F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > N55 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > BMS Stage 1 Tune Queries
Lease SwApp
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-22-2013, 04:49 AM   #1
abe12345
Private
5
Rep
91
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 335i M-Sport Manual
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bay Area, CA, USA

iTrader: (0)

BMS Stage 1 Tune Queries

Does anyone know if there are hidden codes that would be picked up when I take my car into the dealership, even if I removed the Stage 1 bits? I read about a USB cable and a CAN tool. Do both of them allow you to clear these codes?
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2013, 07:19 AM   #2
Mak135i
First Lieutenant
United_States
4
Rep
324
Posts

Drives: M240i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Franklin, TN

iTrader: (2)

I would think that there would be codes (Shadow and otherwise) from using the JB4. At least that's how it was with the N54 engine. I recommend the BT (Bavarian Technic) cable and software. It works well with the F30
__________________
2016 ATS-V
2018 M240i CV
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2013, 10:30 AM   #3
FotiosF80M3
Major General
FotiosF80M3's Avatar
United_States
249
Rep
6,849
Posts

Drives: 2015 F80 M3 AW/SO 2015 X5 Msp
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South Shore BMW

iTrader: (61)

I hooked up my BT tool to my 335i after removing stage 1 and there wasn't anything there as far as tuner codes. Made me happy as I didn't want to lose the srs system fault.
__________________

2018 M3 COMPETITION Mineral white, Black,
carbon roof, black 20's, Mperf splitters/Blade, carbon spoiler, mirrors, etc
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2013, 11:47 AM   #4
tdizzle
Colonel
United_States
98
Rep
2,004
Posts

Drives: 2017 F80 ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Memphis

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fotios335i View Post
I hooked up my BT tool to my 335i after removing stage 1 and there wasn't anything there as far as tuner codes. Made me happy as I didn't want to lose the srs system fault.
It's a piggy back tune, so it shouldn't throw any codes as it's not directly connected to CAN or anything else. Stage 1 is just a hijack of certain parameters and word on the street is it shouldn't throw any codes.

Put on DPs and possibly stage 2, and you may get some codes though.
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2013, 12:57 PM   #5
abe12345
Private
5
Rep
91
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 335i M-Sport Manual
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bay Area, CA, USA

iTrader: (0)

so why do people get the CAN tool or the USB cable for their stage 1 kits?
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2013, 03:44 PM   #6
tdizzle
Colonel
United_States
98
Rep
2,004
Posts

Drives: 2017 F80 ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Memphis

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by abe12345 View Post
so why do people get the CAN tool or the USB cable for their stage 1 kits?
They think it's cool/useful to be able to read any codes the car may have even if it's not caused by the 'tune'. The Stage 1 used to support the usb cable, but they have since discontinued the output, it's only on stage 2 now.

Guess having it on stage 1 made stage 2 less desirable for people that kept it in map 1.

Last edited by tdizzle; 04-22-2013 at 03:51 PM.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:16 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST