UK

iTrader: (0)

Good work and perseverance - no bloody reason why BMW can't offer a menu setting for this, per Audi.

Must say it's a bit of a faff and I don't fancy coding this for every journey - BMW should get its act together.
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2018, 04:52 AM   #7
atzebmw
Colonel
Germany
588
Rep
2,302
Posts

Drives: Tesla Model 3
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Great
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2018, 05:42 AM   #8
willeywilson
New Member
3
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: F31 330D
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sahajesh View Post
Good work and perseverance - no bloody reason why BMW can't offer a menu setting for this, per Audi.

Must say it's a bit of a faff and I don't fancy coding this for every journey - BMW should get its act together.
I agree, no reason why they can't. Infact, I have seen people turn on the LHD RHD menu option on IDrive, however thats only for LCI's with LED's I believe. Would be good if someone could figure out how to link that option to this coding change.

To be honest, I'm in the EU for a few months at a time, so with this is change I can simply change it back on the boat/train back to the UK. At least that's the theory, I am very nervous of killing the ECU if the power gets interrupted 😂
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2018, 10:19 PM   #9
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
2373
Rep
8,364
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sahajesh View Post
Good work and perseverance - no bloody reason why BMW can't offer a menu setting for this, per Audi.

Must say it's a bit of a faff and I don't fancy coding this for every journey - BMW should get its act together.
You mean tourist mode in IDrive?
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2018, 10:41 PM   #10
IK6SPEED
Banned
United_States
4482
Rep
10,473
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cali

iTrader: (23)

Hardware issues beyond coding.

Part numbers for BMW EU LED Adaptive Headlights AHL are different for LHD v RHD.
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2018, 12:39 AM   #11
sahajesh
Brigadier General
sahajesh's Avatar
United Kingdom
2290
Rep
4,447
Posts

Drives: 2021 G05 X5 40i Tanzanite Blue
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sheffield, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sahajesh View Post
Good work and perseverance - no bloody reason why BMW can't offer a menu setting for this, per Audi.

Must say it's a bit of a faff and I don't fancy coding this for every journey - BMW should get its act together.
You mean tourist mode in IDrive?
Yep.
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2018, 09:26 PM   #12
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
2373
Rep
8,364
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sahajesh View Post
Yep.
Then, BMW has you covered.
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2018, 10:43 PM   #13
sahajesh
Brigadier General
sahajesh's Avatar
United Kingdom
2290
Rep
4,447
Posts

Drives: 2021 G05 X5 40i Tanzanite Blue
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sheffield, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sahajesh View Post
Yep.
Then, BMW has you covered.
Care to share where in iDrive the option is as it wasn't there, unless they added with a firmware update?
Appreciate 0
      09-25-2018, 12:19 AM   #14
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
2373
Rep
8,364
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sahajesh View Post
Care to share where in iDrive the option is as it wasn't there, unless they added with a firmware update?
I only know where the Coding is. It is under headlight settings.
Appreciate 0
      10-16-2018, 03:41 PM   #15
willeywilson
New Member
3
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: F31 330D
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Sorry all, been meaning to update here for a while. In summary, you don't need any of the coding except this:-
FEM_01 > LaMaster1 3073 > C_BLC_LHRHTRAF_TYPE = F030_Linkslenker

This means your LHS headlight now is the one to sweep out wide into the middle of the road and adjust to a lower position, the preferred main beam is then the RHS and this happily stays on whilst on the motorway, whereas before it preferred to put the LHS main beam on and then have to turn it off every time a car came the other way.

Simpy put, changing C_BLC_LHRHTRAF_TYPE to LH has resolved my issue and means it's only one line of coding to change to put back to UK spec.

IK6SPEED I think you misunderstood the post, I don't want to change the beam pattern, I am well aware the headlights are mechanically different between LHD, RHD & NAS Markets, however changing this one line of code has given me the result I was after - functional High Beam Assist on a UK spec car in LHD markets.

Thanks all

Wilson
Appreciate 0
      05-08-2019, 07:57 PM   #16
Jpete41996
Private First Class
Jpete41996's Avatar
No_Country
133
Rep
113
Posts

Drives: 2018 F80 M3
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by willeywilson View Post
Sorry all, been meaning to update here for a while. In summary, you don't need any of the coding except this:-
FEM_01 > LaMaster1 3073 > C_BLC_LHRHTRAF_TYPE = F030_Linkslenker

This means your LHS headlight now is the one to sweep out wide into the middle of the road and adjust to a lower position, the preferred main beam is then the RHS and this happily stays on whilst on the motorway, whereas before it preferred to put the LHS main beam on and then have to turn it off every time a car came the other way.

Simpy put, changing C_BLC_LHRHTRAF_TYPE to LH has resolved my issue and means it's only one line of coding to change to put back to UK spec.

IK6SPEED I think you misunderstood the post, I don't want to change the beam pattern, I am well aware the headlights are mechanically different between LHD, RHD & NAS Markets, however changing this one line of code has given me the result I was after - functional High Beam Assist on a UK spec car in LHD markets.

Thanks all

Wilson
Wilson,
I am bringing my F80 M3 US Spec with LED lights to the UK very soon and I will be there for 3 years. Do you think changing this same line of code to RH will do the trick and allow me to "pass" MOT with correct light aiming? Not looking for full RHD working LED. I just need to pass MOT for three years then convert back to US spec when I move again. Thoughts?
__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
fla, hba, lhd, rhd, xenon

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST