F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > B58 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > Weird dyno results
Extreme Powerhouse
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-02-2019, 06:42 PM   #1
Estorilblue340i
Private First Class
13
Rep
128
Posts

Drives: Estorilblue m performance 340i
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Weird dyno results

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
Recently went on a dyno and got weird results
I have a 340i with BMS intake, catless downpipe, and BM3 stage 2 91 octane
I got 334 whp and 381 wheel torque
This doesn't seem right and I'm sure the car should be pushing more since I've seen other B58s with higher numbers
It was ran in 6th gear
Also when I got back into the car it had ABS malfunction and other malfunctions
Any help ?
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2019, 06:56 PM   #2
jackstrath
Lieutenant
Scotland
174
Rep
556
Posts

Drives: F31 340i
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Aberdeen

iTrader: (0)

got a print out of the dyno run? did it rev right out ?
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2019, 08:36 PM   #3
elg0rd0yadigg
Second Lieutenant
elg0rd0yadigg's Avatar
United_States
80
Rep
202
Posts

Drives: sunset orange metallic f30 340
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Bronx

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Estorilblue340i View Post
Recently went on a dyno and got weird results
I have a 340i with BMS intake, catless downpipe, and BM3 stage 2 91 octane
I got 334 whp and 381 wheel torque
This doesn't seem right and I'm sure the car should be pushing more since I've seen other B58s with higher numbers
It was ran in 6th gear
Also when I got back into the car it had ABS malfunction and other malfunctions
Any help ?
Something weird for sure and hopefully they didn't run it in sport not sport plus with dsc...abs is a bit alarming, also 6th sounds wrong if I'm not mistaken but 91 is pretty low octane for these cars especially if higher numbers are your goal
__________________
18? 340 XDRIVE
#BM3TUNING
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2019, 08:59 PM   #4
Ahanix
Private First Class
58
Rep
141
Posts

Drives: 2016 340i
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Utah, United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elg0rd0yadigg View Post
Something weird for sure and hopefully they didn't run it in sport not sport plus with dsc...abs is a bit alarming, also 6th sounds wrong if I'm not mistaken but 91 is pretty low octane for these cars especially if higher numbers are your goal
Definitely weird especially when 91oct is only about a 4-6% loss compared to 93
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2019, 10:33 PM   #5
bacon_45
Private
35
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: 2018 340i BM3 FBO
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Next time do it in 5th gear, as well as all those lights turned on because the car got too hot.
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2019, 11:38 PM   #6
bimmer456
Major General
1778
Rep
5,042
Posts

Drives: 340i
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pasadena, CA

iTrader: (0)

You might have to put it in test mode or turn off traction control
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2019, 03:41 AM   #7
IMS-340MP
Private First Class
IMS-340MP's Avatar
Egypt
19
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: 2018 340i MPPSK
Join Date: May 2018
Location: EGYPT

iTrader: (0)

Car hits top speed limiter around 6000 RPM in 6th gear, do you have speed limiter removed ?

Most probably they entered the gear ratios correction wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Estorilblue340i View Post
Recently went on a dyno and got weird results
I have a 340i with BMS intake, catless downpipe, and BM3 stage 2 91 octane
I got 334 whp and 381 wheel torque
This doesn't seem right and I'm sure the car should be pushing more since I've seen other B58s with higher numbers
It was ran in 6th gear
Also when I got back into the car it had ABS malfunction and other malfunctions
Any help ?
__________________
2018 340i MPPSK M Sport Shadow Edition RWD AT
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2019, 03:42 AM   #8
Estorilblue340i
Private First Class
13
Rep
128
Posts

Drives: Estorilblue m performance 340i
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMS-340MP View Post
Car hits top speed limiter around 6000 RPM in 6th gear, do you have speed limiter removed ?

Most probably they entered the gear ratios correction wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Estorilblue340i View Post
Recently went on a dyno and got weird results
I have a 340i with BMS intake, catless downpipe, and BM3 stage 2 91 octane
I got 334 whp and 381 wheel torque
This doesn't seem right and I'm sure the car should be pushing more since I've seen other B58s with higher numbers
It was ran in 6th gear
Also when I got back into the car it had ABS malfunction and other malfunctions
Any help ?
Mine is removed yes
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2019, 03:46 AM   #9
IMS-340MP
Private First Class
IMS-340MP's Avatar
Egypt
19
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: 2018 340i MPPSK
Join Date: May 2018
Location: EGYPT

iTrader: (0)

If the car is AT 6th gear is best as it's 1:1 gear ratio problem is car hits top speed limiter around 6000 RPM, that's why most cars are dyno'd in 5th gear unless they have top speed limiter removed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by elg0rd0yadigg View Post
Something weird for sure and hopefully they didn't run it in sport not sport plus with dsc...abs is a bit alarming, also 6th sounds wrong if I'm not mistaken but 91 is pretty low octane for these cars especially if higher numbers are your goal
__________________
2018 340i MPPSK M Sport Shadow Edition RWD AT
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2019, 02:30 PM   #10
elg0rd0yadigg
Second Lieutenant
elg0rd0yadigg's Avatar
United_States
80
Rep
202
Posts

Drives: sunset orange metallic f30 340
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Bronx

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMS-340MP View Post
If the car is AT 6th gear is best as it's 1:1 gear ratio problem is car hits top speed limiter around 6000 RPM, that's why most cars are dyno'd in 5th gear unless they have top speed limiter removed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by elg0rd0yadigg View Post
Something weird for sure and hopefully they didn't run it in sport not sport plus with dsc...abs is a bit alarming, also 6th sounds wrong if I'm not mistaken but 91 is pretty low octane for these cars especially if higher numbers are your goal
Got it bm3 should have removed speed limiter unless Oo left it on so that should be an easy fix
__________________
18? 340 XDRIVE
#BM3TUNING
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2019, 03:41 PM   #11
kern417
Cheapskate
United_States
2012
Rep
3,140
Posts

Drives: 2018 440i / 2010 X5
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cincinnati

iTrader: (0)

ABS errors can happen because the car wasn't put in dyno mode. My first dyno on BM3 stage 1, the car went into limp mode and only registered like 150hp. You need to put it in chassis dyno mode and rev out to 7000rpm.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by umizoomi View Post
As long as 3-pedals are an option, I will exercise my right to suffer the handicap and indignity of slower shifts and reaction times.
Instagram @kern417
Appreciate 2
Wires438.50
nikman011171.00

      11-03-2019, 07:19 PM   #12
msk340i
Lieutenant
345
Rep
461
Posts

Drives: 340i M sport
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kern417 View Post
ABS errors can happen because the car wasn't put in dyno mode. My first dyno on BM3 stage 1, the car went into limp mode and only registered like 150hp. You need to put it in chassis dyno mode and rev out to 7000rpm.
How do you put it in dyno mode?
Appreciate 0
      11-04-2019, 06:28 AM   #13
kern417
Cheapskate
United_States
2012
Rep
3,140
Posts

Drives: 2018 440i / 2010 X5
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cincinnati

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by msk340i View Post
How do you put it in dyno mode?
It's in the hidden menu. Hold the trip reset button for a while, like 10-15 seconds. I think the first time you need to put in a code, it's the sum of the last 5 digits of your VIN. then you can scroll through the menus by tapping the trip reset button, and select options by holding the button. The first option should be dyno mode, but it also shows you a lot of other metrics like temperatures, actual fuel in the fuel tank, etc.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by umizoomi View Post
As long as 3-pedals are an option, I will exercise my right to suffer the handicap and indignity of slower shifts and reaction times.
Instagram @kern417
Appreciate 0
      11-04-2019, 11:46 AM   #14
IMS-340MP
Private First Class
IMS-340MP's Avatar
Egypt
19
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: 2018 340i MPPSK
Join Date: May 2018
Location: EGYPT

iTrader: (0)

I don't think dyno mode option is available in the new digital cluster, I tried it with my car but couldn't find it.
But DSC off should do the same job.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kern417 View Post
It's in the hidden menu. Hold the trip reset button for a while, like 10-15 seconds. I think the first time you need to put in a code, it's the sum of the last 5 digits of your VIN. then you can scroll through the menus by tapping the trip reset button, and select options by holding the button. The first option should be dyno mode, but it also shows you a lot of other metrics like temperatures, actual fuel in the fuel tank, etc.

Appreciate 0
      11-04-2019, 01:42 PM   #15
msk340i
Lieutenant
345
Rep
461
Posts

Drives: 340i M sport
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kern417 View Post
It's in the hidden menu. Hold the trip reset button for a while, like 10-15 seconds. I think the first time you need to put in a code, it's the sum of the last 5 digits of your VIN. then you can scroll through the menus by tapping the trip reset button, and select options by holding the button. The first option should be dyno mode, but it also shows you a lot of other metrics like temperatures, actual fuel in the fuel tank, etc.

Thank you
Appreciate 0
      11-04-2019, 07:46 PM   #16
kern417
Cheapskate
United_States
2012
Rep
3,140
Posts

Drives: 2018 440i / 2010 X5
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cincinnati

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMS-340MP View Post
I don't think dyno mode option is available in the new digital cluster, I tried it with my car but couldn't find it.
But DSC off should do the same job.
It's the exact same, it just uses more of the cluster to share the same information in the hidden menu. DSC off worked for dynoing stock, but I had to turn it on for my stage 1 dyno. I guess the acceleration was enough to trip the DME's safety and everything shut down.

Here's a pic of the 6WB cluster showing the hidden menu. Dyno mode is the first option, this is after i scrolled through a few screens to get an accurate read on my tank capacity to calculate my E30 mix.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by umizoomi View Post
As long as 3-pedals are an option, I will exercise my right to suffer the handicap and indignity of slower shifts and reaction times.
Instagram @kern417
Appreciate 1
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST