F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > DIY 6.5 to 8.8 L7 display retrofit swap for 2014+ f2x f3x
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-23-2016, 11:20 AM   #111
Anderw
Brigadier General
Anderw's Avatar
United_States
516
Rep
3,108
Posts

Drives: F80 m3
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: FL

iTrader: (12)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bill_f31 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRoss View Post
I installed a 65509292245 (f2x 8.8 CID).unfortunately the backplate of the screen didn't fit in my dashboard. So I left it out for now:
How did you manage to take the backplate apart?
Literally prys off , it's only held in with pressure tabs , super easy your not going to break it as it needs some force
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2016, 11:31 AM   #112
TheRoss
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: F31 320xD 135 KW 10/2014
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: germany / Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderw View Post
Hey Ross I have a F30 back plate and would love to trade you for your F22 Plate PM Me ! Also I am the OP on this thread I would never scam you! Lol
Sounds nice! Where are you from?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bill_f31 View Post
How did you manage to take the backplate apart?
There are 2 clips on each side of the bottom of the CID which you need to press "out" with a screw driver.
i took a pic for ya:
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2016, 11:23 AM   #113
bill_f31
Private First Class
98
Rep
157
Posts

Drives: BMW F31 M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Greece

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderw View Post
Literally prys off , it's only held in with pressure tabs , super easy your not going to break it as it needs some force
Thank you!
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2016, 11:24 AM   #114
bill_f31
Private First Class
98
Rep
157
Posts

Drives: BMW F31 M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Greece

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRoss View Post
i took a pic for ya:
Thank you for the pic!
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2017, 02:22 PM   #115
Polo08816
Brigadier General
1094
Rep
3,100
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i M Sport
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MD

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderw View Post
unfortunately you need this option also, CIC doesn't have the entry
HU_NBT > 3001 EXBOX > DISPLAY_VARIANTE = breites_display
Anderw cryptocar shawnsheridan Almaretto , I have 2 vehicles with the 6.5 in screen. A 2014 335i with HU-ENTRY and a 2016 X3 35i as well.

I like the layouts on the X3 screen which include Album Art, Artist, and Song for HD radio, but I haven't been able to get the same layout on my 2014 335i even with a firmware reflash.

Am I being limited by coding, flashing/programming, or just the physical head unit and screen differences between the 335i and the X3?

If it's coding and/or flashing/programming, do you know which individual ECUs might affect this?
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2017, 02:37 PM   #116
TePee
Second Lieutenant
35
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: F34 LCI MY2019
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Home of BMW

iTrader: (0)

The HU Entry of your 2014 335i is the problem. This is an old HU which has this old layout.

The newer layout is of HU Entrynav, a newer generation HU, which your 2016 X3 has.

It can't be changed by firmware update, it's new hardware.
Appreciate 2
Polo088161093.50
cryptocar475.50

      01-01-2017, 03:18 PM   #117
Polo08816
Brigadier General
1094
Rep
3,100
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i M Sport
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MD

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TePee View Post
The HU Entry of your 2014 335i is the problem. This is an old HU which has this old layout.

The newer layout is of HU Entrynav, a newer generation HU, which your 2016 X3 has.

It can't be changed by firmware update, it's new hardware.
Ah okay! Thanks! I appreciate you getting back to me.
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2017, 01:47 PM   #118
veloarc75
New Member
Croatia
2
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: 320d
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Zagreb

iTrader: (0)

Hi, i'm buying f30 lci from dealer soon but i dont know if i should take navi prof, i dont need navi, only the 8.8" screen because it looks so much better with it.. if i take it without navi do i have to buy 8.8" lci screen or i can put pre lci one? And does any1 know what happens with warranty?

Thanks 😁
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2017, 02:43 PM   #119
MarkoSK
Lieutenant
79
Rep
478
Posts

Drives: BMW 3 GT
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

Navi Prof costs $2000+, whereas a used screen costs between $300-500 off eBay. If you have HU_ENTRYNAV (i.e. 6.5" without nav), both the pre-LCI and LCI screens work, although the pre-LCI screen has a slightly blueish tint (see this post).

