F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > OEM HUD Retrofit
proTUNING Freaks
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-19-2017, 11:15 PM   #1
soso2222
Enlisted Member
Germany
14
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is, F31 330xd
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

OEM HUD Retrofit

Hi everyone!
Iīd like to retrofit an OEM HUD. I have all the Parts except Dashboard.
Can i just cut a hole in my existing Dashboard, or do i have to buy a new one with a hole in it to fit a HUD-Display?

Last edited by soso2222; 01-19-2017 at 11:52 PM..
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2017, 08:23 AM   #2
atzebmw
Lieutenant Colonel
Germany
383
Rep
1,731
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

And how do you fix it on the dashboard?
There are no screw holes.
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2017, 08:56 AM   #3
soso2222
Enlisted Member
Germany
14
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is, F31 330xd
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

Thatīs why i am asking! So, i have to buy a new Dash.....

Last edited by soso2222; 03-08-2017 at 12:03 AM..
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2017, 10:37 AM   #4
atzebmw
Lieutenant Colonel
Germany
383
Rep
1,731
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by soso2222 View Post
Thatīs why i am asking! So it i have to buy a new Dash.....
Yes, i think so.
And of course a new windshield.
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2017, 10:39 AM   #5
soso2222
Enlisted Member
Germany
14
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is, F31 330xd
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

A new HUD-windshield is already installed!
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2017, 09:07 AM   #6
Cornel_t
New Member
7
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: BMW 320 xDrive Touring
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bucharest

iTrader: (0)

Some time ago I was interested to perform HUD retrofit. The informations I've got from a professional installers were that the original factory fitted dashboard can be cut without any problems an even if the cut is not the cleanest one the trim you should buy is covering perfectly any imperfection.
This is the trim link
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/part...&q=51459239336

As well you should consider that most probably your cars' instrument cluster is not appropriate for retrofitting the HUD, check what you have and compare with what is needed (use realoem.com)

The last but already solved by you is the windshield

Whish you easy retrofitting
Appreciate 1
      01-21-2017, 09:28 AM   #7
soso2222
Enlisted Member
Germany
14
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is, F31 330xd
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

Oh, perfect!
That is what iīm talking about! Thank you!
Instrument cluster is already HUD-proof.
Bye and thanks!

One more question: Do you know a partnumber for a wire from cluster to HUD?

By the way, hier is a picture of installation of HUD with 3 screws on a dashboard carrier!
Attached Images
File Type: pdf HUD.pdf (137.7 KB, 3656 views)

Last edited by soso2222; 03-08-2017 at 12:05 AM..
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2017, 02:30 PM   #8
soso2222
Enlisted Member
Germany
14
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is, F31 330xd
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

Is this a right partnumber for HSD-Wire?
61119258857
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2017, 12:16 AM   #9
Cornel_t
New Member
7
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: BMW 320 xDrive Touring
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bucharest

iTrader: (0)

I don't know what's the cable that fits but you should find below.
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/part...MW-330dX&mg=61

This is your PN on leebmann
https://www.leebmann24.de/rep-satz-h...119258857.html
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2017, 12:26 AM   #10
soso2222
Enlisted Member
Germany
14
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is, F31 330xd
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cornel_t View Post
I don't know what's the cable that fits but you should find below.
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/part...MW-330dX&mg=61

This is your PN on leebmann
https://www.leebmann24.de/rep-satz-h...119258857.html
The problem is, i canīt find a HSD wire for 3. series. Only for x3 and x4 series!
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2017, 04:24 AM   #11
atzebmw
Lieutenant Colonel
Germany
383
Rep
1,731
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

HSD cable from X3 or X4 fits also.
Or from 5series F10 fits also.
Appreciate 1
      01-22-2017, 04:34 AM   #12
soso2222
Enlisted Member
Germany
14
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is, F31 330xd
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
HSD cable from X3 or X4 fits also.
Or from 5series F10 fits also.
Ok, thankīs!
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2017, 11:56 PM   #13
soso2222
Enlisted Member
Germany
14
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is, F31 330xd
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
HSD cable from X3 or X4 fits also.
Or from 5series F10 fits also.
Does HSD wire of F10 fit? HUD-unit in F10 has an ECU in f30/31 doesnīt!

Last edited by soso2222; 01-23-2017 at 12:07 AM..
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2017, 05:26 AM   #14
atzebmw
Lieutenant Colonel
Germany
383
Rep
1,731
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by soso2222 View Post
Does HSD wire of F10 fit? HUD-unit in F10 has an ECU in f30/31 doesnīt!
Yes, i'm very sure because the HSD cables have all the same plug.
But the f10 cable you do not need to take, because that is much too long (1310mm).
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2017, 08:00 AM   #15
soso2222
Enlisted Member
Germany
14
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is, F31 330xd
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
Yes, i'm very sure because the HSD cables have all the same plug.
But the f10 cable you do not need to take, because that is much too long (1310mm).

Hi, i ordered a HSD-wire for F10 and some other minor parts. I will have to tinker a powersuply for HUD-Unit thow. Itīs a retrofiting time this firday!
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2017, 08:14 AM   #16
Animal Farm
Private First Class
United_States
93
Rep
151
Posts

Drives: BMW F30/Volvo XC90II T6
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: South-east, USA

iTrader: (0)

Wow! This is insanely cool! However, I would just upgrade my car... This could turn into a nightmare. I really hope it does not, but this is a very complicated retrofit.

I can't imagine the cost thus far???!!!

Last edited by Animal Farm; 01-23-2017 at 08:15 AM.. Reason: Typo
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2017, 10:22 AM   #17
soso2222
Enlisted Member
Germany
14
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is, F31 330xd
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Animal Farm View Post
Wow! This is insanely cool! However, I would just upgrade my car... This could turn into a nightmare. I really hope it does not, but this is a very complicated retrofit.

I can't imagine the cost thus far???!!!
Itīs not that difficult! And The costs are within bounds!
580€ so far.
The Windshield was a matter of insurance and a cluster retrofit was essential!
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2017, 11:05 AM   #18
roxxor
Captain
roxxor's Avatar
586
Rep
802
Posts

Drives: 2020 530e
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Florida

iTrader: (7)

I'm planning on trying this shortly, have to figure out how to make the F30 HUD work with the 6WB instrument cluster first and then I'll worry about the dash/windshield.
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2017, 12:39 PM   #19
soso2222
Enlisted Member
Germany
14
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is, F31 330xd
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by roxxor View Post
I'm planning on trying this shortly, have to figure out how to make the F30 HUD work with the 6WB instrument cluster first and then I'll worry about the dash/windshield.
I will report how it ended!

Last edited by soso2222; 01-23-2017 at 12:51 PM..
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2017, 08:18 PM   #20
Animal Farm
Private First Class
United_States
93
Rep
151
Posts

Drives: BMW F30/Volvo XC90II T6
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: South-east, USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by soso2222 View Post
Itīs not that difficult! And The costs are within bounds!
580€ so far.
The Windshield was a matter of insurance and a cluster retrofit was essential!
Ha ha, nice!
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2017, 03:52 AM   #21
soso2222
Enlisted Member
Germany
14
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is, F31 330xd
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by roxxor View Post
I'm planning on trying this shortly, have to figure out how to make the F30 HUD work with the 6WB instrument cluster first and then I'll worry about the dash/windshield.
I think it should work! Maybe the diagrams below will help you!
Good luck!
Attached Images
File Type: pdf HUDF10.pdf (96.8 KB, 1204 views)
File Type: pdf HUDF30.pdf (106.2 KB, 1549 views)
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2017, 12:50 PM   #22
roxxor
Captain
roxxor's Avatar
586
Rep
802
Posts

Drives: 2020 530e
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Florida

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by soso2222 View Post
I think it should work! Maybe the diagrams below will help you!
Good luck!
Oh yeah, I already have the wiring pinouts mapped out, thank you though. Become quite familiar with Rheingold over the past 2 years

The difference I believe will be in what the 5/7 series 6WB Cluster outputs to the HUD vs what the F30 HUD is looking for, especially since it looks like the HUD from the higher level cars has a K-Can connection. Haven't had a chance yet to compare the coding yet, but i know another person on the forum who had not been able to get it to work, although I don't believe they went too in-depth into attempting to resolve it yet.

Also, according to realoem, the air duct may need to be replaced on the driver side as well, as there is a different part number for vehicles with HUD listed as #5 on the list here.

Last edited by roxxor; 01-24-2017 at 12:56 PM..
Appreciate 1
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST