F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Coding HK to B&O. Anyone tried it?
European Auto Source (EAS)
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-16-2017, 07:18 AM   #23
Chelsea_Tractor
Major General
Chelsea_Tractor's Avatar
No_Country
2855
Rep
5,416
Posts

Drives: X5M
Join Date: May 2013
Location: X

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Helmut View Post
Coded the DSP to Bang & Olufsen. It does make a difference. Sound seems to have more depth, bass is crisper and the surround processing is better than the L7. I actually thought something had hit or fallen off the car at one stage because the way the sound is now better!

Using Bimmercode (iOS expert mode): HU_NBT or HU_NBT2 > HMI 3000 > HIGH_END_AUDIO_MENUE = volle_insz
That is exactly what I noticed.
Enjoy it!!!
Appreciate 0
      10-16-2017, 07:20 AM   #24
Sullym6
Lieutenant
88
Rep
450
Posts

Drives: Not got it yet
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Manchester

iTrader: (1)

What requirements are needed to do this a part from having HK, I have a 2014 pre lci so earlier idrive
Appreciate 0
      10-16-2017, 07:22 AM   #25
Chelsea_Tractor
Major General
Chelsea_Tractor's Avatar
No_Country
2855
Rep
5,416
Posts

Drives: X5M
Join Date: May 2013
Location: X

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sullym6 View Post
What requirements are needed to do this a part from having HK, I have a 2014 pre lci so earlier idrive
If you have HK just code it.
It worked on my 320d F30 which is a 2012
Appreciate 0
      10-16-2017, 07:26 AM   #26
Sullym6
Lieutenant
88
Rep
450
Posts

Drives: Not got it yet
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Manchester

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 37psi View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sullym6 View Post
What requirements are needed to do this a part from having HK, I have a 2014 pre lci so earlier idrive
If you have HK just code it.
It worked on my 320d F30 which is a 2012
Great, will give this a go tonight
Appreciate 0
      10-16-2017, 07:59 AM   #27
JLR1969
Major General
United Kingdom
1490
Rep
6,617
Posts

Drives: F10 530D M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: England

iTrader: (1)

Just managed to code it also, the sounds seems to move towards you when on the new setting, it's seems quieter than the HK when on the same volume level but you just turn it up and it sounds good.

I would say it sounds more refined but need to have a drive and have time to get used to it.

Last edited by JLR1969; 10-16-2017 at 08:09 AM.
Appreciate 2
      10-16-2017, 03:07 PM   #28
Sullym6
Lieutenant
88
Rep
450
Posts

Drives: Not got it yet
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Manchester

iTrader: (1)

Just done this but I guess now it?s time to play with the EQ to see if I can find a setting I like
Appreciate 0
      10-16-2017, 03:51 PM   #29
JLR1969
Major General
United Kingdom
1490
Rep
6,617
Posts

Drives: F10 530D M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: England

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sullym6 View Post
Just done this but I guess now it?s time to play with the EQ to see if I can find a setting I like
I went with these settings
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 1
stu14t380.50

      10-16-2017, 03:55 PM   #30
JLR1969
Major General
United Kingdom
1490
Rep
6,617
Posts

Drives: F10 530D M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: England

iTrader: (1)

.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 2
      10-16-2017, 04:16 PM   #31
Sullym6
Lieutenant
88
Rep
450
Posts

Drives: Not got it yet
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Manchester

iTrader: (1)

Thanks will have a play tomorrow, will pass some of the time during rush hour
Appreciate 0
      10-16-2017, 05:54 PM   #32
MustangNZ
New Member
15
Rep
15
Posts

Drives: 2015 F33 420d
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: New Zealand

iTrader: (0)

I have a base audio system in my F33 which has recently been upgraded with new speakers throughout, and JL Audio amplifier added.

Thoughts on coding this setting on Bimmercode for my vehicle would be worthwhile? Of course the HK / B&O set up has many more speakers so I am just checking if it would still be safe to do so on a "base" audio system.
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2017, 02:29 AM   #33
JLR1969
Major General
United Kingdom
1490
Rep
6,617
Posts

Drives: F10 530D M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: England

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangNZ View Post
I have a base audio system in my F33 which has recently been upgraded with new speakers throughout, and JL Audio amplifier added.

Thoughts on coding this setting on Bimmercode for my vehicle would be worthwhile? Of course the HK / B&O set up has many more speakers so I am just checking if it would still be safe to do so on a "base" audio system.
No idea to be honest, just try it and see.
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2017, 05:37 AM   #34
vorph
Banned
141
Rep
479
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: South

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangNZ View Post
I have a base audio system in my F33 which has recently been upgraded with new speakers throughout, and JL Audio amplifier added.

Thoughts on coding this setting on Bimmercode for my vehicle would be worthwhile? Of course the HK / B&O set up has many more speakers so I am just checking if it would still be safe to do so on a "base" audio system.
You don't even get sound if code to B&O
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2017, 12:07 PM   #35
Kal101
Major General
Kal101's Avatar
United Kingdom
2639
Rep
6,344
Posts

Drives: 335xd Msport +
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: West mids!!!!

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Just done it on mine.

Does sound crisper and better.

Time will tell
__________________
Appreciate 2
      10-18-2017, 04:45 PM   #36
Kal101
Major General
Kal101's Avatar
United Kingdom
2639
Rep
6,344
Posts

Drives: 335xd Msport +
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: West mids!!!!

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by 37psi View Post
See here for details on how to do it:

http://f80.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho....php?t=1322442

Please share your thoughts if you have tried it.

Good find dude

Just done s couple of hours with the new setting gs - you can certainly hear the extra nuances in the music even with my ears.

Only complaint from Fat Kid 1 and 2 - didnít improve my taste in music.

Thanks to Darth Helmut for posting the idiot guide on how to do it.
__________________
Appreciate 2
      10-19-2017, 02:14 AM   #37
MustangNZ
New Member
15
Rep
15
Posts

Drives: 2015 F33 420d
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: New Zealand

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JLR1969 View Post
No idea to be honest, just try it and see.
Coded to B&O but did not recognise any sound difference to be honest, not t to be unexpected though. It also did not show the equalizer option available which was what I was half wanting.
Appreciate 1
JLR19691489.50

      10-19-2017, 11:38 AM   #38
Chelsea_Tractor
Major General
Chelsea_Tractor's Avatar
No_Country
2855
Rep
5,416
Posts

Drives: X5M
Join Date: May 2013
Location: X

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangNZ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLR1969 View Post
No idea to be honest, just try it and see.
Coded to B&O but did not recognise any sound difference to be honest, not t to be unexpected though. It also did not show the equalizer option available which was what I was half wanting.
You will not see any benefit on the base system. However, you are probably better off coding to Hi Fi. This will flatten and de-equalize the signal.

You can then add on an aftermarket amplifier once you have done this. Preferably one with DSP. Check out the Bimmer Tech amp for example.
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2017, 02:13 PM   #39
MustangNZ
New Member
15
Rep
15
Posts

Drives: 2015 F33 420d
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: New Zealand

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 37psi View Post
You will not see any benefit on the base system. However, you are probably better off coding to Hi Fi. This will flatten and de-equalize the signal.

You can then add on an aftermarket amplifier once you have done this. Preferably one with DSP. Check out the Bimmer Tech amp for example.
Cheers, will give this a go. Which would be Hi Fi?
kein_menue (original setting)
keine_insz ?
nur_lichtinsz ?
volle_insz B&O
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2017, 02:26 PM   #40
vorph
Banned
141
Rep
479
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: South

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangNZ View Post
Cheers, will give this a go. Which would be Hi Fi?
kein_menue (original setting)
keine_insz ?
nur_lichtinsz ?
volle_insz B&O
Nothing from here
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2017, 02:36 PM   #41
Darth Helmut
Banned
1748
Rep
2,029
Posts

Drives: BMW F32 435d XD
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: The Penthouse, Death Star

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vorph View Post
Nothing from here
Helpful....
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2017, 03:02 PM   #42
vorph
Banned
141
Rep
479
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: South

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Helmut View Post
Helpful....
It is
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2017, 03:07 PM   #43
Darth Helmut
Banned
1748
Rep
2,029
Posts

Drives: BMW F32 435d XD
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: The Penthouse, Death Star

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vorph View Post
It is
Ah ha, you need him to pay you before you offer more help?
Appreciate 1
      10-19-2017, 03:19 PM   #44
Chelsea_Tractor
Major General
Chelsea_Tractor's Avatar
No_Country
2855
Rep
5,416
Posts

Drives: X5M
Join Date: May 2013
Location: X

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangNZ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 37psi View Post
You will not see any benefit on the base system. However, you are probably better off coding to Hi Fi. This will flatten and de-equalize the signal.

You can then add on an aftermarket amplifier once you have done this. Preferably one with DSP. Check out the Bimmer Tech amp for example.
Cheers, will give this a go. Which would be Hi Fi?
kein_menue (original setting)
keine_insz ?
nur_lichtinsz ?
volle_insz B&O
Coding to Hi Fi is a bit more involving and that list will not cut it. I will post some links in my next post. You only need to code Hi Fi if you are adding an amp on.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST