F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > bmw maps Next 2018-2 update problem
VIBE Motorsports
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-16-2018, 01:43 PM   #1
Skeeco
Registered
Skeeco's Avatar
Croatia
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: F30 318d
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Croatia

iTrader: (0)

bmw maps Next 2018-2 update problem

Hello.

I've tried searching the forums but i haven't found anyone with similar problem..

So, I've got 2014 F30 with NBT. I have 2014-1 version of maps and I want to update. I've bought USB with maps and FSC code.

When I insert the usb into the car, i get the message on my display that USB device contains more recent version of navigation data blah blah, and i can click Start update, or Cancel. Of course I click "Start update" and nothing happens.. My display goes back to where it was (radio station list) and that's it. It doesn't ask for a code, it doesn't start copying...

Has anyone encountered similar problem/situation?

USB is 64gb, formatted to NTFS. I've tried copying maps to my computer, reformatting usb to FAT32 or exFAT but then the car doesn't recognize usb at all. Any help would be appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2018, 03:53 PM   #2
Billfitz
Brigadier General
United_States
1917
Rep
4,829
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

What does the developer say? Are you sure it's not downloading in the background?
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2018, 03:02 AM   #3
Skeeco
Registered
Skeeco's Avatar
Croatia
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: F30 318d
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Croatia

iTrader: (0)

I don't know... how can I check? I can't find anything that could tell me that there is update in progress in the service menu or anywhere else for that matter...
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2018, 12:04 PM   #4
x-m4n
Lieutenant
x-m4n's Avatar
United Kingdom
94
Rep
558
Posts

Drives: Gran Turismo (F34)
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeeco View Post
I don't know... how can I check? I can't find anything that could tell me that there is update in progress in the service menu or anywhere else for that matter...
New maps take some 45 mins to load - you can use the navigation as usual while the maps are transferring, you get a message when all is done.

There is a progress bar somewhere there in the options - click options from the map view and see if you can spot the option there and see if you already have the new version of the map.

Failing that best to contact the provider...
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2018, 02:16 PM   #5
Skeeco
Registered
Skeeco's Avatar
Croatia
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: F30 318d
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Croatia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by x-m4n View Post
New maps take some 45 mins to load - you can use the navigation as usual while the maps are transferring, you get a message when all is done.

There is a progress bar somewhere there in the options - click options from the map view and see if you can spot the option there and see if you already have the new version of the map.

Failing that best to contact the provider...
Since i can't find progress bar in options, I'll just assume that it's not updating in the background.

Tried calling a "friend" in BMW service, says he hasn't heard of that problem before. He said that i should bring the car to them, but I'm not thrilled about paying for the update twice, as I can imagine that will be the case if i bring it to them..
I have also sent a message to provider, waiting for the answer...

Is update possible any other way than via USB?
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2018, 06:37 PM   #6
Jhnblckwood
Lieutenant
34
Rep
420
Posts

Drives: F30 2014 320i xdrive
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeeco View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by x-m4n View Post
New maps take some 45 mins to load - you can use the navigation as usual while the maps are transferring, you get a message when all is done.

There is a progress bar somewhere there in the options - click options from the map view and see if you can spot the option there and see if you already have the new version of the map.

Failing that best to contact the provider...
Since i can't find progress bar in options, I'll just assume that it's not updating in the background.

Tried calling a "friend" in BMW service, says he hasn't heard of that problem before. He said that i should bring the car to them, but I'm not thrilled about paying for the update twice, as I can imagine that will be the case if i bring it to them..
I have also sent a message to provider, waiting for the answer...

Is update possible any other way than via USB?
Pretty sure u can burn to dvd discs
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2018, 10:30 PM   #7
Billfitz
Brigadier General
United_States
1917
Rep
4,829
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

DVDs are only 4.7 GB. I'm guessing that's not enough.
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2018, 07:16 PM   #8
Jhnblckwood
Lieutenant
34
Rep
420
Posts

Drives: F30 2014 320i xdrive
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billfitz View Post
DVDs are only 4.7 GB. I'm guessing that's not enough.
It can b done. Jus use more than one but I do kno it has to b set up correctly so hu knows to look for second dvd instead of usb or whatever.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2018, 01:48 PM   #9
IAmATeaf
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
79
Rep
274
Posts

Drives: 2015 F30 335i
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Dual layer DVD?
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2018, 04:41 PM   #10
Jhnblckwood
Lieutenant
34
Rep
420
Posts

Drives: F30 2014 320i xdrive
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IAmATeaf View Post
Dual layer DVD?
Idk if dual layer would work. The map update u downloaded did come packaged as 4 different usb files numbered 1-4. If so u can edit the one file on each to dvd instead of usb. I'm sure someone else on here knows how to do that.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:51 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST