F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > N55 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > bootmod3 New Feature Release *** OBD Unlock and OFFLINE Flasher ***
Extreme Powerhouse
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-11-2018, 10:48 PM   #89
matty088
Major
254
Rep
1,049
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ct

iTrader: (1)

It's not clear that obd unlock gives you full access to the DME.
Appreciate 0
      02-12-2018, 09:04 AM   #90
ceedawg
Major
ceedawg's Avatar
436
Rep
1,350
Posts

Drives: 2k15 335i xdrive MSport 6spd
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Big City

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by $howtime456 View Post
do you live under a rock? Look how many tuners and reviews are out there for BM3
Are you illiterate?, I did say there are plenty of reviews and good things said about bootmod3! Check my prior post R.I.F

Quote:
Originally Posted by ceedawg View Post
Hopefully something happens soon . Does seem like alot of people are commenting good things about Bootmod3 just waiting to hear whats up with Activive Autowerkes flash tune.
__________________
2k15 335i Msport xdrive 6spd
Wagner Comp2 FMIC,FTP CP,stock exhaust. Fabspeed Sport catted DP, ACS springs. FBO BM3 Stg 2

Last edited by ceedawg; 02-12-2018 at 08:04 PM..
Appreciate 0
      02-12-2018, 09:15 AM   #91
ceedawg
Major
ceedawg's Avatar
436
Rep
1,350
Posts

Drives: 2k15 335i xdrive MSport 6spd
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Big City

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chaungo View Post
It literally takes 15-20 minutes. No joke, my friend has done a couple and it takes him 15-20 minutes.
Yep liking this even more! Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by matty088 View Post
It's not clear that obd unlock gives you full access to the DME.
Then you need to send out the DME. I think you will be fine with not sending in the DME and just using the OBD port to flash. It's not like any of the flashes allow you to do what standalone ECU's like Haltech,AEM or even partial standalones like ECM link where you can access VE tables,fuel flow etc.The vendors basically set all that stuff up already,we just have to download it and based on your mods they send you a map with all the tables setup.

I do not want the dealer to have a clue that I tampered with the ECU by taking it off the mani.

Other option is to go and get a custom tune.
__________________
2k15 335i Msport xdrive 6spd
Wagner Comp2 FMIC,FTP CP,stock exhaust. Fabspeed Sport catted DP, ACS springs. FBO BM3 Stg 2
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2018, 09:10 AM   #92
proTUNING Freaks
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
proTUNING Freaks's Avatar
3294
Rep
1,599
Posts


Drives: powered by bootmod3
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: www.protuningfreaks.com | www.bootmod3.com

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by matty088 View Post
It's not clear that obd unlock gives you full access to the DME.
Hi matty088, definitely full access for tuning and making power. Its identical to the bench unlock way in that sense.

We just pushed out the S55 release of it and N55 EWG/m2 and PWG are next up on the list!

http://f80.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho....php?t=1466122
Appreciate 4
      02-13-2018, 09:22 AM   #93
matty088
Major
254
Rep
1,049
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ct

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by proTUNING Freaks View Post
Hi matty088, definitely full access for tuning and making power. Its identical to the bench unlock way in that sense.

We just pushed out the S55 release of it and N55 EWG/m2 and PWG are next up on the list!

http://f80.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho....php?t=1466122
great, i will buy one when avail for 435
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2018, 04:16 PM   #94
the dope steez
Captain
Canada
365
Rep
808
Posts

Drives: F30 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Shredmonton, Illberta

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by proTUNING Freaks View Post
Hi matty088, definitely full access for tuning and making power. Its identical to the bench unlock way in that sense.

We just pushed out the S55 release of it and N55 EWG/m2 and PWG are next up on the list!

http://f80.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho....php?t=1466122
Awesome news, I've been following you guys for a while and was about to pull the trigger on BM3 before the OBD unlock was released. Now that I can do this from my driveway that makes it so much more convenient and inexpensive.

Can't wait!
Appreciate 1
cjack27.50

      02-13-2018, 04:26 PM   #95
Bimmer_pnoy
Private
Bimmer_pnoy's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
87
Posts

Drives: 2015 335i xDrive
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Charleston, SC

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by proTUNING Freaks View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by matty088 View Post
It's not clear that obd unlock gives you full access to the DME.
Hi matty088, definitely full access for tuning and making power. Its identical to the bench unlock way in that sense.

We just pushed out the S55 release of it and N55 EWG/m2 and PWG are next up on the list!

http://f80.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho....php?t=1466122
Quote:
Originally Posted by proTUNING Freaks View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by matty088 View Post
It's not clear that obd unlock gives you full access to the DME.
Hi matty088, definitely full access for tuning and making power. Its identical to the bench unlock way in that sense.

We just pushed out the S55 release of it and N55 EWG/m2 and PWG are next up on the list!

http://f80.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho....php?t=1466122

Great news patiently waiting for the N55 version.
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2018, 09:17 PM   #96
ceedawg
Major
ceedawg's Avatar
436
Rep
1,350
Posts

Drives: 2k15 335i xdrive MSport 6spd
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Big City

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by proTUNING Freaks View Post
Hi matty088, definitely full access for tuning and making power. Its identical to the bench unlock way in that sense.

We just pushed out the S55 release of it and N55 EWG/m2 and PWG are next up on the list!

http://f80.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho....php?t=1466122
Other than not needing to buy a special cable(Simon cable) from AA, what is so different about Bootmod3 vs going with an AA tune? Seems like they are similar with burble,OTS tunes ,OBD unlock.freeze coumter A lot of us are still on the fence. Can PM me or state the differences here thanks.
__________________
2k15 335i Msport xdrive 6spd
Wagner Comp2 FMIC,FTP CP,stock exhaust. Fabspeed Sport catted DP, ACS springs. FBO BM3 Stg 2
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2018, 09:42 PM   #97
matty088
Major
254
Rep
1,049
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ct

iTrader: (1)

What exactly does the bm3 do to the dp cell? Is the obd in ready status?
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2018, 05:03 AM   #98
ceedawg
Major
ceedawg's Avatar
436
Rep
1,350
Posts

Drives: 2k15 335i xdrive MSport 6spd
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Big City

iTrader: (0)

Also it is nice that one can datallog and see it but how does it allow me to make changes my self, am I able to have access to tuning tables and change values?
__________________
2k15 335i Msport xdrive 6spd
Wagner Comp2 FMIC,FTP CP,stock exhaust. Fabspeed Sport catted DP, ACS springs. FBO BM3 Stg 2
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2018, 10:49 AM   #99
hubage
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: 2014 335xi
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by matty088 View Post
What exactly does the bm3 do to the dp cell? Is the obd in ready status?
I keep waiting to hear about this from all the possible flash vendors. I think whoever can do this first will get my sale.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2018, 11:10 AM   #100
JaredG_F30
Major
JaredG_F30's Avatar
897
Rep
1,395
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i, M-Sport, Manual
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Raleigh, NC

iTrader: (0)

The flash just turns off the CEL at the dash for the absence of the cat. Putting the car in readiness state to pass emissions is illegal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hubage View Post
I keep waiting to hear about this from all the possible flash vendors. I think whoever can do this first will get my sale.
You can make a copy of your stock map, set yourself up as a tuner and have access to all the tables.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ceedawg View Post
Also it is nice that one can datallog and see it but how does it allow me to make changes my self, am I able to have access to tuning tables and change values?
__________________

2014 F30 335i, M-Sport, 6MT, V804s, custom exhaust, CTS Turbo Intake & IC, FTP CP, VRSF DP, TMS Strut Brace, BM3 Stg 2, AEM WMI, H&R Sport Springs (381 whp, 429 wtq on Cali 91oct before WMI).
SPI Films Blog/DIY Vids
Appreciate 1
FSociety3120.50

      02-14-2018, 11:48 AM   #101
matty088
Major
254
Rep
1,049
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ct

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaredG_F30 View Post
The flash just turns off the CEL at the dash for the absence of the cat. Putting the car in readiness state to pass emissions is illegal.



You can make a copy of your stock map, set yourself up as a tuner and have access to all the tables.
How are people passing emissions with a DP
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2018, 12:16 PM   #102
dr.roro
Captain
United_States
181
Rep
791
Posts

Drives: 2015 F32 435i
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: US

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by matty088 View Post
How are people passing emissions with a DP
Fabspeed uses a high quality HJS 200-cell cat that doesn't trigger a CEL and also maintains OBD readiness.

Everything else will probably require either changing back to stock DP for emissions, or something else illegal.

If your state has a visual inspection, then your only option is likely changing back to stock DP for emissions.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2018, 12:42 PM   #103
JaredG_F30
Major
JaredG_F30's Avatar
897
Rep
1,395
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i, M-Sport, Manual
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Raleigh, NC

iTrader: (0)

CATsim

http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...ghlight=catsim

Quote:
Originally Posted by matty088 View Post
How are people passing emissions with a DP
__________________

2014 F30 335i, M-Sport, 6MT, V804s, custom exhaust, CTS Turbo Intake & IC, FTP CP, VRSF DP, TMS Strut Brace, BM3 Stg 2, AEM WMI, H&R Sport Springs (381 whp, 429 wtq on Cali 91oct before WMI).
SPI Films Blog/DIY Vids
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2018, 12:49 PM   #104
Hansboost
Private First Class
15
Rep
103
Posts

Drives: 435i
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Houston

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by matty088 View Post
How are people passing emissions with a DP
FL. Move to FL
Appreciate 2
FSociety3120.50

      02-14-2018, 01:19 PM   #105
paimon.soror
Captain
paimon.soror's Avatar
United_States
361
Rep
683
Posts

Drives: 2016 F36 435x MSport
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Hartford, CT

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaredG_F30 View Post
The flash just turns off the CEL at the dash for the absence of the cat. Putting the car in readiness state to pass emissions is illegal.
.
True but there is a difference to forcing a readiness monitor to always show ready vs disabling specific checks that impact those readiness monitors.

Flag the tunes that disable the cat check as 'offroad use only' and leave the usage to the discretion of the person who used that tune
__________________
2010 Mazda RX8 - Sold (11/17)
2016 BMW 435xi GC - Current
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2018, 02:00 PM   #106
JaredG_F30
Major
JaredG_F30's Avatar
897
Rep
1,395
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i, M-Sport, Manual
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Raleigh, NC

iTrader: (0)

If you can convince PTF or some other tuner to implement this solution I would be a happy customer and be willing to pay. Right now there is no CATsim solution for EWG F30/N55 so I'm looking for a solution.

Quote:
Originally Posted by paimon.soror View Post
True but there is a difference to forcing a readiness monitor to always show ready vs disabling specific checks that impact those readiness monitors.

Flag the tunes that disable the cat check as 'offroad use only' and leave the usage to the discretion of the person who used that tune
__________________

2014 F30 335i, M-Sport, 6MT, V804s, custom exhaust, CTS Turbo Intake & IC, FTP CP, VRSF DP, TMS Strut Brace, BM3 Stg 2, AEM WMI, H&R Sport Springs (381 whp, 429 wtq on Cali 91oct before WMI).
SPI Films Blog/DIY Vids
Appreciate 1
FSociety3120.50

      02-14-2018, 02:07 PM   #107
matty088
Major
254
Rep
1,049
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ct

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaredG_F30 View Post
If you can convince PTF or some other tuner to implement this solution I would be a happy customer and be willing to pay. Right now there is no CATsim solution for EWG F30/N55 so I'm looking for a solution.
Do have bm3?
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2018, 02:18 PM   #108
FSociety
2020 X3M/X4M Coming Soon
FSociety's Avatar
No_Country
3121
Rep
7,036
Posts

Drives: F90 M5, F80 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NYC NJ CT PA FL

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaredG_F30 View Post
Doesn't work for EWG, Aatish tried it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hansboost View Post
FL. Move to FL


Quote:
Originally Posted by matty088 View Post
Do have bm3?
Look at his signature lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by paimon.soror View Post
True but there is a difference to forcing a readiness monitor to always show ready vs disabling specific checks that impact those readiness monitors.

Flag the tunes that disable the cat check as 'offroad use only' and leave the usage to the discretion of the person who used that tune
I think EnzoRacing offers "offroad use only" as well
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2018, 02:22 PM   #109
paimon.soror
Captain
paimon.soror's Avatar
United_States
361
Rep
683
Posts

Drives: 2016 F36 435x MSport
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Hartford, CT

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaredG_F30 View Post
If you can convince PTF or some other tuner to implement this solution I would be a happy customer and be willing to pay. Right now there is no CATsim solution for EWG F30/N55 so I'm looking for a solution.
Yup same here for sure. Ive been crossing my fingers for it. Its how i survived 5+ years of emissions checks without having to constantly replace my midpipe every year with my last car lol.
__________________
2010 Mazda RX8 - Sold (11/17)
2016 BMW 435xi GC - Current
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2018, 02:24 PM   #110
Aatish
Lofty
Aatish's Avatar
United_States
3332
Rep
775
Posts

Drives: MG/DB 14' 335i X-Drive
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Madhouse on Madison

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaredG_F30 View Post
If you can convince PTF or some other tuner to implement this solution I would be a happy customer and be willing to pay. Right now there is no CATsim solution for EWG F30/N55 so I'm looking for a solution.
The catsim doesn't work for EWG. My boy and I sat around my car with a multimeter measuring input voltage with cats on, cats off, and cats off + sim.

From what we deduced, the catsim could work if the circuit is modified to output the correct voltage. With the Catsim, a voltage of 1.5 is fed to the DME, which does not allow the heater to engage. The car never goes into readiness, and the CEL is engaged after a few drive cycle.

With the cats on, a voltage of roughly .7-.8 is fed into the DME, causing the heater to come on.

We think lowering the output voltage from the Catsim (to a value around .7v) could make it work. Got my pass and sticker with my cat. Gonna solder the circuit and test when I put my DP back in.

I'll keep y'all posted.
__________________
VRSF FMIC
VRSF CP
RPI GT Exhaust
BM3
Appreciate 3
FSociety3120.50

Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bm3, bmw, bootmod3

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST