F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > N20, N26, B46, B48 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > n20 bootmod3 ots stage1 knock detected??
Vorsteiner
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-09-2018, 11:36 AM   #1
benny888
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 2012 f30 328i
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

n20 bootmod3 ots stage1 knock detected??

here are my datalog,,, are those normal ?

also i dun get y when i floor the gas, it will kickdown to 2nd gear ? what should i do ?

thanks

first pull
http://www.bootmod3.net/log?id=5b1becafd10b437faba93c2e

2nd pull
http://www.bootmod3.net/log?id=5b1bedaed10b437faba93c32
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2018, 11:57 AM   #2
rjdnyy224
Colonel
rjdnyy224's Avatar
United_States
831
Rep
2,167
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i xDrive
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by benny888 View Post
here are my datalog,,, are those normal ?

also i dun get y when i floor the gas, it will kickdown to 2nd gear ? what should i do ?

thanks

first pull
http://www.bootmod3.net/log?id=5b1becafd10b437faba93c2e

2nd pull
http://www.bootmod3.net/log?id=5b1bedaed10b437faba93c32
Logs look ok to me, but I am not an expert. The car will drop to the lowest possible gear when you floor it because you are hitting the kick down switch. It is designed to do this to offer the best acceleration, which typically means being in the lowest gear possible.
__________________
2013 328i xDrive N20 8AT | Bootmod3 Stage 2 OTS 93oct AGG | VRSF Street 5" HD Front-Mount Intercooler | VRSF Catless Downpipe | M Performance Exhaust | NGK L/I Spark Plugs | K&N Drop-in | Dinan 20" Wheels Wearing Michelin PS4S's | F80 Style Decklid Spoiler | Debadged | F80 Style Grille | Various Interior Bits |
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2018, 12:12 PM   #3
benny888
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 2012 f30 328i
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjdnyy224 View Post
Logs look ok to me, but I am not an expert. The car will drop to the lowest possible gear when you floor it because you are hitting the kick down switch. It is designed to do this to offer the best acceleration, which typically means being in the lowest gear possible.
nice the hear my logs are ok, btw do i need to do another pull that not hitting the kick down switch to avoid it drops to 2nd? thanks
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2018, 12:17 PM   #4
rjdnyy224
Colonel
rjdnyy224's Avatar
United_States
831
Rep
2,167
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i xDrive
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by benny888 View Post
nice the hear my logs are ok, btw do i need to do another pull that not hitting the kick down switch to avoid it drops to 2nd? thanks
Like I said just because I said they look good doesn't necessarily mean they are, just saying . Hitting the kick down switch is perfectly okay when running logs.
__________________
2013 328i xDrive N20 8AT | Bootmod3 Stage 2 OTS 93oct AGG | VRSF Street 5" HD Front-Mount Intercooler | VRSF Catless Downpipe | M Performance Exhaust | NGK L/I Spark Plugs | K&N Drop-in | Dinan 20" Wheels Wearing Michelin PS4S's | F80 Style Decklid Spoiler | Debadged | F80 Style Grille | Various Interior Bits |
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2018, 12:20 PM   #5
benny888
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 2012 f30 328i
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjdnyy224 View Post
Like I said just because I said they look good doesn't necessarily mean they are, just saying . Hitting the kick down switch is perfectly okay when running logs.
ooo xddd , lets wait someone else to take a look with my logs then
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2018, 04:18 PM   #6
lukeiswright
Luke Wright
lukeiswright's Avatar
United_States
119
Rep
246
Posts

Drives: 2012 6mt 328i
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Tampa, Fl

iTrader: (0)

You're running rich and your timing isn't good at all. For some reason I can only see a few things on your logs you're not showing all the parameters
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2018, 09:39 PM   #7
benny888
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 2012 f30 328i
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeiswright View Post
You're running rich and your timing isn't good at all. For some reason I can only see a few things on your logs you're not showing all the parameters
oo really ? wt should i do with the map? send the logs to ptf ?

strange that u cant see all the parameters, how abt clicking the parameter at the bottoms? attached is screenshot of my logs

thanks
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2018, 09:44 PM   #8
lukeiswright
Luke Wright
lukeiswright's Avatar
United_States
119
Rep
246
Posts

Drives: 2012 6mt 328i
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Tampa, Fl

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by benny888 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeiswright View Post
You're running rich and your timing isn't good at all. For some reason I can only see a few things on your logs you're not showing all the parameters
oo really ? wt should i do with the map? send the logs to ptf ?

strange that u cant see all the parameters, how abt clicking the parameter at the bottoms? attached is screenshot of my logs

thanks
Here's a screenshot of my log. You see how the timing is all the same number and that my AFR is around 12 at high rpm. I would go to your downloaded map and request an update saying you're running rich and timing looks a lil funny. They should fix it for you
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2018, 10:19 PM   #9
rjdnyy224
Colonel
rjdnyy224's Avatar
United_States
831
Rep
2,167
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i xDrive
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Good point, definitely running rich past 3rd.

Timing is odd, but so are IATs. You started the pull at 120 ish and ended at about the same. Usually IATs start low and end high, assuming you're running the stock intercooler. Seeing as the car naturally pulls timing when IATs get too high, this may be the source of the issue? Not that these logs show a "pull" of timing, but perhaps the DME is spazzing out trying to implement stock failsafes on a tuned car? idk, just a thought.

benny888, what octane gas were you running and what temperature was it outside when this log was recorded?

Either way, if you feel it's necessary, open a support ticket with PTF and send them these logs and see what they say. They will give a straightforward and correct answer, along with proposing a solution.
__________________
2013 328i xDrive N20 8AT | Bootmod3 Stage 2 OTS 93oct AGG | VRSF Street 5" HD Front-Mount Intercooler | VRSF Catless Downpipe | M Performance Exhaust | NGK L/I Spark Plugs | K&N Drop-in | Dinan 20" Wheels Wearing Michelin PS4S's | F80 Style Decklid Spoiler | Debadged | F80 Style Grille | Various Interior Bits |

Last edited by rjdnyy224; 06-09-2018 at 10:26 PM.
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2018, 10:35 PM   #10
benny888
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 2012 f30 328i
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeiswright View Post
Here's a screenshot of my log. You see how the timing is all the same number and that my AFR is around 12 at high rpm. I would go to your downloaded map and request an update saying you're running rich and timing looks a lil funny. They should fix it for you
wow !!! i even get negative numbers and ever seen them in same number

just requested update on the map btw thanks so much
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2018, 10:39 PM   #11
benny888
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 2012 f30 328i
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjdnyy224 View Post
Good point, definitely running rich past 3rd.

Timing is odd, but so are IATs. You started the pull at 120 ish and ended at about the same. Usually IATs start low and end high, assuming you're running the stock intercooler. Seeing as the car naturally pulls timing when IATs get too high, this may be the source of the issue? Not that these logs show a "pull" of timing, but perhaps the DME is spazzing out trying to implement stock failsafes on a tuned car? idk, just a thought.

benny888, what octane gas were you running and what temperature was it outside when this log was recorded?

Either way, if you feel it's necessary, open a support ticket with PTF and send them these logs and see what they say. They will give a straightforward and correct answer, along with proposing a solution.

yes i am running full stock intercooler/ intake ,,, the only mod on my car is the eisenmann axle back exhaust

im running 93octane gas (98 RON in HongKong) and the temperature outside was 31 degrees Celsius

thanks
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2018, 10:58 PM   #12
lukeiswright
Luke Wright
lukeiswright's Avatar
United_States
119
Rep
246
Posts

Drives: 2012 6mt 328i
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Tampa, Fl

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by benny888 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeiswright View Post
Here's a screenshot of my log. You see how the timing is all the same number and that my AFR is around 12 at high rpm. I would go to your downloaded map and request an update saying you're running rich and timing looks a lil funny. They should fix it for you
wow !!! i even get negative numbers and ever seen them in same number

just requested update on the map btw thanks so much
No problem dude keep us updated
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2018, 11:17 PM   #13
benny888
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 2012 f30 328i
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeiswright View Post
No problem dude keep us updated

sure , lets see how ptf reply
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2018, 11:29 AM   #14
jflow72
New Member
5
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2012 BWM 328i
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (1)

Hey! Your the first guy I've seen with the same DME as me. After I looked at your logs I thought they looked some what similar to mine. I noticed you posted in another thread your DME version. My timings are also a bit diff from 1-4 and the AFR is also rich in the upper rpm. Let me know what your hear from PTF. I noticed version 2 of the tunes feel smoother (specifically 2500rpm - 3000rpm) to me so I'm currently running version 2. I'm watching for your update for sure. I had messaged them a couple weeks ago because I thought I had some tune issues, but they said everything looked good (I had messaged them with logs of version 2).

I have a downpipe and I have an FMIC coming, but this log is stock other than the tune.

http://www.bootmod3.net/log?id=5b17e5c5d10b432af151f8d9
This log is version 3 stage 1 93 octane just from the other day.

http://www.bootmod3.net/log?id=5b02ccc1d10b4326703f2bfe
Also just for fun this is a log of my stock tune from a couple weeks ago.

If anybody more knowledgeable wants to chime in I'm all for learning.

Last edited by jflow72; 06-10-2018 at 11:40 AM.
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2018, 01:22 AM   #15
benny888
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 2012 f30 328i
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jflow72 View Post
Hey! Your the first guy I've seen with the same DME as me. After I looked at your logs I thought they looked some what similar to mine. I noticed you posted in another thread your DME version. My timings are also a bit diff from 1-4 and the AFR is also rich in the upper rpm. Let me know what your hear from PTF. I noticed version 2 of the tunes feel smoother (specifically 2500rpm - 3000rpm) to me so I'm currently running version 2. I'm watching for your update for sure. I had messaged them a couple weeks ago because I thought I had some tune issues, but they said everything looked good (I had messaged them with logs of version 2).

I have a downpipe and I have an FMIC coming, but this log is stock other than the tune.

http://www.bootmod3.net/log?id=5b17e5c5d10b432af151f8d9
This log is version 3 stage 1 93 octane just from the other day.

http://www.bootmod3.net/log?id=5b02ccc1d10b4326703f2bfe
Also just for fun this is a log of my stock tune from a couple weeks ago.

If anybody more knowledgeable wants to chime in I'm all for learning.
heyy hi haha we got the same old old DME version

yup , i feel the v2 ots is smoother than the v3 as well

i got drivetrain malfunction twice with the stage1 custom map before the OTS came out,,,, checked with my fd , they said should be sth related to the ignition timing to cause the knocking problem,,,,also told me engine/ piston will break if i keep using that map....

after that i flashed to OTS v1 - v3 , seems like no more drivetrain malfuction. however, i am still afraid that my engine will break, so i finally did a datalog that day. find out that ignition time look strange that has different number across 1-4 , so i post it here to see if any expert to tell me wt exactly happen to my map if any, and seems really there some issue with the timing

so lets wait what pft will do with it for now

PS: i flashed back to stock tune for now until they have new map lollll
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2018, 08:12 PM   #16
benny888
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 2012 f30 328i
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

update: they updated the map, they ask me to re-download the OTS v3 and try , it should fix the problem .... however, i dun have time to test it yet, will post a new datalog as soon as i tested it
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST