F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Retrofitting idrive touch.
Extreme Powerhouse
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-16-2020, 10:07 AM   #1
Mr_Breaker
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW F30 330D
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: West Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Retrofitting idrive touch.

Hello guys. I'm looking to upgrade my standard Idrive controller to the touch version.

Is it a simple case of just getting the idrive touch and swapping it out and then coding? Or would I need some kind of module seems my car is a 2012 f30?
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2020, 12:14 PM   #2
robbiep
Colonel
United Kingdom
1046
Rep
2,272
Posts

Drives: F31 325d M Sport, Z4 20Si
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: North Wales, UK

iTrader: (0)

Won't work. The iDrive system is completely different, software and hardware
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2020, 03:57 PM   #3
MH94
Private
MH94's Avatar
United Kingdom
8
Rep
75
Posts

Drives: BMW F30
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

It's one feature that I have but really could live without as i only used it once which was when I picked the car up for the novelty of it and that's been it ever since
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2020, 04:48 PM   #4
Medslow
Private
38
Rep
69
Posts

Drives: F31 340i Superman combo, MPE.
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cambs

iTrader: (0)

Same here... Sooooo useless. I wouldn't miss it.
The only thing going for it is the larger wheely thing.
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2020, 05:08 PM   #5
HarryTee
New Member
United Kingdom
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 2017 440i Coupe & 440i GC
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

I don't think I would use the touch feature much but I imagine it'd be useful to use our finger to move around on the map. Without touch, you can only shrink or enlarge the map but are unable to explore/ see areas near where you are, am I correct?
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2020, 05:14 PM   #6
robbiep
Colonel
United Kingdom
1046
Rep
2,272
Posts

Drives: F31 325d M Sport, Z4 20Si
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: North Wales, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryTee View Post
I don't think I would use the touch feature much but I imagine it'd be useful to use our finger to move around on the map. Without touch, you can only shrink or enlarge the map but are unable to explore/ see areas near where you are, am I correct?
No, with the old type you can move to other areas of the map via the left-side jog menu, and then zoom in and out on those
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2020, 05:14 PM   #7
Medslow
Private
38
Rep
69
Posts

Drives: F31 340i Superman combo, MPE.
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cambs

iTrader: (0)

You can still move and zoom without touch.
In theory it would be easier yes... But it's still a pain to move around using the touch.
I think in the 3 years I've had IDrive (both with and without touch), I've used the free look map feature about twice.
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2020, 01:54 AM   #8
WillLowe
Private First Class
26
Rep
164
Posts

Drives: F32 435d
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne / Hertfordshire

iTrader: (0)

I find it useful for typing postcodes, scrolling around the map, and even for adjusting the equalizer. Maybe being left handed helps?
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2020, 02:02 PM   #9
HarryTee
New Member
United Kingdom
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 2017 440i Coupe & 440i GC
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbiep View Post
No, with the old type you can move to other areas of the map via the left-side jog menu, and then zoom in and out on those
Thanks! Didn't know about this and just tried it out now
Learned something already, in just one day of joining
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2020, 03:01 PM   #10
muniz_ri
Private First Class
United_States
50
Rep
172
Posts

Drives: BMA 320I
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (1)

A related question....I have a 2016 320I (lci) with the basic idrive controller that only moves left or right, the one without the nav button.

If I plugin the controller version with the nav button that moves left, right, and up and down will I gain the ability to move up and down on the idrive screen?

I retrofitted an Android Auto mmi and need the up and down movement in order to easily access incoming call notifications.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2020, 12:08 PM   #11
Mr_Breaker
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW F30 330D
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: West Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbiep View Post
Won't work. The iDrive system is completely different, software and hardware
so I would have to upgrade to NBT?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST