F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Experience with 10.25" android 7.1 HU's
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-20-2019, 05:19 AM   #1739
Zheez
New Member
3
Rep
15
Posts

Drives: 320D (2014)
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spaceoddity View Post
Hi all,

1. I just want to verify there are no longer issues with the CarPlay adapter? I'm a little wary as I've been reading a lot of people having issues with it.

2. Where do people typically put the Carplay adapter, since it's rather big and chunky? My car has the cradle in the armrest and I'm thinking if all plays nice together, I might shell out on the wireless charging one for my new phone.

3. Re GPS, my car does have Champ2/combox/gps built in, but splitter seems to be hit and miss. Would it be smarter to install the additional GPS and disconnect the OEM one? It seems to me like that one would work much better reception wise, so would prefer to use it.

4. And for anyone that bought the cam from ugode. Does this need splicing on the reverse light, or does it power from the unit somehow?

5. And in general, does it come with dashboard prying tools, or should I order those elsewhere? (I can actually get the dashboard out without them, but may be useful for pulling the cam wire).
I've got an Avin unit but from what I gather it's much the same anyway. My attempts to answer your questions:

1). It works fine for me, there's been a few software updates for the adapter and the app recently. I only got my unit in mid-December but it's been working great, I've not had any problems so far. Other people's experiences may vary of course

2). I ran the USB cables from my Avin unit into my glove box and I leave the CarPlay adapter plugged in there. I have thought about relocating it but it does the job.

3). I had the no signal problem when using the splitter so I abandoned that. I've got the separate GPS antenna just stuck to the metal bar under the dash/screen by the air vents and it works reliably. I'd try that first then if you're happy with the software side of things you can always swap the GPS connections around later (to give the Android side your car's integrated GPS antenna and the BMW nav the separate antenna I mean).

4). If it's like my Avin, there's a power wire coming from the wiring harness which you can use to power it. You'll just need to find your own ground connection point.

5). No trim removal tools included but I'm sure you can get a set from eBay for a couple of euros.
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 02:27 AM   #1740
dlock
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: e60
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: latvia

iTrader: (0)

Hi there, the seller sent me a mcu file for update, cause the screen is dimming, but i cant update, it stops at upgrade, please wait. any solution for that ?? CCC unit
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 02:33 AM   #1741
koutsouk
Private
17
Rep
77
Posts

Drives: BMW E60
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Greece

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlock View Post
Hi there, the seller sent me a mcu file for update, cause the screen is dimming, but i cant update, it stops at upgrade, please wait. any solution for that ?? CCC unit
Can you share the file ?
It is a good time to ask your seller if there is a different way for installing MCU.
ManY oh as have tha same problem.
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 02:42 AM   #1742
dlock
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: e60
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: latvia

iTrader: (0)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1SffM35HPbmCTJL3Q4cYcAZbd_aA4eg0j/view?usp=drivesdk
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 02:43 AM   #1743
dlock
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: e60
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: latvia

iTrader: (0)

Well he told me, that theres no other way, the only solution is to send the unit back. U dont really get any decent responce from those chinese sellers
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 11:32 AM   #1744
nikkotsoi
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: f10
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: hong kong

iTrader: (0)

hello everyone,
just installed the unit recently.
I find the idrive-knob working fine in the android interface, but it would also simultaneously control the CIC original bmw interface. This causes me to accidentally changed the setting of the CIC system. Any way to solve?
thank you!
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 02:43 PM   #1745
mikeyb540
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: '13 X1 E84
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

Hello,
Just got the Ugode 10.5" w/ android 7.1
Couple questions if anyone can assist please
1. Anyone know how to change Metric to Imperial units? Km to Mile / Liter to Gallon?
2. Which is the power cable that keeps the unit in standby? Every time i turn the car on the clock is reset to 12:50
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST