F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Am i missing something?
European Auto Source (EAS)
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-10-2019, 06:30 PM   #1
seenthelight!
Private First Class
United Kingdom
95
Rep
167
Posts

Drives: bmw 435d f32 coupe
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: west yorkshire

iTrader: (0)

Am i missing something?

Car is 2017 LCI 435d guys. Does the air con/air temp have to be adjusted separately for driver and passenger side, or is there a way to 'pair' both sides up so that both can be adjusted by one rotation ? On my other cars this was possible, but doesn't seem the case here. Advice/confirmation welcome. Thanks in advance
__________________
Ex S3 & GLA45 AMG ... now 435d F32 coupe
Appreciate 1
x-m4n115.00

      09-10-2019, 07:10 PM   #2
mbanks21
Colonel
920
Rep
2,750
Posts

Drives: 2015 335i MSport
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: St. Pete Florida

iTrader: (8)

Nope
__________________
2015 335i Msport/6 JB4/EWG/E30/VRSF DP/ER CP/ VRSF Race Exhaust/ Injen Intake/Verde Axis 19x8.5/9.5 245/35/275/30 Conti Extreme CS/ H&R Sports / Motorsport Hardware Stud Conversion
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2019, 08:22 PM   #3
rlmesq
Major
838
Rep
1,282
Posts

Drives: 2018 440i M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chico, CA

iTrader: (0)

A 2017 4 series is not an LCI model. The LCI happened on 2018 models.
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2019, 08:52 PM   #4
seenthelight!
Private First Class
United Kingdom
95
Rep
167
Posts

Drives: bmw 435d f32 coupe
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: west yorkshire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rlmesq View Post
A 2017 4 series is not an LCI model. The LCI happened on 2018 models.
LCI, registered sept 2017 .... Apparently, the 'crossover period' was with cars built in January/early February 2017 ...

Last edited by seenthelight!; 09-10-2019 at 09:06 PM..
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2019, 11:34 PM   #5
TaranF32
Private First Class
TaranF32's Avatar
United Kingdom
103
Rep
140
Posts

Drives: BMW 4 Series
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Portsmouth, UK

iTrader: (0)

Unfortunately there is no way to sync the climate control, pre or post LCI. I can't see why this was omitted from our cars. Literally every other model in BMWs line up has it except for the 1/2/3/4 series.
I also suffer from chronic OCD of having both sides set at the same temperature, kinda defeats the objective of dual zone climate control though haha
Appreciate 1
x-m4n115.00

      09-11-2019, 12:45 AM   #6
330XDave
Captain
369
Rep
952
Posts

Drives: 330d xDrive Touring
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Nottingham, UK

iTrader: (0)

I found this strange when I first bought my F31 but in all honesty I soon forgot about it and never thought about it since until mentioned on here again now.
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2019, 01:57 AM   #7
Russbmw
Colonel
Russbmw's Avatar
United Kingdom
500
Rep
2,225
Posts

Drives: 2014 640i sport
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Surrey, UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Yeah, it's weird they put a "sync" button on 5/6 series but not the others.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2019, 03:16 AM   #8
RobUK
Brigadier General
RobUK's Avatar
United Kingdom
1437
Rep
3,876
Posts

Drives: 340i MPPSK
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sussex, UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
To get driver/passenger heater control sync, connect the two knobs using a thick rubber band.
__________________
Life is a state of mind
Appreciate 3
muffking154.50
Pequin219.00
rlmesq838.00

      09-11-2019, 03:38 AM   #9
Wills2
Barge driver
Wills2's Avatar
United Kingdom
4900
Rep
9,072
Posts

Drives: G11 740d xdrive
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: West Yorkshire

iTrader: (0)

The G20 now has a sync function but it's hidden in the climate menu on the idrive rather than a button on the dash, the issue is it resets itself to not syncing so you have to go in and change it which is a waste of time as it's easier just to adjust the temp manually, very odd.

(that could have been user error but I had one for week and that was my experience)
__________________
G11 740d xdrive/Z4C, Gone F80 M3/F10 M5/F31 335d/e92 M3 x 2/F10 520d x 2/997 C2S/e46 M3/e46 320d/SL320/Touareg 3.2V6/Audi allroad 2.7TDi
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2019, 05:52 AM   #10
doncarlyon
Lieutenant
152
Rep
488
Posts

Drives: 420d M Sport Gran Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

iTrader: (0)

Annoying isnt it
Appreciate 1
      09-11-2019, 06:30 AM   #11
1966-TR4
Lieutenant
Scotland
211
Rep
569
Posts

Drives: F31 330D xDrive MPPK ACS
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Edinburgh & Glasgow, Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by seenthelight! View Post
Car is 2017 LCI 435d guys. Does the air con/air temp have to be adjusted separately for driver and passenger side, or is there a way to 'pair' both sides up so that both can be adjusted by one rotation ? On my other cars this was possible, but doesn't seem the case here. Advice/confirmation welcome. Thanks in advance
Good God man, this is a BMW from 2017 you are driving, not a bog standard Golf from 2005!
__________________
F31 Mineral Grey 330d Xdrive, ACS, Adaptive, MPPK.

Gone but not forgotten: 1967 Triumph GT6 Mk1 (6 pot 2 litre widowmaker) 1966 Triumph TR4A (4 pot 2.2 litre, huge torque, lovely car) 2004 Audi TT 3.2 DSG Quattro (weak springs & nose heavy) 2006 VW Golf GTI (brilliant on good tyres)
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2019, 07:15 AM   #12
73henny
Major
73henny's Avatar
Scotland
436
Rep
1,490
Posts

Drives: a lovely new G20 320dx
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wills2 View Post
The G20 now has a sync function but it's hidden in the climate menu on the idrive rather than a button on the dash, the issue is it resets itself to not syncing so you have to go in and change it which is a waste of time as it's easier just to adjust the temp manually, very odd.

(that could have been user error but I had one for week and that was my experience)
You don't need to go into the menu or press any buttons. Just ask the assistant to synchronise temperature.
__________________
G20 320dx. Every option except a tow bar
F48 X1 20dx.

Gone; F30 335dx, F30 330dx, F21 LCI 125d
Appreciate 1
      09-11-2019, 08:12 AM   #13
aquazi
Captain
255
Rep
821
Posts

Drives: 67 435d coupe
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Sutton coldfield

iTrader: (0)

Maybe its just me - but i've had my car over 2 years and never changed the temp from its 18.5 degrees - on either the drivers or passengers bit!
Appreciate 1
Junebug85557.50

      09-11-2019, 08:51 AM   #14
B1ue52
Private First Class
England
89
Rep
190
Posts

Drives: F32 420d M Sport
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aquazi View Post
Maybe its just me - but i've had my car over 2 years and never changed the temp from its 18.5 degrees - on either the drivers or passengers bit!
Haha that's awesome... I think it's deffo just you
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2019, 08:54 AM   #15
blueislander
Lieutenant
199
Rep
447
Posts

Drives: F32 440i
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

I wondered this too, seems bizarre you can't do it.

Also, when I press the air direction button, I can do top middle bottom on drivers side but only middle and bottom on the passenger seat. Is that because nobody is sat in it or something?
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2019, 09:07 AM   #16
un1eash
First Lieutenant
86
Rep
342
Posts

Drives: 420i GC M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Midlands, UK

iTrader: (0)

My 2016 F11 M Sport didn't have the sync button either.
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2019, 09:28 AM   #17
mbanks21
Colonel
920
Rep
2,750
Posts

Drives: 2015 335i MSport
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: St. Pete Florida

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueislander View Post
I wondered this too, seems bizarre you can't do it.

Also, when I press the air direction button, I can do top middle bottom on drivers side but only middle and bottom on the passenger seat. Is that because nobody is sat in it or something?
No because the "top" covers the entire top, it's not the top on each side
__________________
2015 335i Msport/6 JB4/EWG/E30/VRSF DP/ER CP/ VRSF Race Exhaust/ Injen Intake/Verde Axis 19x8.5/9.5 245/35/275/30 Conti Extreme CS/ H&R Sports / Motorsport Hardware Stud Conversion
Appreciate 1
      09-11-2019, 11:17 AM   #18
Wills2
Barge driver
Wills2's Avatar
United Kingdom
4900
Rep
9,072
Posts

Drives: G11 740d xdrive
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: West Yorkshire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 73henny View Post
You don't need to go into the menu or press any buttons. Just ask the assistant to synchronise temperature.
Had I done that I'd have been waiting a while, forever even.
__________________
G11 740d xdrive/Z4C, Gone F80 M3/F10 M5/F31 335d/e92 M3 x 2/F10 520d x 2/997 C2S/e46 M3/e46 320d/SL320/Touareg 3.2V6/Audi allroad 2.7TDi
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2019, 11:20 AM   #19
seenthelight!
Private First Class
United Kingdom
95
Rep
167
Posts

Drives: bmw 435d f32 coupe
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: west yorkshire

iTrader: (0)

Thank for all the replies guys !
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2019, 01:39 PM   #20
sensible
Major
sensible's Avatar
485
Rep
1,189
Posts

Drives: BMW 420i M-Sport Gran Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: West Midlands UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaranF32 View Post
I also suffer from chronic OCD of having both sides set at the same temperature, kinda defeats the objective of dual zone climate control though haha
Me too, I couldn't possibly have them showing different temperatures, not even by half a degree.
Appreciate 1
Pequin219.00

      09-11-2019, 03:38 PM   #21
73henny
Major
73henny's Avatar
Scotland
436
Rep
1,490
Posts

Drives: a lovely new G20 320dx
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wills2 View Post
Had I done that I'd have been waiting a while, forever even.
Why? Works fine for me.
__________________
G20 320dx. Every option except a tow bar
F48 X1 20dx.

Gone; F30 335dx, F30 330dx, F21 LCI 125d
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2019, 04:44 PM   #22
dopper99
Lieutenant General
England
2928
Rep
10,758
Posts

Drives: Golf R 2019
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Russbmw View Post
Yeah, it's weird they put a "sync" button on 5/6 series but not the others.
It was also on the old E9x 3 series. But they they dropped it on the F3x.
__________________

Current:
Golf R 2019
Previous:
Mercedes AMG C63 S Coupe
F80 M3 Competition Pack
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST