F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > F30/F20 TPMS Retrofit
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-21-2016, 08:05 AM   #23
Lancelot
Major
France
357
Rep
1,060
Posts

Drives: 2014 M Sport ActiveHybrid3
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Also why is this thread about rear view camera referencing the same PINs on the same connector? Confusing me.

A173*8B PIN 51 & 52 are mentionned for the rear view camera, what happens if I need them for the TPMS?

http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...=873744&page=9
__________________
2014 M Sport ActiveHybrid 3
M Performance BBK - F80 CFRP struts brace - Quaife LSD - M adaptive suspension/ST sport springs - Akrapovic Exhaust - HJS EU6 downpipe - Wagner Evo2 Comp IC - BMC air filter - Powerflex Black Subframe Bushings - Bimmertech amp with Focal speakers
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2016, 10:22 AM   #24
atzebmw
Major
Germany
253
Rep
1,182
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Yes that's normal.
Because these 2 wires are for the CAN-Bus.
And this can branch off multiple.
As i remember these 2 PINs are also for the trailer hitch.
So if you have a trailer hitch you also can branch off these two wires in the trunk if you find them there.
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2016, 10:41 AM   #25
Lancelot
Major
France
357
Rep
1,060
Posts

Drives: 2014 M Sport ActiveHybrid3
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Ah OK so I can just take the existing orange/green orange cables and do a Y with each?
Sorry for the beginner questions, first time i'm tapping into what i understand is the CAN bus.

Thanks for your help
__________________
2014 M Sport ActiveHybrid 3
M Performance BBK - F80 CFRP struts brace - Quaife LSD - M adaptive suspension/ST sport springs - Akrapovic Exhaust - HJS EU6 downpipe - Wagner Evo2 Comp IC - BMC air filter - Powerflex Black Subframe Bushings - Bimmertech amp with Focal speakers
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2016, 11:03 AM   #26
atzebmw
Major
Germany
253
Rep
1,182
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Yes, make a Y with each cable.
Appreciate 1
Lancelot356.50

      09-05-2016, 01:50 PM   #27
Lancelot
Major
France
357
Rep
1,060
Posts

Drives: 2014 M Sport ActiveHybrid3
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

I made it finally thanks to the extremely valuable info from you here.

I got my ECU 6855180 (from gribouille1210 thanks !) + 4 sensors 6798872 from Ebay Germany, then wired per the instructions here + more explanations from gribouille.

+ holder 36206852245 to the bottom tank (I think it would have worked fine in the trunk too to be honest).

The wiring goes under the car through a hole underneath the combox in the trunk, power from fuse 132 (used an "add a fuse" device like this one ) and the ground from the lighter ground wire in the trunk

Then FDL coding with almost exact instructions here, one slight change:
Quote:
FEM
RC_RDC_ENABLE = aktiv

ICMQL
IcmKod_B_S2VBA = verbaut

DSC
C_Funktion_RDCi_l = nicht_aktiv
C_Funktion_RPA_e = nicht_aktiv
C_RPA_Extra = nicht_aktiv

HU_NBT
RDC = aktiv
RDC_DRUCK_TEMP = druck_und_temperatur
RDC_FORTSCHRITTSANZEIGE = nicht_aktiv
REIFENUEBERWACHUNG_RDC_RPA = rdc
RPA = nicht_aktiv

KOMBI
ST_TYR_RDC_ALIVE = aktiv
ST_TYR_RDC_TIMEOUT = aktiv
KOMBI DSC_MIT_RPA = ohne_RPA
One question though, perhaps to atzebmw - I see in HU_NBT an option named RDC_SAFETY, which is set to "nicht_aktiv" - why is that? Why not "aktiv"?
__________________
2014 M Sport ActiveHybrid 3
M Performance BBK - F80 CFRP struts brace - Quaife LSD - M adaptive suspension/ST sport springs - Akrapovic Exhaust - HJS EU6 downpipe - Wagner Evo2 Comp IC - BMC air filter - Powerflex Black Subframe Bushings - Bimmertech amp with Focal speakers
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2016, 02:30 PM   #28
Lancelot
Major
France
357
Rep
1,060
Posts

Drives: 2014 M Sport ActiveHybrid3
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

I just change d RDC_SAFETY to aktiv and RDC_FORTSCHRITTSANZEIGE to aktiv just to see the difference.

And for good measure, a photo
Attached Images
 
__________________
2014 M Sport ActiveHybrid 3
M Performance BBK - F80 CFRP struts brace - Quaife LSD - M adaptive suspension/ST sport springs - Akrapovic Exhaust - HJS EU6 downpipe - Wagner Evo2 Comp IC - BMC air filter - Powerflex Black Subframe Bushings - Bimmertech amp with Focal speakers
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2016, 08:43 AM   #29
THE_AVIATOR
Private
THE_AVIATOR's Avatar
Egypt
8
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: F30 320i LCI M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Hi all,

I'm thinking about retrofitting TPMS in my F30 LCI. As per the above instructions and part numbers, I find that the TPMS module is not available for F30 LCI. Any one has any idea about a new part number, or if it was integrated in another module?

Thanks a lot
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2016, 08:52 AM   #30
atzebmw
Major
Germany
253
Rep
1,182
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE_AVIATOR View Post
Hi all,

I'm thinking about retrofitting TPMS in my F30 LCI. As per the above instructions and part numbers, I find that the TPMS module is not available for F30 LCI. Any one has any idea about a new part number, or if it was integrated in another module?

Thanks a lot
The F30 LCI has the TPMS as standard.
It is standard since end 2014.
You can see it at the tyre valve.
If ou have TPMS you have a metal valve.
If you don't have TPMS you have a black rubber valve.

I think you only have to activate the display of the pressure and temperature.
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2016, 08:54 AM   #31
atzebmw
Major
Germany
253
Rep
1,182
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lancelot View Post

One question though, perhaps to atzebmw - I see in HU_NBT an option named RDC_SAFETY, which is set to "nicht_aktiv" - why is that? Why not "aktiv"?
I think this value makes no difference.
But I must also admit that I do not know what that value means.

The codings from above are exactly the same like VO coding.

Last edited by atzebmw; 09-06-2016 at 09:22 AM..
Appreciate 1
Lancelot356.50

      09-06-2016, 09:04 AM   #32
THE_AVIATOR
Private
THE_AVIATOR's Avatar
Egypt
8
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: F30 320i LCI M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
The F30 LCI has the TPMS as standard.
It is standard since end 2014.
You can see it at the tyre valve.
If ou have TPMS you have a metal valve.
If you don't have TPMS you have a black rubber valve.

I think you only have to activate the display of the pressure and temperature.
I have a rubber valve
But does that mean, if I get sensors, then I'm good to go? :O
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2016, 09:13 AM   #33
atzebmw
Major
Germany
253
Rep
1,182
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE_AVIATOR View Post
I have a rubber valve
But does that mean, if I get sensors, then I'm good to go? :O
I really wonder about this.
But maybe only in germany the TPMS is standard since end 2014.

If you want to retrofit the TPMS you need the sensors in the tyres, the control unit, 4 cables and someone to code it.
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2016, 09:25 AM   #34
THE_AVIATOR
Private
THE_AVIATOR's Avatar
Egypt
8
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: F30 320i LCI M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
I really wonder about this.
But maybe only in germany the TPMS is standard since end 2014.

If you want to retrofit the TPMS you need the sensors in the tyres, the control unit, 4 cables and someone to code it.
Thanks! This is weird, I just checked on technical document for LCI, and there's no TPMS module present, while in pre-LCI it is present.

When I check on bmwfans.info there's nothing for F30 LCI to do with any TPMS modules. So, may be the module is integrated in FEM, REM (more logical) or ICM?
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2016, 09:43 AM   #35
atzebmw
Major
Germany
253
Rep
1,182
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE_AVIATOR View Post
Thanks! This is weird, I just checked on technical document for LCI, and there's no TPMS module present, while in pre-LCI it is present.

When I check on bmwfans.info there's nothing for F30 LCI to do with any TPMS modules. So, may be the module is integrated in FEM, REM (more logical) or ICM?
Normally the control unit for TPMS from 03/2014 is integrated in the DSC-Modul.
Before 03/2014 there was an own control unit.
In my car (and some other users here) i have a control unit from a BMW F10, which works too.
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2016, 09:54 AM   #36
THE_AVIATOR
Private
THE_AVIATOR's Avatar
Egypt
8
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: F30 320i LCI M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
Normally the control unit for TPMS from 03/2014 is integrated in the DSC-Modul.
Before 03/2014 there was an own control unit.
In my car (and some other users here) i have a control unit from a BMW F10, which works too.
That's a screenshot from E-Sys of my DSC Module! This means, it has built-in RDCi, correct? If so, I guess, if I get the sensors (metal valves) and do the coding, it should work.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2016, 10:37 AM   #37
atzebmw
Major
Germany
253
Rep
1,182
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE_AVIATOR View Post
That's a screenshot from E-Sys of my DSC Module! This means, it has built-in RDCi, correct? If so, I guess, if I get the sensors (metal valves) and do the coding, it should work.
No.
These codings can be found in all cars, also with no TPMS.
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2016, 01:29 PM   #38
THE_AVIATOR
Private
THE_AVIATOR's Avatar
Egypt
8
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: F30 320i LCI M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
On your pic it is Nr. 9.

For coding you can VO code "2VB" in FEM, ICM, HU_NBT, Kombi and DSC.
Or here the manually codings:

FEM
RC_RDC_ENABLE = aktiv

ICMQL
IcmKod_B_S2VBA = verbaut

DSC
C_Funktion_RDCi_l = nicht_aktiv
C_Funktion_RPA_e = nicht_aktiv
C_RPA_Extra = nicht_aktiv

HU_NBT
RDC = aktiv
RDC_DRUCK_TEMP = aktiv
RDC_FORTSCHRITTSANZEIGE = nicht_aktiv
REIFENUEBERWACHUNG_RDC_RPA = rdc
RPA = nicht_aktiv

KOMBI
ST_TYR_RDC_ALIVE = aktiv
ST_TYR_RDC_TIMEOUT = aktiv
KOMBI DSC_MIT_RPA = ohne_RPA

atzebmw I have a question about the DSC coding, shouldn't C_Funktion_RDCi_l be aktive?
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2016, 02:22 PM   #39
atzebmw
Major
Germany
253
Rep
1,182
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE_AVIATOR View Post
atzebmw I have a question about the DSC coding, shouldn't C_Funktion_RDCi_l be aktive?
That's a good question.
I just checked this and am confused.
At my old F30 with retrofitted RDC this value was "nicht_aktiv".
At my new F30 with RDC as standard has this value "aktiv".
But it also worked at both cars.
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2016, 02:57 PM   #40
THE_AVIATOR
Private
THE_AVIATOR's Avatar
Egypt
8
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: F30 320i LCI M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
That's a good question.
I just checked this and am confused.
At my old F30 with retrofitted RDC this value was "nicht_aktiv".
At my new F30 with RDC as standard has this value "aktiv".
But it also worked at both cars.
New F30 is LCI, or no?
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2016, 04:38 PM   #41
atzebmw
Major
Germany
253
Rep
1,182
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE_AVIATOR View Post
New F30 is LCI, or no?
Yes
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2016, 06:00 PM   #42
THE_AVIATOR
Private
THE_AVIATOR's Avatar
Egypt
8
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: F30 320i LCI M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
Yes
Makes more sense, since LCI has TPMS integrated in DSC
Appreciate 1
vhs040.00

      11-03-2016, 06:45 PM   #43
atzebmw
Major
Germany
253
Rep
1,182
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE_AVIATOR View Post
Makes more sense, since LCI has TPMS integrated in DSC
Yes, of course you are right.
But also the pre LCI since 03/2014 had TPMS integrated in DSC.
Since 03/2014 the TPMS is built-in as standard in germany.

Did you get it to work at your car?
Appreciate 0
      11-04-2016, 03:31 AM   #44
THE_AVIATOR
Private
THE_AVIATOR's Avatar
Egypt
8
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: F30 320i LCI M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
Yes, of course you are right.
But also the pre LCI since 03/2014 had TPMS integrated in DSC.
Since 03/2014 the TPMS is built-in as standard in germany.

Did you get it to work at your car?
Not yet, still researching a few things
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST