F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Suspension | Chassis | Brakes > Aftermarket suspension 101
GetBMWParts

01-21-2014, 04:24 PM   #1
abe12345
Private
Rep
Drives: 2013 F30 335i M-Sport Manual

Aftermarket suspension 101

I'm new to aftermarket suspensions, and I've been quite confused as to how certain suspension components benefit the performance and handling of a car. The concepts aren't really addressed directly in the posts here, so I was hoping some of you could educate me on how the aftermarket parts improve the car.

I understand some folks wish to lower their car mainly for aesthetic reasons, but I am really only interested in the performance aspect of the suspension. I have done two track days so far:

Both times I noticed the massive suspension travel when I corner hard. In fact I saw a picture of my car where the clearance between the top of the inside rear tire and the chassis was over 6 inches...
http://www.gotbluemilk.com/web130218...s/image29.html
The roll was so extreme that I noticed the tire was rubbing against the chassis on the other side.
What kind of upgrades would reduce this behavior? Is a set of coilovers going to solve it? Will the stiffer springs and damping settings essentially allow me to take those corners with very little roll? Do I have to add camber, or spacers to widen the track... etc? I've read a bit about suspension geometry but there are so many scenarios that we encounter in track driving that it's hard to wrap my brain around all of that at once.

Also, my car has the adaptive suspension from BMW. I think it allows the damping to be adjusted, but even at it's max setting (Sport+ and DSC off) there's still a ton of roll. Are the coilovers going to work with this system?

Last edited by abe12345; 01-21-2014 at 04:29 PM..
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2014, 04:29 PM   #2