F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > ID4 NBT to ID5 upgrade
Extreme Powerhouse
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-18-2020, 10:51 AM   #1
Laurens0619
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: Bmw 320
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Nl

iTrader: (0)

ID4 NBT to ID5 upgrade

Hi,

I have a BMW F31 dec 2015 with NBT Evo ID4 and the ATM box (Harman & KArdon including DAB).
I am really missing carplay on this car so I am considering adding it.

Andream would be an option(250 euro) but I am a bit concerned with bluetooth calling/stability & a chinese box in my car.

Because I already have Evo ID4, I understood the upgrade to ID5 would only mean a headunit replacement.

On Ebay I found several issues all around 500 euro for the ID5 headunit (600 precoded).
1. The sellers have a positive reputation, anything i should consider before buying?
2. Some of the units are coming from UK, are these units the same regarding LHD/RHD
3. They promised me I will keep all connecteddrive features, is that correct?
4. In case the device is not working/hard drive is incorrect. Can i simply switch my old id4 unit back? will my connected drive keep working on old unit?

edit: I received the following feedback on connected drive as part of the upgrade:
"Connected drive will work as long as subscription is not expired (connected drive is no longer accesible from the car) unit is compatible with atm module you have and DAB will work as it should. "

Does anyone understands what this mean?

Last edited by Laurens0619; 05-18-2020 at 11:20 AM..
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2020, 03:18 PM   #2
atzebmw
Lieutenant Colonel
Germany
350
Rep
1,512
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

I just did this change 2 weeks ago and it was really easy.
The only difference for me was that i bought a headunit not precoded.
I bought the FSCs from fscmap.com and coded it myself.

Yes, you only need the headunit.
1.) Make sure the headunit is correct (DAB, HW version at least 3.1, better 4.1)
2.) LHD/RHD is the same headunit
3.) connecteddrive features will keep, right
4.) If it's not working you can flip back to ID4, no problem

Edit:
For CarPlay a WiFi antenna is needed

Last edited by atzebmw; 05-18-2020 at 03:56 PM..
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2020, 11:53 AM   #3
Laurens0619
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: Bmw 320
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Nl

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
I just did this change 2 weeks ago and it was really easy.
The only difference for me was that i bought a headunit not precoded.
I bought the FSCs from fscmap.com and coded it myself.

Yes, you only need the headunit.
1.) Make sure the headunit is correct (DAB, HW version at least 3.1, better 4.1)
2.) LHD/RHD is the same headunit
3.) connecteddrive features will keep, right
4.) If it's not working you can flip back to ID4, no problem

Edit:
For CarPlay a WiFi antenna is needed
Thanks for the feedback
meanwhile my NBT EVO ID (4.1) arrived but unfortunately I cannot install it yet as I found at the previous owner installed some sort of anti-theft lock on the navigation harnass.

However, I was analyzing the new unit and noticed port 12 ismissing.


port 12 is described as:
APIX connection of the Instrument cluster (KOMBI)

However in some install videos I see the same. Do you know if that port is required for the retrofit? (I have a normal (non digi) dash, however I do have navigation symbols when navigating)

my replacement device looks like this
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2020, 02:19 PM   #4
atzebmw
Lieutenant Colonel
Germany
350
Rep
1,512
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laurens0619 View Post

port 12 is described as:
APIX connection of the Instrument cluster (KOMBI)

However in some install videos I see the same. Do you know if that port is required for the retrofit? (I have a normal (non digi) dash, however I do have navigation symbols when navigating)

my replacement device looks like this
My device looks exactly the same and the second port is not needed.
The APIX wire is for the connection to the display.
Appreciate 0
      Today, 11:30 AM   #5
anielsen71
Major
Denmark
160
Rep
1,110
Posts

Drives: F36 435xd
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Naestved, Denmark

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
I just did this change 2 weeks ago and it was really easy.
The only difference for me was that i bought a headunit not precoded.
I bought the FSCs from fscmap.com and coded it myself.

Yes, you only need the headunit.
1.) Make sure the headunit is correct (DAB, HW version at least 3.1, better 4.1)
2.) LHD/RHD is the same headunit
3.) connecteddrive features will keep, right
4.) If it's not working you can flip back to ID4, no problem

Edit:
For CarPlay a WiFi antenna is needed
Hi there
Are you saying only the headunit is needed?
I don't care for the touchscreen but would like to have ID5/ID6.
I have the touch controller already.
__________________
Brgds
Allan
‘15 F36 435xd Gran Coupé

Ex: E46 330d, E91 330dA
Appreciate 0
      Today, 01:24 PM   #6
atzebmw
Lieutenant Colonel
Germany
350
Rep
1,512
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by anielsen71 View Post
Hi there
Are you saying only the headunit is needed?
I don't care for the touchscreen but would like to have ID5/ID6.
I have the touch controller already.
Yes, if you have ID4 you only need the headunit.
If you want Apple CarPlay or screenmirroring you still need the WiFi antenna.
And of course you need the FSCs and it has to be coded.
Appreciate 0
      Today, 01:39 PM   #7
anielsen71
Major
Denmark
160
Rep
1,110
Posts

Drives: F36 435xd
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Naestved, Denmark

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by anielsen71 View Post
Hi there
Are you saying only the headunit is needed?
I don't care for the touchscreen but would like to have ID5/ID6.
I have the touch controller already.
Yes, if you have ID4 you only need the headunit.
If you want Apple CarPlay or screenmirroring you still need the WiFi antenna.
And of course you need the FSCs and it has to be coded.
Ok.
Thnx for the info.
Any need for emulators or is it plug and play?
In my former E91 I retrofitted NBT headunit and there I needed to use an emulator to get it to work
__________________
Brgds
Allan
‘15 F36 435xd Gran Coupé

Ex: E46 330d, E91 330dA
Appreciate 0
      Today, 01:50 PM   #8
atzebmw
Lieutenant Colonel
Germany
350
Rep
1,512
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by anielsen71 View Post
Ok.
Thnx for the info.
Any need for emulators or is it plug and play?
In my former E91 I retrofitted NBT headunit and there I needed to use an emulator to get it to work
No emulator is needed. For that you need the FSC.
Plug&Play I would not say, because you have to code it and insert the FSCs.
Appreciate 0
      Today, 01:52 PM   #9
anielsen71
Major
Denmark
160
Rep
1,110
Posts

Drives: F36 435xd
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Naestved, Denmark

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by anielsen71 View Post
Ok.
Thnx for the info.
Any need for emulators or is it plug and play?
In my former E91 I retrofitted NBT headunit and there I needed to use an emulator to get it to work
No emulator is needed. For that you need the FSC.
Plug&Play I would not say, because you have to code it and insert the FSCs.
Ok thnx for the info
__________________
Brgds
Allan
‘15 F36 435xd Gran Coupé

Ex: E46 330d, E91 330dA
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST