F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Bimmercode app iOS/Android
proTUNING Freaks
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-19-2019, 10:30 AM   #485
Fronttwelv
Second Lieutenant
Fronttwelv's Avatar
United_States
36
Rep
208
Posts

Drives: 14 328i xdrive msport
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Columbus, OH

iTrader: (0)

Hi all, new to coding and wanting to try Bimmercode for ease of use and low entry cost.

I saw a few posts back about an adapter being used but I thought everyone was using the vgate one a few months back. Bimmercode website also says the vgate is not supported anymore. I'm asking about this adapter b/c it was once the best one to get and its also cheaper than the adapters Bimmercode recommends.

whats gives?
thanks
Drew
__________________
Present: 2014 f30 328xi MSport, 1992 VW GTi VR6 swapped
Past: 2010 335i 6 speed; 2008 VW GTi stage 2, 2004 Subie WRX FBO, 2003 20th Anny VW GTi FBO
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2019, 11:55 AM   #486
Mkswoosh
First Lieutenant
Mkswoosh's Avatar
78
Rep
357
Posts

Drives: 2018 340xi tanzanite blue
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Portland

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fronttwelv View Post
Hi all, new to coding and wanting to try Bimmercode for ease of use and low entry cost.

I saw a few posts back about an adapter being used but I thought everyone was using the vgate one a few months back. Bimmercode website also says the vgate is not supported anymore. I'm asking about this adapter b/c it was once the best one to get and its also cheaper than the adapters Bimmercode recommends.

whats gives?
thanks
Drew
I would follow what bimmercode suggest. My veepeek works well on my f30. But on my wife's 2019 x3 I'm not able to change half of her settings. Since the adapter wasnt 100% compatible
Appreciate 1
      07-19-2019, 12:29 PM   #487
jmciver
Captain
jmciver's Avatar
United_States
363
Rep
826
Posts

Drives: '17 M3 ZCP - STM, '05 M3 - IR
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: DMV

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 BMW M3  [0.00]
2005 BMW M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fronttwelv View Post
Hi all, new to coding and wanting to try Bimmercode for ease of use and low entry cost.

I saw a few posts back about an adapter being used but I thought everyone was using the vgate one a few months back. Bimmercode website also says the vgate is not supported anymore. I'm asking about this adapter b/c it was once the best one to get and its also cheaper than the adapters Bimmercode recommends.

whats gives?
thanks
Drew
I have been using the "original" Vgate adapter on my F80 for the past 2 years - still works fine with the latest app update. I suspect Vgate recently changed their hardware specs which is why it is no longer compatible with BimmerCode. It is what it is, and I would recommend you don't take a chance on trying to find an older one - it could be a waste of time and $$. Besides, it sounds like some of the newer interfaces are faster and more reliable anyway..
__________________
2017 Smoked Topaz Metallic ZCP F80 M3 - The Daily Street Monster
2005 Imola Red E46 M3 - TTFS Tuned, VF Engineering Supercharged, 560HP Track Prepped Monster, Yet Still Very Streetable
Appreciate 1
      07-24-2019, 01:41 PM   #488
ImBlue
Enlisted Member
Canada
11
Rep
35
Posts

Drives: 2016 BMW 340i xDrive MPPSK
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
The iOS app(3.1 9481) which I updated today still lists "Vgate iCar Wifi" and "Vgate iCar Pro Bluetooth 4.0".

I didn't know the website had different recommendations and bought the vgate bluetooth just last weekend. I already threw out the box.
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2019, 10:44 AM   #489
Steve_M_Sport
Major
Steve_M_Sport's Avatar
United Kingdom
320
Rep
1,413
Posts

Drives: F31 340i M Sport Touring
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leicestershire

iTrader: (0)

Please can someone advise how to code Enhanced Bluetooth with Bimmercode ? I am after the text message function.

I bought the Vgate 4.0 BT adapter from Amazon yesterday and it works perfectly as I have just coded a lot of functions on my 2019 F31 without any problems.
__________________
2019 F31 340i M Sport Shadow Edition | Tanzanite Blue | BMW Individual Extended White Merino Leather | Leather Dashboard | Panoramic Sunroof | Folding Door Mirrors | HBA | Reversing Camera | Adaptive Suspension | Pro Nav |

Previous : 2017 F31 335D M-Sport

Last edited by Steve_M_Sport; 07-25-2019 at 12:28 PM..
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2019, 01:07 PM   #490
Steve_M_Sport
Major
Steve_M_Sport's Avatar
United Kingdom
320
Rep
1,413
Posts

Drives: F31 340i M Sport Touring
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leicestershire

iTrader: (0)

Does Bimmercode have an option to turn on fog lights on unlocking the car ?
__________________
2019 F31 340i M Sport Shadow Edition | Tanzanite Blue | BMW Individual Extended White Merino Leather | Leather Dashboard | Panoramic Sunroof | Folding Door Mirrors | HBA | Reversing Camera | Adaptive Suspension | Pro Nav |

Previous : 2017 F31 335D M-Sport
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2019, 08:15 AM   #491
Somebloke
Private First Class
58
Rep
162
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve_M_Sport View Post
Does Bimmercode have an option to turn on fog lights on unlocking the car ?
Yes, as part of coding for the Welcome Lights.
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2019, 12:18 PM   #492
Steve_M_Sport
Major
Steve_M_Sport's Avatar
United Kingdom
320
Rep
1,413
Posts

Drives: F31 340i M Sport Touring
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leicestershire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Somebloke View Post
Yes, as part of coding for the Welcome Lights.
I did the coding but the fog lights still didnít come on when I unlocked the car. I then realised the headlight switch was not on Auto and now it is they come on

Problem solved
__________________
2019 F31 340i M Sport Shadow Edition | Tanzanite Blue | BMW Individual Extended White Merino Leather | Leather Dashboard | Panoramic Sunroof | Folding Door Mirrors | HBA | Reversing Camera | Adaptive Suspension | Pro Nav |

Previous : 2017 F31 335D M-Sport
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2019, 06:47 PM   #493
rvx
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: F57
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: STGT

iTrader: (0)

Does anyone know how to turn on fog lights when breaking in Expert Mode?
Also where can I set ACC & DCC to over 140km/h?
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2019, 06:40 AM   #494
J-RO
Second Lieutenant
174
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: BMW 4 series
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: A Place I Like To Call ďYouíll SeeĒ

iTrader: (0)

Has ANYBODY been able to code Brake Force Display and have the rear brake lights flash on a 2018 4 series? This is driving me crazy. If you have please share the procedure. Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2019, 05:29 AM   #495
P333RSS
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: Bmw 435d f32
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Stoke-on-Trent

iTrader: (0)

BimmerCode Bluetooth adaptor

Hi guys, I'm new to this and recently brought my first bmw, I've had the 435d 2014 and I've just brought an adapter off amazon, however I'm not sure whether it is compatible with my f32 or not?

Is there anyone on here that has used this adapter on the same vehicle or no?

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B071D8SY..._mxyvDb929ENMP

Thanks in advance.
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2019, 07:53 AM   #496
darrylmavin
Registered
United Kingdom
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 04/2016 F31 335d
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Tonbridge

iTrader: (0)

I recently retro fitted my screen from a 6.5" to 8.8", and I understand I need to code the following :

HU_NBT > 3000 HMI > DISPLAY_SIZE_RESOLUTION = 8.8_1280x480
HU_NBT > 3001 EXBOX > DISPLAY_VARIANTE = breites_display

TL,DR
Setting the resolution from 6.5 to 8.8 makes whole screen go blank, changing the setting back to 6.5 makes no difference, screen is still blank. restoring from backup = partial screen display.
I am using bimmercode on an iPad Pro with an esys cable, but when I try code the above values I get inconsistent results. The coding always works but the results are not always the same.

With the default settings of :
HU_NBT > 3000 HMI > DISPLAY_SIZE_RESOLUTION = 6.5_800x480
HU_NBT > 3001 EXBOX > DISPLAY_VARIANTE = schmales_display
and without any coding, the 8.8" screen sort of works, I get the start up animation using the whole width of the screen, then the screen contents shift to the left and the right part of screen is blank.

When I code both options at the same time, it doesn't make any difference to what I see on the screen. When I try different options for the resolution and display variant - no difference.

I tried coding the options 1 at a time, and sometimes when I set the display resolution to 8.8_1280x480, the whole screen goes black. If I try to set the screen resolution back to 6.5, it makes no difference, the screen is still black. Only way to get the screen back is to restore from the original (first) backup.

What is the correct procedure to code these 2 options?
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2019, 08:25 AM   #497
machman767
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
50
Rep
246
Posts

Drives: 320d Sport auto
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Preston

iTrader: (0)

P333RSS, I've recently bought the same adapter, works fine on my F30 with bimmercode, changed the screen resolution and coded in smartphone ringtone, no problem.
Mick
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2019, 10:39 PM   #498
MyNameIsNotSure
Private
10
Rep
99
Posts

Drives: 2016 340i MT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ventura, CA

iTrader: (0)

I did some coding with bimmercode yesterday and today just noticed it reset my EQ/stereo sound settings to default, which I had spent a ton of time setting up. And yes stupidly I didnít write them down anywhere. Iím wondering if restoring from a backup in bimmercode will also restore my old sound settings? Or is it back to square one..
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2019, 10:48 PM   #499
natesi
First Lieutenant
136
Rep
315
Posts

Drives: 2016 328i xDrive
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (0)

It probably wiped out a lot of stuff -- including your pre-sets. Apparently this is "expected behavior" when writing to certain modules. Someone suggested backing up your BMW profile to USB and then restoring it after the programming.
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2019, 10:48 PM   #500
Eschmacher
Car Hypochondriac
113
Rep
413
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i M-Sport Estoril Blue
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sterling, VA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyNameIsNotSure View Post
I did some coding with bimmercode yesterday and today just noticed it reset my EQ/stereo sound settings to default, which I had spent a ton of time setting up. And yes stupidly I didnít write them down anywhere. Iím wondering if restoring from a backup in bimmercode will also restore my old sound settings? Or is it back to square one..
Sadly, you're back to square one. Any time you code CIC or NBT it will reset the EQ. I take a pic of my EQ before coding those.
__________________
Power mods: VRSF CP/IC/Catted DP - AFE Cat-back - BM3 S2 93 - XHP S2
Handling mods: M Performance LSD - M3 brakes w/EBC yellow - Michelin PSS
Exterior: Euro LCI tail lights - Shitty ECS CF spoiler - Chinese M performance diffuser
Interior: Bavsound stage 1 and subs - aftermarket amp setup for underseat subs
Future mods: M3 springs - front camber mods
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2019, 03:01 AM   #501
machman767
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
50
Rep
246
Posts

Drives: 320d Sport auto
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Preston

iTrader: (0)

I just have stock sound in my car, I'm sure I read once that you can code "extra" sound settings or am I just dreaming?!
Mick
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2019, 01:22 PM   #502
Flexray
New Member
Flexray's Avatar
5
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: m235i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Does anyone know if bimmercode ios back ups work if the VO is different?

Basically i recently retrofitted fold mirrors to my car and vo coded the car and lost my fdl settings and had to remember them and manually enter them again after figuring out what was different,
I now want to vo code my car again for electric seats and don't want to lose all my fdl settings, will the bimmercode back ups work after a vo code?

Anyone know?

Edited: lost all my settings ☹️
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2019, 04:08 AM   #503
richatha
First Lieutenant
richatha's Avatar
England
131
Rep
375
Posts

Drives: 340i
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Leeds

iTrader: (0)

Hi everyone,

Does anyone know if bimmercode has the ability to clear warnings? My friend is getting a adaptive head light warning even though the issue has been resolved and am just wanting to get it cleared. I have bimmercode but not sure if this can do it or if we need something else to clear it off?
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2019, 04:09 AM   #504
richatha
First Lieutenant
richatha's Avatar
England
131
Rep
375
Posts

Drives: 340i
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Leeds

iTrader: (0)

Hi everyone,

Does anyone know if bimmercode has the ability to clear warnings? My friend is getting a adaptive head light warning even though the issue has been resolved and am just wanting to get it cleared. I have bimmercode but not sure if this can do it or if we need something else to clear it off?
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2019, 02:47 PM   #505
///M Houbi
Major
///M Houbi's Avatar
Switzerland
1435
Rep
1,224
Posts

Drives: M2 Competition
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by richatha View Post
Hi everyone,

Does anyone know if bimmercode has the ability to clear warnings? My friend is getting a adaptive head light warning even though the issue has been resolved and am just wanting to get it cleared. I have bimmercode but not sure if this can do it or if we need something else to clear it off?
You could use BimmerLink for that, but not BimmerCode. Or many other diag apps as well.
Appreciate 0
      10-23-2019, 03:17 AM   #506
swan776
Registered
Latvia
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: F34 20d
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Riga

iTrader: (0)

Hi everyone,

Does anyone know why I can't get to the section Exper mode in Kafas block?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST