F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Email Working Successfully - BMW iDrive, iPhone and IOS7
proTUNING Freaks

09-29-2013, 09:25 AM   #1
d4springer
Major
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: F80 M3 CP SS/SO

Email Working Successfully - BMW iDrive, iPhone and IOS7

I have finally managed to get email to display in iDrive from an iPhone 5 with IOS7, took some messing about but eventually I have a procedure which is very simple and seems to work each time.

Most people have probably seen their SMS appear in iDrive, the concept is the same, when SMS shows up on the phone as a banner alert it is sent via Bluetooth to iDrive so you can see it there. However iPhones do not seem to send emails over.

Background
Basically I work in IT (my own business) and could really do with seeing a preview of any emails coming in whilst I'm on the road. I have no intention of reading through loads of messages whilst driving and would never bother replying or drafting emails from iDrive, just like to keep on top of things (especially alert messages or customers etc...), hate being on long journeys with my iPhone pinging away, keep getting tempted to read it!

My phone is synchronised with Microsoft Exchange, I can therefore see my Outlook Email, Contacts and Calendar. I have "Push" email (this is likely to be a key option).

Prepare iPhone
You have to configure the iPhone to display email as banner alerts. Go to Settings > Notification Centre and make sure Email is listed under the Include section.

Within the Include section go to Mail > (your mail account) and switch on Show in Notification Centre and Show in Lock Screen. You will also notice there was an option to display 1, 5 or 10 unread items. Leave it at default for now, but you may have to come back here later.