F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Adding more bass to HK setup
Extreme Powerhouse

10-01-2018, 12:29 PM   #1
PJ Gross
Private
Rep
Drives: 2015 335x GT

Adding more bass to HK setup

I'm a new 2015 335xi GT owner. I am new to BMWs, but not new to car audio and/or cars. I am pretty impressed with the HK system my car has, but my listening preference is mostly SQ with ability to turn up the bass for certain moods, songs, situations.

I've read a ton of posts in the last month, and would appreciate some input/ pointing to the correct direction, of what I would like to accomplish.

I "think" the HK system is pretty fantastic! It satisfies about 75% of my audio wishes. So I started looking at options.

My first desire would be a clean fitting 10-12" single sub, sealed, fairly high excursion with enough power to remotely turn up sound pressure but just fill out daily listening duties.

I have an email in to Integral to ask whether their sub would fit an F34, but I have a hard time forking over that kind of dough for a compromise that I doubt will do what I want at 250W nominal power. (from their ARC amp in the overall system they sell)

With the HK system, if you were going to add a sub, how would you choose to integrate it?

I would be ok with something as basic as a LOC, then AMP, and custom enclosure. I would get this through someone like Technic on the forum?

One post of a similar solution to note was:
https://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh....php?t=1408166

Remote turn on source is still (I think) a sticking point for the HK system. Lots of input on there, but in one post I think someone found a fuse that could do an "add-a-fuse" to, I would have to re-look up.