F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > B58 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > Tips/Mistakes to avoid when replacing HPFP on b58
Extreme Powerhouse

07-31-2022, 02:25 AM   #1
cxmplex
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2018 340i GT

Tips/Mistakes to avoid when replacing HPFP on b58

With the TU pump being only $450 now, vs $800+ that it was before, I figured a few more people will try and switch.

When I got my BMW I was a novice at car work. I've made quite a few mistakes that I've learned from, and figured I'd share them here in regards to the HPFP.

1. You need a torque wrench that goes as low as 12NM/8.8ft/lbs, most are 10ft/lbs-XXX. This is generally only 3/8th or smaller drive torque wrenches. I recommend the ACDelco 3/8" Digital Torque Wrench, or the cheaper TEKTON 1/4 Inch Drive. More experienced people can wing this by stopping right before 10 ft/lbs on a normal torque wrench (10-XXX range). I would not recommend doing 10 ft/lbs however. By feel, it's just slightly after it starts to give resistance. I bought this ACDelco and have not had any issues with low torque bolts, it's great but a little expensive.

2. The HPFP bolts are insanely easy to break. If you encounter any real resistance at all, just stop. Don't even try turning it a little bit more, it will break everytime. If you're removing the bolts, get some penetrating fluid in there, but be careful not to spray too much.