F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > 10.25" Android 9.0 HU discussion
proTUNING Freaks
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-17-2019, 11:50 PM   #705
QUiKSR20
Major
QUiKSR20's Avatar
United_States
195
Rep
1,170
Posts

Drives: 13' F30 328i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NJ

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
Hey Guys,

Just placed my order and see alot of people coming from the 6.5 side state they coded via bimmercode to 8.8 to improve the display.. Does anyone know how I can confirm this is possible?

I have the 6.5" screen with Harmon Kardon Audio, There is no Combox and on the head unit it reads "Model : L7 ENTRY" can I code my Idrive to the 8.8 config so I have the nicer full display while on the Idrive side of things? Or am I stuck at 6.5 ?

Thanks in advance....
__________________
13 F30 328i Sport 6MT
95 E36 325i Vert 5MT
92 Sentra SE-R SR20DET DET Build Thread
08 E90 328i Sport [sold]
89 E30 325is [sold & missed]
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2019, 12:03 AM   #706
Mirjam
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
49
Posts

Drives: BMW E87, F10, i3
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

8.8" is one of the sizes you can choose from:

model id = "1" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[01]NBT_F48/F49(6.5″,HalfScreen)
model id = "7" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[02]NBT_F48/F49(6.5″,FullScreen)
model id = "9" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[03]NBT_F48(8.8″,10.25″)
model id = "4" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[04]CIC_E60(2012)/E83(6.5,HalfScreen)
model id = "5" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[05]CIC_E60(2012)/E83(6.5,FullScreen)
model id = "11" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[06]CIC_E60(2011)(6.5,HalfScreen)
model id = "12" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[07]CIC_E60(2011)(6.5,FullScreen)
model id = "6" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[08]CIC_X5(2009)/E60(2011)(8.8″,10.25″)
model id = "8" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[09]CIC_7Series(2011)(8.8″,10.25″)
model id = "2" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[10]CCC_E60(6.5″,FullScreen)
model id = "3" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[11]CCC_E60(8.8″,FullScreen)
model id = "14" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[12]CCC_E60(2010)(8.8″,FullScreen)
model id = "18" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[13]CCC_E60(2008)(6.5″,FullScreen)
model id = "13" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[14]18_EVO(6.5,HalfScreen)
model id = "19" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[15]18_EVO(6.5,FullScreen)
model id = "20" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[16]18_EVO(8.8)
model id = "21" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[17]18_EVO_X1(8.8,1280x480)
model id = "22" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[18]19_EVO_X3(10.25, 1440x540)
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2019, 12:03 AM   #707
Kri
Second Lieutenant
Austria
52
Rep
220
Posts

Drives: E87
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mirjam View Post
Is this normal? iDrive buttons Tel, Radio and CD does not work in Android. I want Tel to open Android phone, Radio to open the DAB app, and CD to open the music app. Menu, Nav, Option and Back are working.
CD and Radio are hard coded to switch to the original HU.
When you have Tel already set to Android but it still does open the HU`s Phone part, you have two possibilities.
* Either your MCU/Android version have an inconsistence where the setting is working the wrong way, try to set it to "orignal" and test if android is opening.
* or your MCU is one where the switching does not work at all, you need to update it, -> ask your vendor for a new file.

i had already both issue`s.

To the DAB / Music app function, it would be cool if it would be possible to have an selection between "original" function and own app, like it is with the MAP software.

Just for fun, i already made an bugs/feature list if i will get in contact with an engineer of the original software somehow.
Here is the list

Code:
Tiles:
* Music 	-> Option to change Music app  default / other
* File Manager 	-> Option to change Filemanager app default / other
* Phone		-> Option to change Phone app, default / other like Carkit,... 
* DVR 		-> rename / Selectable / free changeable for user, for example DAB+,
* possibility of re-arrangement of the tiles

Android:
* free Bluetooth to Android, not only BMW Gui -> Possibility to add normal BT devices
* Possibility to disable Bluetooth when not used(can cause interferences with BMW OEM BT)
* Option to change Android Bootlogo (the screen before the Bootanimation)
* Reboot option at Settings like at PX6 with Android 8.1
* Idrive Support at Apple Carplay like it was on PX6 with Android 8.1

MCU:
* Bugfix Voicekey - not changeable
* Bugfix Mode Key - no function
* Bugfix beltwarning is always red at Dashboard app
* Feature: selectable uptime after ignition off (1,3,5,10,15 min)
* Feature: Option to select reverse parking sensor display between OEM and Android
Chri

Last edited by Kri; 10-18-2019 at 01:42 AM..
Appreciate 1
      10-18-2019, 12:19 AM   #708
QUiKSR20
Major
QUiKSR20's Avatar
United_States
195
Rep
1,170
Posts

Drives: 13' F30 328i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NJ

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mirjam View Post
8.8" is one of the sizes you can choose from:

model id = "1" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[01]NBT_F48/F49(6.5″,HalfScreen)
model id = "7" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[02]NBT_F48/F49(6.5″,FullScreen)
model id = "9" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[03]NBT_F48(8.8″,10.25″)
model id = "4" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[04]CIC_E60(2012)/E83(6.5,HalfScreen)
model id = "5" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[05]CIC_E60(2012)/E83(6.5,FullScreen)
model id = "11" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[06]CIC_E60(2011)(6.5,HalfScreen)
model id = "12" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[07]CIC_E60(2011)(6.5,FullScreen)
model id = "6" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[08]CIC_X5(2009)/E60(2011)(8.8″,10.25″)
model id = "8" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[09]CIC_7Series(2011)(8.8″,10.25″)
model id = "2" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[10]CCC_E60(6.5″,FullScreen)
model id = "3" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[11]CCC_E60(8.8″,FullScreen)
model id = "14" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[12]CCC_E60(2010)(8.8″,FullScreen)
model id = "18" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[13]CCC_E60(2008)(6.5″,FullScreen)
model id = "13" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[14]18_EVO(6.5,HalfScreen)
model id = "19" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[15]18_EVO(6.5,FullScreen)
model id = "20" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[16]18_EVO(8.8)
model id = "21" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[17]18_EVO_X1(8.8,1280x480)
model id = "22" client ="ALL" tips ="1">[18]19_EVO_X3(10.25, 1440x540)
Thank you, On the iDrive side though my car is 6.5" im looking to see if I can code the idrive side to 8.8
__________________
13 F30 328i Sport 6MT
95 E36 325i Vert 5MT
92 Sentra SE-R SR20DET DET Build Thread
08 E90 328i Sport [sold]
89 E30 325is [sold & missed]

Last edited by QUiKSR20; 10-18-2019 at 12:24 AM..
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2019, 02:26 AM   #709
DarkIrata
Enlisted Member
DarkIrata's Avatar
Germany
5
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i (F31), 2015
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by QUiKSR20 View Post
Thank you, On the iDrive side though my car is 6.5" im looking to see if I can code the idrive side to 8.8
in theory it would be enough to select a 6.5" setting. It will fill out the empty space with a simple display at the right side so it want be streched. At least my does that.
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2019, 03:33 AM   #710
RaceX58
New Member
42
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: BMW F20
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkIrata View Post
Also a c# developer so it will be guessing.

Did you also tried https://github.com/licheedev/Android-SerialPort-Tool ?
It's working !!! I can set the brightness of the screen the value I wan't now

Thank you so muck for this link !!!

I also found the Intent to catch the steering wheel controls. I'll post it later.

Now I can build a service application to control the dimming
Appreciate 6
      10-18-2019, 04:16 AM   #711
Shrazy
New Member
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW F30
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaceX58 View Post
It's working !!! I can set the brightness of the screen the value I wan't now

Thank you so muck for this link !!!

I also found the Intent to catch the steering wheel controls. I'll post it later.

Now I can build a service application to control the dimming
Can you share your final .apk for dimming? Mine is too bright sometimes and blends me, would be very great
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2019, 04:36 AM   #712
Firefly1337
Private
Firefly1337's Avatar
Germany
45
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: F20 M135i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Since we are discussing development, I could use some input (quite literally )

I wrote a small App that just starts as a foreground service and listens to incoming broadcasts. It checks which broadcast and content (the Integer) was received and translates it to proper KeyEvent values.
E.g. KEYCODE_ENTER = 66.

I am currently trying to figure out how to communicate that to the system, i.e. make the actual input.
If you interact with your own view (say you make your own launcher) then it's fine. But if you want to interfere with other apps, it gets complicated.

In general you need to be rooted.
This is the simplest method:
Code:
shell# input keyevent <code>
This works just fine but is very slow. It has a ~1 second delay between inputs, i.e. it is not really usable for normal iDrive controller usage. Imagine scrolling through 15 apps, you'd need 15 seconds for that.

A better function is hidden in the Android Hardware API.
The class is 'InputManager' and the method 'injectInputEvent'.
However, this requires the permission 'android.permission.INJECT_EVENTS' which is only granted to system apps.
As far as I know, to make a system app it needs to be signed with the same signature/key as the OS (which we don't have). Is there any way around that?

I tried to call the method using Xposed, but official development apparently stopped and now there is EdXposed, which has zero guides on how to develop. I couldn't get it to work yesterday, I will try again over the weekend.
Bear in mind, I still don't have my unit and am developing on my phone at home.

Any other methods I might have missed?
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2019, 04:42 AM   #713
mrsimes
Enlisted Member
9
Rep
45
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Folks, I'm still going with my audio distortion problem.

Coika have now admitted that they know about this problem and they are manufacturing an "audio filter box" which will completely cure the problem. They can send this to me in a couple of weeks foc. Alternatively, they have offered me this intel based unit as a replacement which apparently doesn't have the problem, if I prefer. I've not seen any discussion on the intel devices here. What to do!?

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000144842180.html
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2019, 05:30 AM   #714
RaceX58
New Member
42
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: BMW F20
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrazy View Post
Can you share your final .apk for dimming? Mine is too bright sometimes and blends me, would be very great
No problem I'll share it once I've done the apk.

I'm planning the use the steering wheel scroll wheel button (don't know if the term is right...) to adjust the brightness.
When you'll start the car it will set the dimming to a stored value, lets say 50% then you will be able to adjust it with the scrool wheel button.
It could also be done with a slider. But you would have to open the app and move the slider.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefly1337 View Post
Since we are discussing development, I could use some input (quite literally )

I wrote a small App that just starts as a foreground service and listens to incoming broadcasts. It checks which broadcast and content (the Integer) was received and translates it to proper KeyEvent values.
E.g. KEYCODE_ENTER = 66.

...

Any other methods I might have missed?
I can't really help you on this sorry. I've googled a bit and as you say it seems not possible to simulate keyevent on a non-rooted device.
For my part I've used Automate to simulate gestures (swipe between screens).
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2019, 08:14 AM   #715
floc
Private
floc's Avatar
Italy
15
Rep
77
Posts

Drives: BMW M2
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Milano

iTrader: (0)

do you have a full list of integer sent by idrive intent in android?
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2019, 08:20 AM   #716
Pro-Owner
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 318d
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsimes View Post
Folks, I'm still going with my audio distortion problem.

Coika have now admitted that they know about this problem and they are manufacturing an "audio filter box" which will completely cure the problem. They can send this to me in a couple of weeks foc. Alternatively, they have offered me this intel based unit as a replacement which apparently doesn't have the problem, if I prefer. I've not seen any discussion on the intel devices here. What to do!?

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000144842180.html
To be honest, i'd stick with the snapdragon units. The only thing that makes the hassle with electronics from China bearable is the community support. And as far as I know there is almost nobody with an Intel unit. You'd be on your own... If all else fails i'd file a dispute with AliExpress or PayPal. Sometimes you get unlucky with these things.
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2019, 09:45 AM   #717
nurif20
New Member
0
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: BMW F20
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Guys,
when i do a OTA Update. For what reasons i have the factory xml file. Do i need to put it into my configuration in the factory settings?
Or just let it on the usb flash while updating
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2019, 11:32 AM   #718
Firefly1337
Private
Firefly1337's Avatar
Germany
45
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: F20 M135i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

RaceX58
Alright, good news. After fiddling around with (Ed)Xposed for a while, I finally have it working with the InputManager. No lag whatsoever.
Using Xposed, by hooking the android system process it is possible to give any package any permission. So I just gave my own App the system level INJECT_EVENT permission and can now inject inputs just fine.

Now all I need is a list of all broadcasted Integers to do the mapping and in theory this should work.

Can someone also compile a list of all apps where the iDrive controller already works by default? I included a little blacklist function to avoid duplicate inputs but need the package names.
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2019, 11:50 AM   #719
koutsouk
Private First Class
24
Rep
151
Posts

Drives: BMW E60
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Greece

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefly1337 View Post
RaceX58
Alright, good news. After fiddling around with (Ed)Xposed for a while, I finally have it working with the InputManager. No lag whatsoever.
Using Xposed, by hooking the android system process it is possible to give any package any permission. So I just gave my own App the system level INJECT_EVENT permission and can now inject inputs just fine.

Now all I need is a list of all broadcasted Integers to do the mapping and in theory this should work.

Can someone also compile a list of all apps where the iDrive controller already works by default? I included a little blacklist function to avoid duplicate inputs but need the package names.
So that means that by installing your apk idrive will work with any app?
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2019, 12:33 PM   #720
Firefly1337
Private
Firefly1337's Avatar
Germany
45
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: F20 M135i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Yes, that is the idea.

But I need the correct values first and I can't test it myself yet.
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2019, 12:52 PM   #721
koutsouk
Private First Class
24
Rep
151
Posts

Drives: BMW E60
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Greece

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefly1337 View Post
Yes, that is the idea.

But I need the correct values first and I can't test it myself yet.
These are great news !!
Please make it compatible with android 8 also if that is possible !
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2019, 01:48 PM   #722
Mirjam
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
49
Posts

Drives: BMW E87, F10, i3
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefly1337 View Post
Alright, good news. After fiddling around with (Ed)Xposed for a while, I finally have it working with the InputManager. No lag whatsoever.
Can this also intercept the buttons on iDrive, and make it possible to customize which app they open?
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2019, 02:07 PM   #723
Firefly1337
Private
Firefly1337's Avatar
Germany
45
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: F20 M135i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

If the button press ends up as a Broadcast aswell then yes, it can be intercepted.
But I don't know how much is hardcoded in the MCU.
If it's only KswLauncher opening the App, that can be replaced with Xposed.
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2019, 08:43 AM   #724
smahel
Private First Class
49
Rep
123
Posts

Drives: M235i, X1, MINI Cooper
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 M235i  [4.50]
Would someone with a rooted px6 Android 9 unit be kind enough to back up (for example using the Official TWRP App from the Play Store) and post here or pm me recovery.img ? Thanks
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2019, 10:08 AM   #725
addikt
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
15
Posts

Drives: BMW 328 xi (F30)
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Day 3 of failed install - reconnect all wires?

First post: been struggling (like some others) to install the Avin 10.25 Android 9 display for my CIC F30. Currently I get 'no signal' on the iDrive, no audio anywhere, and I can't eject my CD.

Today I disconnected the Avin unit and wiring harness, restoring the 'native' CIC display and wiring, and I just get a 'BMW' logo on the screen. Something is horked - it is all original wiring back in place.

Question: do I need to re-connect ALL the wires to make iDrive 'connect', e.g. the hazard lights and the temp control? I just have the head unit and the display connected right now.
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2019, 01:07 PM   #726
mrsimes
Enlisted Member
9
Rep
45
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro-Owner View Post
To be honest, i'd stick with the snapdragon units. The only thing that makes the hassle with electronics from China bearable is the community support. And as far as I know there is almost nobody with an Intel unit. You'd be on your own... If all else fails i'd file a dispute with AliExpress or PayPal. Sometimes you get unlucky with these things.
Thanks - that's good advice. The forum here is brilliant for the snapdragon units. I'll wait for them to send the audio filter and report back here on whether it does indeed fix it.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST