F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > N55 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > bootmod3 for BMW F series Vehicles - General Discussion
proTUNING Freaks
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-29-2016, 09:02 PM   #243
harkes
Lieutenant Colonel
harkes's Avatar
China
775
Rep
1,824
Posts

Drives: M135i, NSX and AE86
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Xiamen, China

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arrow29 View Post
Am following this with great interest, but am also quite new to flashes. Would there be many tangible benefits to switching to BM3 in my EWG M135i with JB4/DP/E30?

A flash seems like the most complete option to me and I could see the benefits if going for more extensive mods such as PS2 etc, but am unclear as to whether it would be worthwhile at my level of mods?

Cheers
Many factors here but if you max your turbo with jb4 then there is very little to no performance to gain with bm3. bm3 win on the "integration" side of things. A little faster spool, smoother operation. If you are happy with the way your jb4 is running then I suggest you to stick with that
__________________
M135i PWG, MHD, Pure Stage2, Torqbyte CM5-LT, xHP
(A Dane in China)
Appreciate 0
      12-29-2016, 10:07 PM   #244
FThirtyFive
Private First Class
87
Rep
99
Posts

Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Haliburton

iTrader: (0)

All you do with a JB is crank up boost. Its given me so much headache with malfunctions and random codes for TMAP got tired. With BM3 you adjust everything and I never got a malfunction. You get to adjust your fuel also as well as ignition timing properly for whatever your boost is. Big difference IMHO.
Appreciate 2
FSociety3328.00
PabloK453.00

      12-29-2016, 10:32 PM   #245
FSociety
@BM3Tuning @TristateBM3 @HCP.us
FSociety's Avatar
No_Country
3328
Rep
7,259
Posts

Drives: F98 X4MC, F90 M5, F80 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NYC NJ FL

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by FThirtyFive View Post
All you do with a JB is crank up boost. Its given me so much headache with malfunctions and random codes for TMAP got tired. With BM3 you adjust everything and I never got a malfunction. You get to adjust your fuel also as well as ignition timing properly for whatever your boost is. Big difference IMHO.
+1 Exactly, even slowF32

PS.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/122087082218?ul_noapp=true

OBD2 to ENET Cable
Ask seller you want it in a customized size length, color red/blue/black etc
__________________
F90 M5 BM3Tuning STG2 0-60 2.6 -- 1/4 Mile 10.2@138mph -- 60-130 6.1
F98 X4M TristateBM3 STG1 0-60 3.0 -- 1/4 Mile 10.8@127mph -- 60-130 8.1

IG: bmw_F9XM


Last edited by FSociety; 12-30-2016 at 12:57 AM..
Appreciate 1
      12-30-2016, 01:03 PM   #246
FVierra27
Private First Class
FVierra27's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
98
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i M Sport
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Morgan Hill, CA

iTrader: (0)

Has anyone had experience with bootmod3 and warranty issues? If the dealership was to flash the ECU would you have to get it unlocked again? My car is CPO and I have a warranty but I've got the itch for speeeeed.

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      12-31-2016, 11:21 PM   #247
Zel335
First Lieutenant
Zel335's Avatar
80
Rep
305
Posts

Drives: 2012 335I Sport
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Opelika, AL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FVierra27 View Post
Has anyone had experience with bootmod3 and warranty issues? If the dealership was to flash the ECU would you have to get it unlocked again? My car is CPO and I have a warranty but I've got the itch for speeeeed.

Thanks!
From my understandings, when you have your ECU unlocked it's done to the board itself. So no amount of ECU flash from the dealer will change that. I can't speak however if you wouldn't need to reflash the bootmod software back on after the deal flashed it.
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2017, 09:35 PM   #248
Jadar
Dejan
Jadar's Avatar
Serbia
1643
Rep
4,184
Posts

Drives: 2018 Audi S3
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan Ave.

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zel335 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by FVierra27 View Post
Has anyone had experience with bootmod3 and warranty issues? If the dealership was to flash the ECU would you have to get it unlocked again? My car is CPO and I have a warranty but I've got the itch for speeeeed.

Thanks!
From my understandings, when you have your ECU unlocked it's done to the board itself. So no amount of ECU flash from the dealer will change that. I can't speak however if you wouldn't need to reflash the bootmod software back on after the deal flashed it.
Incorrect. If a dealer were to update the firmware in your dme off to stock land you go. It goes back to oem form. Even PTF can send you a file to lock it back to original state.

This goes for any bench flash or any unlock, dealer update just make sure to tell them to never update your dme.
__________________
FBO-PS1 and stuff
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2017, 04:34 AM   #249
FSociety
@BM3Tuning @TristateBM3 @HCP.us
FSociety's Avatar
No_Country
3328
Rep
7,259
Posts

Drives: F98 X4MC, F90 M5, F80 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NYC NJ FL

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
The great thing about Bootmod3, is that in order for you to activate you will have your stock file saved and added to your BM3. So whenever you visit the dealer just for giggles, flash it back to stock and let them do their work, when you get it back flash it back to your tune map without the need of visiting your tuner for reflash.

The GAME CHANGER!
__________________
F90 M5 BM3Tuning STG2 0-60 2.6 -- 1/4 Mile 10.2@138mph -- 60-130 6.1
F98 X4M TristateBM3 STG1 0-60 3.0 -- 1/4 Mile 10.8@127mph -- 60-130 8.1

IG: bmw_F9XM

Appreciate 1
Jadar1643.00

      01-02-2017, 08:58 AM   #250
Jadar
Dejan
Jadar's Avatar
Serbia
1643
Rep
4,184
Posts

Drives: 2018 Audi S3
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan Ave.

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSociety View Post
The great thing about Bootmod3, is that in order for you to activate you will have your stock file saved and added to your BM3. So whenever you visit the dealer just for giggles, flash it back to stock and let them do their work, when you get it back flash it back to your tune map without the need of visiting your tuner for reflash.

The GAME CHANGER!
This, but imperative they don't update your dme otherwise must unlock again.
__________________
FBO-PS1 and stuff
Appreciate 1
Stubok462.50

      01-02-2017, 09:16 PM   #251
harkes
Lieutenant Colonel
harkes's Avatar
China
775
Rep
1,824
Posts

Drives: M135i, NSX and AE86
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Xiamen, China

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FVierra27 View Post
Has anyone had experience with bootmod3 and warranty issues? If the dealership was to flash the ECU would you have to get it unlocked again? My car is CPO and I have a warranty but I've got the itch for speeeeed.

Thanks!
Yes, if the dealer update your DME, then you will have to take it out and OBD-unlock it again before you can reflash with bm3.
So better tell the dealer not to do any updates...in which case he will probably look at you a bit strange and realize what is going on
__________________
M135i PWG, MHD, Pure Stage2, Torqbyte CM5-LT, xHP
(A Dane in China)
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2017, 09:49 PM   #252
FSociety
@BM3Tuning @TristateBM3 @HCP.us
FSociety's Avatar
No_Country
3328
Rep
7,259
Posts

Drives: F98 X4MC, F90 M5, F80 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NYC NJ FL

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dejan_ View Post
This, but imperative they don't update your dme otherwise must unlock again.
Quote:
Originally Posted by harkes View Post
Yes, if the dealer update your DME, then you will have to take it out and OBD-unlock it again before you can reflash with bm3.
So better tell the dealer not to do any updates...in which case he will probably look at you a bit strange and realize what is going on
You guys been through updates where it loses the unlock?
I have among a few others locally gone thru updates and in the past we lose the flash but the unlock has stayed. (in 2015-16)
__________________
F90 M5 BM3Tuning STG2 0-60 2.6 -- 1/4 Mile 10.2@138mph -- 60-130 6.1
F98 X4M TristateBM3 STG1 0-60 3.0 -- 1/4 Mile 10.8@127mph -- 60-130 8.1

IG: bmw_F9XM

Appreciate 0
      01-02-2017, 10:19 PM   #253
Jadar
Dejan
Jadar's Avatar
Serbia
1643
Rep
4,184
Posts

Drives: 2018 Audi S3
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan Ave.

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSociety View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dejan_ View Post
This, but imperative they don't update your dme otherwise must unlock again.
Quote:
Originally Posted by harkes View Post
Yes, if the dealer update your DME, then you will have to take it out and OBD-unlock it again before you can reflash with bm3.
So better tell the dealer not to do any updates...in which case he will probably look at you a bit strange and realize what is going on
You guys been through updates where it loses the unlock?
I have among a few others locally gone thru updates and in the past we lose the flash but the unlock has stayed. (in 2015-16)
Wait wait wait why in theeee hell would you go in for service with a bm3 map set to on? Doesn't that act defeat one of the main golden features of BM3 and being able to go to a stock oem map?

And to top it they flashed over it..I can tell you 100% BMW knows and has you flagged. My friend who is a master tech at Knauz BMW in Illinois and I just had this conversation today and he said BMW 100% knows regardless of what we have grown to think or know that if anything was ever altered with the dme.
He said the only thing they can't see is a jb4 at this point. They've had cars with jb4 come in unplugged and nothing happened.

And I have no clue if my unlock would go back to stock, I do my own maintenance and service but the handful of times it's been in, I've instructed them to NEVER update my DME.
__________________
FBO-PS1 and stuff
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2017, 10:21 PM   #254
FSociety
@BM3Tuning @TristateBM3 @HCP.us
FSociety's Avatar
No_Country
3328
Rep
7,259
Posts

Drives: F98 X4MC, F90 M5, F80 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NYC NJ FL

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Haha not me, i always go flashed stock others I know havent (other tune) M5/M6 guys.

I know a few folks, JB4 values are stored as well even if its tricking the ECU. But that subject has been beaten to death.

Just wanted to clarify that not ALL dealer updates will overwrite the ECU/DME software and 99% usually unlock stays as other go through maintenance or warranty work.
There must be a big warranty work for them to reflash your whole ECU btw
__________________
F90 M5 BM3Tuning STG2 0-60 2.6 -- 1/4 Mile 10.2@138mph -- 60-130 6.1
F98 X4M TristateBM3 STG1 0-60 3.0 -- 1/4 Mile 10.8@127mph -- 60-130 8.1

IG: bmw_F9XM

Appreciate 0
      01-02-2017, 10:30 PM   #255
Jadar
Dejan
Jadar's Avatar
Serbia
1643
Rep
4,184
Posts

Drives: 2018 Audi S3
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan Ave.

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSociety View Post
Haha not me, i always go flashed stock others I know havent (other tune) M5/M6 guys.

I know a few folks, JB4 values are stored as well even if its tricking the ECU. But that subject has been beaten to death.

Just wanted to clarify that not ALL dealer updates will overwrite the ECU/DME software and 99% usually unlock stays as other go through maintenance or warranty work.
There must be a big warranty work for them to reflash your whole ECU btw
Good to know the unlock stays. Yes the jb4 values throw shadow codes and all it does is make them shrug their shoulders and My friend said it's their word against yours if the jb4 is removed they won't ever be able to prove it even knowing so it was there.

But yes let's move on the issue is a sinking ship in all other threads...
__________________
FBO-PS1 and stuff
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2017, 04:32 AM   #256
CIWS
Moon Parasite
CIWS's Avatar
United_States
617
Rep
1,332
Posts

Drives: F30 335i MSport
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: D/FW

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronanz View Post
Communicate with your local shop(s) to reach out to PTF directly...I'm sure it's PTF's plan to be widely available/accessible .
I see a local place who might be a good prospect. Need to go pay them a visit and see if they're interested in becoming an authorized unlocker dealer.
__________________

2015 335i MSport -MPPK -Borla ATAK -Dinan Sport+ - E.R. Charge pipe -LLumar FormulaOne ceramic tint-aFe intake scoop and Pro Dry drop-in filter.
Was - 2013 X1 35i Sport - Dinan tune / 2009 X6 50i Dinan badged
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2017, 09:59 PM   #257
harkes
Lieutenant Colonel
harkes's Avatar
China
775
Rep
1,824
Posts

Drives: M135i, NSX and AE86
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Xiamen, China

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dejan_ View Post
Good to know the unlock stays. Yes the jb4 values throw shadow codes and all it does is make them shrug their shoulders and My friend said it's their word against yours if the jb4 is removed they won't ever be able to prove it even knowing so it was there.

But yes let's move on the issue is a sinking ship in all other threads...
Most of us has markings on our wires from the posi-taps... Would take ~30seconds to find out if a JB4 has been used in the past.
__________________
M135i PWG, MHD, Pure Stage2, Torqbyte CM5-LT, xHP
(A Dane in China)
Appreciate 1
FSociety3328.00

      01-19-2017, 07:09 PM   #258
yoandry
Lieutenant Colonel
yoandry's Avatar
United_States
405
Rep
1,771
Posts

Drives: 13 F30 335i & JGC
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to yoandry Send a message via MSN to yoandry
So, how many maps we have already? I'm building my FBO cart and I'm not quite sure if to go with jb4 or bm3?
This is my dd and I will just push it to around the 400whp to keep normal reliability. As mine is PWG I'm thinking to upgrade to PS1 after FBO. Dejan_ How much are you putting with FBO + PS1?
My FBO list. VRSF DP, CP, FMIC 6" Race, E30+ Tune bm3 or jb4
__________________
PS2+ WMI + MHD Bef+JB4, VRSF DP, CP, FMIC Race 6, AFE Intake, MP-LSD, MPPK, MPE, MP-Susp, MP-Brakes, 437M, MP-interior trim, MP-Alcantara Steering Wheels W/race display, MP-Lip, MP-Diffuser, MP-Spoiler, MP-Rocker Panel, MP-Sills, MP-Pedals, MP-Grille, MP-Mats.
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2017, 04:10 AM   #259
harkes
Lieutenant Colonel
harkes's Avatar
China
775
Rep
1,824
Posts

Drives: M135i, NSX and AE86
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Xiamen, China

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoandry View Post
So, how many maps we have already? I'm building my FBO cart and I'm not quite sure if to go with jb4 or bm3?
This is my dd and I will just push it to around the 400whp to keep normal reliability. As mine is PWG I'm thinking to upgrade to PS1 after FBO. Dejan_ How much are you putting with FBO + PS1?
My FBO list. VRSF DP, CP, FMIC 6" Race, E30+ Tune bm3 or jb4
For a sweet driving 400hp then you should go bm3 - 100%! The JB4 is a piggyback and especially for the PWG its tricky to get dialed in. Again - bm3!
__________________
M135i PWG, MHD, Pure Stage2, Torqbyte CM5-LT, xHP
(A Dane in China)
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2017, 05:21 AM   #260
Arrow29
Second Lieutenant
84
Rep
214
Posts

Drives: M135i. M2 competition ordered
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

The more I read the more I think I'll go with BM3 at some stage; I love my jb4 but BM3 just seems like such a complete / potentially safer solution.

- Any downsides to running the JB4 and BM3 as a BEF as opposed to BM3 alone?
- I've seen that there are a number of OTS maps from PTF or ACF based on various states of tune (93AKI, E85, PS2 etc). I know that you can log, if the user is wanting to make sure everything is safe for their particular location (eg temperature is hot here in Australia!, different fuel grades in different countries etc) are there avenues to have the logs looked at by an expert?

Sorry for the basic questions, any info would be most appreciated!
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2017, 07:41 AM   #261
mr_kay
First Lieutenant
mr_kay's Avatar
122
Rep
367
Posts

Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: May 2014
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arrow29 View Post
The more I read the more I think I'll go with BM3 at some stage; I love my jb4 but BM3 just seems like such a complete / potentially safer solution.

- Any downsides to running the JB4 and BM3 as a BEF as opposed to BM3 alone?
- I've seen that there are a number of OTS maps from PTF or ACF based on various states of tune (93AKI, E85, PS2 etc). I know that you can log, if the user is wanting to make sure everything is safe for their particular location (eg temperature is hot here in Australia!, different fuel grades in different countries etc) are there avenues to have the logs looked at by an expert?

Sorry for the basic questions, any info would be most appreciated!
I'm interested in this as well. For example, with JB4 you can post as many log files as you want and they will review them and give any input/suggestions for free.
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2017, 08:06 AM   #262
Jadar
Dejan
Jadar's Avatar
Serbia
1643
Rep
4,184
Posts

Drives: 2018 Audi S3
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan Ave.

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoandry View Post
So, how many maps we have already? I'm building my FBO cart and I'm not quite sure if to go with jb4 or bm3?
This is my dd and I will just push it to around the 400whp to keep normal reliability. As mine is PWG I'm thinking to upgrade to PS1 after FBO. Dejan_ How much are you putting with FBO + PS1?
My FBO list. VRSF DP, CP, FMIC 6" Race, E30+ Tune bm3 or jb4
On a mustang Dyno and a flash tune from ACF stacked with jb4, I put down 379rwhp and 411rwtq. I don't have dyno jet numbers as most on here use that as their standard but if you factor in the 15% less for a mustang dyno readout I would have been right around 435rwhp on a dyno jet but that's all speculation until it's strapped up to one. All tuning was on straight 93 octane.

I also run a different tune setup now so I'm not sure what the car will put down. I plan on doing a dyno jet run this year with

1. Jb4 alone on map 5 stock dme map
2. New ACF custom map
3. Bm3 developed map and see where the car sits and the differences.
__________________
FBO-PS1 and stuff
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2017, 08:57 AM   #263
yoandry
Lieutenant Colonel
yoandry's Avatar
United_States
405
Rep
1,771
Posts

Drives: 13 F30 335i & JGC
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to yoandry Send a message via MSN to yoandry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dejan_ View Post
On a mustang Dyno and a flash tune from ACF stacked with jb4, I put down 379rwhp and 411rwtq. I don't have dyno jet numbers as most on here use that as their standard but if you factor in the 15% less for a mustang dyno readout I would have been right around 435rwhp on a dyno jet but that's all speculation until it's strapped up to one. All tuning was on straight 93 octane.

I also run a different tune setup now so I'm not sure what the car will put down. I plan on doing a dyno jet run this year with

1. Jb4 alone on map 5 stock dme map
2. New ACF custom map
3. Bm3 developed map and see where the car sits and the differences.
Ok, if some PWG members on here has been putting around 400hp on stock turbo with the basic FBO on E, even f30 sixpeed without FMIC did 400, I guess then with ps1 will be over 400whp as you said. I have a couple shops around with dynojet so I will do the baseline > FBO > PS1.

So if I buy bm3 today, is there any maps yet to use E30+
I forgot to mention I have MPPK, will bm3 erase it or stack up on it?
__________________
PS2+ WMI + MHD Bef+JB4, VRSF DP, CP, FMIC Race 6, AFE Intake, MP-LSD, MPPK, MPE, MP-Susp, MP-Brakes, 437M, MP-interior trim, MP-Alcantara Steering Wheels W/race display, MP-Lip, MP-Diffuser, MP-Spoiler, MP-Rocker Panel, MP-Sills, MP-Pedals, MP-Grille, MP-Mats.
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2017, 11:02 AM   #264
Jadar
Dejan
Jadar's Avatar
Serbia
1643
Rep
4,184
Posts

Drives: 2018 Audi S3
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan Ave.

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoandry View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dejan_ View Post
On a mustang Dyno and a flash tune from ACF stacked with jb4, I put down 379rwhp and 411rwtq. I don't have dyno jet numbers as most on here use that as their standard but if you factor in the 15% less for a mustang dyno readout I would have been right around 435rwhp on a dyno jet but that's all speculation until it's strapped up to one. All tuning was on straight 93 octane.

I also run a different tune setup now so I'm not sure what the car will put down. I plan on doing a dyno jet run this year with

1. Jb4 alone on map 5 stock dme map
2. New ACF custom map
3. Bm3 developed map and see where the car sits and the differences.
Ok, if some PWG members on here has been putting around 400hp on stock turbo with the basic FBO on E, even f30 sixpeed without FMIC did 400, I guess then with ps1 will be over 400whp as you said. I have a couple shops around with dynojet so I will do the baseline > FBO > PS1.

So if I buy bm3 today, is there any maps yet to use E30+
I forgot to mention I have MPPK, will bm3 erase it or stack up on it?
PTF (bm3) do have maps for N55 but every application is different and you're going to have to email them and they will send you files. You'll log and send that back and tweak as you go.

You get 1 OTS map for your car with license purchase and the rest are $50 and if it's a custom map I think they're something like $200-300 if my memory serves me correct.
__________________
FBO-PS1 and stuff
Appreciate 2
yoandry404.50
Arrow2984.00

Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST