F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Experience with 10.25" android 7.1 HU's
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-02-2018, 03:18 AM   #89
losdamianos
Private
United Kingdom
2
Rep
77
Posts

Drives: F30 320D 2015
Join Date: May 2018
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

can you use the splitter for dab antenna just like with gps to take an advantage of an external antenna ?
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2018, 04:11 AM   #90
DRuw
Lieutenant
DRuw's Avatar
Netherlands
65
Rep
516
Posts

Drives: F31 325D Msport
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by losdamianos View Post
can you use the splitter for dab antenna just like with gps to take an advantage of an external antenna ?
I have the factory DAB and are going to use the DAB module for my Ugode as well.
that way I have navi sounds and music at the same time
I am going to split my factory DAB signal with these two items:
https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/Super...37814c4de7afcC
and
https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/1-Stk...62994c4dnrS0QH
and the USB stick I already have received.
Cable is coming this week I hope and the plug adapter shortly after.
This should work with the yellow plug from my BMW radio (the DAB-III band antenna)
(see this page for a photo of the back of my unit, use google translate for the text https://www.bmwdriversforum.nl/viewt...p?f=73&t=21685
The yellow plug in the bottom left corner is the DAB III plug))
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2018, 04:47 AM   #91
losdamianos
Private
United Kingdom
2
Rep
77
Posts

Drives: F30 320D 2015
Join Date: May 2018
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Thank You this is excactly what I was looking for,
still waiting for my gps splitter ...
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2018, 04:50 AM   #92
DRuw
Lieutenant
DRuw's Avatar
Netherlands
65
Rep
516
Posts

Drives: F31 325D Msport
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Yeah, ali is not the quickest. They are the cheapest though...
Plug adapter is 8 euro excl. Transport in the netherlands and less than 2 incl shipping from China....
As soon as I have it and works ill let you know!
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2018, 06:18 AM   #93
wacky007
Private First Class
wacky007's Avatar
Germany
12
Rep
132
Posts

Drives: F30 2012 320i
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

I talked to Louie again about the installation of reverse camera.

He confirmed that GND does not need to be connected.

"You just connect the CCD 12V to the red wire beside the yellow Male AUX plug, that is enough, no need to connect GND."

I made a drawing, maybe helpful for you.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 1
      06-02-2018, 11:26 AM   #94
vanillahunter
New Member
vanillahunter's Avatar
4
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Arizona, USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wacky007 View Post
I talked to Louie again about the installation of reverse camera.

He confirmed that GND does not need to be connected.

"You just connect the CCD 12V to the red wire beside the yellow Male AUX plug, that is enough, no need to connect GND."

I made a drawing, maybe helpful for you.
wacky007....thanks mate
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2018, 02:20 PM   #95
DRuw
Lieutenant
DRuw's Avatar
Netherlands
65
Rep
516
Posts

Drives: F31 325D Msport
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Anymore experiences already?
I am very happy with the waze navigation and the audio quality at the moment.
There was a BMW backstage day today and many people were very enthusiastic about the screen and options. Mechanics, other clients and salesmen checked it out and wondered where I got it from and if it was easy to install etc.
still 2 issues though:
- No signal sometimes that the android part doesn't boot. Still can put my finger on it what triggers it.
- Wifi from my hotspot doesn't connect automatically. Home wifi is automatic but it doesn't switch over for some reason (apparently an android 7.1 issue as far as I can see and need to research for a solution)
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2018, 02:22 PM   #96
losdamianos
Private
United Kingdom
2
Rep
77
Posts

Drives: F30 320D 2015
Join Date: May 2018
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

guys, Louie said he is willing to do another group buy at the end of the month, do you think that would be too early ? Would we get 6-10 potential buyers ?
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2018, 02:36 PM   #97
DRuw
Lieutenant
DRuw's Avatar
Netherlands
65
Rep
516
Posts

Drives: F31 325D Msport
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by losdamianos View Post
guys, Louie said he is willing to do another group buy at the end of the month, do you think that would be too early ? Would we get 6-10 potential buyers ?
I would wait another month. I believe people bought the unit at reduced price till yesterday.
Perhaps use the other topic and create a signup list or something?
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2018, 03:14 PM   #98
losdamianos
Private
United Kingdom
2
Rep
77
Posts

Drives: F30 320D 2015
Join Date: May 2018
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

yup I was going to put it in original group buy post but put here by mistake sorry bro
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2018, 04:48 PM   #99
calle14
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: 2014 328d 2007 X3
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

I got in touch with Louie and he has it on sale for $375 plus $50 for UPS shipping. I'm pulling the trigger.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2018, 04:57 PM   #100
florinbrv
Private First Class
1
Rep
102
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 320D
Join Date: May 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRuw View Post
Anymore experiences already?
I am very happy with the waze navigation and the audio quality at the moment.
There was a BMW backstage day today and many people were very enthusiastic about the screen and options. Mechanics, other clients and salesmen checked it out and wondered where I got it from and if it was easy to install etc.
still 2 issues though:
- No signal sometimes that the android part doesn't boot. Still can put my finger on it what triggers it.
- Wifi from my hotspot doesn't connect automatically. Home wifi is automatic but it doesn't switch over for some reason (apparently an android 7.1 issue as far as I can see and need to research for a solution)
Found this on a forum:
Goto Settings/Wireless and Network Settings/WiFi Settings. Select your menu button, then Advanced. Try setting your Wifi Sleep policy to Never.

Not sure if it will help you, but worth a shot.
I'm still waiting for my unit, therefore I can't test this...

Edit: you can also try to remove the home WiFi network from your unit ?

Something else I found on another forum:
There is a 'Hotspot settings' option which references 'IPV4' and 'IPV4 and IPV6'. When the setting is on 'IPV4 and IPV6', the hotspot would turn off immediately. Changing this setting to 'IPV4' only, however, fixed the problem.

Last edited by florinbrv; 06-02-2018 at 05:06 PM..
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2018, 05:42 PM   #101
wacky007
Private First Class
wacky007's Avatar
Germany
12
Rep
132
Posts

Drives: F30 2012 320i
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

One issue that already happened two times. On android side screen suddenly went blank with vertical white lines. But android system is still functioning in the background because I still can hear music playing. Screen just stays blank.

Last time this happened was during navigation with Sygic. Good I knew the way home.

Had to wait until power cut off and android system rebooted.

Anyone encountered the same issue?

Is there a trick to manually reboot system if something like this happens?
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2018, 05:55 PM   #102
florinbrv
Private First Class
1
Rep
102
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 320D
Join Date: May 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wacky007 View Post
One issue that already happened two times. On android side screen suddenly went blank with vertical white lines. But android system is still functioning in the background because I still can hear music playing. Screen just stays blank.

Last time this happened was during navigation with Sygic. Good I knew the way home.

Had to wait until power cut off and android system rebooted.

Anyone encountered the same issue?

Is there a trick to manually reboot system if something like this happens?
I believe it has a reset button next to the sd card slot?!
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2018, 03:01 AM   #103
vanillahunter
New Member
vanillahunter's Avatar
4
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Arizona, USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wacky007 View Post
One issue that already happened two times. On android side screen suddenly went blank with vertical white lines. But android system is still functioning in the background because I still can hear music playing. Screen just stays blank.

Last time this happened was during navigation with Sygic. Good I knew the way home.

Had to wait until power cut off and android system rebooted.

Anyone encountered the same issue?

Is there a trick to manually reboot system if something like this happens?
mine went "no signal" but the BMW side worked. rebooted and issue went away. one thing I'm getting is "skipping" when playing music
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2018, 03:02 AM   #104
daxtor
Private First Class
13
Rep
115
Posts

Drives: EBII F30 335i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Can someone try the multi window support on the unit? My Avin unit can't do it as it is running Android 4.4 but the one running Android 7 should be able to. I am interested to know if the unit is able to handle running Google Maps and a music player side by side at the same time...
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2018, 03:08 AM   #105
DRuw
Lieutenant
DRuw's Avatar
Netherlands
65
Rep
516
Posts

Drives: F31 325D Msport
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanillahunter View Post
mine went "no signal" but the BMW side worked. rebooted and issue went away. one thing I'm getting is "skipping" when playing music
What do you have connected?
Im thinking the issue with the no signal from android is the connection of a usb stick/dongle/whatever or memorycard.
maybe just like a computer, it tries to boot from external source, which it cant, and hangs..... or something
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2018, 03:10 AM   #106
DRuw
Lieutenant
DRuw's Avatar
Netherlands
65
Rep
516
Posts

Drives: F31 325D Msport
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by florinbrv View Post
Found this on a forum:
Goto Settings/Wireless and Network Settings/WiFi Settings. Select your menu button, then Advanced. Try setting your Wifi Sleep policy to Never.

Not sure if it will help you, but worth a shot.
I'm still waiting for my unit, therefore I can't test this...

Edit: you can also try to remove the home WiFi network from your unit ?

Something else I found on another forum:
There is a 'Hotspot settings' option which references 'IPV4' and 'IPV4 and IPV6'. When the setting is on 'IPV4 and IPV6', the hotspot would turn off immediately. Changing this setting to 'IPV4' only, however, fixed the problem.
I am going to try this! the hotspot settings are not on my phone... is that iphone only perhaps?
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2018, 03:12 AM   #107
Taechit
Enlisted Member
2
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: 320D MY2016
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Bangkok

iTrader: (0)

WARNING: Don't try to ROOT this unit!

To make long story shot, I tried to root this unit for the sake of some tweaking. First I use Kingoroot and Kingroot without any success, so I tried to inject Supersu into the firmware manually. It's said that everything is fine but after restart the unit, the android side is going into a bootloop

Now my android side is crashing at boot logo forever. I've tried many recovery methods, using SD card recovery image/ SD boot method but the unit was not respond to my SD card, tried to plug the unit to my PC (with A to A USB) but my PC didn't recognized the unit.

The last resort that I need to try is to reboot the unit in recovery mode. I tried many time to press and hold the reset button but still have no luck. I've done a lot of research on the internet, but there's no right method that working.

By the way, BMW NBT side and reverse camera are still working, so I think it's not completely bricked, just only in a bootloop (or soft bricked)

Does anyone know how to reboot the unit in recovery mode? I'm so frustrating right now, waiting for Alice to reply.
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2018, 03:41 AM   #108
vooonoo
\_(ツ)_/
vooonoo's Avatar
514
Rep
965
Posts

Drives: f30 328
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: nj

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 f30 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by losdamianos View Post
guys, Louie said he is willing to do another group buy at the end of the month, do you think that would be too early ? Would we get 6-10 potential buyers ?
Wait another month I want to see if there's any bugs before I buy
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2018, 05:59 AM   #109
DRuw
Lieutenant
DRuw's Avatar
Netherlands
65
Rep
516
Posts

Drives: F31 325D Msport
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vooonoo View Post
Wait another month I want to see if there's any bugs before I buy
Offcourse there are bugs. You just need to determine if they weigh up to the pro's.
I hope everyone posts their experience so all can help and/or learn.
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2018, 07:15 AM   #110
machman767
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
50
Rep
246
Posts

Drives: 320d Sport auto
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Preston

iTrader: (0)

In the interests of balance, went on my first long trip in both the car and using the Avin unit yesterday, around 500 miles to Edinburgh and back. Car ran faultlessly, averaged 61.5 mpg, with the odd bit of sport mode. Avin equally good, used "offline maps", only issue was voice was in German so missed a couple of exits. Had sound playing all way, no problems, DAB was disappointing due to my antenna install mistakes but overall very pleased with how it went.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST