F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Reverse camera OEM style retrofit for $199 shipped - DIY Details
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-27-2019, 03:34 PM   #89
OC_F32
Private First Class
OC_F32's Avatar
92
Rep
120
Posts

Drives: 2015 428i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by efrancis1409 View Post
I've been looking at the bimmertech cam for a long time but for what it provided it was too damn expensive. This $200 kit was much more reasonable in price so I pulled the trigger and bought it early this morning. Op mentions no coding was required, I wonder what's so special about this kit that it requires no coding.
Per BimmerTech, their MMI camera retrofit ($699) does not require coding. It's plug and play. What i understand is that any of their solutions that contain "OEM" does require coding. I suppose it has something to do with integration into the OEM system to make "factory" functions available.
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2019, 12:17 PM   #90
330istocknot
First Lieutenant
118
Rep
361
Posts

Drives: 330chino
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: chino

iTrader: (0)

My 8.8 screen will be arriving this week, i will update if it works with a 6.5 unit.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2019, 12:41 AM   #91
efrancis1409
New Member
United_States
6
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW 328I F30
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 330istocknot View Post
Yup 0 coding required, just plug and play. Not sure, but it works just as good as the bimmertech one. In fact, it seems to be the same kit just diff module. Come back to this thread if you have any questions! I will update the post with more useful information.
Awesome thanks for the reply and awesome find on the camera. Quick question does the kit come with the red wire splice clip or is that a separate purchase? I saw it in the installation video but I wasn't sure if he had already connected it to one wire separately or not.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2019, 01:04 AM   #92
330istocknot
First Lieutenant
118
Rep
361
Posts

Drives: 330chino
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: chino

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by efrancis1409 View Post
Awesome thanks for the reply and awesome find on the camera. Quick question does the kit come with the red wire splice clip or is that a separate purchase? I saw it in the installation video but I wasn't sure if he had already connected it to one wire separately or not.
Mine came with two wires that i needed to solder together, or you can just tape them, but i had a solder gun near me.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2019, 01:37 AM   #93
235Dude
Captain
76
Rep
921
Posts

Drives: 2016 M235i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Potomac, MD

iTrader: (19)

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul e View Post
Looks good but be aware:

If your car is Manual transmission, then this product is NOT compatible with your car.
Why?
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2019, 01:40 AM   #94
efrancis1409
New Member
United_States
6
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW 328I F30
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 330istocknot View Post
Mine came with two wires that i needed to solder together, or you can just tape them, but i had a solder gun near me.
Red camera power wire needs to be connected to the yellow rca correct?
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2019, 11:23 AM   #95
sthor10
Private
sthor10's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 328
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 330istocknot View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by efrancis1409 View Post
Awesome thanks for the reply and awesome find on the camera. Quick question does the kit come with the red wire splice clip or is that a separate purchase? I saw it in the installation video but I wasn't sure if he had already connected it to one wire separately or not.
Mine came with two wires that i needed to solder together, or you can just tape them, but i had a solder gun near me.
Are the two red wires the ones you are referencing that need to be connected? Wish these came with instructions.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2019, 12:14 PM   #96
330istocknot
First Lieutenant
118
Rep
361
Posts

Drives: 330chino
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: chino

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sthor10 View Post
pic
Yes! The two red cables need to be connected. The yellow wire has its own female connector.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2019, 12:58 PM   #97
paul e
Captain
United_States
353
Rep
710
Posts

Drives: 340i xDrive 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South Carolina

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 235Dude View Post
Why?
I donít know, I didnít write the product description
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2019, 02:50 PM   #98
sthor10
Private
sthor10's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 328
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

done with the install..thanks for the tips on adjusting the lines when up and running. Overall job was not bad at all. Just a lot of more wiring and module to hide.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2019, 04:45 PM   #99
muniz_ri
Private
United_States
20
Rep
76
Posts

Drives: BMA 320I
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sthor10 View Post
done with the install..thanks for the tips on adjusting the lines when up and running. Overall job was not bad at all. Just a lot of more wiring and module to hide.
How long did the install take?
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2019, 05:54 PM   #100
sthor10
Private
sthor10's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 328
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by muniz_ri View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sthor10 View Post
done with the install..thanks for the tips on adjusting the lines when up and running. Overall job was not bad at all. Just a lot of more wiring and module to hide.
How long did the install take?
Didn't time it but don't think it took more than 3 hours. I've taken the interior trim out before for other things so I kind of knew what I was doing. That's probably the most time consuming. And trying to find a place to put the module and extra wires.
Appreciate 1
      10-01-2019, 06:54 PM   #101
330istocknot
First Lieutenant
118
Rep
361
Posts

Drives: 330chino
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: chino

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sthor10 View Post
Didn't time it but don't think it took more than 3 hours. I've taken the interior trim out before for other things so I kind of knew what I was doing. That's probably the most time consuming. And trying to find a place to put the module and extra wires.
This was my first time removing the air vents area and the side panels to run the wires. Took me about 2 hours without any issues.
Appreciate 1
      10-01-2019, 09:14 PM   #102
muniz_ri
Private
United_States
20
Rep
76
Posts

Drives: BMA 320I
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (0)

Has anyone experienced the lines not moving when turning the steering wheel? I just installed the unit and am having this issue. I will also email the seller for help.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2019, 11:11 PM   #103
330istocknot
First Lieutenant
118
Rep
361
Posts

Drives: 330chino
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: chino

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by muniz_ri View Post
Has anyone experienced the lines not moving when turning the steering wheel? I just installed the unit and am having this issue. I will also email the seller for help.

Yes, I had the same. Just drive the car it'll adjust. Park a few times and then turn the car on. It should work.
Appreciate 1
      10-01-2019, 11:52 PM   #104
sthor10
Private
sthor10's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 328
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 330istocknot View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by muniz_ri View Post
Has anyone experienced the lines not moving when turning the steering wheel? I just installed the unit and am having this issue. I will also email the seller for help.

Yes, I had the same. Just drive the car it'll adjust. Park a few times and then turn the car on. It should work.
+1 It didn't work at first but went up and down the driveway a few times and it started working.
Appreciate 1
      10-02-2019, 12:13 AM   #105
muniz_ri
Private
United_States
20
Rep
76
Posts

Drives: BMA 320I
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (0)

You were right, the lines now work. Thank you!
Appreciate 0
      10-02-2019, 12:15 AM   #106
muniz_ri
Private
United_States
20
Rep
76
Posts

Drives: BMA 320I
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by efrancis1409 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 330istocknot View Post
Yup 0 coding required, just plug and play. Not sure, but it works just as good as the bimmertech one. In fact, it seems to be the same kit just diff module. Come back to this thread if you have any questions! I will update the post with more useful information.
Awesome thanks for the reply and awesome find on the camera. Quick question does the kit come with the red wire splice clip or is that a separate purchase? I saw it in the installation video but I wasn't sure if he had already connected it to one wire separately or not.
I used a small wire nut plus electrical tape for good measure on the red wire.
Appreciate 0
      10-02-2019, 12:32 AM   #107
235Dude
Captain
76
Rep
921
Posts

Drives: 2016 M235i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Potomac, MD

iTrader: (19)

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul e View Post
I donít know, I didnít write the product description
Anyone get this to work on a manual 6spd car?
Appreciate 0
      10-02-2019, 01:44 AM   #108
muniz_ri
Private
United_States
20
Rep
76
Posts

Drives: BMA 320I
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_man_in_blue View Post
i was more concerned with the wiring from the camera through the trunk and up to the front. Never know if I'd run into any hangups along the way
I installed the module first before installing the camera in the trunk. The dash trim, HU removal, and module connections were straightforward.

I then inserted the RCA extension cable from underneath the plastic trim next to the HU and connected the RCA cable and red wire (using a small wire nut and electrical tape) to the main harness. I then tucked the RCA extension cable around the underside of the glove box. I then lifted the right side of the rear seat and removed the four trim pieces, i.e. one under the rear seat, the middle pillar piece, the front floor piece, and the piece under the glove box. Next, I tucked the cable under the carpet back to the rear passenger seat.

I then placed a flashlight behind the rear seat backrest by reaching through the battery compartment in the trunk (no need to loosen or remove any carpet from the side of the trunk). Then from inside the car I slightly pulled back the top left corner of the rear seat backrest to see the light of the flashlight. I ran the RCA extension cable through that opening in the metal and pulled it into the trunk and up the trunk arm through the battery compartment.

All that I had to do at that point was remove the carpet from the trunk lid, install the camera, and replace all of the trim.
Appreciate 1
aps143.50

      10-02-2019, 01:59 PM   #109
efrancis1409
New Member
United_States
6
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW 328I F30
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Just finished installing the camera! It was actually really easy, and I'm a noob when it comes to wiring and stuff like that. Took me about 2 hours, the hardest part by far was hiding the extra wires and the additional module in the climate control area after everything was up and running.
Appreciate 2
      10-02-2019, 04:48 PM   #110
OC_F32
Private First Class
OC_F32's Avatar
92
Rep
120
Posts

Drives: 2015 428i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by efrancis1409 View Post
Just finished installing the camera! It was actually really easy, and I'm a noob when it comes to wiring and stuff like that. Took me about 2 hours, the hardest part by far was hiding the extra wires and the additional module in the climate control area after everything was up and running.
Nice man. Yeah this thing is pretty awesome. Congrats on the install!
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST