F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > BMW Coding Database
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-28-2013, 06:01 PM   #1
PandaNL
Enlisted Member
15
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: F21 118ia EB
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

BMW Coding Database

Hello,

I have something to share with all of you, I created a windows application to view and submit coding for F-series and E-series. I find it sometimes hard to find the right codings in the maze of cheat sheets and so on, that is why i decided to write this application.

v1.4 is ready for download



Download link: BMW Coding Database Setup

Changelog v1.4

- Fixed an error on the own codings tab that would, load empty lines on F-series.
- Allowing reordering columns
*NEW*- Organize codings done to your car, and save them in a profile for each car.

Changelog v1.2.1

- Added Offline Mode
- Print functionality
- Export to CSV and XML
- Edit own codings
- Multi Submit
- Group ID
- Search when typing

Last edited by PandaNL; 10-15-2015 at 07:57 AM..
Appreciate 6
      08-28-2013, 06:07 PM   #2
HFW003
Colonel
HFW003's Avatar
Australia
1880
Rep
2,669
Posts

Drives: MY19 LBB M2 Comp
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Newcastle, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Great work!

I certainly appreciate your effort mate, well done.
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2013, 06:20 PM   #3
10nelyboi
Private First Class
10
Rep
143
Posts

Drives: 2012 - 335I
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Looks great. Thanks for sharing. I would suggest an export method & print feature.
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2013, 08:41 PM   #4
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
3781
Rep
20,472
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Nice work!
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2013, 03:44 AM   #5
PandaNL
Enlisted Member
15
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: F21 118ia EB
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

An export & print mode seems indeed handy, will add it to the to-do list.
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2013, 10:31 AM   #6
jelecroy
Enlisted Member
United_States
8
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i, 2014 328i
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 BMW 328i  [0.00]
This looks like a really useful tool. I am looking forward to trying it out.
Thank you!
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2013, 01:59 PM   #7
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
195
Rep
1,892
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Very nice layout. What did you write this in?

There's not much F30 stuff there, I'll start populating it when I get a chance.

Thanks for doing this!
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2013, 06:07 PM   #8
PandaNL
Enlisted Member
15
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: F21 118ia EB
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Application is written in C# .net.
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2013, 01:09 PM   #9
howiegu
Member
howiegu's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
197
Posts

Drives: 16' 340xi Msport
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New England

iTrader: (0)

Absolute fantastic work! Many thanks for sharing
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2013, 01:47 PM   #10
Chieflpc
Enlisted Member
Chieflpc's Avatar
4
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: 2013 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Very nice work
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2013, 04:37 PM   #11
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
195
Rep
1,892
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

I loaded up a lot of the settings I use for F30's last night.

I have a few more to put in. I'll try to add them over the weekend.

Thanks for putting this together!
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2013, 12:30 PM   #12
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
195
Rep
1,892
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

I've added all of the "normal" codes I have for F30's to the database.

I made 2 typos that I know of. I submitted two error report emails; are you receiving them?

It would be nice to be able to edit/correct things in the database ourselves without having to bother you.
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2013, 01:47 PM   #13
PandaNL
Enlisted Member
15
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: F21 118ia EB
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Yes Frogman, I received them and corrected the typo's.

Will put you're suggestion on my to-do list. Thank you.
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2013, 04:18 PM   #14
kruemel
Enlisted Member
Switzerland
6
Rep
46
Posts

Drives: M3 Mineral White
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lucerne

iTrader: (0)

I tested your software today and i have to say:
NICE Work and thank's a lot Panda for your time!

Some question at this point.

I synchronized the software to use it in the car, but if i dont have internet i get a sql error.
Did i made something wrong or is it correct that i need internet connection all the time?

Regards
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2013, 04:50 PM   #15
JesseS
Private First Class
8
Rep
173
Posts

Drives: BMW 3/15 DA-2
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC

iTrader: (0)

Runs on a Mac (10.7.5) under Parallels 7 in a 32-bit winxp vm w/ no problems.

Well, no problems of any significance.

Scrolling is a bit weird but I've no idea how it behaves on physical hardware so can't really compare.
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2013, 06:48 AM   #16
PandaNL
Enlisted Member
15
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: F21 118ia EB
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Kruemel you need to have a inet connection when loading data, after the data is loaded you can apply filters or remove them. But whenever you press get data again it will try to reconnect to the database and fails because of no connection.

I will work on an offline mode.
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2013, 09:20 PM   #17
Yobyot
Captain
Yobyot's Avatar
323
Rep
916
Posts

Drives: MY19 X3 M40i
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boston

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PandaNL View Post
Kruemel you need to have a inet connection when loading data, after the data is loaded you can apply filters or remove them. But whenever you press get data again it will try to reconnect to the database and fails because of no connection.

I will work on an offline mode.
What a killer idea!

If you ever got an offline version working, what do you think of allowing a user to check the mods they'd made to their car? Even better, for those of us who code for friends, it might allow us to save each car's coded configuration.

Then, we could print out the status of each car.
__________________
MY18 X3 30i:
Produced: 2018-03-15; Delivered: 2018-03-29
MY19 X3 M40i:
Produced: 2018-08-15; Delivered 2018-08-22
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2013, 10:18 PM   #18
JesseS
Private First Class
8
Rep
173
Posts

Drives: BMW 3/15 DA-2
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PandaNL View Post
Kruemel you need to have a inet connection when loading data, after the data is loaded you can apply filters or remove them. But whenever you press get data again it will try to reconnect to the database and fails because of no connection.

I will work on an offline mode.
You might want to consider search-ability as part of your offline effort as it would be really nice to be able to enter a search query of some type and inclusively filter that as well.

(Not sure how you're doing offline mode, but the sqlite3 .net stuff is pretty keen and fts on sqlite is incredibly easy)

Last edited by JesseS; 09-01-2013 at 11:04 PM..
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2013, 04:12 PM   #19
PandaNL
Enlisted Member
15
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: F21 118ia EB
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

A search ability is definetly coming to search for descriptions e.g Video-in-motion.

I'm not quite sure how I will do the offline mode, but will look into the sqlite3 .net.

@Yobyot: I find a seperate configuration file for each car a very good idea, however it doesn't have my top priority.
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2013, 11:30 AM   #20
KKHC
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i xDrive
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario

iTrader: (0)

Great consolidation of info, and slick interface. Thanks for the hard work.
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2013, 07:20 AM   #21
Poohbore
Second Lieutenant
Wales
7
Rep
252
Posts

Drives: Mineral White F31 xDrive
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

Newb question (sorry)

I've installed the files on my laptop but when i click to get the data it says that it cant find any of the sql databases.

Where am i going wrong ?
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2013, 11:59 AM   #22
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
195
Rep
1,892
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poohbore View Post
Newb question (sorry)

I've installed the files on my laptop but when i click to get the data it says that it cant find any of the sql databases.

Where am i going wrong ?
Is your laptop connected to the internet?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST