F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > N20, N26, B46, B48 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > Bootmod3 boost gauge config question
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-17-2019, 03:38 PM   #1
Cpatel
Private First Class
16
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: N26 328i
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Bootmod3 boost gauge config question

Hello.

I just got a bootmod3 wifi agent. I want to view turbo boost but I can't configure the channel in a way to show me boost pressure properly. I've tried a few configurations and I see really weird numbers or the gauge stays at 0.
What options do I need to change (and which gauge do I need) in order to see boost in PSI the same way it was shown on JB4.

TY!
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2019, 04:20 PM   #2
andino
Lieutenant
269
Rep
427
Posts

Drives: F31 328i xdrive
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: norcal

iTrader: (0)

Use the map sensor for boost
__________________
2016 328ix F31 | Bilstein B14 PSS | MPBBK | ER Catted Downpipe | REMUS Sport Exhaust | VRSF Chargepipe | G-Plus FMIC | BM3 Stage 2 | K&N Drop In Filter | KC Front Strut Bar | VAC LCA Monoball | BMS OCC | Millway Camber Plates | KMAC FCA Monoball | KC RSB
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2019, 05:56 PM   #3
Cpatel
Private First Class
16
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: N26 328i
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by andino View Post
Use the map sensor for boost
How is that done?
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2019, 06:47 AM   #4
MTWO
Lieutenant
262
Rep
405
Posts

Drives: M2
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Innisfil

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpatel View Post
Hello.

I just got a bootmod3 wifi agent. I want to view turbo boost but I can't configure the channel in a way to show me boost pressure properly. I've tried a few configurations and I see really weird numbers or the gauge stays at 0.
What options do I need to change (and which gauge do I need) in order to see boost in PSI the same way it was shown on JB4.

TY!
Click on reset settings in the about screen
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2019, 01:32 PM   #5
Cpatel
Private First Class
16
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: N26 328i
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

I figured it out. This app is so slow in terms of refresh rate, I tried many different refresh rates. And it constantly goes out.
Going to return the WiFi adapter. The JB4 app was so much smoother.

Anyone have any gauge monitoring app recommendations?
Appreciate 1
      10-19-2019, 07:09 AM   #6
MTWO
Lieutenant
262
Rep
405
Posts

Drives: M2
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Innisfil

iTrader: (0)

Thatís odd. Mine flies. What phone are you using? Iím on iPhone XS.
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2019, 07:33 AM   #7
Green33
Private First Class
50
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 328ix N26
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: canada

iTrader: (0)

My agent is good as well. Real-time data on the dashboard using older iphone. Maybe try reinstalling the app on your phone and updating/reinstalling the wifi agent software. Also maybe you have a bad odb cable.

To see boost just go to the dashboard and click on the + at the bottom of the screen. Type boost and youíll have 3 options. Pre-throttle shows your boost.

Last edited by Green33; 10-19-2019 at 01:59 PM..
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2019, 06:51 PM   #8
Cpatel
Private First Class
16
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: N26 328i
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Green33 View Post
My agent is good as well. Real-time data on the dashboard using older iphone. Maybe try reinstalling the app on your phone and updating/reinstalling the wifi agent software. Also maybe you have a bad odb cable.

To see boost just go to the dashboard and click on the + at the bottom of the screen. Type boost and youíll have 3 options. Pre-throttle shows your boost.
Are you using the official obd2 agent? I bought a homemade one off eBay
iPhone 7.
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2019, 07:45 PM   #9
Green33
Private First Class
50
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 328ix N26
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: canada

iTrader: (0)

I built mine myself using the DIY thread. Iíd recommend taking the microSD card out and rebuild the software for the Wi-Fi agent. You can follow along here.
https://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh....php?t=1484555
Iím using iphone7 as well
If that doesnít work it might be cuz the seller used a raspberry pi 3B+ which according to the thread doesnít work. If you open the case and take a look to see which board is used that could save you some time.
Appreciate 1
Cpatel16.00

Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST