F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Entry_Hu to NBT_HU and Android 10.25" upgrade guidance
Extreme Powerhouse

08-24-2021, 04:54 PM   #1
fe7565
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2012 BMW 328i N26

Entry_Hu to NBT_HU and Android 10.25" upgrade guidance

Would like to ask for guidance only. Not asking to do the home work for me, just to point me in the right direction. I have a lot of gaps in my understanding how to proceed. I have never coded before but I have setup already E-sys with Launcher and Token/Activator ready to go with the Ethernet Cable.

I have a 2012 F30 (328i) with EntryHU and 6.5" screen with basically only Enhanced Bluetooth. Also have two NBT-HUs with numerous options (have donor VIN for both). I am leaning towards picking the far right one on the page (has intact sockets and more options), but open to suggestions. See attached side-by-side feature-comparison of my current unit and the other two HUs.

Also have the following hardware:

- after-market NBT-HU Activator w/quad harness
- an original BMW iDrive controller with NAV buttons (currently only have the 5 button one)
- after-market GPS/antenna
- after-market Wifi antenna
- original rearview mirror w/compass, dimming, rain sensor, garage remote to replace my rain-sensor-only rearview mirror
- after-market Android 10 12.25" HU 1280x480 screen

What I think I know as far as steps:

-I will need to leave the Android 10 HU installation last, including the coding of the NBT-HU's to the new larger screen size from 6.5" to 10.25" 1280x480 resolution.

-Connect E-sys w/Ethernet cable and backup my current existing Entry-HU's FA and SVT codes

-Remove Entry-HU and replace one of the w/NBT-HU along with GPS and wifi antennas.