I'm not 100% sure about warranty, but since you will be using an OEM screen from BMW, there shouldn't be any problems (unless your head unit breaks) - I took my car into service and the dealer didn't even notice I had a larger screen .
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2017, 03:26 PM   #120
veloarc75
New Member
Croatia
2
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: 320d
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Zagreb

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkoSK View Post
Navi Prof costs $2000+, whereas a used screen costs between $300-500 off eBay. If you have HU_ENTRYNAV (i.e. 6.5" without nav), both the pre-LCI and LCI screens work, although the pre-LCI screen has a slightly blueish tint (see this post).

I'm not 100% sure about warranty, but since you will be using an OEM screen from BMW, there shouldn't be any problems (unless your head unit breaks) - I took my car into service and the dealer didn't even notice I had a larger screen .
Thanks for reply 😁

I've read somewhere that some screens have different connector? Is that true? Well i'm not concered for screen warranty, but what if something happens with electronics or similiras could they tell me they wont repair it because some1 connected to car and did some coding for 8.8" screen?

And where can i check if it is HU_ENTRYNAV?
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2017, 03:43 PM   #121
MarkoSK
Lieutenant
79
Rep
478
Posts

Drives: BMW 3 GT
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

Both screens have the same connector, you just exchange the screen and keep your existing cable.

In some countries, a modification does not impact the warranty on other parts. In other words, they can refuse to repair your head unit, but cannot refuse to repair other parts of the car which are unaffected by the screen. I don't know the laws in Spain.

You just have to be careful if your car's software gets updated (not via the USB stick, but via ISTA/P software at the dealer), the coding will reset to defaults and your 8.8" screen won't work until you recode the car again. You can either tell your dealer about it or put the 6.5" screen back. Note that the dealer updates the software only in some rare cases, because it takes half a day.

All F30 cars without nav made after 2014 are HU_ENTRYNAV. Look for the exact date (July or November) in the beginning of this thread.

Last edited by MarkoSK; 01-11-2017 at 03:48 PM.. Reason: Added more info
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2017, 04:04 PM   #122
veloarc75
New Member
Croatia
2
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: 320d
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Zagreb

iTrader: (0)

Ok it'll be ENTRYNAV that is great ! I'll ask them if they can code it in and other things about warranty then..

Thank you a lot for help! 😁😁😁
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2017, 06:46 PM   #123
YodaMan79
Enlisted Member
17
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: 335i Xdrive
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

So in skimming this thread, am I not able to upgrade my 2013 6.5" screen? Looking at the newer models, the old screen is very dated looking. I'd love the opportunity to update the look and operation of idrive if possible.
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2017, 03:21 AM   #124
Smee
Colonel
Smee's Avatar
396
Rep
2,024
Posts

Drives: BMW M4 F83
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Norfolk

iTrader: (0)

No bud sorry late 2014
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2017, 10:17 AM   #125
YodaMan79
Enlisted Member
17
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: 335i Xdrive
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smee View Post
No bud sorry late 2014
Well that's too bad. Could I use the bigger nav screen from the same year?

Thanks for your input.
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2017, 06:32 PM   #126
Smee
Colonel
Smee's Avatar
396
Rep
2,024
Posts

Drives: BMW M4 F83
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Norfolk

iTrader: (0)

no as its the Entry_nav system you need. i cant remember what the old system was.
__________________
Current: BMW M4 F83 - Mods : Pedal Covers, LCI Stereo facia Retrofit and Carbon Rear corner covers

Old: F32 435d M Sport - Mods : HR Sport Springs, 20" Veemann V-FS23 in Gun Metal, M Performance Body Kit, Pedal Covers, Eurspec CF Mirror Caps, More-BHP remap 364 BHP 741 NM, M4 Under Chassis Brace, 15mm Rear ARB, 8.8" Screen Retrofit and LCI Stereo facia Retrofit
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2017, 04:25 AM   #127
MarkoSK
Lieutenant
79
Rep
478
Posts

Drives: BMW 3 GT
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

Installed screen mirroring

I've installed screen mirroring and finally my retrofit is complete!

Name:  20170204_145309.jpg
Views: 5572
Size:  224.5 KB

Since I have an Android phone, I bought the MMI HD unit from BimmerTech (and not SmartView HD, which has an AppleTV 3) with 2x HDMI inputs and a MirrorLink device with 5 Ghz and HDMI output (eBay link here).

Both devices fit nicely with my head unit, as you can see here:

Name:  DSC_0844.JPG
Views: 3983
Size:  193.7 KB

An additional plus is that the MMI unit has a 5V USB output and the MirrorLink device has a 5V USB input, so no wire splicing is required!
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2017, 01:21 PM   #128
TheRoss
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: F31 320xD 135 KW 10/2014
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: germany / Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

After 4 Months of shipment waiting time, my (ex) backplate arrived at threadstareter's home
MarkoSK that looks pretty amazing.
Where exactly did you get hose 2 boxes?

Last edited by TheRoss; 03-24-2017 at 11:02 AM..
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2017, 01:40 PM   #129
MarkoSK
Lieutenant
79
Rep
478
Posts

Drives: BMW 3 GT
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

I've bought the MMI HD unit from BimmerTech (www.bimmer-tech.net, or contact Nelson or Patrys here on the forums) and the 5/2.4Ghz MirrorLink w/HDMI off eBay (link here).

PS: If you have an iPhone/iPad, you might consider BimmerTech SmartView HD (link here). I have an Android phone and didn't want the AppleTV that comes with SmartView, so I bought something more suited for an Android instead.
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2017, 02:33 PM   #130
Anderw
Brigadier General
Anderw's Avatar
United_States
516
Rep
3,108
Posts

Drives: F80 m3
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: FL

iTrader: (12)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRoss View Post
Just to let everyone know that I've sent my backplate to the Threadstarter just after Christmas. Unfortunately the apckage is gone (I wanted to save the 5 bucks for the Order tracking).
I don't want to assume anything bad, that the threadstarter is a thief or whatever. just mentioning it so you guys be careful and always add the tracking option of the parcels you send out to the world
MarkoSK that looks pretty amazing.
Where exactly did you get hose 2 boxes?
Still have an f30 back plate with A gap wouldn't steal from someone also not sure anyone else on earth would even need these plates besides me and you wouldn't make much sense. Wish you optioned tracking
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2017, 03:31 PM   #131
TheRoss
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: F31 320xD 135 KW 10/2014
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: germany / Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderw View Post
Still have an f30 back plate with A gap wouldn't steal from someone also not sure anyone else on earth would even need these plates besides me and you wouldn't make much sense. Wish you optioned tracking
I don't believe you did. I was just telling my story and motivate people to book the tracking option. I'm sure the parcel is somewhere at tax-office as they might think it is a commercial delivery.
Cheers

EDIT: Backplate arrived after 4 months of shipment to the US

Last edited by TheRoss; 03-24-2017 at 11:03 AM..
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2017, 04:26 PM   #132
Anderw
Brigadier General
Anderw's Avatar
United_States
516
Rep
3,108
Posts

Drives: F80 m3
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: FL

iTrader: (12)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRoss View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderw View Post
Still have an f30 back plate with A gap wouldn't steal from someone also not sure anyone else on earth would even need these plates besides me and you wouldn't make much sense. Wish you optioned tracking
I don't believe you did. I was just telling my story and motivate people to book the tracking option. I'm sure the parcel is somewhere at tax-office as they might think it is a commercial delivery.
Cheers
I know just wanted to put that out there also , what you think is possible I know with previous DHL packages I've received when it is scheduled for delivery they send me A text for delivery options though not sure if the procedure is different without tracking but thinking it didn't even get to that point and is being held up somewhere along the way
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST